NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream • Lips

rated 4.0(212 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 9/13/2014 10:46:00 PM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This lip cream really surprised me! When I first applied it, it was weird. I was expecting a liquid consistency but it instantly felt very soft and strangely VERY lightweight. It doesn't even feel like I have any products on my lips. I bought Prague - beautiful magenta plum for fall and hoping to get Cannes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Em422 on 9/12/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by Em422

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I was excited when I bought this because everyone seems to love it. I got the shade Tokyo.
Tokyo is a horrible shade. I thought it was a very nice pink nude but I looked dead when I applied it. I'm not only complaining about the shade. I wasn't impressed by the application. It went everywhere. It was also very liquid like which causes immediate bleed outside my lips. Instead of making my lips look nice, it made them look so bad. The texture is awful. The whole product is awful. I will be bringing this back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BrittAm95 on 9/12/2014 12:04:00 AM more reviews by BrittAm95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am definitely a matte-lip person. All my go to lippies are matte so I figured a nice matte gloss would be perfect for me. I had also seen a tutorial online featuring these Nyx matte glosses in the shade 'Cairo'. I picked one up from Ulta and was very excited to take it home and try it out. It went on very nicely, good smell, amazing texture. I went back and bought four more, and I love them all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 addkg777 on 9/2/2014 2:27:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

these are really pretty lip colors and i love the way they turn into a lipstain after a few hours of wear. but thats just it. they have no staying power and soon they just look like a whisper on your lips. they are kind of cheap. theyre not too moisturizing so id exfoliant my lips beforehand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emibumblebee on 9/2/2014 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Emibumblebee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product in the shade Antwerp (a warm rose colour that leans coral) a good while ago and I find myself regularly reaching for it. While it does feel a tad drying (nothing some good prep won't fix) and it does fade on the inner rim of the lips within a couple of hours, it doesn't transfer whatsoever and it's a true, pigmented matte. The doe foot applicator allows for a really clean line - a definite plus, and something some of my higher-end liquid lip colours don't have. Plus this makes for a FABULOUS long-lasting cream blush. If you don't like it on your lips you could absolutely buy a tube just to use on the cheeks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelyxuglypie on 8/17/2014 2:03:00 PM more reviews by lovelyxuglypie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't go a single day without some kind of lip color.

It says a lot that these little gems have almost completely replaced lipstick for me. They have the intense pigmentation and staying power a lot of lipsticks lack, and they do not possess the slipperiness and tendency to shift around that most lipsticks have. Best of all, they do not dry out your lips. At worst, they get flaky after a while, but you should know that flakiness is not chunks of your lip flaking off; it's just product. Since this is, after all, a matte product, it's gonna get a little dry from time to time. Not in any way a dealbreaker.

As for application, the formula is somewhat mousse-like. It's smooth, and glides on evenly for the most part. You need to let it set for a few minutes, but once it has set, it doesn't shift around. On me, lipstick tends to migrate to the area under my bottom lip, but this product does not. And that is fan-friggin-tastic.

I'd like to note that this is not a product you can layer. If you need to reapply it, you've got to wipe off what's left of the old coat, otherwise it'll apply unevenly and look ghastly. If you want more intense color, you can apply it more heavily without letting it dry between coats. Personally, I prefer to put on one coat and use my finger to pat it in; this helps it stay on longer, eliminates any streakiness, and the finish looks more like a stain.

For fair-medium, neutral-cool ladies like myself, I recommend:
1) Monte Carlo (medium-deep red, but not vampy - I wear it frequently during the day)
2) San Paulo (berry)
3) Amsterdam (true red)
4) Milan (cool-toned medium pink)
5) Ibiza (not sure how to describe this one yet, but it's pretty)

