Illamasqua Skin Base foundation

3.6

145 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: AQUA (WATER), CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, GLYCERIN, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM (MINERAL OIL), PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, TALC, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, MICA, DIMETHICONE, SILICA, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, CYCLOMETHICONE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ISOSTEARIC ACID, STEARIC ACID, PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE, METHYLPARABEN, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, NIACINAMIDE, SODIUM ASCORBYL PHOSPHATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, DIMETHICONE/METHICONE COPOLYMER, SODIUM HYALURONATE,PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) [+/- MAY CONTAIN: CI 77491 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77492 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77499 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE), CI 77002 (ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE)].


on 11/2/2014 10:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i do like this foundation, its nice for good coverage so i use when i go out. it is slightly on the pricy side and its a bit of a nightmare to get out of the tube. Probably won't buy again.



on 10/23/2014 12:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I initially started using this product, it had great coverage and didn't make me super oily. I had put it aside to use another foundation and came back to it and for some reason, it didn't suit my skin anymore. If you're looking for that dewy skin look, this will do it for you, but if you have oily skin, stay away! This made my skin even oilier looking and I found that the foundation slid as the day progressed - even after setting it. I would say that this is light coverage. I wouldn't recommend trying to layer this, as it would just make it oily. I loved the packaging. The shape is really unique and easy to dispense. Unfortunately, this product was just not for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2014 4:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I happened late on a sale for Illamasqua with most everything sold except their foundation. Lots and lots of foundation in only two shades, 03 and their darkest color. Took a chance and got the 03 which turned out to be a perfect match. Not only that, it is such a gorgeous foundation that looks better than every favourite foundation I have ever owned. Using a damp beauty blender and really pressing it into the skin makes it last the entire day. The best thing is it seems to look better as the day goes on. I ended up going back and buying three more bottles but if I could have I'd have bought a dozen.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For a girl who usually sticks with BB cream and tinted moisturiser, this foundation is a godsend! It's light yet effective and doesn't feel heavy on the skin which is exactly what I was looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/8/2014 11:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the many foundations I have tried, which I have put on and thought "Oh my god I look AMAZING, my search is finally over, HG!!!!", and only a few hours later to realise that I just wasted $50.

The colour match is fabulous. It makes me look GORGEOUS. I have porcelain skin and I can't even explain it... it's radiant, the coverage is crazy, it makes me look like a doll. The coverage is also undetectable, it looks so natural. It's really beautiful.

...until about an hour later when the madness begins. This gets oddly shiny in an hour... it contains talc (which I wasn't happy about) so technically, it should control oil to some (ANY, PLEASE) extent. But instead it makes you oilier. Chemistry you crazy thang. So yeah, it gets really shiny super quickly - even if i set with powder. It makes no difference. And it's a real oil shine, not a 'my skin is healthy and i'm luminous' shine.

It also broke me out pretty badly. Bad for me, anyways - like three pretty big zits at any one time. Of course I was in denial and thought 'i haven't been drinking enough water!' while downing 20L a day. As well as zits it kind of just clogged up my whole face... my skin texture went from smooth to bumpy with a lot more redness than usual. But the foundation would 100% cover it all anyways so I persevered for a bit.

At this stage I am no longer using it as my every day. I might keep it to wear on special occasions because the coverage and finish are so nice but eh. Once the bottle finishes I won't repurchase. My skin deserves better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/17/2014 6:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrific...only word I can think to describe this.

Bought this on a whim without looking at reviews first, and the colour match was completely off.

Tried to make it work regardless - thought maybe used sparingly, it wouldn't be so obvious (big mistake - I looked like Bart Simpson with jaundice!!)

After a few hours, it was almost as if it has risen and was sat on top of the oils. I tried everything - with primer, without primer, with powder, without powder. I tried four different brushes, stippling, buffing, anything I could think of. The result was always the same. I would end up taking it off at lunch time and reapplying as it was getting progressively worse!

