New York Color • Smooch Proof Lip Stain (All) • Lips

rated 3.9(112 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 beautyflower on 1/11/2014 11:38:00 PM more reviews by beautyflower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Ok, so most of NYC's products haven't really worked out for me, but this!!! I picked it up on a sale at Walmart and I do no regret it, I would have bought it full price! This is nice, opaque and full on color! I put it on and later on washed myself and rubbed my face... the color was still there! (not full on but goodly stained!!!) I couldn't ask more for this lipstain, it's better than any others I've tried! 16h ??? Maybe if you don't eat, but if you do, GIRL this will last you a full day!!!!!!!!!!!! Plus, it doesn't bleed and the color doesn't comes off blotchy, it fades nicely as it goes off.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lushblush on 1/1/2014 6:32:00 AM more reviews by lushblush

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! It makes my lips shiny and colourful and it lasts a little while too. It is very pigmented and reminds me of revlon lip butters! I will repurchase! (It smells lush too)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tdhx0 on 12/25/2013 3:23:00 AM more reviews by tdhx0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am absolutely impressed with this lip stain! I'm a sucker for all high end makeup and hold my standards to that. This lip stain I'd pay $30 for. The color pay off is great and last for hours! Also, it doesn't get on my husband when I kiss him! Even HE is impressed by it. Like most stains, it's drying. But nothing severe. It's so light weight, it doesn't feel like you have anything on your lips! I've only tried two colors so I can't say much about them all but the ones I've tried I'm obsessed and will be buying and more

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 caouette on 12/23/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by caouette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I like the color selection, but this stuff doesn't even stay on for 10 minutes, let alone 16 hours, and although it is decently pigmented, it goes on weird, not smooth at all. Definitely wouldn't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Indigo1707 on 12/8/2013 1:42:00 AM more reviews by Indigo1707

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is pretty solid stuff! I find myself consistently buying lip stains, enamored with the concept of color without transfer or a chalky/sticky/otherwise unpleasant feeling, but still experiencing downsides such as bad color payoff or patchy fading, etc. Nevertheless, though, the pattern continued, and I purchased New York Color lip stain in the shade 494 Smooch Proof with the intention of trying it out in a full-lip application and just a center-of-the-lip application for the popsicle-effect (I have posted pictures of both) and I will say that this is a fantastic product. The color payoff is great whilst still being able to build the color, and the marker-like tip is fine enough that you can properly do a precise full-lip application without a problem. The color is a perfect blue-toned, bright pinkish-red on my cool, fair NW10 skin and gives me the Snow White effect I'm looking for. Great price point as well--nice work, New York Color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/2/2013 5:22:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't get over how good these are. Best lip stain I have ever used -cheap or pricey! Most NYC stuff is junky quality - dusty eyeshadows with no colour payoff, eye pencils that rub off 5 seconds after application. . .much of it isn't even worth a second look. But I tried this on my hand at the store one day, walked around, washed hands, did groceries, ate lunch, washed hands, went home, washed hands again and it was STILL there, several hours later and vibrant. How is this even possible?

After that, I went out and ended up buying every colour I could find. I must say not all are great - the nudes don't show up on my lips and the lightest pink was barely noticeable but still good for a more natural look. But the reds, deeper pinks and fuchsia are outstanding. My favourite is Forever Fuschia - and if you are dark-haired or medium/olive yellow-toned or darker skinned this colour will most likely be BEAUTIFUL on you and it is pigmented, bold, bright but still quite natural looking like you ate berries and they stained your lips kind of way. I work in a hospital and also part-time at a club and I don't get many breaks at work. Sometimes I go over 8-10 hours with no break/lunch or even a mirror and I need my make-up to last. That's where these stains come in. Before I'd be using NARS Matte Lip pencils, YSL, etc and no lipstick, gloss or stain ever made it, except this cheap one. I eat, drink and run my mouth all day and it lasts :) The worst that's ever happened was after a popsicle it slightly faded. And even then it wore off evenly, no random patches of colour (which was my worst nightmare due to other lip stains I'd use, and they would fade in odd patches on my lips. .ugh). This is super easy to use: has that marker tip type applicator, swipe this on and let the liquid dry for a few seconds. Done.

