Physicians Formula Happy Booster Glow & Mood Boosting Blush in Natural

4.2

130 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

TALC. ZEA MAYS (CORN) STARCH. DIMETHICONE. OCTYLDODECYL STEAROYL STEARATE. ZINC STEARATE. PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAISOSTEARATE. ASTROCARYUM MURUMURU SEED BUTTER. HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED OIL. LECITHIN. PHYTOSTERYL CANOLATE. PLUKENETIA VOLUBILIS SEED OIL. RHODIOLA ROSEA ROOT EXTRACT. ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF EXTRACT. THEOBROMA GRANDIFLORUM SEED BUTTER. SCHINUS TEREBINTHIFOLIUS SEED EXTRACT. PALM ALCOHOL. PHENOXYETHANOL. POTASSIUM SORBATE. FRAGRANCE. MAY CONTAIN: CARMINE. IRON OXIDES. MANGANESE VIOLET. MICA. RED 6. RED 7 LAKE. RED 28 LAKE. RED 30 LAKE. TITANIUM DIOXIDE. ULTRAMARINES. YELLOW 5 LAKE.


on 3/9/2014 12:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got this originally as a blush but it's much too shimmery as a blush, so I use it as a great highlighter. It has a nice pink tone to it and works well with my cool-toned skin. I have also used this as an eye shadow and it looks very natural.

When I use it as it is intended it comes off as very shimmery and just too light. The packaging is a bit bulky as with all PF packaging but is very cute with hearts. The colors are a mosaic pattern in hearts all around the pan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/5/2014 2:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have a love/hate relationship with this "blush". I put that in quotation marks, because I find this isn't as much of a blush as it is a contouring powder. At least on my skin. I've never been able to build this up enough on my cheek to actually have it qualify as a blush in my humble opinion, and I have fair skin!

Physician's Formula has always come across to me as one of the most over hyped brands in the drugstore. It's all packaging. PF does a bang-up job on their packaging. It sucks you right in and won't let you go until you have spent $12 on a drugstore caliber blush.

Most of the PF products claim to have some sort of smart reflective technology where there are billions of light refracting pigments in the product that allegedly compliments any skin tone (okay, I'm being moderately sarcastic about the billions of light refracting pigments part, but the rest is totally accurate). I have yet to see this actually demonstrated in a PF product, and this Happy Booster blush is no exception. Let me break down the issues I have with this product.

Overall Rating gets three lippies. Why? Because even if on me it's useless as a blush it makes for a very nice contouring shade to create a dewy look. Other MUA members have described it as having an offensive odor. I bought mine two months ago, so I don't know if that is an older formula and they've changed it recently, but mine has no odor to it at all, so that's a plus.

Price gets three lippies, because it's really way overpriced for what you're getting. It retails for $11.99+. I think I paid $12.99 for it at Rite-Aid.

Packaging gets two lippies, because mine broke. It seems like a nice, hefty compact, but it's really not. I am very careful with my cosmetics. They are stored away in a vanity drawer. This product doesn't get used every time I wear makeup and I never take it with me in my purse, and yet the catch on the lid broke within the first month after buying it, which stinks. So now I have to be careful not to let it fall upside down in my vanity drawer, otherwise it makes a mess, because the lid just flies open. The pan is loose and freely spins every time I try and swirl my brush in the product. So that's a huge hassle. Then there is the giant mirrored compartment in the bottom with the useless brush. Physician's Formula is really good about including cute, albeit entirely impractical, pointless brushes in their products. But, you know, hearts and pink shiny compact! Those alone give this the two lippies rating, otherwise packaging would be a festival of fail with this product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2014 3:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This really does give you a healthy glow, and its so cheap that its worth the price! Only problem is the terrible bulky packaging but besides this, it has an absolutely gorgeous sheer pink natural colour every girl wants and needs in their make up collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This was my first Physicians Formula purchase, and I really was wanting a better blush than what I got. While the packaging was adorable and the product itself looked beautiful, it was far too pigmented and dark colored for my skin. I used it a few times, but each time after I applied it I had to wipe it off because it looked too dark on my paler skin. I feel that with someone a little tanner or with a darker complexion it would be a beautiful blush, but it looked almost clownish with just the lightest bit on my cheeks.

