NYX • Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils- All • Eyes

rated 3.5(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 girlraven on 12/1/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Um these feel too cheap to use, I prefer using maybelline eye colour tattoos than these there longer lasting and easier to use I think. Didn't care much for these at all

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 d61rlz on 11/11/2012 6:01:00 AM more reviews by d61rlz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Good variety of colors and it's nice to have as a collection.. However, these do crease so badly. Eventhough you apply UDPP underneath. The packaging isn't that great because it's a pencil type and need to be sharpened.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pelini on 10/1/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by pelini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great cream eyeshadow -- goes on very smoothly, is very pigmented, and very blendable. The problem with it is about sharpening. It is annoying that it is too big for all but the NYX sharpener which I don't have yet. Even with the sharpener, I have misgivings about how it would actually sharpen because it is made of plastic. A lot of people recommend depotting it, but I like the control you get from the pencil element.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 9/5/2012 11:54:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've owned three different Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils and they all crease on me. Even with a base! I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geek2chic on 9/3/2012 4:16:00 PM more reviews by geek2chic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

After seeing many reviews and tutorials on YouTube I went to my local beauty supply and found them. The ones I actually bought are Milk (white) and French Fries (dark brown). Since I have oily lids and my makeup never lasted as long as I wanted it to I decided to use Milk as an eye shadow primer. It works like magic! My makeup lasts all day and night if I need it to and the colors are so much more vibrant. As for French Fries I use it when I do a neutral eye or as everyday eyeliner. I can't wait to go back and get some more! :) x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 narkiz on 9/3/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have about 10 of these. When you compare the amount of product you get and the price and the quality, they are pretty good. I have dry lids and they never crease if I put e/s over them. My only complaint is their color range is more on the warmer side. My favorite color is purple which is a cool purple color. I put Mac shale or quarry over it for an easy smokey eye look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rebsays on 9/3/2012 1:01:00 PM more reviews by rebsays

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use these pencils as eye liners only, so I can't comment on how long they last as eyeshadows or eyeshadow bases. The colour comes off easily on an eye liner brush, which I then use to line my eyes. They last quite well as eyeliners and there is enough product in one stick that I won't need to repurchase again for a while.
I would recommend these as eyeliners, but not as all over lid colours since they do seem too creamy to last all over.
I dont really like the packaging, but over-all its ok.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellbing on 5/13/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by angellbing

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I wished these didn't crease so badly on me, because they make great bases for shadows. However, even over a primer and topped with a powder shadow, these are horrible on my lids. Granted, I do have oily skin, but typically, Urban Decay Primer Potion prevents creasing until the very end of my work day, even if I also use a MAC Paint Pot, Benefit cream shadow, and a few other cream bases. However, it doesn't keep the NYX pencils from becoming an oily looking mess after only a few hours. I ended up giving most of my pencils away and will probably be doing the same with the few colors I have remaining. They do have a wide variety of great colors, though, and they look great when I first apply them; they really bring out a pop of color from shadows I use over them, especially those with less pigmentation. If you have dry or normal lids, maybe these will work better for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 4/23/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils are a "radiant eyeliner that doubles as an eyeshadow".These chubby pencils are some of NYX's most popular and talked about products. These shadow pencils are available in 32 shades, a "rainbow of vivid hues" according to NYX. These shadow/liners were made in Taiwan and are cruelty free and hypoallergenic. Each pencil retails for $4.50 or so, depending on where you buy. I purchased the three Jumbo Pencils I have at Ulta, but NYX can also be found at a variety of etailers, as well as select drugstores.
NYX says these pencils are "sealed in a recyclable, eco-friendly case". By that, they mean a white, plastic, pencil-like tube with a clear plastic cap. Me and these plastic caps do not get along. They're made of a very flimsy, soft plastic that cracks a little more each time you put it back on the pencil. Because of these cracks, the caps have a hard time staying on, putting your pencils at risk for drying out.
Despite these pencils being plastic, they are not automatic, you still need to sharpen them. Any double barreled sharpener will work, but both NYX and I recommend their pencil sharper. These pencil are pretty messy to sharpen. Many people favor depotting their jumbo pencils, there are multiple tutorials for doing so on YouTube.
NYX says the formula of their jumbo pencils are a blend of mineral oil and powder, but I don't see "mineral oil" listed in the ingredients. Lolwat? The first few ingredients are beeswax, and a few other waxes. Even though they're wax based, these pencils don't have a waxy texture at all. They're pretty creamy, without being overly soft. They don't melt or break when used.
Jumbo pencils apply smoothly to the eyelid in even strokes, but can skip a bit if your eyelid isn't taut. I suggest adding just a little bit of gentle resistance in the outer corner, without tugging on the skin.
Though NYX classifies them as eyeliner, I don't recommend using them as such, unless you're seeking a very thick line, or want to create a smudgey look. While I'm pretty sure Jumbo pencils are waterline safe, you shouldn't bother, they disappear after a few blinks.
As an eyeshadow, NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils aren't so hot. They never quite set, and crease within 20 minutes, and are gone within two hours, even with a primer. What most people use these pencils for is as a colored eyeshadow base. While they have a great texture to be used as a base, and they really do help intensify the color of any shadow placed over them, they still crease and smudge after 5 or 6 hours. If you need a bright look to last for only a little while, like for a photoshoot, or a quick trip out, these are great, but don't expect to look fantastic at the end of the day.
I will admit, it's not complete the product's fault that I'm not a big fan. I didn't exactly choose the most practical colors. I have three Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils; Black Bean, a satiny black, Rocky Mountain Green, a bright emerald green, and Purple, a frosty blue purple. Do you reach for a frosty, blurple cream shadow every day? Me neither. Perhaps if I bought a more practical shade, like Milk or Cottage Cheese I'd use these more, but the bright, pretty colors drew me in.
NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils are another one of those products that YouTube gururs and makeup fanatics seem to adore, and I can't get into. These are really a "meh" product for me. I don't regret buying them, as I do get some use from them, but I won't purchase any more shades. I don't get enough use to justify having a bunch of them, nor do they wear well enough for me. I recommend these if you're looking to play around with colorful eyeshadow bases or cream shadows, because they're good for the price. They might even work out well for you if you have dry lids. These pencils are an ok product, but personally, they're a skip in my book.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 obsessedbeautyblogger on 2/24/2012 5:24:00 PM more reviews by obsessedbeautyblogger

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love these pencils! They are super soft and creamy and they glide on like no tomorrow. They are gorgeously pigmented, but I do have one issue with them. If you do not have a shadow over the top they don't stay on your eyes all that well. 
These are a fabulous base for shadows, and can give shadows that extra umph they sometimes need. 

I have two shades, rust and french fries. I brought them without switching them or really looking at swatches online so I just went on the crappy swatches they had on the shopping site. They were not all that true to colour so I have to say I don't like the colour rust. It's far t red for my liking, in the swatch I saw it was a nice slag lightly red brown, but it is far to red for my liking. I'm as pale as a shots and cannot pull of that colour on my lids at all. 

I do however LOVE the shade French fries. It's a beautiful golden brown that goes great under any brown eyeshadow. I just wish I could use it without a shadow over the top because the colour is that's nice.   

Both shades are metallic, as are most of the jumbo pencils and they can be used as a shadow base or as a liner, smudged along the lash line.  Another great thing about these is the price, they are reasonably cheap for the quality you get and they are bigger and cheaper than MAC shade sticks. I can't make a true compassion between the two because I've never used a mac shade stick but for the price being so much cheaper, I don't think I will. 

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eyes products