Aspirin Mask

4.2

2239 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

C₇H₆O₃


on 1/30/2015 11:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Oh my freaking goodness. Could this really be the end of an era? Bear with me, as I've got a personal anecdote to go along with this pseudo-review.

There is so much I could say and explain to really get to the heart of my journey and, ultimately, why aspirin proved to be the perfect topical in addition to my otherwise natural skin-care routine. Put simply, I've struggled for years and years with cystic acne and clogged pores, dry skin, hormonal breakouts....all beginning around the age of 20. It has not subsided, and I am 27 right now. Yes, there were good and bad waves, but nothing has been close to "clear" or how I would like it since I was about 19 years old.

I threw out my products (at the time I was using Neutrogena) in my first upheaval at the end of the summer of 2011, and decided to go natural. I was using manuka honey and yogurt to cleanse my skin (one every other night) and things got better-- but not nearly as good as I wanted them to be. I stopped drinking coffee because I figured out it was a major culprit for my cystic acne. I maintained all of this natural skin care (and tested out a few things here and there) but would still breakout, and pretty bad sometimes. I didn't know why, and continued my quest for acne-free skin.

Summer 2013 brought a ton of stress and an even bigger breakout. It was not nice at all. And nothing had changed in my routine! I was internally unhealthy, but figured that was secondary to me maintaining a routine. Wrong. I struggled for the next year, with breakouts, rashes, cysts, clogged pores, dry skin, blotchiness, slow healing...everything. Even cold sores and a few run ins with a sty came up during this time. I just didn't understand. I had tried lots of natural supplements and stuff during this time, but didn't see the light until this past New Year.

I cleaned up my internal life. I rid myself of the mild depression I had been facing because of my face, and decided I didn't give a SHIT (am I allowed to say that here?) who thought what of me. I cleaned up my diet (which had abnormally gone way south in the fall) and started yoga again. I quit a job I hated to do what I loved. I forgave a lot of people. I released my fears (with the help of Louise Hay's little blue book). I didn't wear makeup, and my face was a wreck. I fought, and overcame.

Just when I realized fully that my acne was partially caused by me, I stumbled across the aspirin mask (how did I NOT SEE THAT until this year?!?!) and decided to give it a try purely for exfoliation purposes. Guess what? It worked. Amazingly. It sloughed off all of the years of old skin and de-gunked my pores that had been clogged since I stopped using salicylic acid (the one benefit of mainstream products was the pore-dissolving chemical). I neglected, in my natural care, to exfoliate like I should-- and I think that was a huge factor in the clogged nature of my skin. They would sit there until I was stressed and then decide to rear their heads. Guess what? Not only can you not get acne if you don't have clogged pores, but you can't get acne if you don't allow stress to overtake your life.

Sorry this turned into more of a soapbox than a review, but it is all-encompassing. Overall, this product added the perfect element to my honey and yogurt routine, and now I combine them all in a mask every other night or so. Once I am fully clear (it has been a month since my major breakout and about 2.5 weeks since aspirin, and I am close to clear including fading red marks). It is incredible, and there a plethora of things to thank, mostly my internal healing processes, but I CAN'T discount what a freaking wonder this seems to be. It is JUST enough for exfoliation but not enough to dry out (especially in combination with honey and/or yogurt). It leaves me soft, but not oily. It makes you peel and flake, but only because it is healing old marks you forgot even existed. And yes-- you WILL breakout a little if you have clogged pores, but the only way out is through. You must persevere to see ultimate results. I got a breakout across my forehead when first using it, but they healed quickly and I was just left with slight marks.

I am so freaking happy I don't even know if this review makes sense, or if you will have made it all the way through. Either way, I had to advocate for this routine and share at least some of my story! If you have any questions or thoughts, please message me!! Incredible product for the price and in general. I can't recommend enough

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.



on 12/26/2014 3:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

wow. i'm actually really impressed with how well aspirin has been for my skin. I've tried turmeric,coconut oil,activated charcoal,honey,oatmeal, tomato, strawberries, etc! Yet i still cant believe after all these years of trying products this one simple thing worked amazing (and its the cheapest). I buy aspirin from the 99 cents store (why not?) and what i do is i crush a few and add honey and then apply it as a spot treatment or just all over if my skin is bad. I've tried just mixing the aspirin with water but it isn't the same. Anyway, i leave it one for about an hour, while i watch a show. Then rinse and sleep ( i always do it at night). When i wake up my skin is always MUCH nicer, my spots are either practically gone or have shrunk and become less red/irritated. And that's it! it's my lifesaver

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This never really occurred to me, it's my boyfriend who uses it occasionally. There were a few times he had some weird chalky stuff on his face and I asked what on earth it was and he said it was aspirin. For a little while he had to live in my house (very long story) and left an empty advil bottle labelled "ASA Dec 16" and I opened it and found a bunch of crushed to powder aspirin. Might as well, so I used it. Only as a spot treatment though.

The Good - It totally works to heal pimples. It's acetylsalicylic acid, which using logic I'm guessing is related to salicylic acid. Just mix a pinch of powdered (crushed aspirin, not the coated kind) aspirin with a drop of water and lightly dab it on any acne and by the morning it's gone. I don't really get pimples too often so I don't use it much, but when I've needed to, it's worked great.

Just --- don't use a lot, I imagine it would irritate your skin. For use, just crush uncoated aspirin pills.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2014 7:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love using aspirin and lime overnight. I crush 3 aspirin pills and add enough lime juice or lemon juice until a thick paste is formed, than a drop of honey or face mask. Than I apply it to my face. Next morning use a wet towel or cloth to remove and EXFOLIATE than apply a gentle cream.

