Hard Candy • Lash Ink - 4 Day Lash Stain • Mascara

rated 2.6(53 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.43%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Emilymckenziee on 8/21/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by Emilymckenziee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think my expectations for the product were too high. I thought I was going to get luscious lashes for days, but really it's more like my lashes were just darker for 1 day 1/2. I have naturally dark lashes, so it wasn't a huge change. A friend of mine has very light brown almost blonde lashes and she really loves this product. Although, we both agree it didn't last for four days. But it did last longer thank waterproof mascaras. I wore it under heavier mascaras and they seemed to work well together. For your money I would recommend this product. I still use it, I just lowered my expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachesndream on 7/16/2013 5:27:00 PM more reviews by peachesndream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product in OK, and I think it performs as advertised. If you have used the Tarte lash stain, this is the exact same thing but with a cheaper price tag. If you liked the Tarte, you will like this HC one.

This is not like getting you lashes tinted at a salon. This coats you lashes and darkens them, and as advertised, does last for 4 days. However, it does not leave them as "you natural lashes but darker" as the tint at the salon does, but instead leaves them sort of coated in dark lash stain. Hard to describe, but it basically sits on your lashes until it comes off or you take it off (you can remove this with eye makeup remover).

It does not perform as a mascara, meaning, there is no volumizing. I find it does lengthen just a bit. If you are not careful, your lashes can clump when you apply, esp. if you coat on too much.

Overall, for what this is, I do like it; you just have to come in with the right expectations. It is not going to look like you have on the world's best mascara for 4 days. It looks like you have darkened lashes.

I find it a bit hard to apply mascara over this, but if you try, you can. The impact won't be the same as bare lashes bc this stain does stick to your natural lashes and coats them.

The color is a nice, rich black.

I find that it lasts as advertised (4 days). I do notice some smudging when I wake up in the morning. I sleep with my face in my pillow, but I think if you are a back sleep, you wouldn't notice any smudging. I have noticed some minor eye irritation when I wake up because I sleep face down.

I would recommend this to someone who wants very dark lashes but is not expecting more than that. I think it would be great if you were going camping, swam a lot, worked out a lot (Especially in the morning and didn't want to look horrible) or had some job where you were outdoors and wanted a natural look without worrying about mascara all over your face. It does not come off with soap and water in the shower.

I would buy it again. I don't use it often, but when I have, I like it. I do like the look of the salon tinting more than this, but that is very expensive. I would never buy the Tarte again- this really is the exact same.

Just know what you are expecting when you buy this. I love the packaging, the wand brush is small and easy to use. Hard Candy is a great brand and the price is so reasonable!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeupjunkie1997 on 7/16/2013 12:52:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie1997

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I had such high hopes for this product! Let me start off by saying, this is NOT a stain! I was expecting a light consistancy, but this is just a wet, thick, sticky mascara. It is very hard to apply because it dries so fast. It is very clumpy and I didn't have time to fix them because it dried so fast! All of my lashes stuck together and it took forever to get off, even with makeup remover! It dried out my lashes and left them very brittle. I have heard horror stories of girls who used this product and it broke their lashes off! Overall this is a terrible product and you should not waste your money on it! Stick to a water proof mascara, lash gel, or even dye your lashes! Just make sure whoever is dying them uses special lash dye, not the same dye used for hair, and get them dyed professionally! I hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Becky12 on 3/25/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Becky12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

First off, this isn't really a "stain", it's a very wet mascara. It darkens your lashes- it's not build-able for volume, BUT it gets sticky fast if you try more than a coat or two. It's very, very waterproof- more waterproof perhaps than anything I've tried and I've tried a lot. If you want a foolproof mascara to swim in, this is it! However, it still comes off reasonably well with a soak in my Neutrogena waterproof makeup remover. I like it overall for days when my mascara is really put on trial. As for it's 4 day claim? You'll sleep in it once, wake up and realize that yep, it's still mostly there- but your lashes will feel sticky and sorta eww and you'll definitely want to take it off and start fresh!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dawnlois on 2/11/2013 7:42:00 PM more reviews by dawnlois

