Redken • Extreme Anti Snap (new formula 2011) • Hair Treatments

rated 4.4(79 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 icebabe86 on 2/1/2014 5:57:00 AM more reviews by icebabe86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had made the fatal mistake of dying my naturally brunette hair full head bleach blonde, which combined with heat styling caused it to snap off in various places :-( This resulted in me having to dye it back to brown and have approx 2 inches cut off. I was recommended this product by a hairdresser to try and prevent further snapping whilst my the damaged hair slowly grew out.
I have been using the kerastase resistance range to shampoo and condition my hair followed by a 5p sized amount of anti snap before blow drying and straightening. At first this product really seemed to work, my hair appeared stronger and there was definitely less breakage when styling. However I think I had fallen foul of the overuse of protein as after some time my hair appeared to look 'fried' on the ends : sort of crispy and crinkly but no visible splits. I had a good trim and continued to use anti snap, the problem still persisted. So I stopped using anti snap and used a Naked leave in conditioner instead (a brilliant British drug store range!) and suddenly my fried ends had gone completely!
Moral of the story: anti snap is a brilliant product for restoring damaged hair but be careful of overuse.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PassionateAboutSkincare on 12/12/2013 12:58:00 PM more reviews by PassionateAboutSkincare

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. I have fine limp hair that is now bleached out so it's pretty damaged at the moment. This product is light enough that it doesn't weigh my hair down or make it greasy and helps with breakage, smells nice and keeps it soft. I find if I don't blow dry it after I apply it can make my hair crunchy in some spots. I have used this product for about 10 years now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 12/11/2013 1:12:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used the old version for years when I was younger and then moved on to other protein treatments for my hair. I decided to try the new formulation to see how my hair would like it. It has a good smell that is sort of powdery and fruity and I only need a teaspoon amount of it to apply to my hair. It leaves it shiny and soft. I have highlights that I am currently growing out and overall my hair is pretty healthy, but I still need something to keep breakage to a minimum. This suits my needs and it isn't too heavy. It keeps my curls intact and is a nice treat to use a couple of times a week (I like to balance my use with moisturizing products). I would repurchase and would also recommend getting the travel size if you want to try it out first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FLYONA on 12/4/2013 6:23:00 PM more reviews by FLYONA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This has saved my hair! I use heat on my hair everyday (hangs head in shame) Up until 2 years ago my hair was in terrible condition to say the least and it did not grow! This has changed my life and I now have the long hair I always dreamed about. My hairdresser advises me not to use this every time I wash my hair as it is a protein, however, I usually do! I use 1 pump on damp hair and follow it with a heat protector. I definitely notice the difference when I don't use it. I will never be without this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautyAddict62 on 12/4/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by BeautyAddict62

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My hair is bleached blonde and was getting very dry and coarse. I heard great reviews on this product so I thought I'd give it a try. This is a FANTASTIC product!! If I use my Kerastase masque then apply this before blow drying, my hair feels so soft & looks very healthy. I highly recommend this product to anyone who has weak, dry & coarse hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Izzybelle on 11/22/2013 5:46:00 AM more reviews by Izzybelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have lightened hair with some damaged ends, and i find this really helps with that. My air is easier to manage and smoother after straightening when i apply this to damp/towel dried hair.
It is a lot more runny than i thought but this helps it spread throughout the hair easier. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 11/22/2013 4:36:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I haven't noticed much of an improvement in my hair since I began using this 1 year ago per recommendation of a friend who's in the hairstyling biz. I have long, coarse 3b hair that's been colored and was looking for something to help moisturize and stop hair from breaking off! This product is ok, it's very thin and liquid-y, I have to use 3 or 4 pumps to coat mid length of my hair to ends and it can get crispy if you apply too much :/ smells fruity like raspberries, very sweet and non-offensive but it doesn't do much besides add shine and some moisture, my hair still breaks off badly when I brush it or in the shower. I won't repurchase this one but it's average enough to use up and then I hope to find something better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 11/10/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A big round of applause for all you kids on MUA!! My hair thanks you!

I have had so many years of damage done to my hair (willingly) that I felt it lacked shine and was starting to feel listless. Less like real hair, more like a wig.. ew. Anyway, reading all the comments, I purchased this and have started using it at night. It has been one month and you can see the life coming back to my hair. It is now glossier -- yes, I will die with a bottle of dye in my mitts but dying doesn't mean hair has to look dead.. lol.

this is a lovely emulsion -- not at all greasy and is almost immediately absorbed by my hair. I am so happy with the results that today I picked up another bottle.. and yes, I will continue to use this as the look and feel of healthy hair is incomparable.

thanks guys!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VeruskaRai on 11/10/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by VeruskaRai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My hair was chemically damaged by a coloring incident and I needed major help I was washing it and pieces we snapping off. I closed ties with the hairdresser that damaged my hair and went to a place with really good reviews, which was a Redken salon. The stylist recommended a deep conditioning and to use the extreme line faithfully. Shampoo, Fortifying Conditioning Treatment, and Anti- Snap, and rotate All Soft treatment every three washes . I've been using all for the past six weeks.

So I'm reviewing the entire line more of a whole, because the Redken website says to use the system as well. When I shampooed my hair was falling out. After about three uses the breakage during washing and combing became very controlled and returned to how it was prior to the coloring incident.

The breakage during styling seemed the same as before I started the system, I noticed minimal change. The breakage during combing when dry also had a minimal change.

Now it seems like this product has helped but it hasn't rescued my hair so to say. I can say is that I would absolutely buy again because the healthy part of my hair (everything but the last three inches) are the healthiest they've been my entire life, super smooth and shiny. Great product if you have minimally damaged hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Olive143 on 11/6/2013 4:56:00 PM more reviews by Olive143

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My hair has always been healthy. However, I've been doing ombre color lately and noticed that my ends were snapping off quite easily. So after getting a trim, I use this once or twice a week after washing my hair. I don't use on my roots only mid to ends of my hair and don't use daily. This made my hair crunchy and dry.

After using I notice a significant decrease in those bulbs on my hair strands that snap off. I find maybe 2-5 compared to strands of them prior to using. I will continue to purchase and use.

For reference I also use a little heat protectant serum and leave in conditioner. I think those are a must if your hair is bleached and you heat style.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Hair Treatments products