Bumble & Bumble • Texture • Styling Products

rated 3.9(48 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Imaphek on 7/18/2013 4:39:00 PM more reviews by Imaphek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

On my first couple of tries I found this quite sticky. Now I apply a dollop of this all over wet hair before blowdrying, squishing it into my hands first for an even application. I like that it doesn't make my hair at all crunchy, just adds a little bit of oomph.

Once hair is dry, you can even brush this out for a different look, and it's still nicer than no product. I quite like it for blowdrying, and you can apply it sparingly to dry hair for a bit more definition and texture. I like that you can use it on lengths or on roots equally well.

I compared Texture to Kevin Murphy Hair Resort, but I like this much better. Too bad it doesn't smell like Hair Resort!

If you want to use something exclusively on dry hair, give Living Proof's Amp a try. It has a nice clean smell and is a little less sticky to use.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 6/6/2013 11:37:00 PM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This, mixed with Grooming Cream, is amazing! My hair is fine but curly/frizzy and this product combo makes my curls look beautiful! It calms down the frizziness while defining the curl and making my hair super shiny. No crunch either! I don't love the tube because if it were a flip-top, you could get the last little bit out. This is a tad expensive but a full-size tube lasts me several months so well worth the investment. And have already repurchased. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilpea on 2/6/2013 5:41:00 AM more reviews by lilpea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a closet full of expensive styling products and this is the best of them. I use it on wet hair for root lift them after its all dried I mix a squirt of glossing serum with a squirt of this stuff and apply for separation. The glossing serum puts back the shine into hair that the texture takes out. Cost a bomb in Australia but worth every cent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goldfish5555 on 11/12/2012 1:02:00 AM more reviews by goldfish5555

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have capital STRAIGHT FINE hair. With a dollop of this in my damp hair I can blow it dry, add a few waves with a curling iron and simulate a beautiful model, bed head thing. It gives my hair some body and oomph. It also takes some of the oil out of my super oily hair and enables me to go a day without washing. The only downside is that it takes away some of my hair's glossiness and shine, but I feel like it's the price I have to pay somewhat -- like I can't have super shiny plus body and the ability to hold curl.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luisajames on 11/10/2012 12:21:00 AM more reviews by luisajames

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this product is great for adding body and grit to the hair. great for those with naturally soft, limp hair. works great at the root for lift and can be scrunched in for lived in separation

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danafinfin on 10/29/2012 12:13:00 PM more reviews by danafinfin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Great product! I have fine, thick, long hair with natural curl. This is the only product that adds serious body and memory to my hair. I use it both when I blow-dry straight, and when I let it air-dry. It takes a while to get the hang of how much to use, and how to work with it, but it has been a miracle for me. When I blow-dry, I brush it through my hair evenly, and add a bit more to the roots for volume. Then, I ruffle it around when I blow dry.With an air dry, I distribute just with my hands, ruffle it around, spray it with water, and shape some of the curls with my fingers. Tube last FOREVER, as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GucciDiva on 7/22/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by GucciDiva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

GODSEND for my hair

So I have lots of fine, stick-straight hair. It is very slick & silky, so it falls flat and is so prone to oil. I have absolutely 0 natural texture. My hair looks pathetic in a bun or ponytail.
Enter this product. I use a large dollop, like the size of 1.5 quarters, on my armpit-length hair. I concentrate on the roots and really squeeze/scrunch it in when my hair is wet but not dripping. I don't blow dry my hair.

When worn down, this gives my flat straight hair some serious oomph, it makes it look thick and prevents it from being plastered against my scalp. It makes it not shiny, but that can be added back in with another product.
Now, I am terrible at curling hair, but for those of you who have straight hair that doesn't hold a curl, this would be wonderful. It gets rid of the slickness and gives your hair grip so that it can actually curl, although you should still probably set it with hairspray.

This also makes my hair look much better in a bun, braid, and ponytail. It makes my twerpy little buns look voluminous, it makes my flat ponytails look more energetic, it makes my scrawny braids thicker.

And, it doesn't weigh down my hair. And, if you screw your hair up, then just re-wet it and the texturizer still works. It is kind of drying, so don't use it every day. I highly recommend this to my flat-haired comrades.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nixsticks on 6/14/2012 7:16:00 PM more reviews by nixsticks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the small sample size, but will definitely repurchase when I run out--and this is rare for me. I almost never use anything in my hair, which, until recently, was down to my lower back. I'm incredibly lazy with it and don't do much more than blowdrying it upside down if my hair is wet before I go outside.



