No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Aspirin Mask • Masks

rated 4.2(2234 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatWKSF on 11/11/2014 12:16:00 PM more reviews by KatWKSF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

With over 2200 reviews, maybe this concoction doesn't need another review, but being that I am a skin care junkie and hadn't heard of this before, at least my review will bring this item some new attention on here and maybe help out someone like myself.
I have oily/ acne-prone skin and have since I was a kid; this is very embarrassing to go through both as a kid that was too young to have these problems and now as an adult that's "too old" to still struggle with this as well. I am one of those persons that has literally tried every product, natural remedy, and Rx on the market. And then some. Finally, both as a product of my maturity and my ability to dial things in better, I am experiencing some clear skin. I have several product to thank for this, including Acnomel, Clean & Clear 3-in-one Acne Scrub, bc pills, and regular old rubbing alcohol for toner (save the speech, I've been using it for years and love it). I just ran across the aspirin mask concept on MUA and decided to give it try, after much debate, because I cannot ingest aspirin (makes me sick). The long & short of it is, it seems to work well, did not burn my skin, and did not make me sick.
I watched a few YouTube videos and tried the very simple approach of dissolving about 3 uncoated aspirin on a saucer with a FEW drops of water (it takes fewer than you think and they dissolve fast). I then added just a dollup of honey (plain old store kind, I could not find anything better). I swirled it together and then rubbed it into/ onto my face, avoiding eyes, brows, and mouth. I had actually started out with 3 aspirin, but ended up having to add 2 more because the solution got a lot runnier than I figured. It was STILL incredibly runny and I would definitely not describe it as a "paste." I think I will actually use a little less water and/or more tablets next time to make a product with a slightly coarser texture. I left this on my face for only 5 minutes, scared to do more by the reviewers who experienced chemical burns. But I think my tough old skin could probably handle more time next time. I rinsed after 5 minutes and my skin felt very, very soft, but not in that gross coated way that so many commercially prepared products make it feel. It just looked and felt clear. And it has stayed clear all week. I plan to use this at least once a week and see if it adds to the overall clarity of my skin.
This may be just a coincidence, but I have noticed my lips/ mouth area are extremely dry the past few days. I did avoid the area entirely, but maybe some dripped. Definitely avoid the mouth area.
So far, I would not call this miraculous, but I would call it effective (tentatively). And it's also dirt cheap. I also like the ability to customize both the mix I create and the texture. And there are no nasty things in my mask (scrub) like parabens. I'm looking forward to trying different concoctions.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stellabell on 11/4/2014 10:07:00 AM more reviews by stellabell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I do this at least once a week. Love it. I think I have the generic Walgreens brand right now. I crush before adding liquid,.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 10/21/2014 2:53:00 AM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I was the only one that puts aspirin on her private parts haha.
I use the electric epilator almost all over my body (I don't do my arms). I am quite hairy and especially down there is quite thick. My hair grows very fast.
Whenever I use the epilator, I have red skin straight away and it just looks a mess from all the tugging and thick hair that gets pulled out. After few days I would have ingrown hair already which was itchy and quite annyoing. Not to mention those ugly bumps under the skin and sometimes they had puss in them.
So I started putting an aspirin mask mixed with boiled water and witch hazel (no alcohol) or aspirin toner, leave it on for an hour, wash it off, let it dry....and then put a light oil....very nice, smooth and calm skin! I do the same thing for my underarms.
After few days, I make another mask but this time, I massage gently for exfoliation and then let the mask sit for few mins. It helps a lot with ingrown hair.
I don't put the mask as soon as I finished epilating, it burns! So be careful. I wait for 2 hours until I apply this magic mask.

