BeneFit Cosmetics • They're Real • Mascara

rated 3.5(1666 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 AlyaAbdel on 7/22/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by AlyaAbdel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this mascara at all. Formula is too wet, didn't do anything for my lashes. Good thing I didn't buy it, as it was just a sample. I'll probably give it away or throw it out. I really don't like it! My lashes were a black, wet, clumpy mess! Do not recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* milktoast24 on 7/22/2014 10:41:00 AM more reviews by milktoast24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you have Asian lashes, this is NOT the mascara for you. In fact, run far, far away. The too-thin formula and too-defining brush merely color the lashes black--- which is great for Western folks who just want to "enhance" their already-lush eyelashes--- but not for Asians who need serious volume and payoff.

The first thing you'll notice is that the brush doesnt "grab" onto the lashes--it just glides through with zero friction, so there's very little mascara deposit onto the lash. The formula is very thin, which makes it hard to build up volume and length. Me, i like to "feel" the brush "Grabbing" onto the lashes and lifting them up. this one feels like nothing.

Because of the thin formula characteristic, Benefit realized this and marketed the ball-like tip of the wand as the volume depositor. Just hold it vertically onto the ends, and dab onto the needed areas, they say, and you get more va-va-voom! HA. HA.

Instead, it just deposits globs of product that you then have to comb out to distribute. it's messy and not accurate. Why do i need to build lush lashes in 2 steps, especially when i have spent 10-15 strokes already trying to get some payoff, and THEN i need to hold the wand vertically and add more globs to build body + volume? that i then have to frantically comb thru to even out? Forget it.

Please don't get suckered in by the marketing and "top selling" status at Sephora. If you have short, sparse, Asian-type lashes and need volume, this is a waste of your hard-earned cash.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HOLLY182 on 7/22/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by HOLLY182

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    


Not worth the money! I've used this a few times and have ended up removing it multiple times as it does not give me any kind of results I'd expect.
1. My lashes look clumped
2. No lift to my lashes
and
3. My lashes end up a wet mess!
Would not pay 19.50 when I gain better results using Boots Natural Collection mascara for just 1.99!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shalie on 7/21/2014 2:22:00 PM more reviews by shalie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have used a lot of mascaras and this is my favorite. It makes my lashes look fuller without clumps. Easy to apply. For me it has been easy to take out. The others mascaras I have not seen much difference in my lashes. I use heavy makeup and this is the one to go when you want to look va va boom. Great quality, and I alwsys throw away mascaras after 6 to 7 months because they start to clump on my lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Georgiawalterxx on 7/21/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by Georgiawalterxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had always used the benefit Bad Gal Lash mascara, and after running out I went back to purchase a new one and was almost bullied into buying this one. Im very funny with my mascaras and I'm a creature of habit, but the girl at the shop basically took my money straight out of my hand before I had made up my mind ! When I took it home I was expecting it to be amazing after all the fuss the lady made about me buying this one instead of my Bad Gal Lash.. At first I found this product to be very 'wet' and was really bummed about spending a lot of money on a product that I wasn't sure about. but after a while it did make my lashes look lovely! I really like the brush and how it separates every lash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 seeka2000 on 7/17/2014 11:51:00 PM more reviews by seeka2000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love hate relationship with this mascara. For my ho hum eyelashes, it really delivers an amazing false lash look. I have thin lashes, and this thickened them with out clumps. Or making them look like spider legs. The brush, I love. It's perfect for getting the roots and lower lashes.

The con, and it's a doozey, is how hard this stuff is to remove. I'm all for a mascara that doesn't smudge or flake, but could it be a little less like cement? And don't forget to take your makeup off, one night after a cocktail (or two) too many I fell asleep without removing this stuff. Oh the heartbreak of having lashes break off... it was horrible.

Simply because I don't always feel like fighting with this stuff at night, it isn't my every day mascara. But it's wonderful when I do!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MacAddict0 on 7/17/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by MacAddict0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Best mascara out there! I'm so glad I found this stuff because it really is magnificent:) The formula is a little clumpy, but with a good eye makeup remover, it shouldn't bother you. Once it dried up, I added a few drops of water to the bottle, shook it up, and it's now as good as new. Really great formula!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarapeno on 7/17/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by sarapeno

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'd spent most of my life thinking most mascara's were mostly interchangeable with barely any differences between them, but this one changed things. I can wear it all day with no smudging, even for sports. The brush is great, with nice firm spikes all over for good separation, and even some around the end (which seldom happens) for precise applications.

Sure, it's kind of pricey, but for something I wear almost every day and makes me feel more confident, it's still cheaper than the daily coffee that doesn't even make me look as alert as this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 doesitcomeinblack on 7/17/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by doesitcomeinblack

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am unimpressed with this mascara. The formula is very wet and leaves my lashes clumpy no matter what I do. It takes ages to dry and gets visibly crusty when it does. It's messy to apply and I always end up having to clean up all around my eyes, especially since it takes forever to dry and gets everywhere when I blink. It adds a medium amount of drama but I don't even like having attention drawn to my eyelashes when they're a clumped, crusty mess.

It feels like Elmer's school glue going on to my lashes and dries to feel like superglue. This makes it a pain and a half to remove. Each eye requires at least 3 cotton balls loaded with makeup remover and even then I still wake up with mascara smudged under my eyes.

The brush has some really cool features, though. I love the spikes on the end of the brush because it helps me make sure I'm coating every single lash and catching the ones on the outer corners. The packaging is nothing special but it's not ugly or especially childish looking so I have no real complaints there.

This mascara works best for me when I layer it over Benefit Bad Gal (another unimpressive Benefit mascara). I'm glad that I only got the sample sizes because I definitely won't be going back for more. Right now I'm working on finding a drugstore mascara that works for me because there is simply no way to justify selling a mascara for over 20 dollars when there are much better options being sold for 8.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hgotsparkles on 7/17/2014 1:37:00 PM more reviews by hgotsparkles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara is way too wet, your have to try and stop yourself from blinking for ages, it smudges way too easily and the bristles are too far apart so all it does to me is make it look as though I have about 5 lashes as its such a wet consistency, my lashes all stick togther.

I will be sticking with my Maybelline Great Lash forever more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Mascara products