Tom Ford • Black Orchid EDP • Fragrances

rated 4.0(82 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 beautycalls09 on 11/5/2013 4:47:00 PM more reviews by beautycalls09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is quite an intimidating fragrance for a woman. It is not girly or romantic or delicate at all--to me it smells very masculine, which is perhaps why I imagine a woman who pulls off this fragrance to be a CEO or someone in a position of power, someone strong, logical, no-nonsense. I didn't give it a 5 because I suppose a woman who wanted to smell that way could wear any men's cologne, not necessarily Black Orchid: the fragrance itself is not what I am attracted to, but what it evokes, being a woman's perfume.

I got a little sample at Sephora, and while I doubt I'll ever actually wear it (sadly, I do not think I could pull it off) I love pulling it out every now and then just to appreciate the fact that a perfume can evoke such a strong image for me. Like a work of art.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 8/14/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love. Dark, full bodied, not for those who taste scent. That said, to successfully wear this, IMO, you must have history, a resume that includes having had your heart broken, broken the heart(s) of others, know/experience/master at least 25 Kundalini procuring sex positions, have done significant world travel and be over the age of 40. Yes. This is the scent of a woman, not a girl, not a dilettante of life, not someone who is indecisive or glib. If you can't fill the position, don't bother to apply. For that so many really dislike this scent. Black Orchid is the woman in the room all the men stare at, mentally undress and fantasize about. Of the few who approach she instantly can recognize who is authentic and who is just sniffing by. She is feared and loathed by insecure women and particularly by women who are unaware they are insecure (but they must denigrate her), eventhough she would likely be the best friend they'd ever have but they will never know. I am Black Orchid. You may eventually be as well.

15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 7/21/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a Fall/Winter girl -- I love thunderstorms, rain -- I love dark ominous clouds & dark eerie weather where you feel alone & private. Tom Ford Black Orchid EDP and its EDT version, Voile de Fleur, are great noir scents for such noir weather. Their 2 bottles are identical except for label colors (EDP has gold plate, EDT plain black), so it's easy to get the bottles mixed up.

Voile is more floral and more polite -- it's lacking a strong resiny basenote that Black Orchid has, and I find Voile a bit easier to wear. However I own, love, and wear both. They're the same basic scent -- Black Orchid (EDP) is deeper/richer than Voile (EDT), which is more floral.

Notes for Black Orchid from Fragrantica.com: "An oriental chypre. The top notes are French jasmine, black truffle, ylang-ylang, black currant and effervescent citrus. In the floral-spicy heart, dwells the Tom Ford's black orchid, imaginary more than real, and the base combines woodsy notes (patchouli and sandalwood), dark chocolate, incense, amber, vetiver, vanilla and balsam." How good do those basenotes sound, right? Luscious!

It's currently hot, humid, sunny mid-July, yet I needed comfort *now* (due to stress at work), so I've pulled out and am wearing my Voile de Fleur today (Sunday). And it's doing its magic. Ahh, comfort. Summer scents are too bright and outgoing -- sometimes I need an introverted dark comfort scent, summer or no summer. Voile de Fleur is a dark soothing one, to me.

I think I find Voile de Fleur so comforting because it takes me way back -- but to what, I'm not sure. Styx by Coty (which I *loved*)?, or My Sin perhaps? KL by Lagerfeld? Drama by Stagelight Cosmetics?

But I think it really takes me back to an unidentified gorgeous dark-colored perfume oil that I used to wear in my college days. Voile smells VERY de-ja vu to me. I went to college in the early 70's, head shops were all over campus, Hair was on Broadway, and there were lots of perfume oils -- and I wore them. Voile de Fleur takes me back to my college days, but I'm not sure why -- I can almost hear my old college record albums (esp. Seals & Crofts) playing when I wear it.

(Side Note: I have read that Michael Jackson wore Black Orchid EDP.)

For me, Black Orchid EDP and Voile de Fleur EDT are personal comfort scents that are strong & lasting, have great sillage -- but I don't think either is good for the office. The trouble with both of them is they're *very* strong! I reserve them for home & open uncrowded spaces -- and I apply in very small amounts, just for me.

Both Black Orchid EDP and Voile de Fleur EDT (basically the same scent in darker & lighter versions) are elegant, rich, deep, complex, exotic, beautiful *beautiful* scents!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a love/hate relationship with this fragrance. At times it smells like Avons Imari Seduction with a dark dirty almost earthy note (might be the truffle) other times I get an almost fly spray quality from it. Other times I get a hint of some sort of melon (like the old New West) overlayed with vanilla and something that reminds me of brown paper - this is the time I do like it. Other times it makes me feel ill as it smells sweaty and cloying. Strangely enough others love it on me. Good but I would say this is rather over-hyped.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PSS07 on 6/17/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by PSS07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love, love, love this perfume its dark, mysterious but if I'm honest its more masculine... any man wearing this gets me vote :) amazing staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laurensaskia on 6/11/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by laurensaskia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an amazing fragrance. Love it's unique smell. Smells very rich and luxurious. It is quite a strong fragrance which I also like as it lasts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/7/2013 2:40:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Delicious, lush orchid. Amazing and gorgeous. I don't get most of the other notes, just a lush tropical flower that dries fairly true, until the very end, when the combination of notes can be detected as faint vanilla woods. Quite nice. My husband thought it was very perfume-y and didn't like it as much as I did, but tropical florals are very iffy on me, and this one I appreciate greatly for being lovely without indole and not smelling like synthetic jasmine/gardenia/punch-in-the-face tuberose. (still looking for a tuberose that smells on me like it does on the plant.)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Graciewebb on 5/28/2013 8:06:00 PM more reviews by Graciewebb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this! At first the sent made me feel sick because its so strong but now I absolutely love it. Compliments wherever I go... Pricey but unique and worth it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ClaireV on 4/8/2013 7:45:00 PM more reviews by ClaireV

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS PERFUME. My fave. Hate it when I'm getting low as its pricey but it's gorgeous..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 giri on 3/21/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by giri

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I am using this product for last 4 years. Its my favorite fragrance, but not for every day. The first think to say about this product - of course the smell. Its amayzing, something very unique. Second - it could worn really really long time. And hour after hour the parfume will open more and more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products