BeneFit Cosmetics • Some Kind-a Gorgeous Lite • Crème

rated 3.1(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 achou94 on 9/13/2011 11:47:00 PM more reviews by achou94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i LOVE THIS PRODUCT! i got it for my birthday back in march and i fell in love. it's too light and sheer to use as just foundation so i use it as a concealer and it works perfectly. it's even reduced the amount of blemishes i get. it gives me that picture perfect finish and the lightest colour matches my skin tone perfectly. it's lasted me until the beginning of september (only god knows how) and i've purchased another one. the only problem is it's on the expensive side for such a small compact but i'll definitely continue to use this!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KGJxx on 7/16/2011 5:20:00 PM more reviews by KGJxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't really rate this product highly, it's way too sheer and doesn't make a lot of difference to my skin. I guess the colour suits my pale skin very well, but that may just be because you can barely see it. I'm not even sure what it's meant to be, it's described as "foundation faker". So obviously it's not meant for full coverage anyway, but I find it a bit useless.. and it smells a bit weird. However, I do enjoy the texture and feel of it, it is very silky and melts into a powdery finish on the skin. I love the packaging, the compact is cute and has a large mirror and handy sponge hidden underneath. I would not buy this again as I don't find it to be much use and £23.50 is way too expensive for such a little amount of product - the pan is very shallow so I expect if you use it regularly with the sponge it would disappear quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 des80 on 7/13/2011 9:11:00 PM more reviews by des80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I first discovered this compact a couple of weeks ago I was blown away. I loved it. Absolutely perfect match to my skin. NW20. Applied evenly for a flawless finish. I am 31 with dry skin and fine lines and usually these types of foundations are a no no. It did not make me look older, dryer, or sink into fine lines like similar creme to powder foundations do. I wanted to yell my love of this product from the mountain tops!

Okay, now the bad. I hit pan after two weeks. At 28 dollars that is CRAZY! The sponge eats up this product. I started using a brush and I think that helps. I said I would buy again and I will try it ONE more time only using a brush. If I can't make it last at least a couple of months than I won't buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 7/7/2011 1:47:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been trying to lighten-up my summer makeup routine, so I decided to try Some Kind-A Gorgeous Lite, a product which I have been constantly overlooking at Sephora, since I generally prefer liquid (ie. squeeze tube) products or, if it's in a compact, I prefer a powder.

Even though these products are supposed to match a variety of complexion tones, I can see why people had a hard time finding a match. The original ("Medium") one was waaaay to dark for me (I am about NC20, light golden-tone skin), and this Lite one looked very pink in the pan, so I was wary, but luckily, on my skin, it seemed to blend out ok.

As others have mentioned, it doesn't give super coverage. The coverage is akin to a light tinted moisturizer or a tinted primer. I don't have terrible skin, but do have enlarged pores on/around my nose, dark undereye circles, and a couple of acne scars. For the most part, SKAG addresses the enlarged pores by filling them in a bit, but for the circles and discolorations, I definitely need to follow up with a concealer.

This product basically just evens out the texture (ie. if you're oily, it will mattify a little) and the color/tone of the skin. If you're looking for heavy coverage, or to look like you have perfectd doll skin, then this is not the product. SKAG just makes your skin look like "your skin, but better."

SKAG does not have SPF protection, and the pan that it is in is actually rather shallow, so you don't get a lot of product for the size of the compact. I find applying with fingertips or the included sponge works well for me. I've been using this every other day for a couple of weeks and have barely made a dent, so I think the people who are going through this in a few weeks are using too much product.

Overall, I would most likely repurchase. This is available for $28USD at Sephora.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* domokun_nyc on 6/14/2011 11:05:00 AM more reviews by domokun_nyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this based on positive experience with the darker shade. It was too dark, but the consistency was very creamy and covered enough of what I needed, didn't feel heavy like foundation, and didn't emphasize lines or pores. I was thrilled when they came out with the lite version and snapped it up.

Unfortunately, there seems to be something different in the formulation in order to have the lighter color. It immediately sinks into my pores and lines and makes my skin look dry and flaky. I've tried using it with several types of moisturizer, exfoliating first, etc. and nothing really helps. I've tried using their sponge, my fingers, a foundation brush to no avail. Every month or so, I give it another shot, but the result just doesn't look good, just flaky without any real coverage. The packaging is cute, but you hit pan pretty quickly for $28.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betsyab on 5/13/2011 1:28:00 PM more reviews by betsyab

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm really surprised at all the negative comments about this product. First off, if you have dry skin, you need to treat the dry skin. Try switching up your moisturizer, or more importantly switch your cleanser. Putting a light foundation or powder on dry skin is just going to accentuate it, it is not the products fault. Second, if a product smells bad, it has spoilt! Return to the point of purchase immediately and request a new product or a refund. This make-up does not have a noticeable scent.

