E.L.F. • The Beauty Encyclopedia - Eye Edition • Eye Shadow

rated 3.2(22 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 dwalls on 1/6/2011 4:39:00 PM more reviews by dwalls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

These eyeshadows come in great color and may appear to have great pigmentation put they flake horribly and don't really last throughout the day. I had an E.L.F. phase-- I kept getting emails about offers and everything was so cheap that I continuously ordered products! There /are/ some great E.L.F. products (gel liner is amazing, eyelash curler, cream eyeshadow) but some of their products are awful. Don't buy things in ridiculous amounts because it might just be more economic to get a pricey product with good quality than tons of garbage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 1/6/2011 4:04:00 PM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am not writing this with the intent to do a full review. I do recommend these beauty encyclopedias. But I would just like to point out that this particular one contains the exact same shades as three of ELF's $1 quads. These are drama; nouveau neutrals; and butternut. Just an fyi in case you'd prefer to purchase those three quads instead.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 candyshock134 on 1/6/2011 2:57:00 PM more reviews by candyshock134

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This book is perfect. I hate going out an spending money on tons of different neutral eyeshadows, coming home, and finding out it wasn't the right brown I needed. This completely blew me away. I use at least one color from the pallet every day and sometime create my entire look with it. It come with a great mix of shimmer eyeshadows, glitter shadows, and matte shadows. They are very pigmented (especially for their price) and I think the idea of the little book sets is adorable. I was able to get this one for like 3 bucks right after Christmas. That is like 40 cents a shadow. WOW. Usually I believe it's five bucks for each book and I would more than recommend picking up both editions!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 medusacanibal on 1/4/2011 5:06:00 PM more reviews by medusacanibal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Some time ago I was looking for a place I could buy E.L.F. products. None of the stores near me do... but for my surprise, Walgreens had a little selection of these palettes for a limited time. Silly me I only bought this one because I love it! I use this almost every day and the colors make it easy to transform from day makeup to evening makeup.

I don't remember using this without an eyeshadow primer so I don't know its staying power. Nevertheless, they work perfectly with a primer. The colors are pigmented and they look expensive!

The only thing I don't like much is the packaging.

Definitely would buy more of them if they were available here!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zee81 on 1/4/2011 12:30:00 PM more reviews by zee81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I thought that I had stumbled upon a great deal, but my glorious feeling sure did not last. I applied the shadow early am and not even two hours later...ITCHY RASH!! I hope that it works out for more of you than it did me...sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tkkana on 12/31/2010 12:10:00 AM more reviews by tkkana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

okay, i haven't used all the shadows yet, the bottom 4 and the white in the top corner.
it has good lasting power, it lasted all day without touch up or primer. the colors are neutrals, so very work safe. (althou i think my little old ladies love the bright colors.)
so far not extremely pigmented, but that's not what i was looking for from these shadows.
i managed to get this on the after holiday sale so it only ran me 3.50,, but even at 5$ i feel this is worth. (1 buck per shadow that i'm happy with) i'll update if the others are horrid.
would i buy this again? yes. prolly going to go pick one up for my 'makeup' friend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoiresecret on 12/20/2010 1:31:00 AM more reviews by Victoiresecret

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

UPDATE****: Meh, I returned this, bumping this down to a 3. I realized this looked muddy and the colors aren't all that attractive after using it for a few weeks. I then realized I'd rather have a single mac shadow (pan form) for $3 more. These colors lack dept and just aren't that appealing. I left the rating at a 3 though because for something basic for someone on a budget, they aren't awful quality. Besides, its hard to find really good quality cheap e/s..beside the WnW singles, I haven't found any after trying almost every brand. Also, some of my friends loved this after i got it for them as a christmas gift, so maybe it depends on your skin tone
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I was lusting after the naked palette when I saw this and though I knew this in no way shape or form would be anything like the naked palette, I just had to try it for $10CAD for a completely neutral palette. I'm really really glad I bought this. Texture and pigmentation is decent (nothing like MAC, but then again, it's almost half the price for 12 times as many eyeshadows in a bigger pan).

Pigmentation, though it's just average, you can build it up easily by just putting more on and it doesn't ever look like you caked on eyeshadow to get more pigment. It just takes a little more time but once built up, it LOOKS like a high end shadow on the lid.

