Bobbi Brown • EXTRA Repair Foundation • Crème

rated 3.8(41 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ahwindc on 2/9/2013 3:53:00 PM more reviews by ahwindc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have very dry "mature" skin and this foundation suits me perfectly. It looks completely natural, and the degree of coverage buildable. The color I bought [Porcelain 0) matches my fair skin - it just disappears. I love the way it looks on my face, and the broad-range sun protection it offers. The foundation isn't cheap, but a little goes a long way.

The only negative, in my view, is the rather strong and not very pleasant scent. It clearly isn't perfume - I guess it's just the smell of the ingredients.

As long as you have dry skin [not combination], this foundation is definitely worth considering.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fancy2287 on 1/2/2013 4:56:00 PM more reviews by fancy2287

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

+ Shade selection of foundation is perfect (tan, yellow undertones)

+ Coverage isn't too heavy and can be buildable

+ Moisturizing

- Looks and feels greasy, only gets shinier throughout the day

- Not a fan of the smell which is really strong

- Throughout the day the product gets in my eyes and burns

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sjlc on 12/29/2012 12:13:00 AM more reviews by sjlc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is quite nice for drier skin, but since my skin is combination I can only get away with it sometimes. It's thick and the consistency is wonderful. The only thing is that it tends to leave my face shiny, not glowy or "lit from within" it's heavy and feels a bit greasy. I thought this might be nice for summer since I got the shade a tiny bit darker than usual, but it's way to thick and makes me feel like I'm wearing a mask. Like I said, when my other foundations are a bit too dry for me I may reach for this. I think this might be a good nighttime product. Now, I would've given this 4 lippies, except the smell!! It's horrendous. I'm not sure if I got a bad batch or what. It reaks of rotten lemon. A lot of rotten lemons. I wouldn't mind if it wasn't so strong and so expensive. Overall, if you have dry skin and like something a bit heavier and dewier, get it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jferrarese on 9/23/2012 3:25:00 PM more reviews by jferrarese

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I actually love this foundation. I am a long time user of the moisturizing illuminating foundation and tried this one on a lark. So glad i did!!! It is a lot more sheer than i would expect it to be and it really makes my skin look perfect and not made up. It is not for oily skin...i would recommend for those on the dry side of normal. Also, i apply it with a damp beauty blender, which I've found to have delivered the best results. My results haven't been as stellar with a brush or my hands...but with the sponge, it is as close to an HG as I've ever gotten.

EDIT: Since the initial review a while back (it's now March 2014), I have found that - with somewhat dryer skin - it's no longer that great. There are better products on the market, and I find myself reaching for MAC's Studio Sculpt on dry skin days.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Melulita on 8/31/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by Melulita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't get on with this product at all and it's one of the few products I regret buying. I'm really dissappointed with this and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone.
Firstly, it's very odd to apply, tried foundation brush, stippling brush, sponge and with my fingers that ended up being the best option. It is so ridiculously dewy that doesn't cover at all and you can't layer it because for some reason it never really sits on the skin, If you try concealer on top of it it will move and won't cover as over other foundations.I tried powdering it, 5 hours later it looked as if I had no foundation on at all. As if all of this wasn't enough this product sits in your fine lines like no other and I don't even have proper wrinkles!
I've tried using it in so many ways because it's so pricey but nothing ever seems to work, I really hate it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaxpaz on 8/9/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by jaxpaz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this foundation for about two weeks now. With my BB skincare routine and this BB extra repair foundation with SPF25, my skin feels hydrated all day, luminous and clear. I am loving the radiance and clear effect this foundation does on my complexion and I feel my skin is loving it too! Finally, I am now able to achieve an everyday natural look make up with seemingly radiant skin! I am Asian with skin type: dry on the cheeks, normal on the t-zone.

I am also using BB's skincare. I use Hydrating Cream Cleanser to wash off my face in the morning. With dry hands, I take a pea size of the cleanser and smooth over my dry face. I wash off the cleanser with warm water. I use a paper towel over my face to soak up the water. While my face is still moist, I then apply the Hydrating Face Tonic all over. Next, I apply the Extra Repair Serum about 2 to 3 pumps. I apply the Hydrating Eye Cream to wait for the serum to soak in my skin. I then apply a pea size of new Protective Face Lotion all over my face. I wait for the skincare to sink in by blowdrying my hair first.

