Rimmel • Glam Eyes Quad 002 Smokey Brun • Eye Shadow

rated 3.3(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FancyShmancyBlonde on 12/26/2012 3:05:00 PM more reviews by FancyShmancyBlonde

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up in Target for around $4. As soon as I got into the car I opened it up and was a little nervous seeing shimmer... but once I apply the shadows I do not see the shimmer, all I see is a satin finish which is lovely. The four shades are so gorgeous... the highlight is a nice ivory, the lid color is a beautiful very light taupe, for the crease you get a gorgeous teddy bear brown/bronze shade and then the last color is a deep chocolate brown color which I use on the outside of my lids. They apply nicely, don't crease and stay put the entire day. HOWEVER, the bad news is coming........ they do not offer much in the way of pigment. I'm an NW20 (on the lighter side) and I have to work a little harder than usual to get the look I'm going for... I have to layer the colors a little bit... it's really no big deal for me because it's much easier to get a well applied clean look as apposed to working with highly pigmented shades where I have to be more careful when I apply them. If your skin is light you may like this quad but if you are on the medium/dark side I would not recommend Smokey Brun for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Veyaria on 12/21/2012 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Veyaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite shadow palette. I have reached the metal pan on two colors.


These colors are lovely, and I find them perfect for a light, natural look. The palette name can be misleading, as this isn't a very good palette for doing a smoky eye.


I use the light color as a highlight shade, the next color as a nude shade on my lids when I want a no-makeup look, the next color as a little bit of light shading in my crease and outer corner to give definition, and the dark color for a more dramatic look. I actually used the dark color to fill in my brows for a while. The colors blend well.


The colors are long-lasting, especially with a primer. There is a faint shimmer that brings attention to the shadow but isn't really "shimmer."


4 lippys because the name is misleading, and isn't well-suited to a smoky eye.


I will be buying this again and recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kitchiii on 12/20/2012 12:01:00 PM more reviews by kitchiii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Black    

Meh, i'm very partial. I tend to just use this to fill in my eyebrows and maybe as a crease colour for work. It's only a cheap palette don't expect miracles, with cosmetics you get what you pay for and it's rare that a drug store product will come close to a high end counter quality product.
I wouldn't recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ksoccer8 on 12/20/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by ksoccer8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product does not have good pigmentaton at all! I was expecting better quality but I was certainly disappointed in this one by rimmel. I would save your money there are much better neutral drugstore alternatives that work a whole lot better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amymb on 9/28/2012 10:49:00 PM more reviews by amymb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love finding good brown-toned palettes for cheap. These colors are great, not too shimmery, and so easy to blend. Just as good as higher end shadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 9/18/2012 3:20:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought 4 of these shadow kits from Rimmel, and this one, Smokey Brun 002 is my favourite. I don`t understand the low rating, it is certainly on par, even a bit better than my Dior Quint Incognito. Perhaps the lower ratings reflect the older formula, but this one is superb.


There are 4 shadows, all shimmery, with the lightest highlight shade in a champagne cream with faint pinky gold undertones. The next 2 shades are a rose gold taupey shade and a golden bronzey taupe. The darkest is a shimmery chocolate brown with a rosy bronzey cast to it. The colours are really neutral and versatile. I used all of them, and even used the shimmery brown one as a liner. Works well.


The shimmer didn`t need toning down unlike the Orion and Sun Safari sets which I also bought. This looks even more shimmery in the pan, but on the skin it just adds a nice glow. I have aging crepey eyelids so I don`t like a ton of shimmer, due to the lizard look. This doesn`t do that.


They go on like butter, they blend beautifully, and they don`t crease or fade. Great colour payoff (mind you I have very pale skin in a warm tone) and they last all day. They feel good, soft, not scratchy like some shimmery eye shadows (Mac Shroom for example which I love but it scratches my skin and my Dior quint too).


If you are concerned they may be too pale on your skin, try the wet application using eye drops or just water or use a creamy concealer or primer as a base. I did none of that and still had a bit too much colour deposit. As a side note, I often use my sunscreen moisturizer with a dusting of face powder as my base coat on my lids, but in this case I`ve been back to using a foundation product, the new BB Balm by Maybelline.


Speaking of Dior quints, not only are these as good in blendability, but they are better in colour payoff and feel on the skin. This one reminds me of the colours in the limited edition Dior Iridescent Leather that has such high ratings and is impossible to get.


As for price, I got this for 3.88$ CDN on a Walmart sale, and my Dior quint in Incognito cost me 60$. Hmmm. That should give anyone pause to think! When you factor in the quality (somewhat better than Dior) you are left with the cases. The Dior case is prettier, heavier and bigger. The amount of powder is less. The Rimmel case is not bad, but not near the pretty Dior case, it is cheap and light, and doesn`t have a mirror which I never use anyway. The Rimmel has more powder in each pan than Dior.


Rimmel wins this face off. ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nikadee1992 on 9/13/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by nikadee1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeshadow has absolutely no pigmentation. You really do get what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kvaldes2 on 9/13/2012 10:40:00 AM more reviews by kvaldes2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love these eyeshadows! At first I was hesitant because they look just plain brown and I have SOO many eyeshadow pallettes that have almost every brown color imaginable. These are nothing like them. They're unique and look amazing on hazel eyes! Definitely will be hitting the pan on this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 michellea123 on 7/30/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by michellea123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this eyeshadow! I always check reviews before buying a product! The one time i dont, i get this terrible eyeshadow! The colors look terrible together! It seems as though someone choose them with there eyes closed. There is NO pigmentation in any of the colors. Do Not But This!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MasksOffMasksOn on 7/30/2012 11:12:00 AM more reviews by MasksOffMasksOn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this palette for it's size- it doesn't take a lot of space in my makeup bag, and for it's natural colors, which I can wear everyday. I like the price too :)
What I didn't like is that these shadows are not so pigmented. you must put them on a primer, and even then they won't be too strong. It's OK for an "everyday casual" look, but not if you want to use it for an evening makeup.
I won't buy these again because I think there are much better eye shadows in natural colors- of different brands...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products