Revlon • ColorBurst Lip Butter in Cupcake • Lips

rated 3.8(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 5/10/2013 12:52:00 AM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Not a fan; far too pale for my fairly pigmented lips, and being sheer means that rather than being able to build it up all I can make it do is gather more and more in my liplines.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 5/5/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is basically a DUPE color wise for MAC's limited edition lipglass in snob. Although this is obviously not a lip gloss, but the moisturizing, hydrated glossy sheen finish gives an appearance of a gloss. MAC snob lipglass was not as dark and true to the actual regular lipstick, so if you have that you may not agree with me. But if you did pick up the gloss version (or missed out & want the same effect), check swatches online and decide for yourself :) Its not the most wearable shade for most MLBB/punch of color that are more trendy currently but its a shade that can be justified to add to a collection!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mararum on 5/3/2013 5:42:00 PM more reviews by mararum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's a creamy pale pink with a faint shimmer - very Barbie. If I apply it with a light hand, it doesn't look that bad. However, it looks awful when I layer it up. I think it's because I have no pink undertones and am neutral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carlaaaay on 4/19/2013 10:56:00 AM more reviews by carlaaaay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Cupcake is a pale, blue based pink. The formula is very creamy and moisturizing! It does accent imperfections though so exfoliate before you use it! I have fairly pale lips to begin with so this is almost as pigmented as a lipstick on me. The packaging is cute and very well designed. These are great! definitely give them a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 javachip00 on 4/2/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by javachip00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have several Revlon Lip Butters now, and surprisingly, Cupcake turned out to be the one I reach for the most.
I say it's surprising because it wasn't one of the shades I had my eye on. I was mainly intrigued by Gumdrop (eh..) and Pink Truffle (great but too similar to my pigmented lips).
Cupcake is a very pretty light pink that brightens up my face... that is if I use a light hand.
I pretty much dab it on my lips and it's perfect. I don't swipe it on, or else it gets too frosty and it looks like I'm going to the club. But I mainly use this at work.
Overall, I gave it a 4 out of 5 because, as cute as the packaging looks, it's not the easiest to open. And I have to wear a lip balm underneath, or else it shows off the dryness of my lips. I'd still repurchase since it's inexpensive, cute, and more wearable for me than a lipstick.
Other pros: No scent and leaves a nice stain after a while.
Cons: Not long lasting, but I don't mind reapplying. I'm sort of a lip product junkie and enjoy keeping them in my bag to reapply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peakvolume on 3/25/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by peakvolume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like lip butters as a whole, but Cupcake was a total miss. It's a gorgeous blue-based pink color, a perfect dupe for MAC's LE Viva Glam Gaga if you missed it. However, it bunches up, peels, and fades after 2 hours. Not flattering and not impressive.

It's true that these are moisturizing. I had no problems with this drying out my lips or making them feel uncomfortable during wear. The packaging is cute and these have a mild vanilla scent. However, the patchy wear is so unflattering (even if you do find a way to make it look even, moving your lips at all will ruin it). I love lip butters, but this one is a hassle to use.

(read the full review at peakvolume.blogspot.com)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colfaxt on 2/25/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by colfaxt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this formula I love the color, pink lavendar but more pinkish nude after a bit. Goes on like NARS roman holiday but is lighter and more sheer. Looks like a gloss on my lips. Reminds me of MAC Slimshines & Estee Lauders stickgloss, put applies not like lipstick finish, stays wet~

Dont get it hot~

Similar to MAC Snob and Gaga Pink

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keiki300 on 2/25/2013 9:50:00 AM more reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product and this color. it is light to moderate coverage and glossy but not too high of a shine. this color is great with a smokey eye if you want to achieve that sixities pink-nude lips. this color is somewhat unique in that it is a barbie kind of color. if you are very light to very dark this will look great but if you are medium it will not show up on you. if you like the color but not the shine, apply blot, appy blot again and you will have the most beautiful natural pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 prplepolkadotz on 2/16/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by prplepolkadotz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I heard rave reviews about this product on Youtube, MUA, ect and figured why not? So i went to walgreens and picked this up for $7.99. I was so disappointed.. I thought this would be a softer formula and more pigmented but sadly it wasnt. My lips are naturally a deep mauvey/red color and this color didn't show up much. I do like that it is moisturizing other than that, I'm sad this product didn't work out for me :( I may try other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondbunny on 2/8/2013 7:37:00 AM more reviews by blondbunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

At first I really liked this but I soon changed my mind this blends on streaky I just find it hard to work with also I'm not a fan of the lavender lip look which this pulls more on my NC15 skin rather then pink also it melts in the tube and Inevitably deforms the lipstick causing it to break off due to its butter texture not a fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lips products