NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (All)

4.0

258 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Dimethicone, Beeswax, Glyceryl Behenate / Eicosadioate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone / Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Silica, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isohexadecane, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Parfum. May Contain: CI77019 (Mica) / CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI15850 (D&C Red 6 Na. Salt), CI15850 (D&C Red 7 Ca Lake), CI15985:1 (FD&C Yellow 6 Al Lake), CI19140:1 (FD&C Yellow 5 Al Lake), CI45410 (D&C Red 28 Al Lake), CI77491 (Iron Oxide Red), CI77492 (Iron Oxide Yellow), CI77499 (Iron Oxide Black), CI77742 (Manganese Violet), CI77891 (Titanium Dioxide)


on 3/3/2015 2:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This product has cute packaging and it does what I want it to do, I like it. I bought the shade London which is a great nude, actually. In natural light you can see the subtle pink tones, so it looks a bit similar to my lip color but more nude, and in indoor lighting it's this gorgeous taupey nude with no pink tones. Not too pale, so you won't get the 'concealer lips' look. I am going to love wearing this with bold eye looks (love the smoky eye right now).

It goes on creamy and stays wet for maybe 15 mins. After that point it 'dries down' but it never becomes uncomfortable on me. The best part is that once it dries down, it doesn't really transfer. I found that the color stayed put for a good four hours and then some.

So the staying power is great, after 15 mins it's a true matte, and best of all the formula is comfortable. The only complaint I have is that it accentuates dry patches on my lips after awhile. But with this shade, it's not that noticeable. Don't forget to drink water kids, keep those lips hydrated.

Edit: another complaint, after 4ish hours this starts to make my lips a bit powdery and dry. Applying chapstick was essential. But the color is still there..



on 3/1/2015 8:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product very much. I used to hate matte! It is one the best matte liquid lipstick products out there, FRACTION OF THE COST! The quality is wonderful. But like all matte lip products, it's best to exfoliate your lips and use a lip balm before applying. That way it has the best colour pay-off without looking gritty, or dry. The colours are amazing, highly pigmented and don't bleed. The packaging is cute and sleek. The price however, is a little expensive, 10$ CAD. But once I have more money, I will purchase every shade! Would I recommend this to people? YES!


on 2/25/2015 10:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

For $6, this is a great matte formula with tons of color. You can play with lots of colors without racking up a huge bill. I didn't have a tester so I had to guesstimate at my grocery store but it worked out with the colors I tried. This is my new go to splurge when I need something new but don't need to spend on an entire new haul.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Some of the best lip creams I've ever tried. Sao Paulo and Cannes are lovely shades on my skin tone but BEWARE: I highly recommend you find a local Ulta or store you can try out testers! The colors on the NYX website and on the tubes are not dependable. Otherwise, go hog wild with these babies. They have a great color payoff, longevity and don't dry out your lips. Better than a lot of other lippies out there.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Holy Grail matte lip colors!!! I am seriously in love with this product!!!! It is the most amazing matte lipstick I have ever used. I have a ton of different colors and they all feel great. They don't dry my lips out terribly yet they are completely matte. It also doesn't clump up on my lips like a lot of other matte lipsticks. The cream/gloss form makes it easy to apply. Sooooo long wearing and just overall a great product to own.


on 2/18/2015 12:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel


on 2/18/2015 1:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just purchased Copenhagen and Transylvania (surprisingly) the 2 most popular colors. If anyone is looking for them, try online at Ulta. The are definitely mattes and they are beautiful. It doesn't feel like lip gloss or lipstick. It is thee most light weight lip product, you might forget you are wearing it.


on 2/12/2015 10:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

So far, I only have this product in the color Istanbul. (I'm lusting after Transylvania and Copenhagen SO bad). Istanbul appears to be a natural, muted rose color, but since I am extraordinarily pale like a freaky unicorn person, it actually turns almost neon coral on my lips. I'm definitely not complaining though, it's a beautiful color that garners many compliments.

The texture is my absolute favorite thing about this. It's just like velvet! Imagine koala chinchilla angel babies, but even more velvety. It is matte, obviously, yet the creamy texture makes your lips look so soft and kissable. (Also, if you do kiss someone, this won't transfer!) The applicator is lovely and gives you good control. However, you may want to clean up the edges with a q-tip or concealer to get it nice and defined.

It doesn't seem to dry out nor moisturize my lips. I think that attempting to put gloss over this would be a bad idea. I've never tried it myself, but judging from the way the formula feels, glossing it up will most likely make the color get all streaky and uneven. It's called "soft matte lip cream" for a reason, yall! Put down that gloss! It's not meant to be.
Also, I don't recommend applying the cream immediately after applying a balm. Let the balm soak in a little while before applying the cream.

It smells like vanilla cupcakes, not in a juvenile way, but still, it's not a scent for everyone. It goes away in a few minutes, though, so don't let this deter you. I was afraid of the scent factor because my skin does not react well to 99% of scented products, but miraculously I noted no irritation at all.

I've been able to wear this for 3 hours without liner before it started to settle into my lip lines and make me look like a granny. I have a feeling it could wear longer if you can find a liner to match the color.
All in all, this is a great product. One of the best lip products I've found.


on 1/31/2015 12:47:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

BEST PRODUCT EVER!!! i have bought every single color since i discovered them about 3 years ago.. my favorite colors are by far Copenhagen, Abu dhabi, and London! The best non-smuge formula and will stay on through eating, drinking, partying, anything! Can be slightly drying if you apply more than 1 coat but the opaque formula wouldn't need more than one coat anyways! Perfection, A+!!! HG product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2015 7:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought the lip creme in Monte Carlo. it is very creamy, light and stays (mostly) put. There is a small amount of transfer onto straws and such, but that isn't a big deal. The color is a deep red, about 2 shades darker than true red.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top