Rimmel • Volume Accelerator Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.2(80 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 12/8/2013 6:33:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I kept this for about 2 weeks before I threw it out. I'm totally into Volume as I require it for my long but not too thick lashes. I coated and coated and coated and just got an "ok" result.
I also did not feel that my eye lashes were healthy or nourished at all. In fact they were very dry and brittle feeling and I loathe that in a mascara. I was not a big fan of the price too being at $11.30. I certainly do not mind paying if something is worth it, but my $7 Maybelline Colossal or One by One (list goes on for Maybelline mascaras as I love them for most part) prove that price is not everything. Like the Lash Accelerator (Original) the smell was just awful and toxic too after being opened for just a couple of weeks. I actually got more volume from their Endless Accelerator then I ever did in the one week I tried with this Volume kind therefore I will not re-purchase this. I think Revlon Grow Luscious or Lash Potion, which is around the same price up here in Toronto is worth the $$. Maybe others had better luck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sycandles on 11/7/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by sycandles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Good GRIEF! Where do I even start? The ONLY reason I am still using this mascara is to see if it really is effective in building last volume over time. Although, based on most of the reviews I've read and seen from blog posts, YouTube, etc., I am not holding out much hope for that. However, I am hoping that "results will vary" and that I will have some luck with that. Again, not holding my breath while I wait. Ok, now.. on to the actual review part of this product - and I cannot stress this point enough... if you do not like wet mascaras, DO NOT... I REPEAT... DO NOT buy this mascara!! This is BY FAR *THE* WETTEST mascara that I have EVER used in my entire life (which is 30 years, I might add). I mean.... HOLY WETNESS! :-O It is SO wet that I have actually had a GLOP of mascara fall out on to my pants while pulling the mascara wand out. It's insane!! I have NEVER had that happen with ANY mascara ever before. Also, there is soooo much wet product that when I pull the wand out of the tube, there is actually gloopy mascara HANGING from the wand - literally. And sooo much goopy, wet mascara build up on the top and bottom of the brush. I mean - I just can't take it. And because it's SO incredibly wet, it clumps like MAD! I get mascara ALL over the tops of my eyes, above the lashline and all over the under part of my eyes. It's just HORRIBLE! The ONLY thing I like about this mascara is the LOOKS of the packaging. It's in a very "thick" tube - looks like a regular tube of mascara is encased in a clear, see through, thicker tube. Very cool! Other than that though, there is absolutely NOTHING that I like about this mascara. Rimmel - TONE DOWN THE WETNESS! I mean, it's just insane!! Needless to say, unless this product somehow "magically" gives me super thick lashes and helps my lashes have more volume over time (the more I use it) I will NOT be repurchasing this mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Neve23 on 8/23/2013 3:40:00 AM more reviews by Neve23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was on a hunt for a good mascara and this caught my eye, the packaging is really cute though a little chunky.the brush that I got seems to be very different from the ones from these reviews, the brush I got wasn't round on one side and flat on the other like most say, mine was similiar to the Maybelline volum express the colossal brush except that it was a bit longer. I do still like the brush I prefer bigger spools, and this separated quite nicely. the reason for the low rating is coz the formula stings like a mutha! it is terrible, the tiniest bit in your eye is exruciating and I dont even have sensitive eyes. I got mine from Edgars btw (I live in South Africa) incase your thinking I got a fake or something. also I didnt get much length or volume from this. not very happy with this product at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxxPikadoodlexxx on 8/2/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Let me start by saying this mascara smudges and that is the only reason I wouldn't buy it again. The brush is awesome. It looks strange but it's extremely effective. It was great for reaching my lower lashes and the fine lashes towards the corner of my eyes without getting all over my lids. What really impressed me was how well it volumized, separated and defined the really fine lashes that usually get clumped together with my larger lashes when I use most mascaras. It really made me look like I had more lashes. It wasn't thick or clumpy and it didn't flake off either. Unfortunately, like I said, this smudges. Badly. After about 3 hours I noticed black rings forming around my eyes. I've tried using different primers and shadow bases to avoid this but no luck so far. I have deep set eyes and always have issues with this so if our eyes are not deep set this may not happen to you. It also is not waterproof which is a must for me since I wear contacts. If this came in a waterproof formula I'd try it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kyliechester on 7/15/2013 5:44:00 PM more reviews by kyliechester

