Rimmel • Moisture Renew Lipgloss • Lip Gloss

rated 3.1(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MissStarKid on 6/6/2012 11:06:00 PM more reviews by MissStarKid

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I got this as a birthday present to add with all of my other lip glosses. Now in an unfortunate makeup accident, this and only some clear ones were left. I placed it on before I left and was thrilled with how it turned out.
The gloss is very creamy, not sticky at all, and is such a lovely color (I have Pink Benefit). It stayed on for about two hours and only took a light re-application to help it to return to its vibrant, yet subtle sheen. And that pink! It worked so well on my lips! I can't smell the sunscreen, mainly because I place such a light coat on. The fact that it has SPF 15, makes me smile! I burn so easily, so this is an oasis for my lips. It does moisturize, making my lips feel incredibly soft. It worked better than my tinted Baby Lips.
I honestly had to write this review because the bad reviews do not describe this lipgloss. Yes, the applicator is different, it's ment to be placed on with a light hand. This gloss is now my go to, and I will definatley buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blahblah16 on 4/8/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by blahblah16

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this lip gloss! I think it's true to it's claim that it's moisture renewing. If your lips are a tad dry (not chapped, you use carmex and serious balms for that) then this is perfect. I'm extremely pale and have it in shade Rose Cocoon. It's so creamy and got a shimmer to it. It's a great lipgloss for summer. The staying power obviously isn't that good, I'd say 20 ish minutes. But it doesn't claim to be a long-wearing lipcolor, a lot of high end lip glosses last the same amount of time! Plus they're not even as moisturizing usually. I love high end makeup and am a sephora junkie but I think drugstore lip gloss is just as good as high end, it slides off your lips in the same amount of time anyways. I have packaging a 4 because it feels a bit too cheap and too plastic-ey for even being drugstore, but it's really not an issue if you're looking for a good, cheap lipgloss!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinksmoothielover98 on 2/21/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by pinksmoothielover98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This product is okay. I mean I got this in Pink Benefit. It's not the best color on me but decent. The fine glitter is kinda gritty so that's a minus. Didn't see much of the moisture renew going on so yeah. Didn't stay on very long, probably 20-25 minutes. Don't believe I will be repurchasing.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 1/28/2012 2:46:00 PM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Moisture Renew Lipgloss in 365 Pink Spa. Honestly, I don't know how I feel about this lip gloss. It's not terrible & it's nothing "wow." The pink colour is cute... in the tube. When you put it in, it's not nearly as pigmented as it appears in the packaging. It's hardly noticeable, seriously. The only way you can tell you've got something on it because there's shimmer/glitter. It's definitely not true to colour & because of that, I don't recommend wearing it alone. It would work well over lipstick & that's the only way I'd suggest wearing it. I like that this lip gloss is creamy though. The applicator is kind of weird, but it's not hard to use - I don't see any reason to complain about it. I think it picks up product fine! The only real cons I have to this are the fact that it smells weird & that it doesn't last long. This lip gloss has a kind of sunscreen scent to it; I don't like it. I'll finish this tube, but I definitely wouldn't waste my time or money buying another.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ShannonRose on 1/20/2012 6:37:00 PM more reviews by ShannonRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

One of my biggest make-up pet peeves is colorless lip gloss masquerading as actual colors. This lipgloss is ridiculous. Why do they even give them names with colors in the description? It is almost totally devoid of pigment. What is the point? The flimsy, awkward applicator barely picks up any product. It was almost as if the brand new tube was almost empty when I bought it. It felt tacky on my lips. It did nothing to make my lips more attractive. What a waste of money ( couldn't return it because the bar code was missing ). FAIL.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannluvsb on 10/27/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by hannluvsb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This lip gloss was one of the weirdest textured ones I ever bought. It has a pleasant sunscreen scent, has a nice shimmery color (in Pink Benefit) and does leave lips feeling moisturized after you remove it. However, the silicone in it gives it a weird consistency, so I melted down some Burt's Bees & added it to it & that fixed it. I really like the packaging, and the applicator, even though it has mixed reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jaylee74 on 10/26/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by jaylee74