I wasn't a huge fan of Antwerp (bright coral) on myself, but it would be lovely on someone with the right skin tone. I can't attest to the quality of the nude shades, as I look dead in all of them and avoid nudes like the plague.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 8/15/2014 12:40:00 PM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Usually I am a lipstick and gloss fan, but I wanted to try a matte look with these NYX soft matte lip creams. I bought three since they are so cheap (compared to MAC products, which I use almost exclusively) in Antwerp, Istanbul and London. Antwerp and London are good colors on me (although London washes me out a bit) and Istanbul looks a bit too Playboy bunny/porn star for me (too pink). Unfortunately, these matte cremes just don't work for me. They're too drying and flaky, even when I exfoliate my lips. I'm going to try putting on a lip balm first before applying them before I totally give up. They dry out pretty quickly in the tubes though, so make sure you screw the cap on pretty tight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleyl917 on 8/8/2014 1:12:00 PM more reviews by ashleyl917

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm just getting into matte lips, I've always been a gloss girl and I'm not fond of lipstick. I think it looks amazing on other women but I've never liked the look on myself. However, this summer I've found myself being annoyed with nearly every gloss I own and have felt like it's just so hot outside that it's melting off of my lips.

So I figured for around $5 I'd give these a try and I am so glad I did. I generally prefer nudes/pinks but I decided to try the electric pink lip trend and went with Addis Ababa. I LOVED it. My first application was a little terrifying because it is so smooth gliding across your lips, but I wanted to be precise since the color is so electric.

It took probably 10 minutes on my lips to fully set but once it did I did not experience much transfer at all until I ate dinner that night (about 3 hours later). I did notice a little came off here or there on my straw, but when I would check my lips they were still completely covered with product!

I do find that these get a tiny bit drying, but I imagine nearly any matte product would and with a swipe of chapstick I'm totally fine. Overall, I am so glad I tried these and will definitely be heading back for the reds soon.

I'd say if you're new to matte products these seem to be a great place to start.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alliecat333 on 8/3/2014 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Alliecat333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Sometimes I pick up my SMLC's just to take a whiff. Is that weird.
Prague & San Paulo, 2 I have I enjoy these all around. The texture is like you put whipped cream, cake icing, and ice cream in a blender ,blended it to death, then applied the sweet smoothness to your beautiful lips. I have never experienced a formula like this it's quite lovely. The only tiny problem I have is it seems to take about 20 min. To completely dry down. Until then I can't eat or drink because it moves the product around/ off.
Also I usually do two layers to get more intensity. They are mostly opaque but a second layer adds a bit more vibrancy and takes away any streaks.
One they do dry I get very little transfer.
They do tend to feel a little dry on the lips but no where near uncomfortable for me,a matte addict. Putting a balm underneath isn't the best Idea with these. When doing so it makes application harder/ streakier and takes forever and a day to dry. So if I plan to where these the night before I apply balm so the next morning my lips have soaked most of it up.
San Paulo is a bright rosey pink on my pigmented lips.
Prague is a beautiful medium magenta leaning purple, my personal fav.
They smell like heaven, last around 3-4 hrs, little transfer, but take awhile to completely dry. Overall I enjoy these and wouldn't mind having Addis Ababa. Worth the 6 bucks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IheartCHA on 8/3/2014 8:00:00 AM more reviews by IheartCHA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been wanting to try these for the longest, but I wasn't ever really impressed with the original line of colors they came in. Once I found out that some darker colors launched this year, I was alll over it!

I bought this in Copenhagen. In the tube, it's a dark maroon/burgundy color, with some purple undertones. Unlike the butter glosses, what you see is what you get for application! Yay!

This feels like a DREAM. It feels like lip gloss made of velvet. I love that this can be sheered out, if I wanted, or applied full force to get the color from the tube. This applies totally even. It doesn't cake on certain places on my lips either. Usually, I sheer this out for work, and it is a pretty berry/plum color.

The only thing that could be better is staying power. Don't get me wrong, It's pretty decent, but, it would be nice if these lasted a couple of hours. Maybe this because I wear it less opaque.When it does fade, it does evenly, and sometimes leave a hint of color. The stain usually doesn't last too long.

Overall, I LOVE these! I already have two more colors on the way!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products