Illamasqua • Skin Base foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(131 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 LummazXO on 2/24/2014 6:23:00 AM more reviews by LummazXO

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was ready to just go out and buy a full-size version of this but the price and mixed reviews put me off. I managed to get a sample in shade 3, which is a decent match for my skin, the only problem is that it is a bit pink for my skin tone. The coverage is medium but buildable, and considering I prefer a full-coverage this is really good. The main thing that put me off buying it full size were the mixed reviews on here for my skin type. Unfortunately I found that the oily areas on my face really show through this foundation after only a couple of hours no matter what type of powder I use to set it. I also use an oil-free primer and pore minimiser to try and avoid this happening, but it doesn't work! The main benefits of this product are that the coverage is buildable, it feels light on my skin and it blends really easily, but I am pleased I didn't waste Ł30 on it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* malinen on 1/27/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by malinen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

PLEASE CLICK CONTINUED FOR COMPARISON SWATCHES FOR SHADE 3:


My favorite foundation at the moment is the Le Teint Touche Éclat Illuminating Foundation in BD10. The formula works great on my dry and sensitive skin and I get a lot of compliments on my skin when I am wearing it, but it contains SPF 19 which is a problem for me. First, it gives a flash back in pictures and makes me look completely white (I am pale m but I am not white). Second, it can weaken the sunscreen you are wearing underneath it. It is also a bit to dark and a tiny bit too pink for me. I have therefore been on the lookout for a pale, rather yellow foundation, without SPF that will work on my dry and sensitive (and acne prone) skin. Enter Illamasqua Skin Base. I will give a proper review when I have tried it out for a while.

About the sunscreen:
You do not want to layer a foundation, or something else, contemning Octyl methoxycinnamate/Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate/octinoxate (same thing) over avobenzone/Butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane since that combination makes the sunscreen degrade faster.




12 o'clock - Bourjois Radiance Reveal Healthy Mix Foundation in 51
2 o'clock - NARS Sheer Glow Foundation in Siberia
4 o'clock - Illamasqua Skin Base foundation in 3
6 o'clock - Yves Saint Laurent Teint Touche Eclat Foundation in BD10
8 o'clock - Yves Saint Laurent Teint Touche Eclat Foundation in B10
10 o'clock - Yves Saint Laurent Youth Liberator Serum Foundation in B10

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 staceyd2401 on 1/17/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by staceyd2401

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really do love this foundation but only in summer. My skin seems to be dryer these days and as a result it doesnt really work so well for me in winter.
I am shade 6.5 in the summer which is a really great match for me (I would say I am NC20 leaning to NC25 by the end summer).
The best way I found to apply it is using a damp beauty blender and then bouncing the product all over my face applying one sheer layer. I then set with a fine layer of translucent powder. I work 12 hours days and I do not get any shine breaking through at all during the day but do have a nice glow all day. When my skin was oilier though this was not the case. I did just look oily and could feel oil breaking through. Because of this I think this foundation is better suited to more normal to dry skin, but not very dry skin, but thats just based on my experience.
I would say it is a definate medium coverage that could be taken to full coverage if you wanted.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sophiedecay on 1/3/2014 9:45:00 AM more reviews by sophiedecay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Thick consistency but it has a excellent coverage. Wide range of colours and packaging is decent.
The way i usually use it is to mix it a little with moisturiser to give a little tint of colour and it looks great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShazboTastic on 1/2/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by ShazboTastic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is lovely. Nice natural but build-able coverage. It doesn't feel heavy or tight on the skin. A bit pricey but nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Laineypoo1 on 12/27/2013 4:51:00 AM more reviews by Laineypoo1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I bought this foundation after reading rave reviews. The makeup artist recommended it for dry skin and gave me shade 6. The colour match was perfect but from the outset I found the foundation very hard to apply. It is quite a thick consistency and needs to be applied fast. I find giving the bottle a really good shake before using also helps. It has very good coverage however if wearing for a few hours I find it cracks and shows up dry skin areas such as around the nose. The packaging is plastic and is a pain to squeeze the foundation out. I rarely use this foundation anymore and have changed to bourgois healthy mix instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lochinvar on 11/13/2013 6:05:00 AM more reviews by Lochinvar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm foundation shopping at the moment and am usually a huge LancĂ´me Teint Miracle fan.

I've picked up two sample pots of the Illamasqua and have been using them this week.

It is a heavier coverage than I'm used to. I have never been a fan of the full coverage look. This gives me the full coverage look. It looks like I'm wearing slap all day. It doesn't look super ugly, but its still obvious I'm wearing make up no matter how I apply it.

It lasts all day. I have combination skin, and the slightly oily t-section does need setting with powder.

I have played with different application techniques, sponge, stippling brush, foundation brush, fingers - each time I end up with more coverage than I am comfortable with - I've always been taught less is more. It also really sat in the wrinkles around my eyes and made them very obvious.

Foundations are the one thing where being able to take home samples to try before committing.

Illamasqua have dropped their prices from $80 for foundation to $50 hence my desire to support them. Its nice to see high end products changing their pricing policies here and I would like to support companies that do this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HollieDahhrlinn on 10/29/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by HollieDahhrlinn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Following all the hype about Skin Base Foundation, I ordered it in a shade 4 from House of Fraser as its really difficult to find a stockist outside of London. My skin is combination oily so I tried this with powder then with a primer, at first the make up looks very pretty but it just doesn't have the staying power that I need it to.

After just a few hours at uni, my face became oily but the way it looked was so odd. Skin base appeared to trap the oil beneath the layer of foundation rather than letting it shine through and the foundation wear off which was good in one sense because I could powder over it but then it felt greasy to the touch.

This foundation gives a beautiful finish for roughly 2 hours but after that it becomes far too oily for me and the issue of stockists is too much hassle as ordering online doesn't give a true reflection of the shades. Its such a shame because I really wanted to love this foundation but I guess it just isn't the one for me.

I went out today and bought Estee Lauder Double Wear Light as a replacement so lets see how that one goes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MaryFay on 10/11/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by MaryFay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I just couldn't get this foundation to work for me! Which was so disappointing because the 02 shade matched my skin tone perfectly - hence the two stars instead of one. I've tried this twice so far. The first time was over moisturiser and primer and applied it with a stippling brush - no luck. It made every pore on my face stand out, and made it look like I had a tonne of dry skin around my nose, mouth and forehead, even though I have barely any. Flakes everywhere! Today I exfoliated beforehand to make sure I had no dry skin on my face, and then when through the same moisturising/primer routine, and it still turned out horribly. I just couldn't get the foundation to blend with my skin. From a distance it did look nice because the colour was such a good match, but up close I looked about five years older. This is also a very thick liquid which I found hard to apply. If you can get it to work for you then go for it, because the colour selection really is great, but unfortunately this just does not work on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aells on 10/8/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by aells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this foundation. It came to me as a suggestion from a Sephora rep (I usually never trust them) but she tried it out on me and I loved the way that it looked. As if I had nothing on. The color also matched perfectly! The price is a bit steep, but I am still using the same bottle I purchased in early May. I am into trying new foundations, but I will always have this as a staple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Liquid products