*EDIT*

I ACTUALLY LIKE IT! I wrote this review before I learned how to actually apply blush correctly. When used with a light hand, it looks lovely, even on my pasty white cheeks.


on 12/29/2013 11:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's not highly pigmented and it is very chunky for the amount of product that comes with it. I like the fact that it has a mirror but the brush is absolutely useless.


on 12/17/2013 4:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hmmm i like this product for about two weeks then I'll throw it back in the bin. Really pinky. Packaging is adorable. I don't know what ends up turning me off. I guess I'll give another try. I honestly forgot I had this product till I was scrolling the blush section.


on 12/14/2013 10:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This has become my go-to all-year blush and the one I take when travelling because it goes with everything. I usually like a "cooler" tone, but this is very natural, as the name implies, and it works well when I don't have time to think about my look.

With this shade, I actually like that they haven't blended the shades but have all the little hearts different tones. If I want a rosier cheek, I can pick up a bit of the darker pink heart and focus it on the apples. If I want an almost bronzed/contoured look, I can load up my brush and focus on my cheekbones. A natural flush is easy to achieve with a quick whisk all over cheeks. So, for this shade, I find the gimmicky look of the product actually quite functional and versatile!

The brush that comes with it is softer than some of PF's other products; it's ALMOST usable. Not for everyday, but I have been known to throw this blush in my bag & add a bit more for an evening look, using the provided dreadful brush. With all of my other PF products, I wouldn't even consider trying to do this, because the brushes are so bad. So, normally I'd take a lippie off for bad packaging, but I guess PF has lowered their own bar a bit on this one. ;)

I use this so much that I expect I will actually finish it and repurchase. It's too handy not to have around.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2013 10:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This blush is so cute! The hears are adorable. I would buy this again, but I think it's a little too expensive for the drugstore. You do get a ton of product, almost double a Nars blush, so that's something to take into consideration. On the other hand, who has honestly ever finished a blush?

The packaging is hot pink in a bulky compact that flips up to reveal a mirror and a useless brush. Use your own brush.

The pigmentation isn't great, and it starts looking kind of unnatural and fake if you build it up too much. A light hand gives me a pretty flush, though. Lasts throughout the school day, so from 8-6 for me. It does fade, but that's to be expected.


on 11/9/2013 11:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a versatile little product! I like the packaging and it makes me smile (silly, I know). I use this for lots of different applications. There is a slight shimmer, but not too much, even for a conservative makeup gal like me. I don't use the brush that came with this at all...

I use the lightest shade with a small brush to highlight under my brows. I have even used the golden tone in this for eye shadow, this compact is very nice for traveling--a lot of uses for one product. This is what I have been using lately for blush, instead of my Clinique ones, for some reason, I always grab this. I just swirl my blush brush over the pink/golden tones--avoiding the lighter, more sparkly colors.

Will probably repurchase, when this is used up, since it is multi-purpose for me.


on 10/6/2013 5:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really feel this blush is slightly overhyped. I own 5 light pink blushes and this is my least favorite one. This blush comes also in a very bulky packaging, but it contains 7g of product which is as much as most benefit boxed powder. So if you like it you do get a lot of product.

The color is very pretty and shimmery and it gives a very nice color. The nude heart in it makes it very flattering for fair skin. My problem is that I find the texture very hard. Like the previous reviewer I need a very dense brush to apply it like a small kabuki. I also which this wouldn't be scented, especially for a brand that claims to be "doctor approved" products.

The bottom line is, very pretty color, needs to be build up, decent staying power and good blendability. If you are afraid of bright pigmented blushes you will like this one.

I do not regret my purchase, but I don't think this is an absolute must have in the light pink range.


Popular Blush Products


Orgasm Blush
5124 Reviews
Contour Kit
90 Reviews
Benetint
2029 Reviews
Back to Top