Essie • No Chips Ahead • Top/Base Coats

rated 2.6(72 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Tigitodwitz on 9/23/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by Tigitodwitz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This product is just not right for me at all. I've been painting my nails a lot pretty much or a year now, so I'm pretty much a newbie. I like making cool designs and etc. I was really interested in seche vite because it looks so nice on other peoples nails and dries really fast supposedly. But the store I went to didnt have it so I bought this thinking it would be pretty good. First of all it takes FOREVER to dry. FOREVER, literally HOURS. You probably need to wait about 6 maybe more hours until you can really start using your hands. Second it's pretty thin and not glossy like I was hoping it'd be. Third its Not good to finalize your nail designs. like right now i did a silver base with chunky blue glitter that i did lines with. turned out great but it doesnt even look like i have a top coat on and doesnt even out the raise between the two colors ( not even that big of a raise). I've been using this top coat for a few months now just dealing with it ( it was expensive!) The bottle is about 1/2 gone and is starting to thicken but does still apply good. It's just not a good top coat and my nails have chipped with it the next day after applying. So it's not glossy, doesn't even look that good with a single solid nail color, especially multicolors/layers, takes FOREVER(FOREVER!) to dry, and is too expensive! I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigerlily217 on 8/13/2013 4:26:00 AM more reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Do not bother trying this top coat, it's a complete waste of your money! The worse top coat I have ever tried. The application is smooth and easy and it does leave a nice glossy finish to your nails, the good points stop there. It takes forever to dry! I applied this top coat on and was watching 3.5 hours worth of shows before heading to bed. Since I am always paranoid about ruining my nails I made sure to leave my hands out and avoid having contact with the sheets when in bed. When I woke up all of my nails had sheet imprints! It looked like I was rolling around in bed right after doing my nails. I couldn't believe it. 3.5 hours is more than enough time for it to dry. I always wait 20 minutes between coats to make sure everything dries properly. This is ridiculous. I'm an avid fan of Essie but this is not worth your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ayelsmall on 8/2/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by ayelsmall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be one of the worst top coats I have used, and I have tried A LOT of them.. First of all, the brush is way too small for my liking..

I did a silver/gray/black gradient manicure, and it turned out awesome, looked better than a lot of professional manicures I've gotten in the past.. I let my manicure dry completely, and then applied this top coat.

While letting my polish dry, I watched two episodes of my tv show, which took about an hour.. touched my nails, and they felt dry. Decided I was going to go for a run, changed my pants and looked at my nails... RUINED. pretty much all of the nail polish smudged or came completely off my nail!! So aggravating!!!

Little bottle is in the trash now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smoothtalkin on 7/23/2013 12:32:00 PM more reviews by smoothtalkin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the BEST top coat I have ever used! My nails are brittle, dry, thin and break very easily. On day 3 of my first time wearing it and there is hardly any wear to my nails. NO major chips and NO breakage! A manicure lasts me 3-4 days with heavy touch-up on the 3rd and 4th days. Sometimes my nails chip on the first day. I used 2 coats of a cheapo Maybeline polish and one coat of this on top and it's the best at-home manicure I have ever used. I highly recommend! Going to try the basecoat next time.

BTW I used to use Seche Vite and it's the worst topcoat I have ever used. The smell is awful and it begins to peel on day two. Essie is much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caitmarie on 7/8/2013 10:01:00 AM more reviews by caitmarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best, I will not use anything else because it works. When I change my polish color it is because my nail has grown and there is a gap. No chips!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wallflower22 on 7/5/2013 11:50:00 AM more reviews by wallflower22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a top coat that would help my manicure last longer and I feel that its works well for that. You will have the usual chipping on the tips after a few days but it wont look bad. I'm giving this a low rating because it bubbles. It's of a thin consistency which I would like if it would help cover some imperfections in my nail polish application. Also, it is not shiny at all, so your nail won't have the pretty polished look too them that I like. The drying time is a little long because even though it feels dry on top I've gotten dents after having waited 30 minutes. I've been using the Sally Hansen Insta Dri Anti Chip Top Coat and I wanted to try something different. After trying this Essie I realize that the Sally Hansen is better. It dries faster and it has a shinier polish than Essie. The only thing that bothers me is that half way through the bottle the consistency gets really thick and difficult to apply. I have to constantly add a thinner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jootje on 6/12/2013 9:27:00 AM more reviews by jootje

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I usually check MUA reviews before I buy anything, but with this product I am glad I did not. I'm sure the low rating would have stopped me from buying this, but I'm actually very happy with this product!

