Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

4.1

496 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (water), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol Denat, Parfum (fragrance), Panthenol, Aluminium Hydroxide, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp Extract, Silica, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Pantolactone, Punica Granatum Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Sorbic Acid [+/- May contain: CI 77007 (ultramarines), CI 77019 (mica), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI77891 (titanium dioxide)] 10BMT001-1]


on 6/3/2015 3:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have the 2nd lightest shade because the lightest one is not sold in my country, it matches me ok, it's not 100% perfect, but I never really find my exact match in the drugstore either. The coverage is nice and the formula is alright, kind of like a gel. I use a moisturizer + moisturizing primer with it and I had no problems with it sitting on my dry patches or breaking me out. Every review on youtube said that it has great coverage, like medium coverage, it does not, it's very light, it will cover redness and even out your skintone and make you look put together, but forget about covering acne scars. It does not last 16 hours as it claims on the bottle, I would say after 5 hours I see it fading away in a giraffe kind of way leaving random patches of foundation all over my face. Also I don't love the smell
Pros:
Pump
Yellow toned unlike most drugstore foundations
Affordable
Looks nice for about 5 hours

Cons:
Light coverage
Doesn't last 16 hours as claimed
Has the giraffe effect after them 5 hours



on 6/3/2015 7:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have this product in the lightest shade. I saw some raving reviews about it, so I figured I would try it out to see how it works. The color was okay, but was actually a bit darker than I expected, which meant I had to blend it in more. The finish was a bit dewy, but actually it looked a bit oily during the day as opposed to glowy. This is a relatively inexpensive product, so I am happy to have tried it, but I would not repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2015 7:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This foundation is great for a drugstore product and I actually enjoy using it a lot more than I first thought I would, as I'm often quite sceptical of how my skin will get on with drugstore foundations. However, it is just that - a drugstore foundation. I don't think it's anything completely amazing and from what I've seen on the shelves and online, the shade range doesn't look too great for people with deeper skin tones. I do like it though and it's very, very good for the price.

I use the shade 51 (Light Vanilla) and, although I lean more towards lightweight foundations, I think it is buildable for people who want more coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2015 4:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I couldn't wait to try out this foundation based on all of the positive reviews; and for the first 3 days of using it I was truly an airbrushed vision! I thought I had found my HG and at a third of the price of my usual Jane Iredales Liquid Minerals; and I was over the moon! Well, the amazing skin dream was shattered when on day 4 flakes started to appear, my face felt tight and my foundation started cracking and looking awful. It felt irritated and I looked like I had aged several years. I checked the ingredients (why did I not do this before purchasing?) and noticed 2 nasty culprits in the list. Sodim Chloride (er - that's salt, which would be dehydrating surely?) and alcohol denat - which is properly damaging to the skin's barrier. Shame on you Bourjois!!!

On further Googling into the effects of alcohol denat, Paula's Choice had the following to say: "The research is clear: Alcohol harms your skin's protective barrier, triggers free-radical damage, makes oily skin and redness worse, and is best described as "pro-aging." Why bother, given the damaging effects of topical alcohol and the hundreds of skin-friendly alternatives available?"

The website describes alcohol denat as the "handsome bad boy" of ingredients; at first giving a pleasant aesthetic to the product, while slowly stripping away your youth. Paula's Choice is a well respected site and I trust the information. I have been applying manuka masks daily now for a week; and my skin is still crazy-dry; although better than it was. It is fair to say that I have a sensitive skin; but there is no doubt that this is no "Healthy Skin" Serum foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2015 5:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My biggest priority when purchasing foundation is making sure it has a nice yellow undertone, to suit my asian skin. Although my skin shade was leaning more towards a 53, just from reading reviews, I found that 52 was described as having a very nice yellow undertone to it, whereas 53 was seen more neutral. I have struggled with many foundations looking very pink/orange in the sunlight so I didn't want to take a chance.

I was right in the fact that 52 was too light for my skin, but nearing winter, I decided to keep using it and just warming it up with a bronzer. Luckily, the foundation does oxidise!! to a darker shade, not orange and works a lot closer to my skin colour (still a tad too light). I am contemplating purchasing another one in a shade 53 or 54, after I try out another foundation that I am also very interested in. Anyways, another con would be that it streaks horribly!! Applying this foundation is a nightmare, building it would be very tricky!! Will try with a sponge tho, but with a brush there are terrible brush streaks all over my face that I had to smooth out with my fingers (which i hate using). Also, I find it does come off a little bit on my nose, or where ever there is oil, but thats after 9 hrs which is expected! And it does sink into dry spots! So please moisturise properly :)

Pros: Complimented on my face being 'flawless' despite having major breakouts all over my forehead. Really light, does not feel heavy! Good scent!! I get an oily T-zone and found even blotting that area, my foundation did come off a little bit.

Overall, if using a sponge makes this foundation more buildable (will keep you updated) and I don't find my HG with the foundation I am now looking to purchase, will buy another in a darker shade!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have a love/hate relationship with this foundation i love the smell, the texture and price however i think its causing me to have bumps under my skin. I always thought it was my skincare routine which needed changing and i changed my foundation my bumps went?

Pros:
-Smells fruity
-Texture is moisturising
-Price

Cons:
-Didnt cover dry patches
-Caused bumpS under my skin
-Palest shade is too yellow for me/not a good colour selection


on 5/19/2015 7:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product has its ups and downs. I love the packaging, especially the pump. The actual product matches my skin tone pretty well, but the actual foundation has close to no coverage over the occasional pimple, I've noticed that after a couple hours it slowly fades away to the point where there are random foundation spots of your face.


on 5/15/2015 10:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

got shade 53 which is a good match for my skin. it has nice texture and dewy finish.


on 5/11/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This smells beautiful and is light coverage foundation that doesnt last long, but the finish is dewy and pretty. Good for people with skin that has no problems or few flaws, will not cover anything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was a bit disappointed with this foundation. After I tried the Healthy Mix foundation and loved it, I decided give this one a go.

If you have near perfect skin then I think this could be an excellent option for you. But if you are like me and your skin tone is bit uneven, then I don't think this is the foundation for you. It's definitely a light coverage not a medium one, so if you want something that covers scaring you'd be better off with the Healthy Mix foundation.

It is a gel formula and it feels dewy when you apply it but then drys to a skin like finish.
I have very dry skin, and for some reason I found the Healthy Mix foundation to be more hydrating then the Gel Serum.

I did purchase this in shade 51 during the winter. I'm about Nc20. If you're on the lighter side of Nc20, go with 51. If you're on the darker side, go with shade 52.
(52 is my summer shade.)

If I had better skin I could see myself really liking this foundation but sadly at the moment this foundation doesn't sit well on my skin and doesn't provide me with enough coverage.

This foundation is between a 2 and a 3 rating for me.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top