Maybelline • Shine Sensational Pop Sticks in Fruit Punch 130 • Lipstick

rated 3.6(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 9/16/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this new jelly lipstain lipstick (unfortunately it's a limited edition, so it'll be gone soon). I bought all the colors but returned them, as Fruit Punch is the only shade that gives any kind of nice color payoff & is the best in the line IMO.


Fruit Punch gives a pretty, sheer, very soft light pink flush to my lips that looks entirely natural, not at all like mood lipsticks of the past, & it's even much better IMO than my $30 DiorAddict LipGlow (although Dior is more moisturizing like a great glossy balm).


Smells Jolly Rancher yummy (but doesn't taste good - pls don't lick your lips!) & it applies clear but develops subtle color after a couple minutes. The sheer pink stain lasts a few hrs (if you don't eat) & can be topped w/add'l gloss or other sheer lipstick for customized effects. There's no shine to this product, but it is subtly moist like a balm yet not waxy or sticky. Lips feel natural & comfortable. (I really hate when companies market their lipsticks as shiny but then they are not.)


Not really fond of the plastic fuchsia packaging but I like the product inside & it's not too expensive for a novelty drugstore item @ $6.50 (Duane Reade).


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tulip211 on 8/26/2011 4:22:00 PM more reviews by Tulip211

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: I bought this solely because I thought it was cute. The transparent packaging and unique gel/ look of the product. Plus it smelled AMAZING!!
I bought Raspberry Ice. Moisturizes and looks good on top of lipstick or blended with liner.

Cons: This is nothing but a glorified lip balm. There is hardly any color at all. If you swipe it enough youcan get a faint tint, but for 8 bucks, cherry chapstick can do the same. Plus, considering how it smells, you would think they put some flabor into it. YUCK!! Tastes bad. Like chemicals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KittyKaye on 8/21/2011 11:14:00 PM more reviews by KittyKaye

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My daughter saw this product and went crazy over the transparent lippie and the hot-pink packaging. I indulged her and bought her a couple of colors. I ended up liking the product myself. The Fruit Punch is the darkest shade, apparently, but it doesn't provide much in the way of deep pigment. Rather, as other reviewers have pointed out, it is more of a lip balm with a hint of shine and color.

I have to say I like this product, even though I usually prefer a glossier overcoat. It is perfect for summer, when I don't like to wear much more than sunscreen on my face. My lips feel softer and smoother after having used this lipstick. Thumbs-up from me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherrycherryboomboom on 8/19/2011 10:50:00 PM more reviews by cherrycherryboomboom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

These are such pretty dupes of the DuWop Iced Teas or Clarins Crystal Smooth balms. They remind me of jello or gummy bears, but go on like a mood ring. They smell magnificent and have no real taste. I bought two today in the shades Citrus Slice (120) and Fruit Punch (130). A few things...


A) First off, open the tube before buying to make sure the stick wasn't swatched or used. These tubes do NOT have protective seals, and all but two from the entire product display were used at my Ulta. Annoying. This leads to my next point...


B) There are four shades (Pink Lollipop -- clear neon pink, Raspberry Ice -- clear medium pink, Citrus Slice -- clear neon orange, Fruit Punch -- clear red)... *BUT*... each shade gives a VERY similar, if not the same, color after application. I swatched the gunky, used ones on my wrist in order to test my theory out.


I suspect each shade contains the same pH-sensitive or heat-sensitive dye, giving that nice tint/stain. So whichever one you end up buying, even if it isn't the one you originally wanted, it won't matter. Slick on a few layers, then wait a minute or two for the color to fully develop. The color will darken with time. Voila! Beautiful.


C) The product itself is VERY moisturizing, and this moisture lasts! The color also lasted on my lips for roughly 5 hours -- pretty darn long, especially through beer and pizza. It really does give the effect of having just eaten a popsicle. It particularly makes me look like I finished a great make-out session, haha.


Granted, my lips don't have much color in them to begin with, but overall, I'll probably be reaching for these more than my HG tinted lip balms. Snatch them up fast because they're limited edition, ladies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pandacakes03 on 8/13/2011 3:29:00 PM more reviews by Pandacakes03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As soon as I heard about these lipsticks, I had to go pick them up. I searched high and low, and finally found them at walgreens (which I don't normally frequent).

I picked up two of the four colors, Fruit Punch and Raspberry Ice. I chose these because they looked like they would come out the most pigmented.

