Josie Maran Cosmetics • Matchmaker • Foundations

rated 3.3(93 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 StupidUserNames on 11/18/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this back in April on a whim and since then I've been trying it and I love this product that I always recommend it. I thought I should wait until I finished this foundation to do a review and decide whether I'd repurchase or not but I can't wait any longer it's now November and I already bought a back up and I must say this is amazing!! Now for the actual review.. I bought this on a whim when Josie was having that model citizen campaign I never tried her products before and I said why not I do love animals! So when I opened the package I pumped some out and some clear liquid stuff came out. I was like WTF was this? But I unscrewed the pump and stirred it and it was just perfect. It goes in white and it has little beads in it that do feel grainy but not abrasive at all it rubs on very nicely and if you over apply it will get greasy. This foundation is a sheer to medium coverage with the right primer(i love this with benefit 15hr primer in the stick) I also bought the argan powder along with it and I set the foundation with the powder and that gives me a real medium to full coverage foundation. It lasts all day it doesn't crack or crease at all I do get a little oily but not to the point where I'm a total greaseball. Overall I'm pretty pleased with this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shauneexo on 10/13/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Shauneexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Sigh. I wanted to love this. The coverage, finish, feel, and lasting power are all phenomenal! Unfortunately, my skin doesn't love argan oil, so I broke out horribly after using this for about a month. Also, the medium/deep is still too light for me. This would probably work great for lighter skinned, less sensitive skinned folks. It has a beautiful, natural finish. Very light coverage, which is super nice, as I dislike anything heavy nowadays.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaylatasha on 9/20/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by kaylatasha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For some odd reason, I LOVE this foundation.

Pros: natural and cruelty free, claims to match your skin tone all year round
Cons: like zero coverage, no SPF, pricey

I got this in a value set so the price wasn't bad, but by itself, it is very expensive, so if you do enjoy this foundation, keep your eyes peeled for value sets!!

This foundation is supposed to change color to match your skin color if you bought the correct color range. It is suggest4ed to use a standard foundation brush, but I always use my fingers. My skin is no where near perfect. I do have minor acne scarring and horrible dark circles, and I can attest to the fact that this foundations offers literally, zero coverage. Okay, maybe just a smidge of coverage. It has these little beads suspended in a white serum/lotion that turns the rest of the "serum/lotion" into your skin color. In that aspect, It matches very well. The little beads, if you decide to apply and rub directly on your skin, do feel a little scratchy (like exfoliating beads in scrubs) but they melt down into nothingness. It has a nice smooth texture and has a sort of silicone-y powdery, semi-matte finish. I believe it is oil based, but I find that it doesn't make me any more greasy and causes no skin discomfort/irritation. Like I said, it has like NO coverage... but after spot concealing, the foundation will absolutely flawless. I don't know how that happens, but it just does. After it sets, the foundation looks even better. Although it doesn't cover anything, it manages to blur out the imperfection and give your skin a general healthy and even tone/texture.

I find it works best if warmed between your fingers before applying. With a brush, it may look streaky. You definitely have to be careful with what products you use before hand so the foundation will sit well on top (I say this because some of us are very accustomed to oil-free products). Also, if you have dryer or more mature skin and like to use heavy moisturizers, make sure it has been completely absorbed, lest the foundation slip off your face or go streaky if applying with a brush.

Would I recommend?
If you love light coverage foundations, or you have trouble skin, I would definitely go for it. Of course for oily skin, if you're afraid of being too greasy, take the necessary precautions like oil control primer/ setting powders. But it is a nice break from using large overdoses of synthetic chemicals and heavy mattifying foundations. If you can find a value set, even better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/4/2013 7:48:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had such high hopes for this foundation that I bought 2 bottles of it. I purchased the Fair/Light as I have NC10-15 skin. When I did a test application on my hand the product came out white but transformed to my exact skin tone within seconds. The finish was a gorgeous glowy semi matte, and it really didn't look like there was foundation on my hand. That is the reason I bought 2 bottles.

When it came to wearing this on my face though, it was a whole different story. I applied this with the brush that came with it. This was my first mistake. The brush smeared the white foundation all over my face, and it spread easily if a little oily feeling. However the color didn't immediately change to match my skin. I had to really swipe the brush hard across my skin in order to get the color to change. I have used color changing foundations before and I found that applying with a brush or sponge doesn't work and instead you need the warmth of your fingers in order to get he color to show up. So I patted my fingers all over my face and the color did change from the white. Unfortunately the color turns out to be too dark for my skin. (I use SPF 50 constantly on my face so it is paler than my arms and hand, which is why when I swatched on my hand, which is darker than my face, it was a great match.)

This foundation was streaky and did not cover anything. My dark spots were very visible, my dark undereye circles were not covered and any pimples were quite clearly visible. I bought these 2 bottles of foundation months ago and was getting round to using them after I finished some other foundation. So I made my second mistake in losing the receipts and also waiting beyond the return period.

