MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

3.8

413 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Original formulation - September 2011): ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Octinoxate 3.40%, Titanium Dioxide 1.00% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Algae Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Laureth-7, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Peg-10 Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Silylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, [ /- Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288)]


on 1/4/2015 5:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This foundation didn't look very flattering on my face after a couple of hours. I'm very pale so i got the 1.0, and the shade is almost spot on. I feel like this foundation is not moisturizing at all, wich makes me unable to use it during the winter time. After a few hours it flaked a bit on the area around my nose, chin and forehead and looked dry and patchy. For the price, it's not worth the struggle of mixing with other moisturizers, creams, primers etc.



on 1/1/2015 4:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I used to wear BB cream 79 hot pink. I thought it was best for me until I found this foundation. matte finish, medium coverage, long lasting n perfectly match colour to my unusual skin tone which is yellow but very fair (I wear the 1.5). Yes, it accentuates dried skins, but it gets better awhile after I put it on. Yes, it oxidises, but just a little bittle. The oxidise makes my complexion looks healthier instead. yes, it has quiet strong smell, but with all those benefits above, I don't care! !


on 12/29/2014 9:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is a really good foundation fits any type of skin type. good coverage i have been using for 3 years and i love it ! better then all of the other types in my opinion.


on 12/28/2014 12:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wear this in 5.0 and I love it. When first applied it seems light but it will oxidize SLIGHTY and go a shade darker. I'm combo to oily, with dry patches around my eyes, mouth and cheeks in the winter. I make sure to moisturize according prior to application. I love how this applies with my Real Techniques Buffing Brush, but love bringing down the coverage on my "Ehhh" days with a damp beauty blender. This doesn't accentuate my pores, it doesn't crack and crease. And I stay matte for about 6hrs. After which I start get A LITTLE oil seepage around my nose. But after a blotting sheet, or some powder, I'm great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2014 12:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MISTAKE for me to have switched from my regular regimen to try something new. I have successfully used MAC's studio fluid fix foundation with no acne problems.

I have had more pimples using matchmaster over the last 30 days than in the last 5 years! Almost every day, waking up with a new one. I wash my face in the AM and PM plus I use benzoyl peroxide cream twice a day to manage my -what used to be perfect-skin. I was so concerned I read the ingredients to see what was different...one of the first few is polymethyl methacrylate and a type of glass????? Hmmm....my face doesn't like it. Shall be returning and I'm back to my regular regimen...if it ain't broke, don't break it.

I only give it 2 stars because it is true to its name and matched my skin tone very well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/14/2014 4:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG!
I seriously don't know how I have ever lived without this foundation! I've been using maybellines dream mousse for, pretty much ever. I decided to go to MAC and have a lady find me foundation that actually matched my face for once! and I have found my holy grail! I use it with the kabuki 130 brush (waaay, way, way expensive, bought it for $42.. FOR A BRUSH!) but seriously worth the money! this foundation stays on literally all day and night! I never have to touch up AT ALL! I can't say enough good things about this foundation. my face looks absolutely airbrushed and flawless!!!!


on 12/10/2014 3:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

SELECTED SHADE: 3.0 (NC37 for reference)
APPLICATION METHOD: flat-top kabuki (with F&B as a base) or sponge

PROS

- oil control
- long wearing
- packaging
- easy to blend
- medium coverage
- little goes a long way
- does not settle into fine lines

CONS

- accentuates dry spots
- too matte
- oxidizes
- price

COMMENTS: This is great for oily skin as it has a matte finish and is more of a "dry" foundation. My skin feels a little tight after applying this (with a brush). Use a sponge if you encounter this issue or wear on top of their F&B foundation. It is very easy to blend, though and long wearing. Coverage is a solid medium. Although I love the oil control, I do find the finish to be too matte for my liking. My skin looks dry, which I don't care for and it will cling to dry spots. This is why I love wearing it on top of their F&B foundation because it becomes more forgiving on my dry areas and makes it easy to wear in cooler weather. It also softens the matte finish, making it look more natural and also making it waterproof. As for the shade, 3.0 was initially too light for me. This does oxidize a little, though. I am an NC37 in Studio Fix Fluid for reference and 3.0 is perfect for me. Overall, a nice foundation for oily skin. I do suggest you use a sponge or like I said, on top of their Face & Body foundation to prevent that dry look.

Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2014 1:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The Matchmaster foundation is simply gorgeous on me. Before this, I was a drugstore foundation girl but when I tried it on at the MAC store randomly, I knew I had to get it. It suits my skin color perfectly and its not too matte, ie it has a natural finish. I dont really have blemishes and all that so a little goes a long way for me and this in turn means that i can use it for a long time which is worth the high price.


on 12/6/2014 6:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Finally I have found my Holy Grail of foundations! I have normal/dry skin and the shade 1.5 is a perfect match. It is easy to blend out and makes my skin so silky. It has medium coverage, as I have clear skin I only use a tiny bit of it and blend it out just to even out my skintone and hide the redness. It has a matte finish which lasts for me the whole day ( I always set it with a transparent powder). It does not dry out my skin, however I always hydrate it with mineralize charged water spray and gel cream before I apply the foundation. I am in love with this product, obviously it's not for every skintype, but for me, this is the one.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Deep Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have this in #9. It's a tad bit on the red side but I like it. I'm not sure I would re-purchase it though. I don't feel anything is that special about it to warrant the price.


Back to Top