Revlon • Colorburst Lip Butter - Candy Apple • Lipstick

rated 4.4(104 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 kadytheredpanda on 9/14/2013 1:35:00 AM more reviews by kadytheredpanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I look more made up when I wear red lipstick, and this certainly does the trick. I feel it's more of a colored lip balm of sorts because of the translucent finish, the fact that it's supposed to hydrate (I detected a little bit, but not a whole lot), and because it lasted about two and a half hours on me before I had to reapply. I would say this is moreso a daytime red because of the finish. Even then, it's opaque enough to see that it's a beautiful color against my fair skin and green eyes.

I just don't like the packaging, which can make it super easy to nick the product, and that there isn't much product in the tube. It's about half what I usually see when I pull lipstick all the way up. Other than that, nice product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kamberc94 on 8/31/2013 4:27:00 PM more reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I was very very veryyy hesitant to even purchase this. The reviews are all good, but I was not sure about red on me. But let me just say I love this subtle orangey red color. It makes my blue-ish green-ish grey eyes pop really. With a nice nude eye(usually naked palette) with dark brown liner and lashes it looks wonderful. I have been complimented twice today on it all. It makes my teeth look white, but that's just me. It appears to stain my lips so the only thing that does not last is the shine.

As of right now this is my favorite item. I do love berry smoothie too though... I just love revlon lip butters!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amandadee97 on 8/22/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Too orange for my lips and didn't really apply evenly. Kind of pricey for drugstore even though I got it on sale. Not worth it in my opinion. So continues the hunt for a good red lip

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katelrobs3 on 8/21/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Katelrobs3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love this lip butter! Candy Apple and Sweet Tart are my favorite lip butters, and Candy Apple really makes blue eyes pop! It's not an intimidating color whatsoever and is incredibly comfortable on the lips and very moisturizing which is perfect for my dry lips. Doesn't last longer than an hour or two but it's one of those products you don't even need a mirror for reapplication. Super easy to apply and doesn't sit into the cracks of your lips. All around a MUST HAVE lip product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Roseblush82 on 7/20/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Roseblush82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The good points are that this is a gorgeous color and it's not drying on the lips. One bad point is that you have to drag it across your lips to get the color on. This is strange to me because it doesn't glide on your lips without resistance and yet it's not drying once it's on the lips. The reason I would not purchase the product again is because it only wears off only in the middle of your lips leaving you with only an outline on your lips. This is the case with both of my lip butters and it's a strange tacky effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lauramb122 on 6/11/2013 6:20:00 PM more reviews by lauramb122

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite Revlon Lip Butters! It is a very nice red! Sometimes I want to wear a red lip but not look like "Oh wow! Look at that red lip!". This is perfect for those days when you want to take it down a notch! It is so easy to wear day to day! It's build able, comfortable, easy to use and not drying! I adore the Candy Apple Lip Butter! Highly recommend! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pennypencil on 6/11/2013 7:31:00 AM more reviews by pennypencil

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Candy Apple might very well be the first tube of lipstick I actually use up before I lose. Touch wood. Where is it now? Somewhere in the hotel room.
This has been my go-to red since the Lip Butters were launched. I love everything about this product - super non-sticky, moisturising texture; lifting colour. It's bright, but translucent enough to not make you seem too dressed up.
The swatches online of Candy Apple don't seem to do it justice. On me, it's a tomato red with a sheen.
My preference is to wear this with pale pearly eye-shadow and a flick of black liner. Retro and modern.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emandemsinalamb on 6/10/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by emandemsinalamb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this lipstick! Candy Apple is the perfect pomegranate red. It's beautiful for summer.

Pros:

- Excellent range of shades that will suit a wide variety of skin tones and preferences.
- Candy Apple is a beautiful, summery red.
- Lip balm-like texture is very pleasant and comfortable to wear. Not at all sticky, tacky, or grainy.
- Surprisingly great pigmentation despite its balmy feel. Great colour payoff.
- Coverage can be varied with ease---a quick swipe for a more natural look, or a heavier application for a nice, vivid pop of colour.
- Moisturizing.
- The price is definitely right at around $8 CAD, depending on where you shop.

Cons:

- The only real con is that this requires frequent re-application, but that is to be expected, given that the texture is so slippery. It is not a long-wearing lipstick, but that's the trade-off for having such a comfortable and moisturizing texture.

I would definitely recommend all the lip butters, but especially Candy Apple if you like reds. It's a really fresh, bright red that looks like you just bit into a pomegranate or something. It looks quite natural and is so comfortable to wear. For the comfortable texture, it does last longer than expected---about 2-3 hours on me. It's very pleasant to reapply it anyway, so I don't mind!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HunnyBear12234 on 6/9/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by HunnyBear12234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For some reason this color makes my teeth appear slightly yellow which is weird because my teeth are pretty white. Maybe it's just in my imagination, or maybe this shade of red just does not work with my skin tone, but it is not the most flattering on my olive skin. It doesn't look horrible, but I don't feel comfortable with it on because of the teeth thing. It looks better after I wipe it off actually and there is only a little stain there. I do like the lip butters though because they are creamy and will probably buy one in a different color that is more flattering and not so heavy looking for everyday.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 4patti on 6/2/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by 4patti

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Candy Apple is the only Revlon lip butter I have tried, to date. I caved after hearing the glowing reviews and YT testimonials, choosing the color I felt I would wear the most. I love a good red lately and have been wanting to try something that was moisturizing but would still show up. Candy Apple reads on my lips as a true soft red. It is sheer but vibrant enough to be seen, either on its own or paired with a complimentary lip product. On me it doesn't have an orange tint and stays color true its entire wear time. I have worn it beneath MAC Ladybug, which is very close to it shade-wise IME and also over the same l/s (to give it a glossy finish.) I choose to line with Redd lipliner and have not tried a different one, but it would probably work well with any other true red shade. I wouldn't hesitate to immediately buy another of this shade when I finish this one; and my curiosity is definitely piqued to try another shade very soon. I think it's quite an "older lips" friendly lip product and I would recommend it to others who like their reds but do not wish to wear an intensely off the charts lip product- we all know what work that can be. Candy Apple does not present that problem; I can still wear a red lip look even on a casual day but it doesn't look overdone, my lips feel great and I feel like "me" (bright lips). Just what I needed- thanks Revlon.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products