Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro Base & Top Coat

3.0

27 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Favorite clear coat of mine. It lasts about a week, doesn't chip easily and the brush is the best size I could ask for! Doesn't bubble and doesn't get very gross and thick like some clear coats do. It's thin but durable. Surprised since I paid a little over $3 for it.



on 2/27/2012 4:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this as a top coat and it does seem to help ward off chipping, more or less than others I don't know, but I like it. Drawback is that it does tend to take longer to dry, so I ensure that I have the time before applying. The best part is the brush, it's magnificent, love it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recieved this as a gift from my sister. I do nail art frequently and go through top coats (and white nail polish) very quickly. It's decent. It's best quality is it's brush. Rimmel claims that it has over eight hundred bristles. Although, I don't think I'd stop and count. The brush provides full coverage and coats your nail evenly. The wear is okay. Up to five days. I will probably save this as a backup to Seche Vite.


on 8/21/2011 3:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I ran out of my regular top coat, so I decided to buy Rimmel's Top and Base coat. It was only about 4 dollars at the local Rite Aid, so I thought, why not? Big mistake. When I got home, I decided to try it out, and the drying time was a nightmare. It took forever, and even after I thought it was dry, I accidentally nicked one of my nails. I'm sure it would have been great for a base coat, but as a top coat it was horrible. It didn't make the nails shiny at all, and gave it this dull look. The top coat also left bubbles in the manicure! I get really annoyed with bubbles, and have to redo the whole nail. The brush was amazing, though, because it was flat and large, and that's what made me buy it in the first place, but the formula was not for me.


on 7/19/2011 10:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I did like this top coat quite a bit. I was a little disappointed when 3 days into my manicure I started getting chips when it says it would last for 10 days. I also found that I got some bubbling if I applied to thick or applied another coat a day later which was kind of disappointing :( All in all its a decent top coat but not so much for a base coat.
EDIT~~!! I put down the score because I found something SO much better. Beauty Secrets fast dry. Its cheaper found at Sally's and is so much better. No sheet marks, drys all the layers of polish really fast. The shine lasts, AND NO BUBBLES!!!


on 6/28/2011 2:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The packaging is beautiful and the brush applicator is genius. The first 2 weeks was fantastic... and then the formula became thicker and thicker and then came the bubbles. I use it as a base coat but not as a top coat because it's sticky and takes a while to dry. Staying power is not 10 days as it claims. I would say it stays put for about 1 week. I'll finish this bottle and try another brand.


on 6/12/2011 12:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use this as a top and base coat. Love the brush. Its wider and flatter than your average nail polish brush so it makes applying neater and faster Square bottle package is cute. Formula is alright. Gives a nice shiny after but I hate that it takes forever too dry. Don't put too many coats because it will give you air bubbles so just be sure to give enough drying time between each coats.


on 3/19/2011 3:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

overall, this is a pretty good top coat. however, i've only had this for less than a year and it got very thick. now whenever i use it, it's too hard to apply and makes bubbles because it's so thick.


on 3/19/2011 1:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I personally love Rimmel Lasting Finish Polishes. I think the claims for "10 day" nail color hold very true. So, I was very excited to try this top coat, thinking it would seal my nail polish for 10 days (or at least a week). Well, i've used it a few times now and i'm really dissatisfied with it. Depending on what polish I use, this top coat will melt my nail polish and either cause it to be streaky or make it take forever to dry. I have had fine results without the melting issue the other times and my nails looked great and glossy.. But the shine lasted far less than my Sally Hansen or Seche Vite top coat. It lasted a couple days before all of my nails started chipping. So for a top coat, this is a no-go for me. I also let my mom use it and she told me today that "the top coat I let her use is terrible". She said it took her nails forever to dry, and she didnt move her hands for an hour and then when she went to bed - every single one of her nails had imprints on them and that has never happened to her before. The reason i'm giving this two lipsticks instead of one, is that maybe it makes a good base coat. But, I wouldn't know.. I rarely ever apply a base coat. I may try it in the future and update this review to let you know.


on 2/6/2011 2:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

There are so many great reviews on this product, and i'm surprised.
For the price of the product, it's great. I also love how shiny it makes my nails, but this takes FOREVER to dry. I'm not a very patient person, so i've found myself skipping the top coat because I simply don't want to wait for it to dry. The brush on this product is great though. It's quite large and easy to work with. I'm not interested in buying it again though. I think there are better top coats out there.


Back to Top