NYX • Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils- All • Eyes

rated 3.4(43 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 arclightlux on 3/30/2013 12:53:00 AM more reviews by arclightlux

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like the matte shades and a couple of the sparkle ones. The ones with glitter are way too glittery for my taste and it doesn't help that the glitter particles are on the larger side.I They are very creamy and blend easily, but they don't set so you can't wear them on their own. I recommend the matte shades and for the sparkly ones, Pots&Pans and Ice Mocha. Pots&Pans and Ice Mocha also have glitter (which I hate) but it's not as obvious as in the blue and green shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 3/25/2013 7:12:00 AM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

These are not easily available in the UK (you can order them online but I prefer actually seeing and feeling products before buying them) so when I was on holiday in Holland and saw them in a shop, I bought about 7 of them at once! WHAT A MISTAKE.
The colours are absolutely beautiful but on my hooded oily lids these crease like mad!
How I tried using them:
1. As an allover cream eyeshadow, on top of a primer like UDPP, Too Faced primer, ELF mineral primer, even face primers like Smashbox or Clarins flash balm. With no powder eyeshadow on top, these crease within TWO HOURS!!
2. As above but with a powder eyeshadow on top, staying power improves by an hour or two.
3. As a regular eyeliner - again a bit better staying power but still creases within 3-4 hours. With a powder eyeshadow on top, lasts maybe 5 hours.
4. As eyeliners for te waterline or inner corner highlighters (the appropriate shades), staying power is acceptable and I can use them fine for work or a casual occasion.
OVERALL, I bought these to use on their own all over my lids, because the colours are so beautiful, and as such they are very disappointing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 planetree on 1/13/2013 10:41:00 PM more reviews by planetree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Lime and like it so far. Normally, I stay away from green eye shadows since they usually just look unnatural, but the lime is more of a cool gold shade, which is nice. Goes on smoothly & can be blended with your finger. Worth buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 12/1/2012 1:14:00 PM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have these in three shades - Milk, Cottage cheese and Yogurt.
Milk is wonderful to brighten the inner corner of the eye, I often apply it to the whole lid and then put on black eyeliner because it makes it stand out more.
Cottage cheese is a pearly white and I often use it alone, without any other eye product except for mascara to highlight the inner eye corner. But because it is shimmery it is more obvious than Milk so I apply it more sparsely.
Yogurt is the shade I use least and the reason I don't buy any of the bright, colored jumbo pencils, I just can't find a good use for it and I don't like to layer eyeshadow over cream products. Not because of the staying power or creasing (I don't have oily lids so products rarely crease on me) but because I prefer to use a real primer. I sometimes use it to line my lower lashline but I am not sure I would buy again. I am guessing it would be a good replacement for Cottage cheese for ladies with more tan skin, I am NW15 and Cottage cheese looks pretty natural on me but might look too sharp on darker skin (especially if you are going for a natural look) so Yogurt might be the better choice.
People are probably disappointed in these because they are similar to a lot of other Jumbo eye pencils out there but most, even if they are just as good (the L.A. Colors ones), don't have such a wide selection so I'm guessing that's why people love them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 girlraven on 12/1/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Um these feel too cheap to use, I prefer using maybelline eye colour tattoos than these there longer lasting and easier to use I think. Didn't care much for these at all

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 d61rlz on 11/11/2012 6:01:00 AM more reviews by d61rlz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Good variety of colors and it's nice to have as a collection.. However, these do crease so badly. Eventhough you apply UDPP underneath. The packaging isn't that great because it's a pencil type and need to be sharpened.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pelini on 10/1/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by pelini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great cream eyeshadow -- goes on very smoothly, is very pigmented, and very blendable. The problem with it is about sharpening. It is annoying that it is too big for all but the NYX sharpener which I don't have yet. Even with the sharpener, I have misgivings about how it would actually sharpen because it is made of plastic. A lot of people recommend depotting it, but I like the control you get from the pencil element.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 clarissa90 on 9/5/2012 11:54:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've owned three different Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencils and they all crease on me. Even with a base! I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geek2chic on 9/3/2012 4:16:00 PM more reviews by geek2chic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

After seeing many reviews and tutorials on YouTube I went to my local beauty supply and found them. The ones I actually bought are Milk (white) and French Fries (dark brown). Since I have oily lids and my makeup never lasted as long as I wanted it to I decided to use Milk as an eye shadow primer. It works like magic! My makeup lasts all day and night if I need it to and the colors are so much more vibrant. As for French Fries I use it when I do a neutral eye or as everyday eyeliner. I can't wait to go back and get some more! :) x

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* narkiz on 9/3/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have about 10 of these. When you compare the amount of product you get and the price and the quality, they are pretty good. I have dry lids and they never crease if I put e/s over them. My only complaint is their color range is more on the warmer side. My favorite color is purple which is a cool purple color. I put Mac shale or quarry over it for an easy smokey eye look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eyes products