Hard Candy • Lash Ink - 4 Day Lash Stain • Mascara

rated 2.6(56 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Tp0819 on 2/6/2014 5:24:00 AM more reviews by Tp0819

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This stuff gives you zero length or volume. It just darkens your lashes, which is what I expected, but since it said it was a "stain," I thought it would be a very thin liquid type consistency, but of course it has the consistency of a mascara, so you look like you have mascara on but your eyelashes are super short and thin and get clumpy if you use too much.
Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 agconnors on 11/16/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by agconnors

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm back! So last night I went to the Marine Corps Ball and I wore lash ink and false lashes. my eye makeup stated so perfect. I didn't feel the drying like I did the first time nor itchiness. after doing they eye-shadow I placed the false lashes and then used the lash ink. my husband said he didn't notice I was wearing it until I asked and it looked beautiful. the package is Ok I guess they want to distinguish it from their other mascara products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JRMT on 9/22/2013 8:10:00 PM more reviews by JRMT

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this product definitely has its place in the market. The idea of a lash stain is fairly new to me. I think I tried Neutrogena's one years ago and wasn't very impressed. I think anyone trying this product has to keep in mind that you really shouldn't compare it to mascara, because they have different purposes. This product is not meant to build a lot of length or volume, it is meant to darken your existing lashes. Now that I've said that piece, I will get on with it.

I absolutely loved this product!!! I am a girl who wears makeup whenever I leave the house for anything. But I also like to do outdoorsy stuff and I feel like carrying around a bunch of makeup while camping, backpacking, etcetera is really silly. As I was preparing for a 4-day backpacking trip, I was looking for options in makeup that would allow me to pack as little as possible and I came across this product. I didn't have time to do a test drive, so I just went for it. Reading all the claims on the packaging about its longevity and indestructible nature made me think there is no way it is going to do all that, but it actually did.

Application: After curling my lashes, I used a clean Q-tip to wipe my lashes the best I could. (I read that any oils or lotion can prevent it from adhering to your lashes properly.) I applied this with a gentle hand and more in straight strokes than the typical wiggle back and forth method like you would a mascara. I then used a clean wand from an old mascara to comb it out and separate the lashes. After doing both eyes this way I did it again the exact same way for a second coat. Make sure to wipe off any product you get on your skin immediately as it is hard to get off. My lashes are pretty light in color naturally, so this product just made it look like I had natural looking long, dark lashes. I wasn't trying to look like I had tons of mascara on, so this was perfect.

Testing it out:
Day 1: drove 2 hours with the windows down, then hiked up a very steep mountain with lots of bush-wacking with a pack on. By the time we got to the top I was super sweaty. I wiped my face down with a makeup wipe that night.
Day 2: Woke up in the morning to nice, dark looking lashes. NO flaking at all. More hiking. Went to a waterfall. Stood under the water in the waterfall for quite a while, then went swimming. The lash tint stayed put. No running or flaking off. Then more hiking/sweating. Wiped face down with a makeup wipe before bed.
Day 3: More hiking/sweating. Lashes looking a little less perky than day 1, but still dark and no flaking under the eyes.
Day 4: Came home from backpacking and drove with the windows down for 2.5 hours. Lashes starting to look a little dry like they would if you slept in mascara, but nothing horrible. The stain had worn off of the tips of the lashes, but still looked dark at the base. I still haven't noticed any flaking.
*I never reapplied the product after day 1 and never used mascara over the top.

While I wouldn't compare this to a great mascara in terms of great looking lashes, I love this for low maintenance beauty. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants dark looking lashes for camping, going to the beach or gym, running a race, etc. This would also be great for staying over at your boyfriend's (or girlfriend's) place if you don't want him/her to see you with no makeup on. This way you could wash your face and still look a bit put together with just tinted moisturizer and lip balm/gloss.

For anyone who has naturally dark lashes that are long or thick, I don't think you will get anything out of this, so don't waste your money. Just enjoy your naturally amazing lashes.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Emilymckenziee on 8/21/2013 2:55:00 AM more reviews by Emilymckenziee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think my expectations for the product were too high. I thought I was going to get luscious lashes for days, but really it's more like my lashes were just darker for 1 day 1/2. I have naturally dark lashes, so it wasn't a huge change. A friend of mine has very light brown almost blonde lashes and she really loves this product. Although, we both agree it didn't last for four days. But it did last longer thank waterproof mascaras. I wore it under heavier mascaras and they seemed to work well together. For your money I would recommend this product. I still use it, I just lowered my expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* peachesndream on 7/16/2013 5:27:00 PM more reviews by peachesndream

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product in OK, and I think it performs as advertised. If you have used the Tarte lash stain, this is the exact same thing but with a cheaper price tag. If you liked the Tarte, you will like this HC one.

This is not like getting you lashes tinted at a salon. This coats you lashes and darkens them, and as advertised, does last for 4 days. However, it does not leave them as "you natural lashes but darker" as the tint at the salon does, but instead leaves them sort of coated in dark lash stain. Hard to describe, but it basically sits on your lashes until it comes off or you take it off (you can remove this with eye makeup remover).

It does not perform as a mascara, meaning, there is no volumizing. I find it does lengthen just a bit. If you are not careful, your lashes can clump when you apply, esp. if you coat on too much.

