Alterna • Alterna Bamboo Smooth - Kendi Oil • Styling Products

rated 4.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 fina125 on 3/27/2013 10:48:00 AM more reviews by fina125

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best oil I have used on my hair. It reminds me of Biosilk without actually weighing my hair down. Its best to use it on wet hair. I sometimes use just 1 drop on my ends if my hair is dry and that is all you really need. When i apply it, i feel my hair softer. Love it for frizz control and to make my hair shine and behave. I have wavy frizzy hair and this helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annalynn77 on 2/25/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by annalynn77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Leaves your hair smooth and shiny and all most frizz free.. Love this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissJacqui85 on 1/6/2013 9:12:00 AM more reviews by MissJacqui85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The reviews on here are so mixed I almost didn't purchase this oil, but they had a tester in the salon I purchased it in. So I applied a small amount to dry hair, as did the over zealous sales girl to her own hair (who claimed she uses it daily and it doesn't weigh hers down.) I loved the way it smoothed my hair and didn't make it look limp and unwashed. It's almost like it refreshes your hair? Can't put my finger on it, but I am impressed. My hair has never been coloured,bleached streaked rinsed you name it, Virgin hair ...and I do not straighten it, and I curl it maybe once every 5months:) so it is very healthy, with no damage, very shiny etc
No, this is not a brag-a-thon about my hair; what I am trying to illustrate is it is very difficult to improve the condition of my hair, or to impress me.... But also because my hair is so naturally hydrated and oily, I need products that won't weigh it down. So many hair oils are too rich for my hair... This one I apply when my hair is damp and it makes it incredibly light and soft...I use it on the bottom half only though. The smell is divine ...a little in love:) it's not a synthetic smell though so you don't smell producty and salon ish... It smells exotic.
I think too much of any product, specifically an oil based one, is overwhelming to skin or hair ....so I don't go crazy with this....but I can use a lot more than other oils in the past. It gives a stunning shine. Will last a long time....so in that way I don't feel it's expensive. Yes I know it contains silicones but I find pure straight oils to my hair weigh it down with too much moisture which is not needed....so maybe the mixed reviews have something to do with this ....the really damaged hair will always respond better to pure oils? It makes sense... There are so many factors that make hair and skin different, and due to this people's experiences with products will always be different. So if your hair sounds like mind I suggest you try it. Very happy and will buy again :)
P.S my Mum has coloured red hair which is in great condition (she uses wen) but always needs an added boost on the ends...she tried this on damp hair before drying it lightly at the end....and absolutely loved the results ...it really sealed the ends,smoothing them beautifully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 WhackyAki on 12/28/2012 4:50:00 PM more reviews by WhackyAki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a hairdresser, so I've tried ALL the serums! This one was just okay. I have light blonde fine thick hair with dry, split ends and have had a hard time growing my hair out because of my ends. I bought this at my distributors as soon as it was released. At first I really did love this stuff, it made my hair really soft and manageable and protected it. After about half a bottle it was just kind of "meh" for me... I didn't notice any improvement in the length or condition of my hair. Of course, hair can't be miraculously repaired and rejuvenated, but the point of a serum is to protect the ends from heat, tangling together, brushing, etc. My main problem with this is that it was not weightless and after prolonged use it actually made my hair dull and weak. I have found a much better serum and do not recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RedLipsCatEyes on 8/29/2012 12:30:00 PM more reviews by RedLipsCatEyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I loved this product. When I put it in damp hair and blow dried, my hair was soft, silky, straight and frizz free. It smelled great and would stay that way for days. However after putting it in my hair everyday, it got frizzy and split ends were everywhere. Turns out the first ingredient is silicone and since I don't use sulfate shampoos, the build up was constant in my hair and ended up making it much worse rather than improving the health of it overall. That being said, it's claims to make your hair stronger is obviously false if not at the least temporary or superficial - the silicones give the illusion of healthier hair but if not properly clarified from the hair, can actually suffocate it preventing much needed moisture, sebum and nutrients from penetrating the strand. As sulfate shampoos are not an option for me - I have contact dermatitis when I use them (itchy scalp, red bumps) - I can't use this product. The initial result was great but I much prefer oils that actually improve your hair in the long run rather than cause damage.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jsc0215 on 8/22/2012 1:57:00 AM more reviews by jsc0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very coarse, thick kinky, but wavy hair. Oh, and I have a lot of it. A lot. My hair is up to the bottom of my chest- so it's about medium length. Also, I wash it every other day during the warmer months and every three days during the cooler months.


This is my HG hair treatment and the only one I use (other than shampoo and conditioner). Can I say that I completely IN LOVE with this product? I love the way my hair soaks it up. Yum, yum, yum!


After I've blow-dryed my hair, I immediately apply half a quarter's amount onto my palms and distribute the product to my ends. After my ends have soaked up the oil, I work my way up to the shaft of my hair being careful not to work it too close to my scalp (it would get oily).


The only thing my hair lacks is hydration. And that's exactly what I feel it receives with the Alterna oil. It gives my hair the most beautiful effect- like I have long, flowing, healthy hair. I love it!!


_____________
Pros:
- adds moisture and shine
Cons:
- none!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 6/11/2012 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have dry curly fine hair but lots of it that I flat iron regularly. I used this as a pre-shampoo treatment, on damp and on dry hair and didnt see much difference. Altho I definitely like the pre-shampoo results the best, I wont re-purchase. Too many cones for me and dont feel it really gets absorbed into my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 midnightblue1536 on 4/16/2012 3:14:00 PM more reviews by midnightblue1536

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my absolute favorite product! It moisturizes the hair while adding a hint of natural shine to it. The best thing about this product is it does not make my hair greasy even if I use an excessive amount. Even though the price is a little pricey for the amount that it comes in, it lasts for a long while! I will definately repurchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ProductJunkey on 3/31/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by ProductJunkey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really love this oil. I especially love it after I color and my hair tends to be very dry, this makes the ends less crunchy and adds some nice shine. I like it better than any other type of oil I've used. I use it before blowdrying, when my hair is just slightly damp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cmyklamb on 3/29/2012 9:23:00 PM more reviews by cmyklamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This works really great to smooth down my hair and prevent any frizziness. I apply this when my hair is still damp, but not soaking wet like I just stepped out of the shower. I use one entire drop (about a quarter size) and rub it in between my hands and apply it starting from the middle of my hair down to the ends. This only works for me if I apply on damp hair, once my hair completely dries, this pretty much does nothing for me. I don't think it's a miracle product, and not really worth repurchasing. The smell is lovely though, but it doesn't last. The bottle could be better, the dropper is a little leaky.

I think a pure oil would work better, this has a silicone-type slip to it that does not feel very hydrating to the ends.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alterna products

More Styling Products products