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Once again - in the minority! I'm glad I bought this before reading the reviews, because I love it! Yes, it requires care to apply. You're basically painting your lashes with this product, then placing them where you want them. I use tweezers for that. It sounds strange, but the tweezers help me to grasp each lash and kind of nudge it into position. Anyway, I applied it this morning - my lashes looked perfect when I finished applying, and I shoveled the driveway, took my two dogs to the park for a mile or so walk - it's not too cold right now, but the wind was really blowing. Usually, that makes my eyes tear up, and as soon as any wetness hits my lashes (blowing snow, also) the curl falls out and my mascara smudges. Today I got home and looked like I did before I left. By then it was almost 2PM, so I had a sandwich and snuggled up with my pups to read, and ended up napping for an hour or so, too. When I got up to make dinner, I looked the same as when I laid down.I like rich moisturizers and use lots of sunscreen and usually I'm wiping under my eyes periodically throughout the day - I've been around the mascara block many, many times, and I pretty much accepted that that is just the way it goes. For seven bucks (seven bucks!!!) I've got long, perfectly defined, inky black lashes, and not once did I have one bit of smudging or flaking. I'm pretty damned impressed, to say the least. Now - tonight I will remove it, and start all over again tomorrow. While I love the idea of a stain that lasts for several days - something about it just sounds unhealthy, so I'm just going to treat this as I would any other waterproof mascara. If it turns out that removal is impossible, or some other weird thing happens, I'll be back to update. But as of now - I've found my new mascara, I give it 5 stars, and I will absolutely repurchase. I did take a point off for the packaging, which seems both excessive and wasteful - but on the other hand, Hard Candy is cruelty free, which I like very much, so all in all - extremely pleased with this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kali89 on 12/5/2012 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Kali89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an alright product. It colors the lashes and it did not come off when I went swimming. My blonde sister used it and it lasted three days, but she didn't attempt to remove it. I would buy it again if I were going on vacation, but it doesn't replace mascara. I'd doesn't add volume or length. Hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrittCastsFireballs on 11/28/2012 3:57:00 PM more reviews by BrittCastsFireballs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow. Let me start by saying that I had high(ish) hopes for this mascara. This would've been awesome for my blonde, barely-there lashes. Sadly, this product disappoints terribly.
Irritated and dried out my eyes (especially with contacts in). Didn't add any length or volume, but it's virtually impossible to layer another mascara on top of this one. It also washes off completely with my facial soap. I'm sure if you just rinse your eyelids with water, the stain will stick (at least for that night).
Definitely will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 johndawn on 9/17/2012 8:41:00 PM more reviews by johndawn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I have blond hair and lashes and I hoped this would stain my lashes so that when I took my makeup off, my lashes would still show. This product did not keep my lashes dark at all. I will be returning this product. I was very excited to use this stain but after washing my face at night as I do every night, the stain does not remain. Sad but true......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 8/7/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hard Candy's 4 Day Lash Ink Stain is a "mascara that won't quit til you do". According to Hard Candy, this lash stain will hold up through tears, swimming, showers, rain, and rubbing your eyes, making it "perfect for a weekend away or partying all night long." I purchased this mascara for my trip to Australia, because I figured no other mascara can stand up to a long haul flight. Hard Candy, a former high end brand previously sold at Sephora and department stores, is now exclusively available at Walmart in America and Canada. I purchased this mascara for $7 for 10.8g (.38oz). Hard Candy products are made in the USA and are not tested on animals.
Lash Ink comes in a cardboard tube, which is entirely unnecessary. The front of the black tube features the name of the product in fancy silver lettering, along with a silver feather. The back of the tube features a product description, as a well as a full ingredient list. I'm really not sure what motivated Hard Candy to package their lash stain this way. It's wasteful and very bulky. I'm not really feeling the actual mascara tube either. It's also black and has all the same information and logo printed on it. The cap is way too large in proportion to the rest of the tube. Maybe I'm being too analytical of the packaging, but it looks off and I hate when companies over-package their products. It rarely looks good and ups the price.
Lash Ink's brush isn't good at all either. It may as well be a generic spooly. It does nothing for my lashes and actually seems to cause clumping. It's such a basic brush that there's barely anything to say about it. The traditional bristles are super short and spiral around the wand, coming to a fairly blunt tip. The bristles are spaced fairly far apart, so don't expect separation. I tend to use a different brush from an old mascara with this because of how much I dislike the one it comes with.
Lash Ink's formula is very thin and inky, like the name would imply. It has the texture of a lash lacquer, but applies more like a mascara. The first coat merely darkens your lashes. Anymore than two coats is asking for clumping. This mascara stays wet for a bit longer than I'd like. After it dries my lashes become quite crunchy, dry, and brittle. This definitely isn't a lash lacquer you'd like if you want soft, enhanced lashes. One bonus though? Lash ink is very, very dark, so this may be a good option for you if you have light lashes that you want to look darker but still natural.
Does Hard Candy's 4 Day Lash Ink Stain really last four days? I can't tell you that as I can't bear to have it on for more than 2 days. It gets super itchy and uncomfortable after 12-16 hours, so itchy that I want to pull my lashes out. It wears well through out two days though, very little flakes and no smudges. It's survived my flights from Pittsburgh to Sydney and back (about 23 hours) and then some. It's even lasted through a good deal of crying. This stuff is waterproof only in the way that it doesn't come off when wet. It does, however, get clumpy, sticky, and heavy when wet. Do not like, it only adds the discomfort.
It's probably a good thing that I can't stand to wear this mascara for more than a day or so. It's unhealthy to wear mascara or any beauty product for too long. Your lashes/skin needs to breathe and what not. This lash stain makes my lashes very brittle and I tend to lose a few when I finally remove it. I think a super long wearing lash product list this one is best reserved for times you need extreme wear, like long haul flights or roadtrips, the occasional weekend away, or if regular waterproof mascara doesn't hold up for you. But please, for the sake of your lashes, don't wear this four days straight on a regular basis.
Contrary to what you may have heard in other reviews for this lash stain, it is possible to remove it. It's not easy, but you can do it. I apply Vaseline to the lashes, let it sit for a bit, the remove with an oil based eye makeup remover. This won't remove every trace of Lash Ink, but it gets the most of it off. Once again, expect to lose a lash or two, especially if you've been wearing it for a couple days.
I'm not really feeling Hard Candy's Lash Ink Stain. It should only be used under very specific circumstances. It's quite damaging to my lashes and gets very uncomfortable after several hours of wear. It's severely over-pacakged. The price is right for it though, and it gets the job done if you want mascara for days. Don't expect long, full, fantastic lashes, this product only coats them. I'm not away of any similar products on the drugstore level, so if you want a lash lacquer for cheap this may be your only option. I don't really recommend it unless you have a long trip coming up or will be doing a ton of swimming. I'll probably hold onto Hard Candy's Lash Ink for my next international trip, but I likely won't buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goblinwand on 7/13/2012 2:07:00 AM more reviews by goblinwand