Overall, for what this is, I do like it; you just have to come in with the right expectations. It is not going to look like you have on the world's best mascara for 4 days. It looks like you have darkened lashes.

I find it a bit hard to apply mascara over this, but if you try, you can. The impact won't be the same as bare lashes bc this stain does stick to your natural lashes and coats them.

The color is a nice, rich black.

I find that it lasts as advertised (4 days). I do notice some smudging when I wake up in the morning. I sleep with my face in my pillow, but I think if you are a back sleep, you wouldn't notice any smudging. I have noticed some minor eye irritation when I wake up because I sleep face down.

I would recommend this to someone who wants very dark lashes but is not expecting more than that. I think it would be great if you were going camping, swam a lot, worked out a lot (Especially in the morning and didn't want to look horrible) or had some job where you were outdoors and wanted a natural look without worrying about mascara all over your face. It does not come off with soap and water in the shower.

I would buy it again. I don't use it often, but when I have, I like it. I do like the look of the salon tinting more than this, but that is very expensive. I would never buy the Tarte again- this really is the exact same.

Just know what you are expecting when you buy this. I love the packaging, the wand brush is small and easy to use. Hard Candy is a great brand and the price is so reasonable!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeupjunkie1997 on 7/16/2013 12:52:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie1997

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I had such high hopes for this product! Let me start off by saying, this is NOT a stain! I was expecting a light consistancy, but this is just a wet, thick, sticky mascara. It is very hard to apply because it dries so fast. It is very clumpy and I didn't have time to fix them because it dried so fast! All of my lashes stuck together and it took forever to get off, even with makeup remover! It dried out my lashes and left them very brittle. I have heard horror stories of girls who used this product and it broke their lashes off! Overall this is a terrible product and you should not waste your money on it! Stick to a water proof mascara, lash gel, or even dye your lashes! Just make sure whoever is dying them uses special lash dye, not the same dye used for hair, and get them dyed professionally! I hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Becky12 on 3/25/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Becky12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

First off, this isn't really a "stain", it's a very wet mascara. It darkens your lashes- it's not build-able for volume, BUT it gets sticky fast if you try more than a coat or two. It's very, very waterproof- more waterproof perhaps than anything I've tried and I've tried a lot. If you want a foolproof mascara to swim in, this is it! However, it still comes off reasonably well with a soak in my Neutrogena waterproof makeup remover. I like it overall for days when my mascara is really put on trial. As for it's 4 day claim? You'll sleep in it once, wake up and realize that yep, it's still mostly there- but your lashes will feel sticky and sorta eww and you'll definitely want to take it off and start fresh!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnlois on 2/11/2013 7:42:00 PM more reviews by dawnlois

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Once again - in the minority! I'm glad I bought this before reading the reviews, because I love it! Yes, it requires care to apply. You're basically painting your lashes with this product, then placing them where you want them. I use tweezers for that. It sounds strange, but the tweezers help me to grasp each lash and kind of nudge it into position. Anyway, I applied it this morning - my lashes looked perfect when I finished applying, and I shoveled the driveway, took my two dogs to the park for a mile or so walk - it's not too cold right now, but the wind was really blowing. Usually, that makes my eyes tear up, and as soon as any wetness hits my lashes (blowing snow, also) the curl falls out and my mascara smudges. Today I got home and looked like I did before I left. By then it was almost 2PM, so I had a sandwich and snuggled up with my pups to read, and ended up napping for an hour or so, too. When I got up to make dinner, I looked the same as when I laid down.I like rich moisturizers and use lots of sunscreen and usually I'm wiping under my eyes periodically throughout the day - I've been around the mascara block many, many times, and I pretty much accepted that that is just the way it goes. For seven bucks (seven bucks!!!) I've got long, perfectly defined, inky black lashes, and not once did I have one bit of smudging or flaking. I'm pretty damned impressed, to say the least. Now - tonight I will remove it, and start all over again tomorrow. While I love the idea of a stain that lasts for several days - something about it just sounds unhealthy, so I'm just going to treat this as I would any other waterproof mascara. If it turns out that removal is impossible, or some other weird thing happens, I'll be back to update. But as of now - I've found my new mascara, I give it 5 stars, and I will absolutely repurchase. I did take a point off for the packaging, which seems both excessive and wasteful - but on the other hand, Hard Candy is cruelty free, which I like very much, so all in all - extremely pleased with this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kali89 on 12/5/2012 2:21:00 AM more reviews by Kali89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an alright product. It colors the lashes and it did not come off when I went swimming. My blonde sister used it and it lasted three days, but she didn't attempt to remove it. I would buy it again if I were going on vacation, but it doesn't replace mascara. I'd doesn't add volume or length. Hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BrittCastsFireballs on 11/28/2012 3:57:00 PM more reviews by BrittCastsFireballs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Wow. Let me start by saying that I had high(ish) hopes for this mascara. This would've been awesome for my blonde, barely-there lashes. Sadly, this product disappoints terribly.
Irritated and dried out my eyes (especially with contacts in). Didn't add any length or volume, but it's virtually impossible to layer another mascara on top of this one. It also washes off completely with my facial soap. I'm sure if you just rinse your eyelids with water, the stain will stick (at least for that night).
Definitely will not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Mascara products