Tom Ford • Black Orchid EDP • Fragrances

rated 4.0(87 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Swimblock on 1/7/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by Swimblock

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The first time I sampled this I thought it was gorgeous so I sampled it again to make sure I wanted to purchase it but the 2nd time, after about 7 hours it developed a scent that I did not like at all. I've learned in the past that scents change on me so I always sample several times before purchasing. In this case, I will stick with the scents I love: Shalimar Ode de Vanilla, Samsara, Prada Infusion d Iris EDT, Hanae Mori Butterfly EDP, Chantecaille Kalimantan and Chanel No 5 Eau Premiere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfumista1 on 12/5/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by perfumista1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

If you like Thierry Mugler's Angel or Black Cashmere, you will probably like Black Orchid. There's plenty of dark chocolate, incense and patchouli in it. It's complex, and the notes keep coming out over the course of several hours. This isn't something I'd wear to work because the sillage lingers all day, through the night and into next morning. It took me a day to get used to it, because I usually buy mature lady fragrances and this one is unisex. I thought it was too masculine at first, but by drydown I appreciated it's artsy composition and bold statement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 12/5/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Black Orchid is a standout fragrance in my collection, by far the boldest of them all. To me, Black Orchid is a true masterpiece which is definitely not for the faint at heart. This is not meek or timid or understated, but a somewhat in-your-face heady fragrance. That said, it is always elegant in my opinion. Others have described the notes very well, let me just add that it is the about the only rose fragrance I have found to date that won't turn sour on my skin. What makes Black Orchid so appealing to me is the mixture of fruit and patchouli. This creation is blended so well that it borders on magic. Since its inception in 2006 I have used it on and off but this winter I have really started to wear it on an almost daily basis. The bottle is also a true piece of art. It is an art deco inspired black glass flacon with ridges and a polished gold label, it feels expensive and stylish. It is also practical because the black glass protects its precious contents. An all around winner, $155 for 3.4 oz/100ml spray. Note: Years ago, there was a Black Orchid Finishing Dry Oil which was a fantastic body oil to layer with the fragrance or to use on its own. Unfortunately it has been discontinued, but I am still hoping for it to return someday - see separate review if interested.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 11/29/2013 2:40:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I rarely give a 5 star review that ticks all the boxes, but this is impressive. This is a very womanly perfume. Bold, powerful, and full bodied sensuality right from the start. When I think of the woman who likes this perfume... She's ageless, a bit mysterious, very feminine, likes lingerie, and isn't afraid to express her wants and needs in life. I liked perfumes like this at 19, but for many girls/women this can intimidate them. They feel it sends a certain message or might scare men off. Well, the men who do notice it are more sophisticated and appreciate good taste (gay or straight, it doesn't matter). I've had both comment on it. Most women wear this for specific moods or occasions, but I can see it as a signature in the fall and winter. From the look of the bottle it's meant to be sleek yet classic. The Art Deco design was very appealing to me, since the details are both glamorous and simple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dragongirl26 on 11/22/2013 9:35:00 PM more reviews by dragongirl26

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I received a sample of this fragrance from Sephora, and have been sitting here trying to decide my thoughts about it. It was a little off putting and overpowering at first, reminding me a lot of Velvet Tuberose from Bath and Body Works. it's different, though, in that after wearing it for about half an hour, Im getting more notes of sandlewood and vanilla, which I really like. I tend to gravitate towards mature fragrances, so I will try this one a few more times before I decide whether or not to purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beautycalls09 on 11/5/2013 4:47:00 PM more reviews by beautycalls09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is quite an intimidating fragrance for a woman. It is not girly or romantic or delicate at all--to me it smells very masculine, which is perhaps why I imagine a woman who pulls off this fragrance to be a CEO or someone in a position of power, someone strong, logical, no-nonsense. I didn't give it a 5 because I suppose a woman who wanted to smell that way could wear any men's cologne, not necessarily Black Orchid: the fragrance itself is not what I am attracted to, but what it evokes, being a woman's perfume.