I was rematched in the end by a different sales girl as they would not let me return, only exchange, only to find it looked like I had been smacked in the face with a bag of flour. A third sales girl was there when I went back after a walk around looking as if I had witnessed the resurrection of Michael Jackson, who decided it would probably be easier on everybody's stress levels if I was just given a refund.

I will never ever even look at Illamasqua's foundations again after that horrific trip - I will stick to my beloved MAC I think!


on 7/29/2014 2:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

this has been my favorite foundation for several years now. it's very concentrated in pigment & i use an amount abt the size of a pea for full coverage. it doesn't look or feel heavy despite the great coverage & it lasts on my face better than most foundations i've tried. i apply w/ fingers in gentle sweeping/circular strokes. i haven't really bothered to try it w/ brushes bc it works so well w/ fingers & i prefer that. blends super easy for me. i don't usually prime but i do set w/ powder.

one of the other great things is the shade selection, particularly on the pale end for me. the shade numbers do not necessarily go from lightest to darkest since the undertones jump around a lot. i use shade 4.5. i could maybe also get away w/ 3 which is yellower, but the olive tone in 4.5 seems to help cancel out redness & suits my fair, warm-leaning (~nc10) skin very well. normally i reach for the fairest shade in a range of foundation & it's often not quite pale enough &/or too pink, but there are a lot of shades to try here for pale people & a white to mix which is awesome.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2014 6:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A friend of mine had this foundation and she didnt like it. I asked her to give me for trying and I would say I couldnt see any special thing from it. It is a bit thick consistent liquid (usually I am using YSL touche eclat) and medium to high coverage. It has a tendency to be cakey so thin layers is working better. I have got Nr. 3 which is quite pale, a bit yellow undertone liquid which is a bit light for me but I wanted to try. Pixiwoo sisters are loving it but I think their face and skin is just gorgeous (especially Nick, such an extraordinary face structure and healthy skin, OMG!!...). So in their skin I could imagine that it will look good. If I will make pros/cons:

Pros:
-High coverage
-Good color selection
-It is moisturizing your skin lightly but it doesnt look full shiny (a bit like healthy glow)

Cons:
-Price
-It can become cakey so careful about amout
-It can be too much for oily skin

I think you can find a similar product for lower price. For that price it is not so much promising.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2014 5:27:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I bought the Illamasqua skin base foundation as part of a long ongoing search for a good foundation with staying power in the right colour for my very pale, sensitive skin. The first time I used it was a disaster. The colour (02), perfect, but the application and cover, awful. Even with clean, well moisterised skin with a good primer, it sunk into the pores making them visible to even my very short sighted, unspectacled eyes. I normally give in at this stage (not the first time that what appeared to be the perfect one had major flaws) but persevered because the colour match was the most perfect, ever. I actually found that by classically applying very little dabs of foundation on my skin and pressing it gently into the skin rather than rubbing or massaging, gave me the cover I wanted and a flawless finish. Since then, I have worn it continually. The cover looks natural, not cakey. It feels really lovely and luxurious to use, being creamy in texture. My skin glows (but not in the way that ladies of a certain age can 'glow' ) and it lasts, even in our current hot spell of weather. I really hope this helps others.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2014 6:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had so many compliments about my skin when I use the illamasqua skin base foundation. People usually ask am i wearing any foundation or what am I using in my skin. The foundation has a really lovely consistency that gives good coverage but feels light on the skin and can be buildable. This foundation makes my skin look like.. Well skin! It's looks youthful, flawless and perfectly dewy. Not oily or shiny, but healthy supple delicious skin. Being a mother to a very active 2 year old my skin really can feel tired and dull especially from lack of sleep but this product hides my exhausted eyes and face so well. It's so fresh looking and lasts a long time. I've had my tube for about a year! The only thing I don't like about the product is the tube it comes in.. It's a great brand, amazing foundation But the tube looks like a plastic cheap product. This foundation deserves to be enveloped in a tall elegant glass bottle with gold writing and a pump!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Illamasqua Skin Base Foundation Review by starlitmakeupchick



Top Rated Illamasqua Products

image

Hussy

68 reviews
Back to Top