The farthest right colour in the middle row is definatly the most pigmented, and that one I'd say is almost at par with the usual MAC shadows. The gold is gorgeous (though not as pigmented, you do have to build it up but that's not a big deal for me because, like I said, it doesn't LOOK built up once on the eye) and the cranberry color makes the perfect outer corner color for a holiday look. A great gray in there too, and two shimmery brow bone or inner lid colors, three different browns that are gorgeous outer lid or crease colours. The only colors I don't use it the white (which has very little pigmentation and can't be built up. I don't really use white shadows anyways) and the grayish taupy mauve color which has ZERO pigmentation.

eyeliner is pretty crappy, but I don't care. I swapped it out for a sephora nano liner (which happens to fit perfectly into the slot). I love the sponge tip applicater though I know most people hate it. I don't use to to apply shadow but I use it for touch ups and it's amazing to use in place of a pencil brush on the lower lash line. it puts the perfect amount of color onto the lower lash line without it looking like racoon eyes.

blendibility is okay. It blends a little too easily to I never blend between colors, only on the edges of the colors between the shadow and my naked lid.

decent mirror, pretty good packaging and most importantly, I can do so many eye looks with this! Great for "travelling" but even better than that, I am buying this for a ton of my friends for christmas! If you're not a makeup addict like I am, you won't notice the difference between these shadows and HE shadows and this makes the perfect and very affordable gift that I know my friends will actually use and love. They have different palettes for just about everyone, theres a smokey one, a bright one and a neutral one and i think theres two versions of each. I wouldn't actually take this on a travelling trip because I know these shadows would shatter, but for short trips to visit relatives or something, I'd take this. You have to be careful with it though, because it's not at all "hardy" or durable.

Only thing is, it's pretty hard to find. I found mine at Zellers, but otherwise, you can only get them online (unless you're in the states in which case target might have them). I'd definatly repurchase if I run out. I might get the smokey one or the eye brights one for myself if I can find it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 SusanCarolV on 12/16/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by SusanCarolV

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Colors were anything but neutral, very warm and made me look sick. there is an eyeshadow in there that is straight up orange. Texture of the shadows was ok, great for the price ($3.60 for 12, thanks to promotional code on target.com) and better than i expected, but does not compare to other brands. The dual tipped sponge applicator that comes with it is useless.
Would not buy again.

NOTE: i got the Holiday edition with 12 E/s, eyeliner, mirror and dual tip sponge applicators, NOT the version with 12 powder e/s and 2 cream shadows/highlighters. On Target's website, the version I reviewed is listed as a beauty book even though it is clearly labeled "The Beauty Encyclopedia" on the package.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Branny43 on 12/12/2010 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Branny43

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Have always wanted to try E.L.F products, as the reviews on some items are really excellent, and the prices seem to be budget-friendly and lend themselves to guilt-free experimenting. However, I've never been able to FIND any in the stores in my area, even my Target doesn't bother stocking any of it. Frustrating!
Well, it seems my local Target wasn't going to miss out on the holiday-season buying-frenzy, so they brought in a few Elf items, including this one. I was glad to see it and, for $5!, more than happy to give it a try.
No cosmetics user is going to mistake these products for Lauder or Dior; at the same time, no one *seeing* you is going to know the difference.
Pigmentation and texture are fine, and the color selection is a very nice combination of mattes and shimmers, both dark and light. Perhaps best of all, it's travel-friendly, and a great way to take several shadows along with you, without heartbreak should they get misplaced or broken.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sfaithj on 11/25/2010 5:41:00 PM more reviews by sfaithj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The colors aren't super pigmented in this Neutral eye kit from ELF however, I think these colors will work for me when I want to play up my lips and wear a darker lip color. I also think you could get more pigmentation if you put a colored base first. Even the colors that look like they'd be pigmented (like dark browns), aren't really that pigmented. I haven't worn the shadows all day so I don't know if they will stay on all day. Overall, I think I'd buy this palette again however time will tell.

UPDATE: Ok, not all of the colors are pigmented however this product is so worth it for the highly pigmented colors! There are some gorgeous colors in this Beauty Book! I'm so glad I purchased!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Shadow products