MAC • Pro Longwear Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(914 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jennyxx on 1/26/2015 8:24:00 AM more reviews by jennyxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hands up if you're here because you want try this over Studio fix? *Hand going up everywhere*

Story- I tried studio fix for 2 days, and basically tortured my skin for that amount of time. I don't have bad skin, I dont tend to get spots or get a greasy face but studio fix made me break out like crazy, with or without primer, and setting powder.

Packaging- I love the packaging, very modern, sleek and simple, and a lovely pump included also.

Wear/Feel- So I then decided to try Pro longwear. I ordered a sample from Ebay. Tried it for a couple of days and I fell in love! The shade that I matched myself to (I did plenty of research) is NW15 and its the perfect shade for me, like spot on. I have since ordered myself a bottle which has arrived today and its still the correct colour etc. Its easy to apply, with fingers or a brush, easy to blend/build up, you don't need a primer, though it helps, it really does last 15 hours, you don't need a setting powder,it does not personally break me out, not like studio fix, it has good coverage and it doesn't feel cakey. The bad points for me and other girls are that some girls have said that it sets quick so they cant work quick enough to get it in place before it sets, I haven't had this problem, but i thought i'd mention it. It is more expensive than studio fix for the same amount of product and lastly it has no lid, I know it has a lock safety thing going on for the pump, but a lid would be great.

Price:£25 not too bad for a mid range foundation. I am happy to pay this.

With any foundation though, try and get a sample first so you can test it properly in your own home rather than a makeup counter which I has stupid artificial lighting, you can then also see how long it lasts on you, the feel etc.

Overall I totally recommend this product, it is a life saver! I have also purchased the concealer for this, which I haven't tried yet but I'll do a review on that too!

UPDATE- This foundation has now started to break me out!!! I am going to completely stay away from all MAC foundation!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 1/25/2015 12:26:00 AM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this foundation and have been using it every single day since then and I am absolutely in love with it. I wasn't really expecting to like this foundation all that much because I haven't had any luck with the MAC face products I have tried so far (MSFN, Matchmaster, and Mineralize Moisture Foundation) but I have been blown away. I have very fair skin with neutral undertones and finding pale shades that aren't pink based has been a hassle but I wear the shade NW15 in this foundation and it matches my skin flawlessly. My favourite things about this foundation are its versatility and it's lasting power. I thought I had tried long-wearing foundation before but this stuff beats them all. I have combination skin and I don't have to touch up my makeup at all during a 12 hour day which is insane and wonderful for a low maintenance gal like myself. I occasionally add a drop of facial oil into the foundation if my skin is particularly dry one day and it doesn't affect the wear time in the slightest but leaves my skin plump and hydrated throughout the day. You can also wear the foundation with a very thin layer for lighter coverage or build it up for higher coverage without looking cakey- just make sure that you wait for the foundation to dry between layers! The foundation is fairly thick so when I use it normally, I apply it with my beauty blender but on days when I use the oil, it thins out the foundation and I like to use my Real Techniques buffing brush instead and the foundation applies beautifully with both methods of application. The foundation gives a very satiny, soft, and blurred appearance to the skin which lasts all day. My one minor complaint about this foundation is that while its medium-full coverage is able to completely cover any redness in my skin, I don't find it very good for covering acne (??) so I typically still need to use concealer on a daily basis for any blemishes because my skin is far from perfect. Because I have skin with both horrible dry patches and very oily areas, I can't really imagine who this foundation wouldn't work for. I know a big complaint that a lot of people have about MAC foundations is that they make them break out but I have skin thats a bit more sensitive and have no encountered any problems with this product. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a great foundation- and who doesn't want that?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lilidelwing on 1/21/2015 8:43:00 PM more reviews by lilidelwing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely foundation, once it sets it does not budge at all. It goes off when i decide to take my makeup off, even without setting spray and powder (which it certainly doesn't need, its perfectly matt). The formula is perfection for me, the pigmentation is great (light to medium) and i really like the finish of it.
I love it, i really do! But i have one huge problem with it, the shade that was picked out for me is not a great match.
I got matched by a professional at my local mac counter, i guess it was the bright lights there or maybe they didn't have a lighter shade and she just wanted to sell the product to me (i don't know anything about the shades, just assuming)?

I have the shade NW13 and i am quite a pale gal. It is not terrible on me but it does have a unattractive orange hint to it which drives me crazy.

Did i get a wrong match or am i just too pale for this product? i don't know but it's a shame, i do intend to use it up, i make it work with some white powder and maybe get a tan in the summer... :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 r8girll on 1/18/2015 9:52:00 PM more reviews by r8girll

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing. Not greasy, actually stays on, doesn't get oily. I am actually surprised my HG foundation is Mac because I all the others just did not work for me. Shows up good in pictures despite having SPF - I know SPF usually reflects camera flash and washes you out (so they say) but not this. Just don't drop it...Nice glass packaging! Totally breakable.

