Cover Girl • Intense ShadowBlast • Eye Shadow

rated 3.6(72 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kelseyrae340 on 4/13/2013 6:54:00 PM more reviews by kelseyrae340

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I got the color blue bomb. When I blend it out on my eyelid it turns into a dark metallic grey color. I put light blue eyeshadow on top and it makes it much more pigmented but I wish I could wear it alone, it just changes from blue once you blend it. Too expensive also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MlizK on 2/10/2013 5:14:00 PM more reviews by MlizK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my second. I have the gold color. Usually I wear shimmer, so this is great at keeping my shadow pigmented throughout the day. Recently I've been wearing mattes on top of it and it tones down the shimmer a lot. It isn't very pigmented, but it's the best eyeshadow primer I've ever used so far. No creasing for hours. I've worked 8 hours and then run errands, and the stuff is still on my lids. I wore it in Disney World all day long and it didn't budge. I don't think I'll try the other colors b/c of the reviews, plus I don't wear those colors too much. The gold works great because you can put it all over your eyelid, up to the browbone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kmm82512 on 2/1/2013 4:42:00 AM more reviews by kmm82512

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I came across these colored eye primers last week and really liked the color of the Beige Blaze. I thought it would work well as a primer and base color and decided to give it a try. I've used it a few times now and I'm rather disappointed with it for several reasons... 1) The tube says that it is a "rich" shadow, but there is nothing rich about it. It is very, very thin, almost watery, and it rubs right off. After applying it and patting it out on my lids, it was so thin that the color was undetectable. I tried applying more, but it still rubbed right off and I could barely tell I had put anything on. All it accomplished was making my lids appear slightly pearlized. 2) You can't get much of the product on the foam applicator. It's a bit too large for the opening into the tube, so pulling it out squeezes most of the product off of the applicator. 3) It doesn't work well as a primer. It was as if I hadn't even used a primer at all.
I will not be buying this again. It's a shame it's not a better product because the color is very pretty (at least when it's concentrated in the tube and you can actually see the color!), but there are plenty of other, higher-quality beige/champagne-colored products out there.
*EDIT 3/16* - For those of you who have this product in Beige Blaze, I have found a better use for it than eyeshadow/primer. The color works well as a cheekbone highlighter because of its subtle shimmer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 1/27/2013 5:20:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

I purchased this item in Brown Bling. It had a decent amount of pigment, and seemed promising as it blended out with my finger easily and nicely, very low maintenance. However, this color looked like a reddish plum taupe on my lids, very unflattering and like another reviewer said, "bruise like." I wish the color had been better, it did last decently well as an eyeshadow primer without creasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AwehOlivia on 12/4/2012 12:36:00 AM more reviews by AwehOlivia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was definitely expecting more from this product. I mean, it's easy to use, it doesnt crease too bad... but the color selection is awful. Very generic, basic, boring colors that everyone already has. The color pigmentation is also kind of low, and the texture of the shadow is very thin, I was expecting it to be a bit more rich and creamy. They work well as a shadow base, and to use if you're in a hurry and want to wear something subtle on your lids. The drying time though is a tiny bit slow, although some people have complained it's too fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AdorkableNargle on 11/19/2012 9:27:00 PM more reviews by AdorkableNargle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow. It stays put, but I wish it came in a bigger, less pastel-y selection if colors. It does everything it's supposed to, which is good for CoverGirl. But I don't use it as often as I'd like, considering it's supposed to be a quickie, on-the-go product. And it does have a tendency to crease in my strange eyelids, leaving a line on my eyelids at the end of the day that's darker than the rest of my lid. But I'll buy again and use extra primer, because it is cheap and there's only so much I can invest in at my ripe young age.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shgirl2 on 9/3/2012 6:18:00 PM more reviews by shgirl2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have #800 & #815, the light beige and brown ones. This lasts on me all day and I love how my eyes look finished but I don't look overly done up. The light beige one reminds me of a liquid MAC Shroom and the brown one like a lighter MAC Satin Taupe except the shadowblast is a bit sheerer which I like. It won't be for everyone, nothing ever is, but if you like the description I think you'll love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Picchic on 7/19/2012 12:01:00 AM more reviews by Picchic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Let me tell you I love this eye shadow. It says put even under the most extreme conditions. I wore this on an 8 hour 100 degree outdoor event and I looked like a wet mop when it was over BUT my eyes looked great like I had just put it on. This is wonderful to use thinned out for a light touch of color and shimmer or a heaver hand for smashing rich color. I can use any liner with it and nothing budges. More color would be great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 samhoney on 6/30/2012 1:01:00 AM more reviews by samhoney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Just bought this tonight in Brown Bling. I have just put it on for the first time and it is now drying.

Let me say this: Brown Bling is a near exact dupe of MAC Satin Taupe. BB is a medium brown with silver shimmer and it's a very nice color. Very, very cool brown and (to me) is about as close of a dupe for Satin Taupe as a dupe can get and costs around $9. Look for the CVS or Walgreen's sales ads because they have BYGO 50% off.

I pair this with MAC Technakohl liner in Earthline. This liner stays put unlike anything I've ever worn. I worked in the yard the other day in near 100 degree heat and when I looked at my eyes, the liner was still there just as it was before I went outside. Earthline is also a medium brown with silver shimmer that goes so well with the shadow blast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 scta0000 on 6/28/2012 12:56:00 PM more reviews by scta0000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just purchased this in two colors (pink and light brown) on sale at CVS and hate to admit it, but I don't like these. First, the wand is too spongy and large for a precise application. Second, blending using my fingers causes two issues; complete removal of the shadow before it sets OR not being able to blend at all once it sets (can we say "bald spots?!). Third, once set, I started to feel a tightness / stiffness on my lids which lasted an hour or so (is this normal?). Lastly, I applied the pink on my lids at 8:00am and it's about noon and I see nothing but creases. Granted, the primer does assist the shadow to stay on slightly longer and the color is quite pretty, but for $7.99? I don't think so...

I have read reviews where there isn't enough pigmentation and being too "sparkly" for daytime and I tend to agree. Sorry, CoverGirl, but this is one of the first products I have purchased from you in years and probably my last.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products