MAC • Pro Longwear Concealer • Concealers

rated 4.1(910 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 danniebabex on 9/17/2014 11:48:00 PM more reviews by danniebabex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I never never review on makeupalley and I've been going on this site for five years but I guess it's time that I give my first review to MAC's prolongwear concealer! I have very oily skin so almost nothing lasts on my face and I've tried almost all the concealers out there but this one has my heart! I always go back to this concealer because it covers my dark circles very well and stays all day. I'm in nursing school and I barely have time to put make up on so when I'm in a rush I thrown this on, do my brows, mascara, and a little blush and I'm ready to go!!! Even on clinical days where I still want to look put together, MAC prolongwear concealer still makes feel beautiful through my 7-3 shifts nursing shifts! This is a little pricey but it's worth investing in. Mind you this is one of the cheapest "high end" concealer in the market therefore it's worth every penny especially if you're a broke student on a budget.

To my oily skinned ladies who are doubtful about this concealer, trust me it is worth everything!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hdcue23 on 9/17/2014 7:11:00 PM more reviews by hdcue23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this concealer, it covers acne/blemishes/redness very well, also blends easily and stays put all day. I have pretty fair skin(cool toned) and the color match was perfect, mac has a wide range of shades so if your looking to purchase this I'm sure you'd find a good shade match! My only complaint, as others have mentioned, is the pump...the concealer is very concentrated and you don't need a lot but the pump sticks and I usually end up with too much so you have to be very careful when using. I decided to try something different so I bought some nars creamy radiant concealer and although it works well, it does not cover as well as the Mac Pro long wear concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 9/16/2014 10:12:00 AM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The fact that I'm about to give this a great review speaks volumes for the quality of the product, because normally if something had packaging as bad as this guy does, I would not be able to give it over 2 lippies. As other reviewers have mentioned, the pump is terrible. It's shocking that it made it past the development stage, let alone that it's never been updated. I'm looking into maybe decanting it into a tub of some sort, because I waste half the product that comes out of the bottle every morning.

Packaging aside! I'm on a bit of a MAC kick over here. I've been using the Studio Fix Powder plus Foundation and have been loving it so much that I decided to trade in my old concealer (Kat von Dee - we had a good run, but the texture was no longer working for me - and Benefit Erase Paste for under eyes, which I hated because it had zero staying power on me) for a MAC one. I chose Pro Longwear over their others purely based on MUA reviews, and I'm so glad I did. I love that the product is so thin, but still offers really great coverage - my problem with my existing concealers was that they tended to cake around my dry skin (dry due to acne prescriptions, so when I say dry, I mean it). I apply this with a small brush to the dark spots that I want to cover up. I will say that for my areas of really intense hyperpigmentation, it does take two coats to cover, but again, it's so thin that it's easy to build it up and not have it look very obvious.

I also use this under my eyes - I normally use a separate concealer for that area, but I decided to give this a go and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I have cartoon-character big eyes, so I have those lovely creases all of the time underneath them, as well as hereditary dark spots. While there is some creasing, it's nowhere near what I've dealt with with other concealers. And it also actually covers! It's unfortunate that it doesn't have a brightening aspect to it, but I'm willing to let that go for actual day-long coverage. As a note, I always set it with MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation.

I definitely recommend this as a high-coverage concealer for spots and undereye circles. At $17, it's certainly not cheap, but there are definitely less quality concealers that will run you significantly more money. I had to take a lippie off because of the packaging - a five star product in one star packaging.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angelseleena on 9/13/2014 9:35:00 AM more reviews by Angelseleena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this concealer. I tried studio fix and it really is full coverage but it always creased on me no matter how I applied it. This is perfect for no creasing. It blends super easily and is quite full coverage. When I say this doesn't budge, this DOES NOT budge. Super long wearing. My only complaints are the packaging. You really don't need a lot of product & the pump tends to give you way too much, and I also have issues with the smell. It smells acidic to me or something, but it fades after it sets in. Still, even with those little complaints I will continue to repurchase this. Use it for everyday with Mac face and body and it looks FLAWLESS. C3 in face and body for reference. NC30 for this concealer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dona82 on 9/13/2014 5:38:00 AM more reviews by Dona82

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product, don't get me wrong! I love many mac products too!, especially the select cover up concealer. I used to hear so many good reviews on the mac pro longwear,and one day i saved my money and ran to buy it! i can agree with everyone, this concealer covers up so much! doesnt look cakey! its the perfect deal. However, after a few uses of this product i realised that it started to break me out, i didnt want to stop using it because i had loved it so much. i didnt even want to believe that that was what was causing my skin to break out, but once i stopped using it, my skin cleared up a little. Despite that, i would say that it is my favorite concealer and every few months i give it a go just to see if it will break me out again.

