Rimmel Glam Eyes Quad 002 Smokey Brun

3.4

44 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

MICA, TALC, DIMETHICONE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, ALOE BARBADENSIS LEAF EXTRACT, ETHYLHEXYL DIMETHYL PABA, ISOPROPYLPARABEN, BUTYLPARABEN, ISOBUTYLPARABEN, TIN OXIDE, IRON OXIDES, FERRIC FERROCYANIDE (CI 77510), FD&C BLUE NO. 1 ALUMINUM LAKE (CI 42090), FD&C YELLOW NO. 5 ALUMINUM LAKE (CI 19140), FD&C RED NO. 40 ALUMINUM LAKE (CI16035), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), CARMINE (CI 75470), MANGANESE VIOLET (CI 77742), ULTRAMARINES (CI 77007)


on 6/13/2013 12:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Not a bad quad. I find I use this more than I expect. All 4 shades have shimmer, so if you are looking for an everyday matte or satin quad, this is not it (I suggest you check out the NYX Trio in The Brazilian). I like the lightest shade for a brow highlight (can't tell it has that much shimmer, looks more satin). I use the mink shade for a shimmery lid color, and the wheat brown shade as a satin crease color for a simple flattering look for blue eyes. I add the darker brown shade (has some gold shimmer) for a bit more drama or flair at night. I think the pigmentation is decent (it's not amazing, but c'mon it's $5). It's not terrible, or I'd tell you to skip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/11/2013 6:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Lovely this eye shadow, Perfect for every day use with just some mascara. wanna buy again


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love the shimmer in these colors, and fairly pigmented and looks lovely on my eyes. Although I've used up all the gold :(


on 3/1/2013 4:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a lovely cheap little quad. Lovely creamy vanilla, taupe and golden bronze paired with a dark smokey purple brown. All looked a bit too shimmery for me in the pan (I hate shimmer/glitter in anything) but appears more of a uniform sheen on the skin. This quad is very chic and really brings out my amber/green eyes. Lasted pretty well only minor creasing by the end of the day and little wear. Gives a great smokey daytime eye with some black smudgy pencil.


on 2/8/2013 11:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

-the pigmentation sucked
-didnt even work with a primer
-chalky
-not worth the cost
-do not buy
-creases
-suuucks


on 1/18/2013 2:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Lovely, subtle, shimmery neutral shades. Perfect for every day use with just some mascara. Or it can be played up a bit with cat-eye eyeliner.


on 1/5/2013 12:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I just didn't like these. I bought a few of these quads at a time, and now I regret wasting my money on them. I should have bought one quad and tested it out, first. They're chalky and not pigmented at all.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I picked this up in Target for around $4. As soon as I got into the car I opened it up and was a little nervous seeing shimmer... but once I apply the shadows I do not see the shimmer, all I see is a satin finish which is lovely. The four shades are so gorgeous... the highlight is a nice ivory, the lid color is a beautiful very light taupe, for the crease you get a gorgeous teddy bear brown/bronze shade and then the last color is a deep chocolate brown color which I use on the outside of my lids. They apply nicely, don't crease and stay put the entire day. HOWEVER, the bad news is coming........ they do not offer much in the way of pigment. I'm an NW20 (on the lighter side) and I have to work a little harder than usual to get the look I'm going for... I have to layer the colors a little bit... it's really no big deal for me because it's much easier to get a well applied clean look as apposed to working with highly pigmented shades where I have to be more careful when I apply them. If your skin is light you may like this quad but if you are on the medium/dark side I would not recommend Smokey Brun for you.


on 12/21/2012 3:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my favorite shadow palette. I have reached the metal pan on two colors.


These colors are lovely, and I find them perfect for a light, natural look. The palette name can be misleading, as this isn't a very good palette for doing a smoky eye.


I use the light color as a highlight shade, the next color as a nude shade on my lids when I want a no-makeup look, the next color as a little bit of light shading in my crease and outer corner to give definition, and the dark color for a more dramatic look. I actually used the dark color to fill in my brows for a while. The colors blend well.


The colors are long-lasting, especially with a primer. There is a faint shimmer that brings attention to the shadow but isn't really "shimmer."


4 lippys because the name is misleading, and isn't well-suited to a smoky eye.


I will be buying this again and recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2012 12:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Meh, i'm very partial. I tend to just use this to fill in my eyebrows and maybe as a crease colour for work. It's only a cheap palette don't expect miracles, with cosmetics you get what you pay for and it's rare that a drug store product will come close to a high end counter quality product.
I wouldn't recommend it


Back to Top