Maybelline • Dream Smooth Mousse • Crème

rated 3.6(658 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 LarissaQ on 5/3/2014 3:41:00 PM more reviews by LarissaQ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

well... for me it worked just OK. Didn't do miracles.
its not my HG, or one of my favorites, i use it at work when i don't have any meeting or an important day.
when i bought it i had chosen by the color of the package, i couldn't test it before. The product itself is a little bit darker than the package, so it didn't really matched my skin tone properly but i was able to use it even though.
I didn't last on my face, i arrive at my work place about 8 a.m and at 11 a.m my face is already shining, and i have just the T zone oily, so i didn't do my any justice.
It oxidizes a lot, the color is already peach toned, but at 11 a.m it was more orange, darker, i could almost remember that spray tann color when i looked at my face.
Maybe if i had chosen the right color it would be better, but despite that, it made me shine, made my face look little bit greasy so... I won't buy this again.
i'm only using this because it's not THAT terrible and i don't like to literally throw away my money, that's the only reason i'm using this. Otherwise i would throw it away because it makes my skin looks greasy and it melts like hell.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 janelee123 on 4/9/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by janelee123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have the most dry and sensitive skin (eczema and perioral dermatitis) so any makeup that works with my skin is probably going to work well for most other people. I bought this at Bartell Drugs for less than $15 so that in itself is great. The consistency is very creamy like it says, almost more liquid than cream. But it doesn't slide all over your face and applies pretty smoothly. It doesn't work miracles but it gets the job done by covering any redness or discoloration. I use this for the redness around my nose in the color Porcelain Ivory and it matches well enough although you should try to get a color a bit lighter than what you actually see in the container, as it tends to run darker than its said color. It doesn't cling to my dry patches or emphasize my lines too much. The product itself works well enough that I could wear it everyday and feel comfortable with how much it hides but the packaging is pretty inconvenient. A small sponge is in the lower compartment and the cream is inside a screw top jar in the top compartment. You have to get out the sponge awkwardly and the product jar is so thin that there's not that much in one of the containers. Overall if you're looking for a cheap temporary foundation until you find a better one, this is a good buy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannahlarson on 3/25/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by hannahlarson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this foundation! It really helps my dry skin and I'm also acne-prone and this fortunately did NOT break me out! The only negative is that it comes off easily, but other than that I would give it 5 stars. It gives my face a subtle glowy look- something I thought I would NEVER have! I love this stuff, would definitely purchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Scadoodles on 3/24/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by Scadoodles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have very dry skin & this product was fantastic for it. I usually moisturize well before & flaking is never a problem. As for the issue people are having with the shade range... I'm not sure if anyone is aware of this but there are two of the palest shades; porcelain ivory an classic ivory. I am glow in the dark pale with very yellow undertones and the porcelain ivory 110 was absolutely perfect for me! No pink undertones at all! I usually set this with powder for staying power and I also use a setting spray, with those two helpers this foundation can last through my 12 hour shifts! Also I apply with a foundation brush and buff in to minimize pores! Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SStar777 on 3/22/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by SStar777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation. Very nice one for dry skin type. Love the quality and shade!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jilly914 on 3/12/2014 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Jilly914

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Like the poster below me said, this isn't a foundation for pale girls. I have light skin, but I'm not super pale. The lightest shade was too dark / peachy for me. A lot of the colors looked very pinky / peachy in the line.

Also, this foundation did not stay on well. It was patchy by mid-afternoon. And it continued to oxidize, so I looked more orange as the day went on. Bummer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarah_417 on 3/11/2014 4:29:00 PM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I HATE this foundation.

I have super dry skin, and thought this might help with flakes. WRONG!

Not for us pale girls! I purchased the lightest shade and it was WAY too dark for me. We are talking like 3-4 shades too dark. I gave it a test run anyway, thinking I might be able to use it with summer right around the corner.

This sunk into my pores and made them look awful. Really unexpected, because large pores have never really been an issue for me. I use porefessional for a few pores on the sides of my nose. Even applying this foundation over porefessional, it sunk in and made them look like craters! I was seeing new pores that I typically don't see!

Now that I am in my 30's I have some fine lines around my eyes. This foundation sunk into them, and instantly made me look older, a LOT older.

This was a new experience for me, because I have never really purchased a product that I despise as much as this one. I tried applying this with my fingers, a foundation brush, even the sponge that comes with it, and just couldn't make it work for me. I have never had a product that made me look SO much worse after applying!

This product is better suited to people with younger skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lollycat99 on 3/6/2014 4:09:00 PM more reviews by lollycat99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product really surprised me because it's great quality for a maybelline product. I never really liked cream foundation cuz they cake up on me but not this one. I haven't experienced any breakouts from this and also the lasting power isn't that great so I have to use a primer. The color I got for me was way to dark so it'll probably look better if I get a lighter shade. Overall a very good product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayliexx on 3/5/2014 9:55:00 AM more reviews by kayliexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I used this foundation, I loved it. It is amazing for dry skin. It gave excellent coverage, went on smoothly, and still looked dewy and lovely after being set. There were a few downfalls for me however. The lastability wasn't great as I get oily on my nose and chin throughout the day, which would cause it to rub right off even after setting it that morning with a mattifying setting powder. The colour selection also isn't great, as the lightest shade I can find (porcelain ivory) is too dark and orangey for me. However for $14CAD it's a steal, and just as good if not better than many high end cream foundations that I've used. I would definitely recommend to any one with dry skin, or to someone who wants to look dewy and fresh in photos or for a special event.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avd1995 on 2/28/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by avd1995

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a crème foundation in a compact to keep in my purse for touch-ups. My foundation tends to come off around my chin area.
I have normal skin, with some dry patches around my nose and chin. This foundation works well for dry skin. It goes on smooth and covers nicely.
I purchased Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse in Classic Ivory Light 2. It is the second lightest shade. As far as color it matches my skin tone pretty well. I think this foundation does run a little dark as far as the shades available.
As far as packing I do like the compact, because it stays in my purse. It is easy to apply with the sponge applicator. I would re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Crème products