I can only say one good thing about this foundation and that is that it does make my skin look plumped up and healthy. I can use this when I have a tan and then only if I wanted sheer coverage with the occasional streak. Really not impressed with this foundation but I will mix with a little of my L'Oreal Magic BB cream which is a little on the pale side, and maybe I can make this product work until I can use up both bottles. Would not repurchase.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emmaqj on 8/24/2013 11:24:00 PM more reviews by emmaqj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The irony of this product for me is that I really like it, but my skin needs to be looking its absolute best for me to use this alone. It is very sheer, with very little coverage, so if you are looking for something that is any way a traditional foundation, this is not it. However, when my skin is at its best, this product gives it extra radiance, and also works to even out tone a tiny bit (VERY tiny bit). What I really like is that it does not look like you are wearing makeup at all, it just makes your skin look better. So if you need to cover blemishes or redness, etc., I would not recommend this -- but I would highly recommend for a "good skin day"!

Additional comment: I have now used this after getting a tan, and can attest that it really does adjust to your skin -- although it provides limited coverage, the coverage it does give is as natural regardless. It was great for my recent vacation in Hawaii, where you don't want to appear to be wearing a lot of makeup out in the sun. I also used the Jose Maran moisturizer with sunscreen protection after this serum, and found that sufficient to protect my skin even in the Hawaii sun.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ldyshallott on 8/12/2013 7:33:00 AM more reviews by ldyshallott

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

my boss complained that this foundation made her look like a ghost, so she gave it to me to try and i LOVE it!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 7/30/2013 11:59:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of this with my last Sephora order and didn't like it. I noticed a few new whiteheads after wearing all day and since I know I can use pure argan oil, it must've been one of the other ingredients. (I should mention that I'm very dry with rosacea but am not breakout prone, so this was out of the ordinary for me.) The coverage was spotty and the smell was very bothersome but I have a very sensitive nose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 7/28/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

*UPDATE*
I applied this foundation over my Tarte BB cream primer this morning and oh my gosh, I love how it makes my skin look! The primer definitely made a difference in terms of coverage since now it can build to medium (almost) full coverage. I did notice a slight dewiness after 3 hours but with a setting powder it is easily fixed. The foundation and the primer made my skin look so fresh and soft, blurring out imperfections and small lines.

So I got a sample of this foundation at Sephora and was color matched perfectly (light/medium because I have NC 20-25 skin with yellow undertones). If you are not olive/yellow undertone skin gal, do NOT buy this shade! People complain for turning orange and that's the reason why. If you are cool/pink undertone (possibly even neutral) get the fail/light (or at least ask for both samples and see which one matches you better).
I gave it 4 stars because of the price and for how really almost transparent it looks on the skin. For those of you who need/want medium coverage you will not get it with this product.
My personal belief is, if you take a good care of your skin you don't need a foundation to cover flaws. Of course there are extreme cases of skin conditions that are just difficult to control, so that's a completely different situation.
If you are someone with good skin and minimal amounts of dark spots/acne scars then you will probably like this product. It is extremely light weight and just adds a glow to the face.

I am an oily/combo skin and actually like this foundation, it did not seem to make me shinier. However, I still have to use a setting powder but I also have to do that with every single foundation out there, so this is no different. The only thing I may say is that since it contains Argan oil it controls the sebum production (remember oil cuts oil) so my skin feels truly balanced (in my opinion absolutely perfect for combination skin girls like myself).

I have applied this over my favorite Andalou un-tinted BB cream and since the BB cream provides a natural SPF of 30 plus acts as an oil control product, both the foundation and BB cream work awesome together. I am also going to try to apply the foundation over my Tarte's BB cream (the primer one) and see how that combination works as well.

All in all, it's a very nice product and like with a lot of them I am going to be repurchasing it through Ebay because it's always cheaper that way. If you are oily or combo skin make sure to try with your mattifying or oil controlling products just in case.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* faireyfantom on 6/25/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by faireyfantom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation performed much better than expected. I got this in light/medium and it was a great match for my NC25 skin. I was very impressed by the coverage (says a lot because I like FULL coverage) and there was minimal product transfer which is more than I can say for many of the heavy duty, long lasting foundations I've tried recently. Nice finish. It did not break me out and it felt comfortable on my skin all day. With a light coat of powder over it was beautiful.

The problem? The foundation pigments separated and settled into my pores over time. Not a good look. Over any primer I used, it was worse, never actually mixing all the way.

My personal experience with argan oil is that it is not particularly moisturizing. I use it on my hands because it does seem to have restorative/healing properties, but not moisturizing. I've used it on my face, hair, etc. So, this "serum" foundation did not feel or perform as I expect a serum to which is fine because I hate combo products. I have more control over my skin care with separate products.

Overall, this is not a keeper for me. It is overpriced. I would easily rate this 5 lippies and overlook the price if it were improved so that the pigments did not separate. If you have small/no pores, this is worth a look. It is easy to apply and suprising better than I thought.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cccrid on 6/10/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by cccrid

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very sensitive skin, which is prone to congestion on the cheeks and dryness around the nose and chin. I was apprehensive about using an oil based product on my skin, so i must admit that it sat in my drawer for a couple of months.... Now I can't live without this product! It gives a beautiful glow, unlike any other foundation or matchmaster that I haved tried previously. Yes, the coverage is light, but it turns out I don't need so much coverage for daily wear, as my skin has calmed and improved significantly! For special events, I will revert back to wearimg my MAC select foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Josie Maran Cosmetics products

More Foundations products