And then I apply make up in this order: I tried two brushes with this Extra Repair Foundation (in Natural), BB's foundation brush and Sephora's Flawless Airbrush #56, and I prefer to use Sephora's brush as the effect is indeed an airbrush look. I then apply BB's corrector (in Light Peach) and BB's concearler (in Natural). While those set, I fix my brows (either Dior Powder Eyebrow Pencil in Brown OR MAC's Fluidline in Dipdown) and I apply Nars eye primer over my lids. My face at this point looks very shiny. Next, I apply BB's pot rouge (Pale Pink). Then I work on my eye make up (BB long-wear Bone on the lids and eye shadow powder in Burnt Sugar on the crease OR eye shadow powder in Champagne on the lids and eye shadow powder in Burnt Sugar on the crease OR simply BB long-wear Bronze Sugar). And then I curl my lashes with a good lash curler.

By this time, my foundation has set. I then apply powder that goes with the concealer to set it. I apply BB's powder blush next (in Nude Pink). I use a little of BB's bronzer (in Golden Light) on the lower part of my cheekbone to contour, jawline, bridge of my nose, near the temples. And then I set my make up with BB's Sheer Finish Pressed Powder in Warm Natural (sometimes twice, right after I am done with my makeup and right before I leave the house). The final step is the mascara (Chanel Inimitable Waterproof Mascara in Noir).

This is my signature everyday look. And with BB's skincare and makeup, I am now able to have a natural looking makeup that makes my face looks smooth. The cream and powder blush I use also provides me with the right amount of coloring (pink flush) to achieve the natural look that does not look heavy. The foundation stays all day while working in an airconditioned office. I am now finally content and happy.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MLWagner79 on 7/7/2012 10:03:00 AM more reviews by MLWagner79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! Be aware that this is NOT for combo, oily, or probably even normal skin - if you do not have dry, and I mean DRY skin, this is probably one to steer clear of. It has a very rich base and if you do not have dry skin for it to sort of sink into/hold onto, it is going to sit on top of your skin and look like a greasy mess. Also, if you do not like a glowy/shiny/luminous finish, you will also not like this. If you touch your face a lot during the day, you will not like this, as it does have the possibility of transfer.

That said, I have very dull, dry skin that flakes all year round. I have used BB Moisture Rich foundation in the past and it has worked well, but it is a little more sheer than this and the colors run a bit darker so I have a better match in this. As NC15-20, and pretty neutral-leaning, I wear Sand in this foundation and also in the Moisture Rich, but it is a touch lighter in this foundation and a better match.

I apply this by warming up a slightly larger than pea-size amount on the back of my hand, and applying with my Louise Young large foundation brush. I apply a base layer all over, and then go back and hit areas that need it again, which are usually my super-pink cheeks and nose. Even with a rich moisturizer on, this sucks right up into my skin and looks healthy and glowy without being mask-like. It also does not feel particularly heavy for me. I then set with Smashbox Halo powder to keep it in place and also to knock the shine down a bit. It wears all day in this combination.

A lot of people don't like the glass jar. I don't mind it because I don't touch up throughout the day; it stays in my m/u drawer all day so it's not a problem. I also like that I can dip my brush straight into the jar if I need just a touch more than I originally took out (which I realize is unhygenic, but I don't share my m/u so they're my germs anyway).

All in all, this foundation is a big winner for me. I wish it weren't so pricey, but you use so little that it lasts quite a while.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Louise on 5/9/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by Louise

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

When I spoke to a Bobbi Brown MUA about a foundation appropriate for mature dry skin, this was the one recommended. Several people tried this foundation. I had not used mine at the time. None of the users, liked it. So, I like to decide for myself and tried it. I did like it. It gave me radiance. I have fairly good skin but I have a little tiny bit of sun damage on the bridge of my nose. I could have used a little bit more coverage there but I added some concealer and it was fine. The color was great even though Bobbi Brown says that everyone's skin tone is yellow based. I am not sure that I agree with that but I usually use Cameo or Clair in Chanel and the Beige 3 in Bobbi's was fine. I was vacationing in NYC and decided to take it along with me. I found it to be very long wearing. It is good to find a foundation that works well for tired old dry skin as mine and will not make you appear as if you are wearing a mask. Even though this was given to me, I would definitely buy this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katy42 on 5/7/2012 1:04:00 PM more reviews by katy42

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in February when my skin was very very dry and soaking up layers of moisturiser every morning. This foundation worked brilliantly as an extra layer of tinted moisture. Recently though my skin has been less dry and I've found like other reviewers that it can cake over moisturiser. It works best if you use either a lighter moisturiser or spot-apply sparingly over your regular moisturiser. I think I'll keep this for the winter months and go back to Bobbi Brown's Skin Foundation for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Chak12 on 4/2/2012 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Chak12

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Bought this foundation on recommendation in a magazine for "mature skin." UGH. NO coverage at all, color was too light, and my skin looked like I had no coverage at all - in a not good way.Packaging in a heavy glass jar is ridiculous. I would expect more from Bobbi Brown. Would never buy this again - I think the magazine got it wrong. Sand color is so light I looked like a ghost - in a bad way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Crème products