I felt like I needed to leave a review because NOTHING ever works for my hair. On various whims, I've tried thickening spray (B&B's left me underwhelmed), thickening creme, curl definer, blah, blah. All of them either didn't do anything or left my hair looking disgustingly greasy. I have extremely fine, long, Asian hair (type 1a) that is so smooth and slippery I can't do a French braid unless my hair is wet. It escapes from buns. When I put it in rollers, it slides out. This gives it a lot more grip.



Anyway, I was very skeptical at first, but put a nickel-sized dollop in my palm, then rubbed it through my hair. It makes my hair HUGE. So much volume! That never happens. It also lasts all day, which, again, NEVER happens. I actually have to use way more than a nickel, maybe more like a quarter size, for a more noticeable effect, but it gives so much volume and separation it's ridiculous. I don't know if I'd dare to use it without blowdrying and a lot of brushing, though, because otherwise it seems to be so sticky.



Bottom line: I use it to get lots of volume and texture in my hair. Instead of being flat and super shiny it looks like the layered cuts in hair ads... of course, some people spend a lot of money on stuff to make their hair flat and super shiny. We all want what we can't have.



Caveats:
- It doesn't make curls last for me, but nothing ever does.
- If you don't brush it while it's drying, your hair will be crispy/sticky, if it's anything like mine.
- It actually makes my hair matte/almost rough-textured, and like I said my hair is very shiny. If you don't like that look you might want to add a shine spray. This is good if you have oily hair, though.
- The twist cap that doesn't come off is annoying and gets messy but I suppose it's good not to have to fumble with a cap and leave the thing open.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heartsinwonderland on 3/27/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by heartsinwonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is definitely a staple in my haircare routine! It is the only hair product that allows me to air dry my hair and go out! It makes my waves look wonderful! I never go out without straightening my hair, and this product allows me to not have to! It also does well when I straighten my hair with it. My hair is a sexy messy straight and gives a great grit and texture! I love this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 1/12/2012 11:20:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a weird product. If I use it in just the right way I get amazing, defined waves. If I deviate just a little, I get stiff, sticky, slightly crunchy hair. I had to mess around with this for about a week until I got the hang of it. But that room for error is just so small that it makes this a near miss for me.


I use about the size of a nickel, concentrating on the entire length and roots and making sure to disperse it evenly throughout. Using a cream texture near my scalp seems counter-intuitive for my hair type (very fine, wavy, color treated, long) but it does add volume and thickness. Anyway, after applying I comb through really well, then blowdry until my hair is about 90% dry. While blowdrying I have to brush my hair or else my hair will dry into crunchy sections. At this point my hair is still is still just barely damp. I wrap it up into a bun and bobby pin and leave it for a few hours. When I take my hair down I look like I have twice the amount of hair with tons of long loose waves. My hair isn't dry and stiff like it would be with hairspray, but it does have more of a rough texture and a matte appearance. Not dull, just matte. It has great memory so that the waves stay intact even through sleeping.


The only other way I change it up is by blowdrying until my hair is completely dry and then using a flatiron to make waves or curls. It holds them intact better than the majority of other products I've tried.


There's a few downsides. The cream is like a cross between a clear liquid glue and a white cream, with a sticky texture. It doesn't feel pleasant, and it doesn't smooth through hair well unless you rub it into your palms for a bit and really work it into your hair. Applying it in dry hair is a total failure and won't leave me with anything but a mess. Also, applying it into wet hair and not blowdrying produces crunchy string-hair. If I use even a touch too much my hair is actually sticky to the touch and looks filthy, weighed down, and lank.


I like the tube packaging and twist-dispenser cap. There's a perfumey fragrance that's noticeable for awhile but it's not strong enough to bother me and I'm fairly sensitive to scents. The price is reasonable considering the amount and how little I use each time.


I gave this a 3 because there's just no gray area to using this (at least as far as my hair's concerned). I don't think this is for every hair type, and anyone with fine hair like mine may have to be super careful using it. I'll repurchase for now until I find something similar that creates a beautiful wave just as easily.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bumble & Bumble products

More Styling Products products