As a facial mask- I use it once a week (I put 2 Aspirins with some water and this is enough for me). Or on my pimples with a clay, azelaic acid and sulphur mask and is the best mask for my cysts and pimples.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anitres on 10/20/2014 11:39:00 PM more reviews by anitres

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a great remedy for ah hmmm.........bikini wax rashes. Love brazilians but my skin does not. I've tried everything from tend skin to tea tree oil. Four to six crushed aspirin with honey, let sit for 20 minutes or so-- absolute miracle. PS quickest way to crush aspirin is to put it in a coffee grinder.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sierrab2010 on 9/30/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by sierrab2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've used crushed aspirin and water as a mask for the past four days and I'm incredibly impressed. I'd always heard of people using aspirin as a home remedy for pimples but brushed it off because most home methods typically do nothing drastic for my skin (tooth paste just further inflamed my zits and honey did nothing but turn my room into a sticky mess). Anyway, I had a huge, red, painful, cystic pimple pop up on my forehead on Friday and was desperate for it to be gone before going out on Saturday. Aspirin, the apparent medicine of the gods, didn't completely demolish my zit but shrank it by at least 70%. By day four the pimple is now completely gone. Not only that, but the rest of my face looks smoother and brighter. I'm gonna give this little method an A+. Very cheap and very effective.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 malibumamaloves on 9/20/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by malibumamaloves

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Malibu Mama Loves loves loves the aspirin mask. Here is my recipe: http://malibumamaloves.com/aspirin-mask/
I add a secret ingredient!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/8/2014 1:39:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the asprin mask.
I thought I did a review for this a few years back but I didn't see it here.
I have been using this mask for about 12 years. It is great. It really helps with blemishes and also brightens the skin.
My only complaint would be that it is flaky if used with water alone. Which I find to be the best way to use even though it will dry and flake off (not all of it but tiny specks that can get into your eyes OUCH!)
I have also tried it with the honey and my cleanser. I prefer it with one of the following instead of honey.
Milk, coconut oil, a lightweight oil after desolving into a paste in water first,I use these ONLY if my skin needs moisture or if I am using the mask multiple times in a week, or my cleanser.
I still usually only use this with water as I find it to yeld better results. If I am going to be moving around quite a bit doing things around the house and really need to be careful about the flakes this is the only time I will mix with other products.
It really does help with the blemishes, clogged pores, blemishes under the skin, brightening, scars, and exfoiliation. It does provide a lightweight peel.
I have recently been using it with my Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser and the results are amazing. I love the fresh cool feeling the cleanser provides. Used alone you barely feel the cooling sensation of the cleanser but used together it is AMAZING. I love that fresh cool feeling on my skin. I know some people do not like it but this cleanser does not provide too much of a cooling sensation like some do that even hurt when you put water on your face. This one is just very slightly but used with the mask OMG i love it lol

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 UrbanFacedMacnamedNYX on 9/6/2014 12:06:00 AM more reviews by UrbanFacedMacnamedNYX

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have acne prone skin that's very sensitive. I have used this mask for quite a bit and I feel the difference and see the difference. It's a great salicylic acid peel without the cost or pain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LilyMazi on 8/27/2014 8:05:00 AM more reviews by LilyMazi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have learned that in order to have a good skin your pores need to be clean regardless of how clean your skin is on the surface.
Beta hydroxy acid penetrates inside your pores but sometimes the pores are way too clogged up that even the acid can't penetrate inside and remove the gunk completely.

I watched Dr Cassar's Guasha treatment and I did it on my face before applying an aspirin mask .In my opinion ,the results that i got when I had a Guasha treatment as opposed to the time that i didn't, are incomparable ! My skin glows and it is transparent !

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gamze88 on 6/24/2014 5:53:00 AM more reviews by Gamze88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I get little bumps on my forehead occasionally, I think it's a little congestion. The texture just isn't as smooth as the rest of my face. Aspirin mask does a great job of clearing it up. I really don't know why people spend big cash on face masks when this is significantly cheaper and works better. The chemistry of aspirin and why it gets the job done makes sense to me whereas I'm not so sure about the various stuff they put in other masks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Masks products