Bobbi Brown EXTRA Repair Foundation

3.9

44 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.5%; Homosalate 5%; Oxybenzone 5%; Avobenzone 2%; Inactive Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Shea Butter, PEG-4 Diheptanoate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit California), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary), Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Pelargonum Graveolens (Geranium) Flower Oil, Angelica Archangelica Seed Oil, Citrus Aurantum Amara (Bitter Orange) Oil, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile), Retinyl Palmitate, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Lecithin, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Propylene Glycol Laurate, Sorbitan Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, Squalane, Ethylhexylglycerin, Butylene Glycol, Dicetyl Phosphate, Ceteth-10 Phosphate, Polysorbate 60, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Propylene Glycol Stearate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Laurate, Polysorbate 20, Citric Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan Gum, Aluminum Hydroxide, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Geraniol, Citronellol, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.


on 7/16/2013 11:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I believe I've found my Holy Grail Foundation - FINALLY.

Healthier ingredients - no talc, no parabens, no wax, no soy extracts - YAYYYYyyy

I got a 1/2 size for $25 in SAND - Color match is perfect for me (thanks to someone else's review). Yay. I read that Sand is a match to NC20, and I'm NW20 and it's perfect.

I agree with other reviewers that the pot is less than practical. I got a little spatula to scoop out my day's foundation. A pea size covers my whole face.

I also agree with other reviewers that:
- this is a light-to-medium coverage
- it's very moisturizing
- it is NOT buildable
- using too much in the undereye area will accent wrinkles
- a very light dusting of powder helps it not crease but if you use no powder it may crease under the eyes.

I press the tiniest bit of powder into my undereye area with a sponge or kabuki brush and it sets like a dream.

After looking at some 20 foundations, I think I may have found my HG. If not I'll update my rating.

Thank you everyone for your reviews and info that helped me find this!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 5/31/2013 12:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really hate to give products a "1 Star" rating, because I'm sure this is a great foundation for someone out there, but I could not get this to work for me AT ALL. This is marketed/reviewed typically as a medium-full coverage foundation, but on me, for some reason, it is very low coverage. Granted, I applied this with a damp Beauty Blender, but even after a couple of layers, I did not get more than a low-end medium coverage. The sales associate told me it was best applied with your fingers, because the warmth "melts" the cream into a liquid. I ended up layering different foundations on top of it both times, trying to get it to work, and both times, it separated on my skin, causing it to look super patchy. My room is dimly lit, so once I got to work (the first time), I noticed giant patches of my skin's natural redness showing through, and I don't have particularly oily or problematic skin that would cause this foundation to react weirdly. I decided to give it another try, and once I sprayed my MAC's Fix+ to set it, it basically melted off! You could see each individual water droplet on my face, and made it appear even more patchy. Not to mention, the smell of this is highly herbal/medicinal, which is very off-putting. Luckily, I only got a sample of this to try... I would definitely recommend sampling before buying!


on 4/3/2013 5:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Really like this, gives me natrual coverage and moisturises my very dry skin. Also smells lovely, like lavender! BB is my fave brand and she's never steered me wrong (yet)... Recently purchased the moisture rich foundation so we'll see how that goes!


on 2/9/2013 3:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very dry "mature" skin and this foundation suits me perfectly. It looks completely natural, and the degree of coverage buildable. The color I bought [Porcelain 0) matches my fair skin - it just disappears. I love the way it looks on my face, and the broad-range sun protection it offers. The foundation isn't cheap, but a little goes a long way.

The only negative, in my view, is the rather strong and not very pleasant scent. It clearly isn't perfume - I guess it's just the smell of the ingredients.

As long as you have dry skin [not combination], this foundation is definitely worth considering.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2013 4:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

+ Shade selection of foundation is perfect (tan, yellow undertones)

+ Coverage isn't too heavy and can be buildable

+ Moisturizing

- Looks and feels greasy, only gets shinier throughout the day

- Not a fan of the smell which is really strong

- Throughout the day the product gets in my eyes and burns


on 12/29/2012 12:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This foundation is quite nice for drier skin, but since my skin is combination I can only get away with it sometimes. It's thick and the consistency is wonderful. The only thing is that it tends to leave my face shiny, not glowy or "lit from within" it's heavy and feels a bit greasy. I thought this might be nice for summer since I got the shade a tiny bit darker than usual, but it's way to thick and makes me feel like I'm wearing a mask. Like I said, when my other foundations are a bit too dry for me I may reach for this. I think this might be a good nighttime product. Now, I would've given this 4 lippies, except the smell!! It's horrendous. I'm not sure if I got a bad batch or what. It reaks of rotten lemon. A lot of rotten lemons. I wouldn't mind if it wasn't so strong and so expensive. Overall, if you have dry skin and like something a bit heavier and dewier, get it :)


on 9/23/2012 3:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I actually love this foundation. I am a long time user of the moisturizing illuminating foundation and tried this one on a lark. So glad i did!!! It is a lot more sheer than i would expect it to be and it really makes my skin look perfect and not made up. It is not for oily skin...i would recommend for those on the dry side of normal. Also, i apply it with a damp beauty blender, which I've found to have delivered the best results. My results haven't been as stellar with a brush or my hands...but with the sponge, it is as close to an HG as I've ever gotten.

