Maybelline • Dream Smooth Mousse • Crème

rated 3.6(656 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hannahlarson on 3/25/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by hannahlarson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this foundation! It really helps my dry skin and I'm also acne-prone and this fortunately did NOT break me out! The only negative is that it comes off easily, but other than that I would give it 5 stars. It gives my face a subtle glowy look- something I thought I would NEVER have! I love this stuff, would definitely purchase again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Scadoodles on 3/24/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by Scadoodles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have very dry skin & this product was fantastic for it. I usually moisturize well before & flaking is never a problem. As for the issue people are having with the shade range... I'm not sure if anyone is aware of this but there are two of the palest shades; porcelain ivory an classic ivory. I am glow in the dark pale with very yellow undertones and the classic ivory was absolutely perfect for me! No pink undertones at all! I usually set this with powder for staying power and I also use a setting spray, with those two helpers this foundation can last through my 12 hour shifts! Also I apply with a foundation brush and buff in to minimize pores! Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SStar777 on 3/22/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by SStar777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation. Very nice one for dry skin type. Love the quality and shade!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jilly914 on 3/12/2014 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Jilly914

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Like the poster below me said, this isn't a foundation for pale girls. I have light skin, but I'm not super pale. The lightest shade was too dark / peachy for me. A lot of the colors looked very pinky / peachy in the line.

Also, this foundation did not stay on well. It was patchy by mid-afternoon. And it continued to oxidize, so I looked more orange as the day went on. Bummer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarah_417 on 3/11/2014 4:29:00 PM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I HATE this foundation.

I have super dry skin, and thought this might help with flakes. WRONG!

Not for us pale girls! I purchased the lightest shade and it was WAY too dark for me. We are talking like 3-4 shades too dark. I gave it a test run anyway, thinking I might be able to use it with summer right around the corner.

This sunk into my pores and made them look awful. Really unexpected, because large pores have never really been an issue for me. I use porefessional for a few pores on the sides of my nose. Even applying this foundation over porefessional, it sunk in and made them look like craters! I was seeing new pores that I typically don't see!

Now that I am in my 30's I have some fine lines around my eyes. This foundation sunk into them, and instantly made me look older, a LOT older.

This was a new experience for me, because I have never really purchased a product that I despise as much as this one. I tried applying this with my fingers, a foundation brush, even the sponge that comes with it, and just couldn't make it work for me. I have never had a product that made me look SO much worse after applying!

This product is better suited to people with younger skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lollycat99 on 3/6/2014 4:09:00 PM more reviews by lollycat99

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product really surprised me because it's great quality for a maybelline product. I never really liked cream foundation cuz they cake up on me but not this one. I haven't experienced any breakouts from this and also the lasting power isn't that great so I have to use a primer. The color I got for me was way to dark so it'll probably look better if I get a lighter shade. Overall a very good product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kayliexx on 3/5/2014 9:55:00 AM more reviews by kayliexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I used this foundation, I loved it. It is amazing for dry skin. It gave excellent coverage, went on smoothly, and still looked dewy and lovely after being set. There were a few downfalls for me however. The lastability wasn't great as I get oily on my nose and chin throughout the day, which would cause it to rub right off even after setting it that morning with a mattifying setting powder. The colour selection also isn't great, as the lightest shade I can find (porcelain ivory) is too dark and orangey for me. However for $14CAD it's a steal, and just as good if not better than many high end cream foundations that I've used. I would definitely recommend to any one with dry skin, or to someone who wants to look dewy and fresh in photos or for a special event.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 avd1995 on 2/28/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by avd1995

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a crème foundation in a compact to keep in my purse for touch-ups. My foundation tends to come off around my chin area.
I have normal skin, with some dry patches around my nose and chin. This foundation works well for dry skin. It goes on smooth and covers nicely.
I purchased Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse in Classic Ivory Light 2. It is the second lightest shade. As far as color it matches my skin tone pretty well. I think this foundation does run a little dark as far as the shades available.
As far as packing I do like the compact, because it stays in my purse. It is easy to apply with the sponge applicator. I would re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suzaroos on 2/15/2014 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Suzaroos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me start off by saying that I have obnoxiously, terrible dry skin and it's a huge pain finding a foundation that doesn't make my skin look cakey and more dry than normal. And lawwwd I have tried so many foundations. I absolutely LOVE this one. I use Benefit's Porefessional as a primer under the foundation to keep it on my skin longer and apply it with Sigma's F80 kabuki brush. And I love it. It goes on super smooth, lasts for hours [could be the primer that keeps it on in all honesty] and matches my skin tone perfectly. I don't really have anything negative to say about it at all and that's a rarity given the serious struggle to find a foundation that works for me!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trickmaus on 2/13/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by trickmaus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, the love affair I could have had with this foundation. I love almost everything about it...I love how it feels on my skin, I love that it doesn't transfer when something happens to touch my face, I love that it doesn't dry out my (already desert like) skin, I love how smooth it makes my scarred complexion appear...

The only reason I cannot keep this is, sadly, that even the fairest shade they make is too yellow and just a bit too dark for my very fair skin. (The best colour match for me is MUFE HD in 110, for colour reference) If my skin were just a bit more yellowy, I would happily make this my #1 foundation for daily use. Alas, I must continue my search...

If your skin tends to be in the range of lighter-medium shades, you can probably easily find a match within this line. If you're on the far sides of the spectrum in either direction, you might be at a loss...unfortunately.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Crème products