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm LOVING this product! It is more than a waterproof mascara and NOT a dye, so if that's what you're expecting, you will be disappointed and wind up writing a poor review like the many ones here on MUA. For reference, my eyelashes have always been naturally long, but my brown-haired lashes get bleached by the sun, so the tips are practically invisible, unless I wear mascara. That's where the 4 day lash stain comes in. The Lash Ink is applied like a mascara, but carefully, and you can apply on the top (opposite of the usual sweep from root to tip way) in addition to the usual way, and use it on your bottom lashes. Or, at least, I can, and it works great! I haven't deliberately tried to get it off yet, so it just gradually wears off, but I've touched it up and it lasts a long time. No clumping, flaking, smears or racoon eyes, even through sleeping, showering, face cleansing, tears and allergies. Hot and humid? It stays on just the same. Now my eyelashes are black, black, black, long, long, long, defined and very pretty, all for $6.99 at Walmart. The packaging is so adorable I like looking at it on my makeup table, and the wand comes inside a tubular cardboard box to keep it in. My tip for using: After you've washed and gently dried your face and eye area, take an eyebrow brush and fluff through your lashes, drying and separating them. You can also use the teeth of an eyelash comb. For day or an evening out, you apply your voluminizing, lengthening, or whatever mascara like you normally do, and when you wash your face before bed, like all you good MUAers do, you'll still have black, long eyelashes and won't look so washed out in the morning. This is so cool to have on hand for swimming, camping, other outdoor (or indoor) activities you want to take part in but don't want to worry about mascara, yet have dark and defined lashes. I hope Hard Candy keeps this product on the shelves, because I'll be there to repurchase!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Mascara products