I now keep back-ups of my absolute favourite: Forever Fuchsia; and also love Persistent Pink (for a more natural look), SmoochProof (soft red), Forever Freesia (bolder pink), and Forever Mine Wine (deeper burgundy wine). I found that keeping them marker side down so the tip stays moist is the best, otherwise the tip can get slightly dry and it takes longer to apply. Also - they can be a bit drying, not uncomfortably so but annoying nonetheless so I keep lip balm around just in case - I usually use Neutrogena Lip Balm on top which works great.

If you see these I would totally recommend trying at least one shade. I would probably cry if these were ever discontinued and I'd pay double or triple for this if I had to - thankfully these are affordable and I stock up when I find them at stores nearby.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 faith3 on 12/1/2013 1:30:00 PM more reviews by faith3

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the perfect lip stain...and I have tried them all. I first started the quest for the perfect lip stain after the birth of our first child. I quickly realized that my want/need to wear lipstick was in competition with the never ending desire to kiss all over that baby face. Now, 11 years later and 4 babies down, THIS IS MY GO TO LIP STAIN. I can literally whip it on and look put together and presentable instantly. This is what I would think lipstick tattoo would be like (if I had the guts) completely natural...as if it was my own lip color that I can enhance with liner, glosses, other lipsticks on top etc. This is the type of lip that is natural. You can wear this to the dentist, during a facial or in the shower. I always carry a few of my fav glosses with me and apply over lipstain when I'm out and about. I get tons of compliments and can vary the depth of the shade during application. Endless Spice is THE PERFECT COLOR.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bldsgrsxmgk on 11/23/2013 8:51:00 PM more reviews by bldsgrsxmgk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have a ton of lipsticks yet I only use them on rare occassion because I can hardly be bothered to touch up during the day. This is where the lip stain comes in, and from the drugstore I've tried Revlon Just Bitten (original and Kissable), The Balm Staniac, and now these. I decided to buy NYC Smooch Proof after I swatched some on my hand and they were still going strong a full 24H later, after numerous hand-washings and a shower. The particular Smooch Proofs I first swatched were stored upside down, and I must say these dry out if you dont store them this way. On the lips they last a full 8 hours, but only if you apply to dry lips and go in with lip moisturizer afterwards. I am in love with Endless Spice, and plan on trying more shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 number1larissa on 8/3/2013 9:53:00 PM more reviews by number1larissa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love these lip stains! I have tried Benefit's Benetint, TheBalm's Stainiac, Revlon's Just Bitten and Covergirl's stains, all of which failed me for various reasons. This stain marker-pen does not settle into fine lines, offers smooth, even application, plenty of buildable color payoff, and stays on for 5-6 hours, which is plenty of time for me (who expects 15 hours, even if that's what it says? Cosmetics companies are notorious for exaggerating).

I have this stain in 3 shades -

1. Never Ending Nude (492): this is the perfect MLBB color for me. I LOVE it and it's fantastic with a little clear gloss or balm over it. It looks light brown on the swatch NYC provides, but is more of a rosy brown on my lips. Fades to a natural, more pink than brown color.

2. Rock on Ruby (497): this is actually a pretty great blue-based type of red, IMO. I was surprised by how well this looked on me, as I have a hard time with reds: most come off looking hot pink or orange, but this was just the right shade of true brightish crimson-esque red. Fades to a nice pinkish reddish color. The color really deepens with balm or gloss on top.

3. Berry Long Time (498): this is my least favorite of the three. While I still love the formula, this color pulls very purple on my lips and fades to hot pink, and it isn't flattering with my skin tone.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 x0nida0x on 7/27/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by x0nida0x

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

i bought this in Endless Spice and it is just sooo red! too red for me. but it goes on well and does stay and it was pretty cheap so i can't really complain. i use this under revlon body butter to boost the sheer colour. i would repurchase but in a lighter colour for less tint!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Lips products