Do this up to 4 consecutive days and by the weekend, your face will be almost ageless.

Also try a pineapple mask. Pineapple contains an acid known to soften the appearance of wrinkles and make skin glow.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 7:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Wow! Tighter, smoother, clearer skin after only 3 nights of use - shocking. The semi-large pores on my oily nose are invisible. My face is smooth as a baby's rear. It doesn't eliminate redness completely. I smashed 3-5 aspirin in a little bowl, added several drops of warm water, made a paste and slapped it on my skin...left for about 25 minutes while I played with my dogs, and voila! My skin has rarely felt this nice.
Warning: DO NOT let it get in your eyes! Major stinging!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2014 11:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Never in a million years did I think this would work,after reading all the great reviews on this mask I had to try it out. The first time I tried this mask I crushed 8 uncoated aspirin on a plate using only a few drops of water (very tiny amount of water) using a clean makeup brush I applied to my face avoiding my eye and mouth area,I left on for about 10mins before washing off with warm water my skin felt amazing, I've spent so much time and money on products to help my skin nothing has worked like this mask. My acne scars have faded no more brake outs and black heads have totally disappeared. I now use lemon juice instead of water and aloe Vera gel the gel helps to keep the mask on your face without the annoying flaking,and the lemon juice is awesome for oily skin,I now leave the mask on for 20-30mins. I try to do this twice a week the results are shocking honestly you need to give this a go. I wouldn't recommend doing this mask too often tho as aspirin apparently thins out the blood

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2014 12:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

With over 2200 reviews, maybe this concoction doesn't need another review, but being that I am a skin care junkie and hadn't heard of this before, at least my review will bring this item some new attention on here and maybe help out someone like myself.
I have oily/ acne-prone skin and have since I was a kid; this is very embarrassing to go through both as a kid that was too young to have these problems and now as an adult that's "too old" to still struggle with this as well. I am one of those persons that has literally tried every product, natural remedy, and Rx on the market. And then some. Finally, both as a product of my maturity and my ability to dial things in better, I am experiencing some clear skin. I have several product to thank for this, including Acnomel, Clean & Clear 3-in-one Acne Scrub, bc pills, and regular old rubbing alcohol for toner (save the speech, I've been using it for years and love it). I just ran across the aspirin mask concept on MUA and decided to give it try, after much debate, because I cannot ingest aspirin (makes me sick). The long & short of it is, it seems to work well, did not burn my skin, and did not make me sick.
I watched a few YouTube videos and tried the very simple approach of dissolving about 3 uncoated aspirin on a saucer with a FEW drops of water (it takes fewer than you think and they dissolve fast). I then added just a dollup of honey (plain old store kind, I could not find anything better). I swirled it together and then rubbed it into/ onto my face, avoiding eyes, brows, and mouth. I had actually started out with 3 aspirin, but ended up having to add 2 more because the solution got a lot runnier than I figured. It was STILL incredibly runny and I would definitely not describe it as a "paste." I think I will actually use a little less water and/or more tablets next time to make a product with a slightly coarser texture. I left this on my face for only 5 minutes, scared to do more by the reviewers who experienced chemical burns. But I think my tough old skin could probably handle more time next time. I rinsed after 5 minutes and my skin felt very, very soft, but not in that gross coated way that so many commercially prepared products make it feel. It just looked and felt clear. And it has stayed clear all week. I plan to use this at least once a week and see if it adds to the overall clarity of my skin.
This may be just a coincidence, but I have noticed my lips/ mouth area are extremely dry the past few days. I did avoid the area entirely, but maybe some dripped. Definitely avoid the mouth area.
So far, I would not call this miraculous, but I would call it effective (tentatively). And it's also dirt cheap. I also like the ability to customize both the mix I create and the texture. And there are no nasty things in my mask (scrub) like parabens. I'm looking forward to trying different concoctions.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/4/2014 10:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I do this at least once a week. Love it. I think I have the generic Walgreens brand right now. I crush before adding liquid,.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 2:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I thought I was the only one that puts aspirin on her private parts haha.
I use the electric epilator almost all over my body (I don't do my arms). I am quite hairy and especially down there is quite thick. My hair grows very fast.
Whenever I use the epilator, I have red skin straight away and it just looks a mess from all the tugging and thick hair that gets pulled out. After few days I would have ingrown hair already which was itchy and quite annyoing. Not to mention those ugly bumps under the skin and sometimes they had puss in them.
So I started putting an aspirin mask mixed with boiled water and witch hazel (no alcohol) or aspirin toner, leave it on for an hour, wash it off, let it dry....and then put a light oil....very nice, smooth and calm skin! I do the same thing for my underarms.
After few days, I make another mask but this time, I massage gently for exfoliation and then let the mask sit for few mins. It helps a lot with ingrown hair.
I don't put the mask as soon as I finished epilating, it burns! So be careful. I wait for 2 hours until I apply this magic mask.

As a facial mask- I use it once a week (I put 2 Aspirins with some water and this is enough for me). Or on my pimples with a clay, azelaic acid and sulphur mask and is the best mask for my cysts and pimples.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2014 11:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is a great remedy for ah hmmm.........bikini wax rashes. Love brazilians but my skin does not. I've tried everything from tend skin to tea tree oil. Four to six crushed aspirin with honey, let sit for 20 minutes or so-- absolute miracle. PS quickest way to crush aspirin is to put it in a coffee grinder.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4224 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
Aspirin Mask
2239 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Aspirin Mask, Jojoba/Vitamin E oil reduces acne/acne scars and minimizes pores by CindysFaves

Aspirin Mask by Michelle Phan



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

117 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

48 reviews
Back to Top