This lasts all day with no touching up needed, for me at least. I get up and have my makeup on by 6.30am and don't get home until about 6.30pm. On the ODD day I look in the mirror and think oh god I look worn outttt! But for the majority of the time it really holds up well. However, if I were going out after work I would always redo my makeup so I cannot say if it lasts you know, from 6am until 12am or whatever...But, I don't think anything really would.

All I use is a non-greasy moisturizer underneath it and apply it with my hands. For a period I do think I used a brush, but I honestly just hate the thought of touching my face with the same sticky brush everyday. I wash my hands before I put it on, and after I put it on.

BE CAREFUL!!!! THIS STAINS! I was nearing the end of my bottle and pushed the pump down when a drop came flying out onto my white shirt. It never came off. It also got on my jeans, just a speck and that too is there until this day.

I suppose the price is fair - it is Mac after all and its expected it would be around $40 which it is. It lasts me like......Two months? I am not sure - of daily use. I do not use a brush and I suspect I also waste less product this way.

Fantastic buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimmurs on 1/8/2015 10:42:00 PM more reviews by kimmurs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Two favourite things about this foundation are that I'm able to find shades that are the right tone for me (currently NC35) and that it stays put throughout the day! I have oily skin and this stuff lasts a full day without sliding off/smudging/oxidizing/looking gross in general. Finish is smooth and satin and very natural looking.

My skin tone is medium-light but I have very warm, yellow undertones so I find it difficult finding shades that are dark enough while still having the right undertone (ie not orange or red looking). NC35/NC40 does the trick for me.

Would recommend if you have oily skin and are looking for something that will last, especially with primer this stuff is great. Has never broken me out either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kmariezzz on 1/8/2015 7:53:00 PM more reviews by kmariezzz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Edit: I returned this for my good old Estťe Lauder Double Wear. MAC PLW didn't give enough coverage (without a lot of concealer) and when it did it always looked too cakey. It does stay on nicely, so I'd recommend if you are looking for a light to medium coverage long wear foundation. Not for me though!


I have worn MAC Studio Fix Fluid for years. I love how the SFF looks when first applied and the full coverage but after a few hours it will break up and disappear on me. After getting tired of that, despite using many primers, I decided to try the Pro Longwear. I went to a MAC counter and a girl working there applied it on my face. I will admit I looked terrible! She put way too much on and my face was sooo cakey. For whatever reason I still bought it to give another try even though I thought I already hated it.

The next morning I applied it myself and like the MAC girl, I applied way too much. I was a total cake face. I immediately removed it and tried again using less. It came out much better but definitely does not cover as well as the SFF. It is a medium coverage and anything more will not look good unless you have the most amazing blending skills. I use a stippling brush. Finger method might get a better full coverage but I haven't tried that yet.

I like a full coverage as I have many freckles so I ended up buying the Pro Longwear concealer to help get more coverage and I am happy with my results. Both have a nice natural full coverage and it stays put! I can even work out in it and if my dog attacks me with a slobbery kiss to the face my make up is still intact.

If you are looking for a medium coverage long lasting foundation this is great! If you want full you might end up on the cakey side... unless you are willing to use a concealer as well.

I am very pale and neutral toned (combo warm and pink) and the NC15 matches me quite nicely. Slightly a smudge too dark if I look in certain light and want to obsess about it, but the PLW concealer runs light so the combo works perfectly. No oxidation with the foundation but I use a primer underneath (MAC matte).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lolliebollie on 1/7/2015 7:05:00 AM more reviews by Lolliebollie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is just great! Iíve tried many foundations in my life: high end brands and cheap brands, but I guess this is the best foundation Iíve tried so far. I have combination skin without too much imperfections, but I wanted a foundation that gives good coverage, but looks fairly natural and gives a matte finish. Pro longwear has it all! It has a liquid texture and it spreads very easily. It doesnít dry up too quickly and itís buildable. After many hours it still looks great! Iíve been using this product for about a week now and I havenít had any breakouts. It's a bit harder to wash it off my face, but that's understandable. This could be a new staple for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TheLittleThings on 1/5/2015 6:44:00 AM more reviews by TheLittleThings

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I originally purchased this after loving using my friends, it offers a light to medium coverage but is build-able to a high coverage however I stick to a medium coverage as I hate cakey looking skin! However when my skin is having a off day, like its drier than usual the foundation appears cakey.

Still debating whether I would re-purchase I do like to stick to one type as changing brands scares me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Allybeee on 1/4/2015 8:46:00 PM more reviews by Allybeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cakey cakey cakey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 freyahaseldine on 1/1/2015 2:17:00 PM more reviews by freyahaseldine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my must haves! If it's a long day or night this is the foundation! It does not move! I have even tried this out for 24 hours! You need to wash your face a few times to remove it along with a good toner. It's full coverage and has a satin finish. It's dosnt make your skin feel clogged or heavy, or make you feel over made up. It's a wonder foundation! The shades are a bit darker though so I would recommend going down a shade if purchasing online. I always have this to hand in my makeup box!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products