The packaging is adorable--clear and neon pink. The product itself is also semi-clear and looks really neat when you hold it up to direct light.

The color payoff isn't the greatest, but it does give you a nice wash of color. It would be good if you were going to the beach or pool and just want a natural flush. For me, it took a good 10 back and forth swipes on each lip to create the ideal color.

Probably the best part about this is that it's pretty moisturizing! And it lasted a long time for me. Beware though, it may stain your lips as this happened to me with the fruit punch color. Not an intense stain, but you could definitely see some product still left on there.

The smell comes of extremely pleasant and fruity first off, but once on your lips it has a perfume-y scent that I didn't quite like. I had to make sure I didn't lick my lips so I wouldn't taste it.

Overall, if I ever run out of these, I MIGHT repurchase. It's a cute, fun thing to have in my makeup collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nikolala on 8/12/2011 10:45:00 PM more reviews by nikolala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this lipstick. although it isnt really a lipstick. it layers subtle color. Its perfect for a summer lip without feeling too overdone. a matte lipstick can be too harsh for a casual day out and my hair always gets stuck to my lip gloss and comes off. it is also more moisturing than a simple stain. adore the scent! too bad it's a limited edition

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Neome75 on 8/9/2011 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Neome75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm confused...This is incorrect. The color the original poster is commenting about, the Maybelline Fruit Punch, it's number 825, and part of the COLOR sensational line. The Shine sensation/sensational are in those squeeze tubes and their number lots aren't even in the 100's.

I bought this lipstick today and I love it! It is a bit bright on my medium tan skin, so I put it on top of a thin coat of nude lipstick...really pretty. I didn't find it staining either, nor sticky. It doesn't have a strong scent, a plus for me. =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweaterbrau on 8/9/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by sweaterbrau

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a little surpised by all the negative reviews this stuff is garnering. I purchased it impulsively the last time I was at Walgreen's because, well...c'mon, the tube is TRANSPARENT NEON PINK (and they were having a 2 for 1 sale on Maybelline products...). Fruit Punch is definitely the darkest of all the shades and my personal favorite. As much as I love true lipsticks I always feel a little weird wearing them out on casual occasions like going to work or running to the grocery store...like I'm too dressed up or something. Lipstains have become my new best friend, but even THEY can be too pigmented sometimes. That's where this stuff comes in. I agree that you need a few extra swipes to build up the pigment, and even then it remains subtle. More pigmented than a balm, but less pigmented than a true stain: PERFECT! It does make your lips soft initially, but as the "feel" of the product wears off the pigment still remains, which I like. I doubt these will actually stick around for any length of time, but they are worth trying while they're available.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 8/3/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a strange product. It's one of those "jelly" type lippies that look like a Jello-shot in the tube, but just when I thought it was sheer and colorless and thus pointless on my pigmented lips, a few minutes later I looked in the mirror and saw this looks very much like a stain, minus the dry feel (and look) of a stain. It smells nice, light fruity scent like the name implies, and the tube is adorable and super easy to find in my cluttered handbag. I got a second color, Citrus Slice, but unlike Fruit Punch it has absolutely 0 color whatsoever. That one I'll be returning, but keeping FP for that "just ate a cherry Popsicle" look I usually only get from a stain, but without the obvious look or feel of a stain. This would work nicely *over* a stain, in fact, because it's not shiny or goopy like a gloss. This is the darkest one of the CS Pop LE shades and it's still very subtle. It's not a color that's going to grab you by the boo-boo or anything and because it's transparent I didn't go in expecting major pigment. I need more than just one swipe, but it does show enough to notice that my lips are a brighter reddish-pink. I can see it on my coffee cup so I KNOW there's some pigment in there, just not a lot :) Calling it a lipstick isn't quite right, though, but neither is it a gloss so I don't know.
The others are all much lighter so unless you just want a cute tube of a basically clear lipbalm that is not marketed as such, I'd say to pass on all but this one. I'm considering getting a backup because it's a breeze to apply sans mirror, I love the tube, and although light and sheer, still lasts longer than most glosses on me. It reminds me of the Jelly Balms Prestige tried to bring out a couple summers ago, except these are better because they aren't sticky. It's like the L'Oreal Jelly Balm in the jar, in stick form. I'll try and upload a picture of it since I don't see any yet.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jersey815 on 7/30/2011 10:00:00 AM more reviews by jersey815

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

3 words = waste of money =( absolutley no color payoff with this product.... might as well used a regular lip balm

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products