I got a little sample at Sephora, and while I doubt I'll ever actually wear it (sadly, I do not think I could pull it off) I love pulling it out every now and then just to appreciate the fact that a perfume can evoke such a strong image for me. Like a work of art.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 8/14/2013 6:55:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love. Dark, full bodied, not for those who taste scent. That said, to successfully wear this, IMO, you must have history, a resume that includes having had your heart broken, broken the heart(s) of others, know/experience/master at least 25 Kundalini procuring sex positions, have done significant world travel and be over the age of 40. Yes. This is the scent of a woman, not a girl, not a dilettante of life, not someone who is indecisive or glib. If you can't fill the position, don't bother to apply. For that so many really dislike this scent. Black Orchid is the woman in the room all the men stare at, mentally undress and fantasize about. Of the few who approach she instantly can recognize who is authentic and who is just sniffing by. She is feared and loathed by insecure women and particularly by women who are unaware they are insecure (but they must denigrate her), eventhough she would likely be the best friend they'd ever have but they will never know. I am Black Orchid. You may eventually be as well.

18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 7/21/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a Fall/Winter girl -- I love thunderstorms, rain -- I love dark ominous clouds & dark eerie weather where you feel alone & private. Tom Ford Black Orchid EDP and its EDT version, Voile de Fleur, are great noir scents for such noir weather. Their 2 bottles are identical except for label colors (EDP has gold plate, EDT plain black), so it's easy to get the bottles mixed up.

Voile is more floral and more polite -- it's lacking a strong resiny basenote that Black Orchid has, and I find Voile a bit easier to wear. However I own, love, and wear both. They're the same basic scent -- Black Orchid (EDP) is deeper/richer than Voile (EDT), which is more floral.

Notes for Black Orchid from Fragrantica.com: "An oriental chypre. The top notes are French jasmine, black truffle, ylang-ylang, black currant and effervescent citrus. In the floral-spicy heart, dwells the Tom Ford's black orchid, imaginary more than real, and the base combines woodsy notes (patchouli and sandalwood), dark chocolate, incense, amber, vetiver, vanilla and balsam." How good do those basenotes sound, right? Luscious!

It's currently hot, humid, sunny mid-July, yet I needed comfort *now* (due to stress at work), so I've pulled out and am wearing my Voile de Fleur today (Sunday). And it's doing its magic. Ahh, comfort. Summer scents are too bright and outgoing -- sometimes I need an introverted dark comfort scent, summer or no summer. Voile de Fleur is a dark soothing one, to me.

I think I find Voile de Fleur so comforting because it takes me way back -- but to what, I'm not sure. Styx by Coty (which I *loved*)?, or My Sin perhaps? KL by Lagerfeld? Drama by Stagelight Cosmetics?

But I think it really takes me back to an unidentified gorgeous dark-colored perfume oil that I used to wear in my college days. Voile smells VERY de-ja vu to me. I went to college in the early 70's, head shops were all over campus, Hair was on Broadway, and there were lots of perfume oils -- and I wore them. Voile de Fleur takes me back to my college days, but I'm not sure why -- I can almost hear my old college record albums (esp. Seals & Crofts) playing when I wear it.

(Side Note: I have read that Michael Jackson wore Black Orchid EDP.)

For me, Black Orchid EDP and Voile de Fleur EDT are personal comfort scents that are strong & lasting, have great sillage -- but I don't think either is good for the office. The trouble with both of them is they're *very* strong! I reserve them for home & open uncrowded spaces -- and I apply in very small amounts, just for me.

Both Black Orchid EDP and Voile de Fleur EDT (basically the same scent in darker & lighter versions) are elegant, rich, deep, complex, exotic, beautiful *beautiful* scents!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a love/hate relationship with this fragrance. At times it smells like Avons Imari Seduction with a dark dirty almost earthy note (might be the truffle) other times I get an almost fly spray quality from it. Other times I get a hint of some sort of melon (like the old New West) overlayed with vanilla and something that reminds me of brown paper - this is the time I do like it. Other times it makes me feel ill as it smells sweaty and cloying. Strangely enough others love it on me. Good but I would say this is rather over-hyped.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PSS07 on 6/17/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by PSS07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love, love, love this perfume its dark, mysterious but if I'm honest its more masculine... any man wearing this gets me vote :) amazing staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products