FairyDrops Scandal Queen Mascara

4.0

49 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/19/2013 6:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Summary: One of my favorite brands of mascara is Fairy Drops, so it's no surprise that when Fairy Drops released a mascara in the U.S. I would be buying it. The formula of this mascara is so different than the general formula they use on their Japanese mascaras. It's much heavier because it's aimed to appeal to a much different market (catering to those with different styles of lashes. Many East Asian lashes are short, sparse, and naturally angle downwards, so mascaras sold in countries like Japan, South Korea, etc. typically have dryer formulas in comparison to those sold in North America and Western Europe). At first I was disappointed because this difference in formula weighed down my lashes, giving an immediate loss of curl. But I quickly learned that this would simply not be a base mascara, and used it as a layering one instead. As a layering mascara, this gives the best volume I have ever used in any other mascara.

Pros: Amazing Volume

Cons: juvenile design (in my opinion of course), non synthetic brush so it eventually lost its shape

Overall Verdict: I recommend this product to anyone who wants lots and lots of volume. It's able to provide that benefit without clumping which is really great. I will definitely be repurchasing this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/4/2013 8:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite mascaras. It curls your lashes in a beautiful way. It gives me both volume and length, and my lashes look really bold after just two coats. My only complain is that it seems to flake after a few hours. Wish they could improve their formula.


on 12/8/2012 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I initially like this mascara. I got great length and volume. But after a few weeks... My eyelashes started to fall out... Every time I would touch my lashes 2-3 lashes would fall... The mascara made my lashes rock hard which I think made them keep their curl , but because it made my lashes hard ... It them fragile... So I took off one lippie for the price 28$can and Another for making my lashes fragile

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2012 6:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first Japanese mascara I've ever used and it makes me want to try more. Why? Because it's truly waterproof. I live in an area where it's hot and humid most of the year and this stuff doesn't flake or smear. It's also very easy to remove at the end of the day. I will give it a lot of credit for staying power but it doesn't give my lashes the boost it needs. I have the typical short and thin Asian lashes and this just provides a bit of lengthening. It does nothing at all for volumizing. It helps hold a curl a bit but not much. I won't rebuy this especially not at the high price but I still recommend it for people who may already have long and thick lashes but just want something smear resistant.


on 11/30/2012 11:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this mostly because of all the hype, and the fact that it's Japanese. I'm a sucker for any Asian thing I can get my hands on in Canada. The packaging might have had something to do with it too... Anyway, It's a good product, I suppose. Practically impossible to apply without making a mess, it really takes practice. And I find it clumps my lashes together a bit. And VERY expensive! Otherwise it is a decent product, though I won't repurchase.


on 11/18/2012 11:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was SO excited to try this mascara because of all the hype. I thought the brush was so cool and I thought it would give me super full lashes. Nope. It looked really weird on me- my lashes clumped together so badly it looked like I only had about 5 lashes on each eye. Just....strange. Tried it several different ways and I got this result every time. Sadly I returned it to Sephora.


on 10/22/2012 2:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm pretty sure I did what 90% of the people did and bought it for the cute packaging :) Surprisingly i liked the fibre mascara. It lengthened and volumized my lashes. Didn't flake or smudge and lasted all day. I can see why people wouldn't like the wetness of the product, but if you apply it carefully it really wasn't a big deal. I took off a lippy because it was super expensive (I purchased mine for 28.00can) and i am still on the hunt for the perfect drugstore mascara; I guess you could call this purchase a moment of weakness...


on 10/12/2012 4:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this mascara, due to the claim of being long wearing, smudge-proof, and voluminous. I like fiber mascaras for their lengthening properties. I did not think that this mascara held up to that claim.

The price is around $24 dollars or so, I have purchased at Sephora and also the FairyDrops Platinum version via eBay. The tube itself is fat and metallic. The brush is large and curved, with three "balls" attached to one another. They call it the "teddy bear" brush, although I see no resemblance to a cute teddy bear whatsoever. On first glance, its hard to envision how the strange fluff balls would coat lashes evenly.

It is technique sensitive, as you really have to try out different angles to have it coat individual lashes well. I've found that you are supposed to hold it where the brush looks like a "U" and brush through your lashes. It does thicken up over time, so the brush gets gloopy with product. Wiping it with a tissue is such a waste of product, so I usually had to wipe the side of the tube to salvage what I could.

The coverage itself is decent, and it does lengthen with a few coats, but for me it doesn't hold a curl well. It tends to straighten mine out. Also, I am wearing a mask and goggles all day at work, (your friendly dental hygienist) and this does give me black shadows under my eyes. I also use eye drops frequently and this does make it flake as well. I also had a problem with the fluff balls depositing mascara on my eyelid.

I like the idea that they are trying to be innovative with the brush, but the formula is not up to par with the claims. At least for me anyway. It might work better under "normal" circumstances- like gals who have long eyelashes that are naturally curled, and for those who do not have their faces covered up all day long. Lol.

Just to be sure, I have tried the US version, and the Asia version, and did not have that great of results. For the price, I don't think I will repurchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have to write an amazing review for this product. I had not discovered a mascara that would NOT SMUDGE on me ever, until I met this mascara. For reference, I've tried the Maybelline One-by-One and the Max Factor False Lash Effect and those both smudged terribly. I thought that there was nothing that could do the trick.

I then tried Blinc Mascara and sure, this mascara did not smudge and it "tubed" my lashes but it did NOTHING for my lashes - no volume or length.

Within this mascara are little black flecks that attach to your lashes every time you apply it. Thus, giving you both length and volume. This mascara IS expensive, but it is the only one that does NOT smudge, my biggest gripe. Being able to find a mascara that does not smudge with my oily lids that ALSO gives length AND volume -- don't know what more I could ask for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/22/2012 1:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i LOVE this mascara. I have pretty thin lashes that are naturally straight but are capable of holding a curl. since i have oily skin, smudging has always been a problem for me when it comes to mascara. i usually just deal with the smudging, though, just because i CAN'T stand waterproof mascara. i don't have enough lashes as it is, and i'm not a fan of having a bunch of them get pulled out when i'm trying to remove my mascara. fairydrops scandal queen comes off really easily with some warm water, but doesn't smudge at all. it also gives a lot of volume without looking clumpy, and it lengthens as well. it's my all time favorite mascara, but i can't call it my HG because of the price. i can't afford to spend $24 every time i need a new mascara, so i probably get a tube of fairydrops every other time i need a new mascara. other than the price though, i LOVE it.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
427 Reviews
Roller Lash
105 Reviews
They're Real
2008 Reviews


Back to Top