Josie Maran Cosmetics • Matchmaker • Foundations

rated 3.4(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 1/30/2014 8:54:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As with the BB cream trend, it is my personal opinion that this oil trend will come and go in some time.
Anyway, I received a sample of this from Sephora (in Light/Medium) and was excited to try it because of the rave reviews on Josie Maran in general. The foundation is very light weight, and comes out white, but changes very quickly if left on your hand. It is extremely light, lighter than some BB creams I have tried. Somewhat buildable, blends easily. I have long, long days (I'm a nurse; approximately 15 hours on weekends.) and haven't found a match for Make Up Forever HD yet, but am always trying new things.
I prefer more of a full coverage, so this obviously isn't for me particularly. I always say foundations/BB creams, etc. are an individualized thing depending on the type of coverage you desire and the occasion. This foundation is more for the lesser coverage types, and it leaves a more natural look.
This is worth a try if you are into the whole oil/BB cream trend and/or prefer a more sheer, lightweight foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jmesa1 on 1/28/2014 10:26:00 PM more reviews by Jmesa1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: nice glow makes my skin look so good and clear, not cakey, soft to the touch, don't need more than one push of the pump so it lasts like 6 months. Doesn't make me breakout. Aragon oil I guess made my skin look smooth and luminous.

Cons: doesn't last long even with the concealer after 3-4 hours you can see my acne marks on my cheeks. But I don't use primer so there's that. It's like $45

It's good for the most part but doesn't give me enough all day coverage. Try a sample at sephora it's worth that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 priscillaaa on 1/19/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by priscillaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this foundation for some time now, so I feel like I can give a pretty good review of it :)

I have it in the shade Light/Medium.

I have to say I was skeptical at first about the colour shift pigments inside the foundation, but it does work! The foundation comes out white with some grainy bits in it, but once buffed into the skin, the product changes colour to match your skin.

The coverage is light, but it is somewhat buildable. I have post-acne scars on my cheeks, they are link pink/red so I am quite self conscious about it. The foundation does a good job on covering it up, but I always layer with some concealer.

The finish of this foundation is great, it is smooth and looks very natural. It looks fantastic in photos and undectable.

By the end of the day though, there isn't a lot of product left on my skin, and you can see that some of the product has been sliding around on my face especially at my T-Zone.

I am about halfway through my first bottle. I have a second bottle as well that was gifted to me. After I finish these, I will not repurchase them as I have other foundations that stay better on my face and has better coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bkurant on 11/20/2013 11:53:00 PM more reviews by bkurant

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

for my skin, this is the absolute best foundation. though technically not a bb cream, it does for me what many hope bb cream will do - your skin, only better. smooth, even coverage that feels and looks as if you have no foundation at all - just perfect skin.
argan oil, in general, is not a friend to my very sensitive skin. it causes a lot of problems for my face and does nothing for my dry curls. yet, whatever ingredients are in this foundation, they balance the argan oil beautifully.
the color (fair) is also something of a miracle. my skin is warm with cool undertones, which makes it almost impossible to find a good match. the problem is all those yellow-based foundations, spreading like jaundice thanks to bobby brown and her yellow mantra. they are sickly looking. and even neutral foundations are still too yellow. josie maran to the rescue.
i can see why/how this foundation can be problematic for some. it goes on white, but then it reacts with your skin and changes, but you have no control over the final color. it either works with your true color, or it doesnt. if it does, it looks wonderful - natural, effortless. otherwise, it might look grey or orange or anything but your natural color. the only way to know is to try it - your skin will tell you what no review can.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StupidUserNames on 11/18/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this back in April on a whim and since then I've been trying it and I love this product that I always recommend it. I thought I should wait until I finished this foundation to do a review and decide whether I'd repurchase or not but I can't wait any longer it's now November and I already bought a back up and I must say this is amazing!! Now for the actual review.. I bought this on a whim when Josie was having that model citizen campaign I never tried her products before and I said why not I do love animals! So when I opened the package I pumped some out and some clear liquid stuff came out. I was like WTF was this? But I unscrewed the pump and stirred it and it was just perfect. It goes in white and it has little beads in it that do feel grainy but not abrasive at all it rubs on very nicely and if you over apply it will get greasy. This foundation is a sheer to medium coverage with the right primer(i love this with benefit 15hr primer in the stick) I also bought the argan powder along with it and I set the foundation with the powder and that gives me a real medium to full coverage foundation. It lasts all day it doesn't crack or crease at all I do get a little oily but not to the point where I'm a total greaseball. Overall I'm pretty pleased with this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shauneexo on 10/13/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Sigh. I wanted to love this. The coverage, finish, feel, and lasting power are all phenomenal! Unfortunately, my skin doesn't love argan oil, so I broke out horribly after using this for about a month. Also, the medium/deep is still too light for me. This would probably work great for lighter skinned, less sensitive skinned folks. It has a beautiful, natural finish. Very light coverage, which is super nice, as I dislike anything heavy nowadays.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaylatasha on 9/20/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by kaylatasha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For some odd reason, I LOVE this foundation.