With that said, I have normal/combination skin with some minor breakouts in the T-zone. however, I have to say I'm pretty fortunate and get compliments on my skin when not wearing make-up, I am religious with a skin care regimen. I like a foundation to just even out some redness in my cheeks, nose, and chin, and this does the trick. I love it! This one also brings down any breakouts I have, with this and a little concealer you won't notice. I find that I put it on and it lasts all day. I never look greasy, I never look matte. I look like my skin, only better. The only other foundation that I've been crazy about is the Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation, I love that one for the SPF, and it has the same level of coverage as this one.

Give this a whirl if you take care of your skin, and like a natural look. If you want to look more made-up, keep searching.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Phanatical28 on 3/28/2011 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I ADORE this. I must say this first: my skin is pretty perfect. I don't say that to brag, but it's very clear with no breakouts and a very even tone. I don't really need or want heavy, thick coverage at all. I feel like many foundations just sit on my skin and look obvious and mask-like, which is definitely not what I want. I just like to have a bit of a layer between my face/primer & blush, as I feel other products apply better and easier with that layer. I would say this product is its own category between "tinted moisturizer" and "foundation," and it's just perfectly what I wanted. If you're looking for something to neutralize a lot of redness, or hide blemishes/break-outs, you're going to be sorely disappointed as this will in no way cover that. It's not meant to, really. It basically buffs and adds very, very sheer coverage.

I was nervous at first with the "only three colors fit all" idea, but when I tried it on, it really did blend in effortlessly and seamlessly with my skintone. In the winter I'm an NC20-25, going to NC25-30ish in the summer, and I suspect I'll have to bump up to Medium in this for the warmer months. This product is SO light and airy, and I really feel as if I have nothing on, instead of having a thick, obvious, or greasy mask (even though I always apply my foundation very lightly, it still always feels so unnatural - which of course it is, but you know what I mean!). We all know those girls who look overly done up, in places like the gym or on the beach, and I feel this is perfect for me for those occasions when I still want a bit of something, but not a full face. This really is perfect for me for a normal work day, or a relaxing night out. For more special events or nights clubbing I will definitely revert to my MUFE or MAC foundations, but I feel like with this, I can let my skin breathe. It feels so light, and applies so easily and smoothly. The cream-to-powder formulation even feels moisturizing while on. It hasn't made me extra oily or break out in the least bit at all.

A con to this product is that it seems I fly through it, as it's very light and easy to apply lots and lots without even seeming like you're overdoing it (which I guess can also be a plus - it's pretty hard to get any sort of "cakey" look). The second con for me is that, when you rub it with a finger or the sponge, it turns liquid-y, which leads me to believe that it could probably melt in any sort of warmth very quickly. I get a little nervous pressing the sponge down into it since it is so soft, but that's not too much of a problem.

The actual compact itself is fine, but I think the packaging is a bit cheesy. I don't know, I can't really get into lots of kitschy packaging. I'd rather my stuff look sleek and professional, but that doesn't mean I won't give products a chance, or in this case, continue to use something that works great.

Update: I have been using this for a while now and I felt the need to say that I think it has improved my skin even more. I never really had many problems with blemishes, but I did get blackheads around my nose, and it seems now they are much easier to remove and keep away. I really think that it is the lightness of this, and the fact that it is oil-free. My skin feels moisturized even after I remove it, and it just feels more supple and willing to work with me for extractions. Another plus!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fierymermaid on 2/19/2011 4:59:00 PM more reviews by fierymermaid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is nice in theory...light coverage, dries to a powder finish...in reality, it looks like I put crisco on my face about an hour after application. The longer it's on my face, the more it streaks and the worse it looks. I wanted to like it so much, but it was just a huge let-down. This is becoming a common theme with BeneFit products for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mademoisellenicole on 2/14/2011 8:35:00 AM more reviews by mademoisellenicole

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

I tried the slightly darker original colour first and liked it on me cause it is really natural. In winter I get white as a snowbunny though and wanted sth that was even lighter.
I love the water basis of this cause it evens out the skin but does not look covered or pasty. it remains smooth and natural without and sophisticated transparent finished with powder. It gives You Your natural skin but better. Not for who wants sth really covering. But for a fresh nature enhancing finish. The first time I find a foundation that is so light in colour and texture and does not make me look like chalk princess.
Very pretty
Love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TreshaMarie on 2/4/2011 6:04:00 AM more reviews by TreshaMarie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I liked this foundation. It gives light coverage that smoothes skin ever so lightly. I can't use this for everyday foundation because I have problem skin and the coverage isn't enough to cover blemishes and other problems I may have. I use this when my skin is behaving and it does look quite nice. I would recommend this to someone who doesn't need much coverage but wants something to smooth and complement their skin. Overall I would buy this again, that is, if my skin cooperates! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Crème products