Yves Saint Laurent • Touche Eclat No 1 • Highlighters

rated 3.8(330 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 lisa1991 on 11/24/2013 9:01:00 AM more reviews by lisa1991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this highlighting pen alot when I first bought it. But after a while I noticed that there are alot of great/cheap alternatives for this highlighting pen. It works great around the eyes; it does the job, but I have found that the MAC prep+ prime, maybelling Instant age rewind and even some other drugstore alternatives work just as well and maybe even better. I would not repurchase because it is very expensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ciaobella on 6/29/2013 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Ciaobella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this for years. The key to being happy with this cult classic is finding your right shade. This for me ended up being the 2. I use it under my eyes which many have mentioned do not look tired anymore. I'm tempted to switch to one of the new shades either the 1.5 or the 2.5 but I'm not sure which will work better for me. This is one product that is important to go into the store counter for to find what works best.

The product lasts a very long time. I am buying a new one right now and the place that I purchase from shows the last time I purchased was 12/2012. I use it every day. My only complaint about the packaging is that I can't tell when it's about to run out. :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siruhi on 4/23/2013 7:39:00 AM more reviews by siruhi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had to buy this product,because I rememberd when my friends mom used to use this,and it was just amazing what it did to her face.No else product does the same.And it has to be this no.1 shade.It’s the original shade.Back in years,I mean 15 years ago there was no other shades in this Touche Eclat.I think the other colors 1.5 , 2 and so on are not needed.Maybe this no.1 matches to darker skin colors too,I say.Everyone should have Touche Eclat pen,it makes a miracle.I love it,just really love it.And it does a really fine job as a concealer too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellodionne on 4/23/2013 6:21:00 AM more reviews by hellodionne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I suppose there is a reason why it's such a cult classic. I love the Touche Eclat but the teensy amount just doesn't justify it's ridiculous price tag! It's amazing at brightening areas of the face though. For a better value, try MAC Prep + Prime Highlighter Pen in Radiant Rose. I've found it's even more brightening than the touche eclat at almost half the price with double the amount!

Also, people should stop mistaking this for a concealer. It's not.

The reason I would not repurchase is there have since been so many more great brands which have come out with their alternatives for the touche eclatóMaybelline, Chanel. Clinique, Dior, L'oreal, Bourjois, Art Deco, Clarins, Bobbi Brown, NARS, The Body Shop, and as mentioned my personal favorite, MAC! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 3/23/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't get it. I really don't. This didn't do much at all for me, let alone my pit of darkness that I call my under eye. So glad I got a sample of this and didn't jump on the expensive bandwagon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hazelblackolive on 3/19/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by hazelblackolive

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have very few staples in my makeup bag because it's ever-changing. A product can be as good as gold - even HG- but it'll find itself feeling rejected in my 'extra makeup bag' about 50% of the time because I cannot stop changing my look.

But there are about 3 items that stay in my everyday makeup bag; and this is one of them. Since I bit the bullet and bought it about a year ago I can safely say that this is my one of 3 desert island choices and something I top up before it's even finished. Being as unorganized as I can be, let me stress that nothing - and I do mean NOTHING - has a backup waiting for the fateful day that it runs out. There is no dupe. It's worth the price tag because mine has lasted 1 year after everyday use and is showing no signs of giving up anytime soon - so if you divide the price by days of use (which I do when I feel guilty) it's ridiculously cheap.

It's the single solitary makeup product that my mom wears and she was the one to recommend it to me - so I knew it must be good.

So please, don't deny yourself one of the best beauty products of all time if you were considering buying this. One word of advice though - get it matched to your skin colour before you buy it to stop yourself from trying to fix the problem with the lightest option. You may not suit the lightest shade and if there is one thing just as bad as dark circles it's white circles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kiraty on 3/17/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by kiraty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this ridiculously expensive little pen! It makes me look so awake and alive. I use it over my undereye concealer and it just looks awesome! Even after a really late night I look well rested. It doesn't cake up or rub off for me. I have insanely oily skin and that hasn't affected it. I will always have this in my makeup bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sofiloco on 3/10/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by sofiloco

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this however it is not very hydrating and looks dry when applied. Overall though it is a good highlighter, and the packaging is cute! It is much better than the avon highlighter pen i had before ;) the clicky top is a bit dangerous as I often accidentally cluck it when replacing the lid. Despite these minor annoyances, I just can't help but love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 2/25/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my third tube of this product, but I know it'll be my last. When I first indulged in this $50 investment I was blown away that adding a small layer under my eyes with a run of the mill concealer over top could completely neutralize my dark circles, add luminosity, brightness, and makes me look 10 years younger. It really isn't so much this particular product, but the pinky peach colour that is creating this miraculous achievement. Now that many more companies are finally catching on and providing their own versions of high lighters, brightener, and/or correctors with pinky peach tones for a fraction of the cost at drugstores, I will not be going back to this product again and dish out this insane amount of money.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Stephny691 on 2/22/2013 4:50:00 AM more reviews by Stephny691

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've actually had two of these now and while I do love the highlighting effect (I tend to conceal my under eye circles and then put a bit of light-reflecting stuff over that), this just will not stay on my skin, I'm also fairly certain this oxidises on me too, which makes it all worse. I haven't used many highlighters, but I feel for the money there has to be something better.

The main problem with this though, if we ignore the disappearing act, is the pen itself. It's got a small brush on the end and you click the bum-end of the pen to push product down to the brush-tip. However, the brush tends to get quite gunky because of old product on their, which means new product doesn't come down easy, and the brush sticks together.
You have to click quite a bit to get any decent amount of product, this has been the same on both pens I've had, so I don't think I've got a wonky one.
That may not be a problem for anyone else, but it drives me up the wall. If I'm paying £25 I don't want to have to do work to get the pen to work, may sound silly, but things that just don't work properly drive me to the brink.

All in all, I won't be buying this again. I will say however, this works really well for my mum (who has more patience than me), and whose skin isn't as finicky.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Highlighters products