Pros: natural and cruelty free, claims to match your skin tone all year round
Cons: like zero coverage, no SPF, pricey

I got this in a value set so the price wasn't bad, but by itself, it is very expensive, so if you do enjoy this foundation, keep your eyes peeled for value sets!!

This foundation is supposed to change color to match your skin color if you bought the correct color range. It is suggest4ed to use a standard foundation brush, but I always use my fingers. My skin is no where near perfect. I do have minor acne scarring and horrible dark circles, and I can attest to the fact that this foundations offers literally, zero coverage. Okay, maybe just a smidge of coverage. It has these little beads suspended in a white serum/lotion that turns the rest of the "serum/lotion" into your skin color. In that aspect, It matches very well. The little beads, if you decide to apply and rub directly on your skin, do feel a little scratchy (like exfoliating beads in scrubs) but they melt down into nothingness. It has a nice smooth texture and has a sort of silicone-y powdery, semi-matte finish. I believe it is oil based, but I find that it doesn't make me any more greasy and causes no skin discomfort/irritation. Like I said, it has like NO coverage... but after spot concealing, the foundation will absolutely flawless. I don't know how that happens, but it just does. After it sets, the foundation looks even better. Although it doesn't cover anything, it manages to blur out the imperfection and give your skin a general healthy and even tone/texture.

I find it works best if warmed between your fingers before applying. With a brush, it may look streaky. You definitely have to be careful with what products you use before hand so the foundation will sit well on top (I say this because some of us are very accustomed to oil-free products). Also, if you have dryer or more mature skin and like to use heavy moisturizers, make sure it has been completely absorbed, lest the foundation slip off your face or go streaky if applying with a brush.

Would I recommend?
If you love light coverage foundations, or you have trouble skin, I would definitely go for it. Of course for oily skin, if you're afraid of being too greasy, take the necessary precautions like oil control primer/ setting powders. But it is a nice break from using large overdoses of synthetic chemicals and heavy mattifying foundations. If you can find a value set, even better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/4/2013 7:48:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had such high hopes for this foundation that I bought 2 bottles of it. I purchased the Fair/Light as I have NC10-15 skin. When I did a test application on my hand the product came out white but transformed to my exact skin tone within seconds. The finish was a gorgeous glowy semi matte, and it really didn't look like there was foundation on my hand. That is the reason I bought 2 bottles.

When it came to wearing this on my face though, it was a whole different story. I applied this with the brush that came with it. This was my first mistake. The brush smeared the white foundation all over my face, and it spread easily if a little oily feeling. However the color didn't immediately change to match my skin. I had to really swipe the brush hard across my skin in order to get the color to change. I have used color changing foundations before and I found that applying with a brush or sponge doesn't work and instead you need the warmth of your fingers in order to get he color to show up. So I patted my fingers all over my face and the color did change from the white. Unfortunately the color turns out to be too dark for my skin. (I use SPF 50 constantly on my face so it is paler than my arms and hand, which is why when I swatched on my hand, which is darker than my face, it was a great match.)

This foundation was streaky and did not cover anything. My dark spots were very visible, my dark undereye circles were not covered and any pimples were quite clearly visible. I bought these 2 bottles of foundation months ago and was getting round to using them after I finished some other foundation. So I made my second mistake in losing the receipts and also waiting beyond the return period.

I can only say one good thing about this foundation and that is that it does make my skin look plumped up and healthy. I can use this when I have a tan and then only if I wanted sheer coverage with the occasional streak. Really not impressed with this foundation but I will mix with a little of my L'Oreal Magic BB cream which is a little on the pale side, and maybe I can make this product work until I can use up both bottles. Would not repurchase.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emmaqj on 8/24/2013 11:24:00 PM more reviews by emmaqj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The irony of this product for me is that I really like it, but my skin needs to be looking its absolute best for me to use this alone. It is very sheer, with very little coverage, so if you are looking for something that is any way a traditional foundation, this is not it. However, when my skin is at its best, this product gives it extra radiance, and also works to even out tone a tiny bit (VERY tiny bit). What I really like is that it does not look like you are wearing makeup at all, it just makes your skin look better. So if you need to cover blemishes or redness, etc., I would not recommend this -- but I would highly recommend for a "good skin day"!

Additional comment: I have now used this after getting a tan, and can attest that it really does adjust to your skin -- although it provides limited coverage, the coverage it does give is as natural regardless. It was great for my recent vacation in Hawaii, where you don't want to appear to be wearing a lot of makeup out in the sun. I also used the Jose Maran moisturizer with sunscreen protection after this serum, and found that sufficient to protect my skin even in the Hawaii sun.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ldyshallott on 8/12/2013 7:33:00 AM more reviews by ldyshallott

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

my boss complained that this foundation made her look like a ghost, so she gave it to me to try and i LOVE it!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Foundations products