Clinique • Redness Solutions Makeup SPF 15 with Probiotic Technology • Liquid

rated 3.5(174 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Nicolelauren1882 on 4/4/2014 12:12:00 AM more reviews by Nicolelauren1882

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have rosacea and I can't tell you how much this makeup has helped reduce the ridiculous amount of redness I have. It goes on flawlessly with the perfect amount of coverage (not too heavy, not too light). Personally, I've never noticed it oxidize poorly or to a "grayish cast". It will not clog your pores or make you break out. It actually almost helps prevent my breakouts! The ONLY downside to this product is that it does wear off fairly quickly. You may have to layer it or reapply throughout the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luusk1125 on 3/18/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by luusk1125

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is foundation is ok for redness if you are in a mac nw25 and above because it oxidize really bad to a peachy orange shade. The lightest shade alabaster is still not light enough for someone in a mac nc15/20. Do not try to set this with a powder it will oxidize even more. It doesn't not last it start to fade in 30min after applying. If your face has any acne scars or texture it will make it look worse. I doesn't help with redness it oxidizes to make your face look peachy/orange to cancel out the redness making your face look red. It is a good foundation for those who use tanning lotions because the oxidized color matches the tanning lotion better.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunblockobsession on 3/3/2014 3:06:00 AM more reviews by sunblockobsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm on my third bottle of this product. I have early-onset papulopustular (and ocular, for what it's worth) rosacea, and this doesn't cause flushing, it doesn't burn, it doesn't break me out in bumps, and it ACTUALLY WORKS. This product makes my skin look flawless.

I think the probiotic technology claim is nonsense (it's makeup, not medicine!), but it doesn't irritate, it doesn't smell bad, and it covers. I am not that pale but I bought this in Alabaster, the lightest shade. They matched me one shade darker (can't remember the name) but it turned orange so I returned it and couldn't be happier with the lighter color.

Expensive but SO WORTH IT.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 2/24/2014 8:39:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Humn... I am both impressed and unimpressed with this foundation. There are some things about it which really make it a cut above many others, but there are some issues in which lower the quality of this formulation as well.

I was really surprised that this foundation didn't emphasize my dry patches because it's a dry formulation. It did a great job in coverage and didn't settle or cake at all. I would definitely consider this to be a full coverage foundation. It applies nicely using any and all methods - fingers, sponge, brushes and buffers which is excellent. I LOVE that the packaging is sanitary and stable! The squeeze container is an excellent way to insure minimal wasting of the product and its pretty air tight so that the beneficial ingredients (antioxidants, vitamins, probiotics) stay potent. And thumbs up to the ingredient list which far surpasses any other foundations out there. On the flip side of that the fact it's a dryer formulation does call for us dry skinned gals to moisturize and/or prime, so I am not sure how much these ingredients penetrate, if at all.

Did it perform as advertised and cover my annoying red undertones? Yes indeed. However, it did so leaving a slightly grey cast, reminiscent of when you have a high SPF cream on your face; you know, that weird zinc shadow that is really obvious in photos, in which makes people wonder if you are part Zombie . Also, while I don't mind shelling out the big bucks for a great foundation, you aren't getting a lot for your money here IMO. At $27 an 0z for a good but NOT great foundation, it's not the most impressive foundation or bang for the buck. The price may not be a lot compared to many other high end foundations but I feel like those are a cut above this one in terms of quality; the Clinique is more comparable to a good drugstore brand and if it was one it would be a top performer. But in comparison to the high end foundations this one ranks low. For me the biggest downside to this is shade range and the matte finish to it. Shades are really limited for Clinique in general and all of them tend to either have a slightly peach or pink undertones, neither of which work for me. This one doesn't have enough tan in it (I am NC30) and makes me look slightly unhealthy, while the next shade up was way too dark. The matte finish is also an issue because A) I just don't like the look of it on me and B) I have to even out the peach/pink undertones AND grey cast (mentioned above) with a darker powder and this addition makes it look a bit heavy in the end.

While this foundation definitely has its cons, they can be worked around. Also a lot of the problems I have with this product are based on my skin = someone else with normal or oily skin may find this stuff to be their holy grail. Me personally, I gave it a try but won't be returning to it. This one will end up in my "too expensive to toss so wear it while running quick errands in my sweats" drawer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JennyI on 2/16/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by JennyI

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an excellent product. I have longstanding rosacea and it covers the redness well. Contrary to the other reviews, I don't find it wears off by the end of the day. I use it with the yellow Clinique mineral powder and they work well together. I definitely recommend this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladushka on 2/6/2014 4:42:00 AM more reviews by ladushka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It is a very decent solution to redness. I am not sure about its probiotic properties, and I doubt that it can dramatically change my redness-prone skin but I don't really expect it either. For a good coverage It is important to spread the stuff evenly and quickly, and to use just a bit of it. Its grayish tone is scary but it is meant to cover redness, and it serves this purpose well. For the price I would expect it to be long-lasting, but it is not the case. The coverage is great though, and I use it only when I have really bad skin days. It evens out my skin tone and gives me a mat "barely there" finish. As I'm satisfied with the coverage, and my skin reacts well to it, I will definitely repurchase but, well, it will take ages to finish this tube first.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Notaglamourpuss1 on 12/29/2013 4:01:00 AM more reviews by Notaglamourpuss1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I gave this a 2 tube rating because I have a ruddy complexion and the neutralizing agents in this makeup does do a fairly good job of toning down redness. Now for the bad news:
I broke out in white heads on my chin and cheeks. The product consistency is pasty and chalky. The finish shows on your face and reminded me of makeup they use at a funeral (Yikes). Don't waste your money. For those of us with sensitive skin (reactive redness,whether temporary or persistent like rosacea ), remember there's a difference between hypoallergenic products and those for sensitive skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Backmasking on 12/26/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by Backmasking

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Let me just begin this with saying that I have moderately severe rosacea with very dry skin. This foundation does cover it up when I put a second layer on my cheeks. But it WILL come of within a couple of hours if you don't use a setting powder. Even with a setting powder, I'd say it only lasts about 5 hours. It has a semi-dewy natural finish which I do like, but I just cannot justify the price. I can get a much cheaper foundation that lasts all day.

Also, I've had problems with the foundation squirting everywhere when I take off the top.

I do not recommend.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Formerann83 on 12/20/2013 4:25:00 PM more reviews by Formerann83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love love love. I have rosacea with acne and this works for me like magic. It does wear off after a long work day though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kkbabygirl89 on 10/28/2013 2:28:00 AM more reviews by kkbabygirl89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been on the look out for a long time for a foundation that will cover redness, not get oily, and will not make my skin look cakey. I love this! It's a perfect color match for my skin, and eliminates all redness. Super gentle on my sensitive skin. The price is not at all bad, considering I've spent up to $50.00 on foundation before. A little goes a long way. I love that there is no scent. I've had several compliments about my skin since I began using this product. It gives you a subtle dewy glow; not at all greasy looking. As with any foundation, apply it to a clean, moisturized face. I always use a primer before applying foundation, and I let it sit and dry for about five-minutes before applying makeup. It makes a HUGE difference. I set it with translucent powder, and it lasts all day. Has not caused any breakouts. This is an amazing product and worth every cent. I would tell anyone to try it out. Worst case scenario, if you don't like it, you can always return any Clinique product. There is nothing bad I can say about this makeup.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Liquid products