The pricing of this product is not too cheap and as a 17 year old, its pretty hard to afford it. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the packaging, many people say that they hate the pump because it gives out lots of concealer, just put a few pumps in a little pot and use as much as you want.

If i ran out of this concealer i wouldnt buy it again, despite my love for it! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 baileykf on 9/10/2014 4:33:00 PM more reviews by baileykf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely LOVE this concealer! The $19 price might turn people away from it, but believe me when I say a little goes. LONG way! It has great pigmentation, and is perfect for covering up problem areas, spot correcting and for under your eyes. I used this as a foundation today, and it's perfect to use when you don't want something as heavy as a foundation, but with more coverage than a bb cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stelladefleur on 9/10/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by stelladefleur

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

NC25 skin for reference using NW20 concealer to neutralize dark undereye cirles and purple shades.

This stuff covers and highlights undereyes like a dream. Its a lovely consistency of medium-thick but feels so seamless on your skin! Doesnt budge and lasts even longer with a setting powder dusted on top. Prolongwear Concealer does not crinkle, settle in my lines or crust up. I also run it down the T-Zone for a highlight and when I am not fake tanned I add a little Clinique moisturizer and use it as a semi BB when mixed together.

Packaging could be better, can never get the last bit out and it pumps out ALOT of product so push down with ease!

Love love love! On my 4th bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missmorganbaby on 9/8/2014 7:56:00 PM more reviews by missmorganbaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My go to concealer. I NEVER use anything else. I've only been wearing concealer for about a year now, and I've tried maybe 2 other brands, but I always come back to this. I'm a NC45 and it matches my skin complexion perfectly. I even use it to highlight my brows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 buytoomuchmakeup on 9/8/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by buytoomuchmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG and go-to concealer.
I've had this for about a year now and I can't even nearly describe how much I love this stuff.
I use it literally every single day since i got it, which was about a year ago and I'm still on my first bottle (I don't use that much since i only dot this under my eyes, everything else would be a waste of product)
You might wanna moisturize your skin or use a primer before you put this on if you're like me and you have a very dry under eye area, but this has never ceased on me before. Set with a powder, this lasts on me a whole day, one time I've worn it for a full 18 (!!!) hours and it was still there. Of course it didn't look like I'd just applied it but it was still a good medium coverage.
Speaking of coverage, this gives you full coverage and has no problems dealing with my dark circles. If I had to cut my makeup collection down to one product it would be this one.
You don't wanna use on blemishes (pimples etc. cause it's too moisturizing, perfect for under the eye)
I'd give this 10 stars if that was possible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nelehhx on 9/8/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by nelehhx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

And yet, another MAC product disappoints me terribly whilst messing up my skin. Shocker.

Yuck, ew, never again. To the people who told me to put this on my under-eyes... there is a special place in hell for you. I did this on a date. A DATE. I assumed that the myriad of positive reviews could do me no wrong and applied it and went. And then I got home and looked in the mirror and realised that I had just wasted the previous 3 hours of my life because no dude wants to date a chick with gross under-eyes THAT AREN'T EVEN CONCEALED THAT WELL.

I have very pale, sensitive skin. I am oily but have dryness around eyes and nose and this stuff looked disgusting on me. Sunk nice and deeply into any eye creases, clung to dry patches, sunk into pores, aged me 20 years, generally looked heinous. It also broke me out, hooray! Oh and the packaging is awful, one pump dispenses enough product to make me and the rest of my very large family look completely dreadful. I have since replaced it with the NARS radiant creamy concealer which looks absolutely gorgeous (praise be to NARS).

Occasionally I forget how bad this stuff is and use it again. When doing this I like to reserve at least an hour afterwards so I have time to sit down and think about all of the other huge mistakes in my life that I repeat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Concealers products