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

For probably the last 6 years, I have exclusively used mascaras with those spiky, rubbery wands like Covergirl LashBlast and Maybelline The Rocket. I always felt like traditional wands didn't separate my lashes enough or build enough volume. Enter Rimmel Volume Accelerator, which I originally bought as a base to layer underneath my Maybelline The Rocket. I find this product to be almost IDENTICAL to DiorShow Mascara, but I honestly prefer the Rimmel version! If you like thick, dramatic, black lashes this is it for you. It has really great staying power and I never notice any annoying clumps or flakes falling down. I don't know that I've noticed any extra thickness to my lashes as its marketed, but they for sure feel softer and more flexible when I wash my makeup off at night, so that's a bonus! Love, love, love this product and I am definitely converted from my old HGs!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupnewbie1 on 7/13/2013 9:24:00 AM more reviews by makeupnewbie1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Imo, Rimmel mascara and liner products are really great value for money. There are more expensive ones out there that aren't as good as Rimmel's stuff.
This product will lengthen your lashes (when you put it on, that is; I can't say it definitely lengthens your lashes permanently as the product promises) and it won't smudge AT ALL, even on hot summer days! When you put it on, you can tell you have mascara on, so that means it does its job. It's really good at lengthening.

A lot of people say the mascara is really watery; that didn't bother me, and if anything, I think it probably stops it being flaky and clumpy.

However, the reason I gave it 4 stars is that there's another side to the blade; when you put it on, people can tell you have mascara on. The formula is a little on the heavy and thick side, and it's very obvious you have mascara on...I know some people will be like, "Isn't that the point?", but I personally think a perfect mascara will lengthen and make your lashes look amazing, while looking natural and fooling people into thinking that it's your own. Also, because it's heavy, I find that my lashes need another clamp of my lash curler after I put it on, but that might be because my lashes are super stubborn and thick and grow downwards. However, after another clamp at the roots, they stay up.

Comment on the brush: I personally like the shape. Use the curved side to put it on. Wiggle at the root of your lashes and pull out straight up, following through with the rest of your lashes.
Comment on washing it off: I didn't have a problem washing mine off; I just used a regular eye makeup remover and it was gone!

TLDR: Great value for money, does its job in lengthening dramatically when you put it on, and doesn't smudge or flake! However, doesn't look that natural. If you can't spend more than $20 on mascara, try this one, as it sells for less than $10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elliezabeth22 on 7/5/2013 3:47:00 AM more reviews by elliezabeth22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't sing enough praises. This mascara is the best I've ever used in my life. The only time I deviate away from it is when I am willing to experiment with other mascaras.
This mascara glides on easily and is prone to be very thick, so that might be a little intimidating to beginners. If you have a quick hand, or consider yourself alright with application, I recommend this mascara. There are very few clumps and it dries quickly, almost always without issue (including smears and uneven gaps on your eyelashes). But, perhaps the best thing about this mascara, is its ability to transform your eyelashes from thin to thick in as little as thirty seconds, and with minimal product. Granted, I naturally have very long eyelashes, but I guarantee that this product will work for ANYONE, provided your eyelashes are properly curled and primed. And your eyelashes feel wonderfully light afterwards, unlike many mascaras, which can weigh eyelashes down.
Another great thing about this product is its longevity. I've used the same wand for upwards of six months, and the product has retained its strength and consistency without drying up. Price is good. The wand is also easy to manage (I prefer larger spools).
Overall, I recommend this product for anyone willing to try it! You won't regret it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tinsel5001 on 4/16/2013 1:56:00 PM more reviews by tinsel5001

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like this ok. It's better than others I've tried at the drugstore (Revlon, L'Oreal Million Lashes Waterproof)... I'd say this is one of the better ones (easy to get off, didn't give me racoon eyes) -- but I'm not totally sold.

I'm going to try the other Accelerator version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 melanieschmidt on 2/16/2013 11:28:00 AM more reviews by melanieschmidt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Lots of mixed reviews but I love it. When you apply it (and the brush is amazing by the way, learn how to use it!) You have to vibrate it back and forth at the base of the lash to build thickness and then pull straight out through your lashes. The wetness is great because you can keep going over and over your lashes without clumping and it dries fast. Note the shape of the brush. The flat side is to build, the big brush side is to comb through.You have to use it correctly. i also like how the tip catches the baby lashes on the lower lids. I don't know why people would not like this mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Starlyte on 1/3/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Starlyte

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Love the brush for my Asian, almond eyes but the formula is horrible! It's a really "wet" formula, takes a while to dry, and will smudge and smear horribly if you get a tiny bit of water near your eyes. It weighs down my lashes and can get pretty clumpy. Washing it off at night is a nightmare. Would NOT buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Mascara products