Consistency: the product is a very thin (almost water-like) consistency. Therefore it doesn't really even out the surface of your mani like some topcoats can do. It does even it out a little but if you have big bumps or something it won't help with that. I don't find this bothersome because I always make sure my colors are evenly applied. Also it is quite nice when you want to use it with a textured polish like the OPI liquid sands, because I can wear this on top of that without losing the liquid sand texture.

Application: it's very easy to apply because the product is so watery. It doesn't 'drag' polish even when I apply it right after my color without letting it dry first. If you apply it too thick then it can create some bubbles after it dries.

Drying time: the drying time is average. It's not a super fast drying topcoat, but it also doesn't take any longer than a regular polish/topcoat. I have no complaints. I must say that I always apply my polish in the evening at least an hour before I go to bed.

Finish: it adds a nice shine to my polish.

Staying power: that's the best part about this top coat. It really makes my manicures last longer. Mani's last long on me anyway (about a week chip free) but with this topcoat I can go 1.5 - 2 weeks chip free with only minimal tip wear. I usually end up changing my mani's because I'm bored of the color or because it has 'grown out' too much, not because of chips/damage.

Price: it's expensive for a topcoat, but to me it's worth the price.

Conclusion: excellent product that makes my manicure last a lot longer. The only downfalls are the price and the possibility of it creating bubbles if applied to thick. I'll buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lisenotlisa on 6/7/2013 7:54:00 PM more reviews by lisenotlisa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Why did I not toss this P.O.S. already? I bought and used it a couple of times a few months ago, then put it in a drawer and forgot about it. Dug it out last night to give it a final try. As with all the previous tries, I finished my manicure an hour before bed and went to sleep with it still looking pristine. Woke up with the imprints of my hair, my sheets, anything I touched while sleeping, stamped on my nails.

I have no idea if it lives up to the claim of "No chips ahead." I've never let it stay on my nails for longer than a day -- it is really that awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carribu on 6/4/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by carribu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was iffy about this at first. This was back before Seche Vite was sold at Target and I needed a top coat that would put up with the daily grind my job gives me. I work in logistics so I'm always handling boxes and my nails really get put to the test. I tried the Sally Hansen Acrylic top coat but it actually cracked my nail polish while drying and it would just shatter the polish (weird, right?). Seche Vite dried fast but because of my job it usually chipped after a day or two. But hey, no other top coat could really do better that what Seche Vite did. So I was browsing the nail polishes and I saw "No Chips Ahead" and that caught my eye. I tried it at first and when I applied it, these weird bubbles appeared on my nails and I was just weirded out by it. My nails became goopy and I just couldn't handle it. I went with bare nails and no top coat. A few months later I found this top coat again in my stash (never threw it out) and I thought why not. After a little more careful application and an extended wait time, I was impressed! My nails lasted for almost a week with this top coat. It gave medium shine - not totally dull but not the mirror shine I got from Seche Vite. The only complaint is the main one I seem to see through these reviews - the dry time! It does take a while to dry so keep that in mind if you're doing a quick mani and you reach for this. But if you want something that can keep up with what you put your nails through, this is a good choice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kica on 5/21/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by Kica

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this for about mmmm.....4-5 months now and this topcoat is my HG. My mani's are lasting about 7 days with no chipping and I'm a receptionist. It's not a high shine top coat but it's not dulling either. No matter what brand polish I use I always use this top coat and it has never let me down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Top/Base Coats products