EDIT: Since the initial review a while back (it's now March 2014), I have found that - with somewhat dryer skin - it's no longer that great. There are better products on the market, and I find myself reaching for MAC's Studio Sculpt on dry skin days.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2012 12:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I didn't get on with this product at all and it's one of the few products I regret buying. I'm really dissappointed with this and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone.
Firstly, it's very odd to apply, tried foundation brush, stippling brush, sponge and with my fingers that ended up being the best option. It is so ridiculously dewy that doesn't cover at all and you can't layer it because for some reason it never really sits on the skin, If you try concealer on top of it it will move and won't cover as over other foundations.I tried powdering it, 5 hours later it looked as if I had no foundation on at all. As if all of this wasn't enough this product sits in your fine lines like no other and I don't even have proper wrinkles!
I've tried using it in so many ways because it's so pricey but nothing ever seems to work, I really hate it...


on 8/9/2012 5:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this foundation for about two weeks now. With my BB skincare routine and this BB extra repair foundation with SPF25, my skin feels hydrated all day, luminous and clear. I am loving the radiance and clear effect this foundation does on my complexion and I feel my skin is loving it too! Finally, I am now able to achieve an everyday natural look make up with seemingly radiant skin! I am Asian with skin type: dry on the cheeks, normal on the t-zone.

I am also using BB's skincare. I use Hydrating Cream Cleanser to wash off my face in the morning. With dry hands, I take a pea size of the cleanser and smooth over my dry face. I wash off the cleanser with warm water. I use a paper towel over my face to soak up the water. While my face is still moist, I then apply the Hydrating Face Tonic all over. Next, I apply the Extra Repair Serum about 2 to 3 pumps. I apply the Hydrating Eye Cream to wait for the serum to soak in my skin. I then apply a pea size of new Protective Face Lotion all over my face. I wait for the skincare to sink in by blowdrying my hair first.

And then I apply make up in this order: I tried two brushes with this Extra Repair Foundation (in Natural), BB's foundation brush and Sephora's Flawless Airbrush #56, and I prefer to use Sephora's brush as the effect is indeed an airbrush look. I then apply BB's corrector (in Light Peach) and BB's concearler (in Natural). While those set, I fix my brows (either Dior Powder Eyebrow Pencil in Brown OR MAC's Fluidline in Dipdown) and I apply Nars eye primer over my lids. My face at this point looks very shiny. Next, I apply BB's pot rouge (Pale Pink). Then I work on my eye make up (BB long-wear Bone on the lids and eye shadow powder in Burnt Sugar on the crease OR eye shadow powder in Champagne on the lids and eye shadow powder in Burnt Sugar on the crease OR simply BB long-wear Bronze Sugar). And then I curl my lashes with a good lash curler.

By this time, my foundation has set. I then apply powder that goes with the concealer to set it. I apply BB's powder blush next (in Nude Pink). I use a little of BB's bronzer (in Golden Light) on the lower part of my cheekbone to contour, jawline, bridge of my nose, near the temples. And then I set my make up with BB's Sheer Finish Pressed Powder in Warm Natural (sometimes twice, right after I am done with my makeup and right before I leave the house). The final step is the mascara (Chanel Inimitable Waterproof Mascara in Noir).

This is my signature everyday look. And with BB's skincare and makeup, I am now able to have a natural looking makeup that makes my face looks smooth. The cream and powder blush I use also provides me with the right amount of coloring (pink flush) to achieve the natural look that does not look heavy. The foundation stays all day while working in an airconditioned office. I am now finally content and happy.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2012 10:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation! Be aware that this is NOT for combo, oily, or probably even normal skin - if you do not have dry, and I mean DRY skin, this is probably one to steer clear of. It has a very rich base and if you do not have dry skin for it to sort of sink into/hold onto, it is going to sit on top of your skin and look like a greasy mess. Also, if you do not like a glowy/shiny/luminous finish, you will also not like this. If you touch your face a lot during the day, you will not like this, as it does have the possibility of transfer.

That said, I have very dull, dry skin that flakes all year round. I have used BB Moisture Rich foundation in the past and it has worked well, but it is a little more sheer than this and the colors run a bit darker so I have a better match in this. As NC15-20, and pretty neutral-leaning, I wear Sand in this foundation and also in the Moisture Rich, but it is a touch lighter in this foundation and a better match.

I apply this by warming up a slightly larger than pea-size amount on the back of my hand, and applying with my Louise Young large foundation brush. I apply a base layer all over, and then go back and hit areas that need it again, which are usually my super-pink cheeks and nose. Even with a rich moisturizer on, this sucks right up into my skin and looks healthy and glowy without being mask-like. It also does not feel particularly heavy for me. I then set with Smashbox Halo powder to keep it in place and also to knock the shine down a bit. It wears all day in this combination.

A lot of people don't like the glass jar. I don't mind it because I don't touch up throughout the day; it stays in my m/u drawer all day so it's not a problem. I also like that I can dip my brush straight into the jar if I need just a touch more than I originally took out (which I realize is unhygenic, but I don't share my m/u so they're my germs anyway).

All in all, this foundation is a big winner for me. I wish it weren't so pricey, but you use so little that it lasts quite a while.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top