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I don't know what the other reviewers are complaining about because everything they complained about it what i love about this product. I love that it's not sticky. I love that it's moisturizing; it's probably more moisturizing than my lip balms, and that's saying something. The wand is super bendy so I can paint on every little part of my lip. It doesn't have to much product on the doe shaped wand so I can get as little or as much as I want. Granted I'm not a lip gloss fan, but if I would think of a perfect lip gloss this would be the one. I mean, it has spf of 15! I know its not much, but comparing other lip glosses in spf this beats them all. I can't think anything bad about this lipgloss!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 10/11/2011 6:47:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Normally I love Rimmel products. I LOVE their blushes and lipsticks, so I thought I'd give their lip glosses a go since their lip products are so good to me.

I should have read the reviews here first before purchasing. I will not be buying Rimmel's Moisture Renew lip glosses again.

It's not sticky and I like the color (I bought Pink Benefit and Purple Rescue) but the application is so annoying and difficult to master. The wand is super bendy and the doe foot applicator does not apply product evenly so you get a thin layer of color on the lips and then a thick line of lip gloss right around the edges. I have to rub the color in with my finger to get the application done right. I'm not sure if it's the packaging or the product itself, but either way, I have never had a lip gloss that was so fussy to apply.

Like I said, both of the colors themselves are good. Pink Benefit is a light shimmery pink, and the Purple Rescue is a purple berry. They look nice, and a lot more sheer than the color you see in the bottle, so don't be afraid of the bold shades. They feel moisturizing, and the smell doesn't bother me.

The finished look is good, but for all the hassle you have to go through to apply it right, only to have it not last very long? It's definitely not worth it. Find a better lip gloss that does what you expect it to do. This is not worth your money.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 veganbonnie on 9/22/2011 3:01:00 PM more reviews by veganbonnie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful colour in AWFUL packaging. The wand is so thin, cheap and bendable that it doesn't deliver sufficient product to your lips. It is a very thin, useless wand. I'm disappointed I bought this product and if you love your lipgloss and like to apply it liberally without hassle, this product will let you down like it did me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AriSatomi on 9/16/2011 11:04:00 AM more reviews by AriSatomi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

UPDATE 10-12-2011: I overestimated these glosses. I normally don't wear glosses everyday, but I find that I never even reach for these when I want gloss. The reason why I don't wear them daily is because they are very watery. What that means is that it bleeds a bit outside of my lipline, and that is just enough to look really weird, as if I was drooling. The hydration it provides is good, but I just can't stand the big wand that takes out way too much product, which results in the drooling look. I think the packaging needs a bit of help, I like smaller brushes, like the ones on the Revlon SL glosses. (Those ones are way too gloopy, unfortunately). Overall I will not repurchase, and my rating has been lowered from 5 to 3.

Original post: I absolutely find these lipglosses amazing! I've got the Purple Rescue, SOS Red and the Fuschia Therapy one. The strong color in the tube shouldn't scare you off, since it comes out sheer on my semi-pigmented lips. I love the SOS Red one as it has a warm tone to it and it wakes up my face so nicely! The main reason why I bought these is because I saw that they had Hyaluronic Acid in them, which is amazing at hydrating the skin. It also has got vitamines A, C, and E as well as a stable sunscreen. These do feel very moisturizing on my lips and are cheaper than the Revlon Colorbust ones, which have similar properties to Rimmel's Moisture Renew. Even though the package might seems tacky to others, I find it rather eye-catching, which always makes me want to apply more gloss!! :) The applicator of this gloss definitely looks more like the NYX Diamond Sparkle glosses, as another reviewer has stated below. Overall, I love these and will keep repurchasing them!
Update: I've now gone back to the store to get more of this amazing gloss! I bought the shades Pink Perfect (salmon peachy pink) and Pink Benefit (cool tone baby pink)! Love them!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Lip Gloss products