Sephora Cream Lip Stain (all shades)

4.4

112 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polybutene, Petrolatum, Cyclohexasiloxane, Kaolin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Aroma (Flavor), Glyceryl Behenate/Eicosadioate, Propylene Carbonate, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Tocopherol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Benzyl Alcohol. May or may not contain (+/-): Mica, CI 15850 (Red 7 Lake), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 15850 (Red 6), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 75470 (Carmine).


on 5/20/2015 9:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After hearing so many great reviews on this product, I was really excited to finally try it. The shade I got was in Marvelous Mauve, quite a Kylie Jenner color if you ask me. It is also a beautiful nude shade for any girl with a deep complexion - so I thought why not to try it?

I really loved the way it applied, quite smooth and effortless. You got to have a steady hand not to go over-board with it, because it sets quite fast. I found that 2-3 min later it was sitting on my lips quite well and felt fantastic. But only at first..

If you generally don't suffer from dry lips, then you will love this lip cream. However I am quite sensitive and what I felt when wearing this product was that my lips were getting quite uncomfortable with every other hour that I wore this. People also say it is a great smudge proof product that doesn't leave a lip print. In my opnion it does and moreover - if you put 3-4 layers on - your lips start getting sticky and gloopy. On a 4-5th hour I would totally remove this from my lips because I just couldn't stand that uber dry feeling anymore. And of course - the day after I would only wear a thick moisturizing balm to kind of restore their normal condition.

Comparing this product to other similar ones on the market - I think this one was the most drying. It also accentuates all the cracks on the lips, so if you have a mature skin - I don't think it will suit you at all.

If you need more thoughts on this product, this beauty review below I find is helpful.

http://www.partyparrotblog.com/#!Lets-Talk-About-Sephora-Cream-Lip-Stain/cmbz/554a15cb0cf27313351b7a4f

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 5/11/2015 2:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

$13 for these and I cannot get enough of them! Seriously, I've tried dozens of long last stains from high-end stores, and drugstores and these are the BEST. They go one smoothly and you can quickly clean up any mistakes before the color sets. It stays on forever...thru eating, coffee, talking, etc. I apply at 6am before leaving my house and the color is still vibrant till lunchtime. I usually reapply midday. The only thing I would caution is do not apply a gloss, lip balm, chapstick or anything on top of this stain - it will smear. I did that once & I looked like the Joker from Batman. Happy lippies here! Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2015 9:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sephora has some seriously underrated products. Always Red is my go to red lipstick. After trying on several different ones, including some much more expensive ones, I found that the Sephora one looked the best. It was the most bright red, was super matte, and best of all, it doesn't budge. It can look a little messy if applied without lipliner, but that's true for any red. I love the color on it's own, and if I want something more wine colored, I pair it with a maroon Wet and Wild lipstick, and it looks beautiful and stays on all night.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I picked it up in Always red (01) because I was looking for a lipstick with a matte finish and a non-drying formula, so the lip stain was an easy choice!

Pigmentation is extreme, you only need a quick swipe to make the color pop, but I suggest applying two coats if you really want to experiment how beautifully your lips stand out. It's a great alternative if you have bad experiences with popular matte lipsticks, such as MAC ones, which are a bit too dry for my chappy lips.

I wore it from 5 pm to midnight the first day - no smudging, no feathering, no transfer at all! It didn't come off, and I had a few drinks, some water and a really basic dinner.
I wanted to test it with a proper dinner though, and obviously it didn't resist oily food, but that's what happens with any product, given that I remove my makeup with coconut oil. Overall, I'm super satisfied with it.

You can totally use lip balm under it (honestly, I suggest doing so because the stain has a matte finish and could emphasize bits of flaky skin) as long as you blot it gently before applying the product.


on 4/19/2015 2:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So the cream lip stain that I bought was blackberry sorbet and I'm absolutely in love with it. I had never bought a cream lip stain and did so thinking it was like a lip gloss, although it's not much like a gloss other than the tube and applicator. The color is very intense and it took me some getting used to as I'm not used to wearing an intense color or one this dark, but now I absolutely love it!

The product is very easy to apply, but is messy. Because it's so creamy it doesn't necessarily apply evenly and you need to scrape some of the product off the applicator before putting it on your lips since it gives a lot. The term stain is very accurate as it will stay on without needing a lip liner, although I like to use one. The finish is more of a matte than satin in this shade. It also smells like cake batter, which makes me want to use it more! Finally, it's $13, which is pretty good! I highly recommend trying the cream lip stains out and I'm going to look for more colors soon!


on 4/11/2015 11:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was contemplating on Limecrime's Velvetines, until I chanced upon these! It's a pity the other colours are always sold out. It has a very pleasant smell, almost like a birthday cake. It dries to a matte finish, rather than satin, which was what I was really looking out for! The staying power is amazing - I can get through a meal and it would not even fade the slightest. I still put a fresh coat on after out of habit. Don't do that because after a few coats, it can get very uncomfortable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

WOW... this is one of my first purchases of Sephora makeup! And I am beyond impressed.

I've been and still am obsessed with lip stains (already bought KVD's Berlin, Outlaw, and Lolita plus Lime Crime's red velvet, wicked, and suede)... So, when I came across the raves here, I quickly tried the tester when i was in Sephora... BAM! I fell in-love with the 01 shade "Always Red." It is a nicer more vibrant red than Outlaw, kind of like MAC's Riri Woo (which I also have) but better!! Retails for 16 cdn, alas it is always out of stock in Richmond Centre. :((

However, today, I saw the last available 01 shade in the big new Robson St. Sephora and quickly grabbed it. I also bought the Mauve colour.

Score!! I found my current HG lipstick!! Highly recommended!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have always red. Great red however application is tricky around the edges for me. If I can learn how to apply liquid stains and not look like a clown this would be excellent

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2015 7:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the only specialty products I've purchased multiple times. This is the BEST cream lip stain I've ever used. The only one I've consistently bought is Always Red, as I prefer a matte lip rather than a shimmery or lacquered one.

It has fantastic staying power, dries quickly, and smells amazing. It's a bit drying after several hours of wear, but I've been able to go out for dinner without needing to reapply. I think it's a fantastic product and formula for the price, and if they ever discontinue Always Red I'll throw myself off a cliff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/27/2015 9:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have never purchased anything from sephora before and god what I was missing all these years! I have a thing lately for matte lipsticks and so far I've been using Barry M's lip paints and been happy with those but I came across these babies during holiday sales and ended up buying 3 shades: 01-Always Red, 13-Marvelous Mauve and 14-Blackberry Sorbet.

Packaging: The packaging resembles a lipgloss, it's a classic plastic tube with a wand.

Product: The lip stain is easy to apply, it's incredibly pigmented and dries matte and almost instantly so you have to be really cautious when applying it. It has a really pleasant sweet scent not an artificial one though. It tastes the same, mayby a little strong at first but fades out quickly. It doesn't dry out the lips as bad as some other matte l/s I've tried before but after a while you feel a slightly stretchy feeling not anything extremely annoying but have your lips well moisturized before applying this.

Staying power: Well, staying power is amazing! It stays put all night, it doesn't transfer while eating, smoking or kissing ;-) but it transfers a bit on glasses if it gets too wet so I recommend using a straw with your drink or coctail.

Price: Price is ok, they cost about 12 euros each for 5 ml or 0.169 oz but if you can get them 25% off, they really worth their money!

Conclusion: I would definitely try out more shades or repurchase during sales, especially shade 13-Marvelous Mauve which is my favourite out of the three and combined with mac spice lip liner gives the perfect pout!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top