MAC • Marine Life [DISCONTINUED] • Highlighters

rated 4.3(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 7/15/2010 8:43:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous mineralized highlighter/blush. Some MAC mineral colors I have found flattering to me - others not. This one is such a pretty color for summer and isn't too glittery for day wear. Two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bradzgurl on 7/15/2010 7:31:00 PM more reviews by bradzgurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This makes me feel like some kind of mermaid or something. Everytime I open up the compact I imagine myself diving under the sea and swimming in the coral reefs. I don't know how they did it but they really managed to put the ocean and waves and everything in this thing to trully make it marine life...very appropriate name! very pretty on the skin with just a light sheen. last a long time to. and the compact is just so pretty sometims i take it out just to look at it. That seahorse was etched by an artist or something. I've only used it 2 times now and I'm not sure how many other times I'll use it since its for collectors and probably should be put away. This is like something I could give my daughter or something someday. =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 downtownbebebrown on 7/13/2010 11:28:00 AM more reviews by downtownbebebrown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Where did all the hype go? ML is very beautiful and worth it =) Now that i have worn it more than 4 times... I must say its a stand out in my stash for '10 summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pinkgoats on 7/9/2010 1:11:00 PM more reviews by pinkgoats

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

All hype aside, I really do like this product. I think this is marketed as a "highlighting powder" but I am pale (not sure of what MAC shade... but I am 38 in MUFE F&B) so I use this as a blush. I have to say, that while it looks beautiful in the pan, I HATED the gold overspray. I made the mistake of swiping my brush over the fresh surface and applying it to my face... there was chunky glitter ALL OVER MY FACE. I seriously looked like I belonged in a Mariah Carey video circa 2002. I immediately rubbed it off my face and swiped all the remaining overspray off with a tissue. The product underneath without the frills is beautiful! A nice light pink color and a darker coral color... I usually swipe my brush and pick up both colors. Use a light hand though, especially if you are pale... I find that this is VERY pigmented. Anyways, staying power is nice and overall I really love this as a blush. Is it worth a kajillion dollars on ebay or swapping your life's worth of rejected makeup purchases for? No...let's face it a) it will probably be rereleased some day and/or reincarnated as something else and b) there are only so many colors in the world... hence DUPES!!! I think I'm lucky to have gotten it but I wouldn't have died if I didn't :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Phanatical28 on 7/9/2010 12:23:00 PM more reviews by Phanatical28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I adore Marine Life. Yes, the gold overlay does come off with the first use, but it's okay. The product is so pigmented, only a little is needed each application. I think that the price, I believe $28 USD, is justified because the pan is pretty large, and with being able to use the color so sparingly and not needing to pack it on, it will last a very long time. I wouldn't pay anything outrageous for it as I'm sure you can easily dupe it somehow, but if you can get your hands on for a reasonable price, I'd go for it. It's a lovely summer color, especially with a tan (I'm NC20/TEMPTU 003 normally but now have a bit of color), but I think it will look equally as nice in the winter when I am back to my paler shades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slimchicklovesMAC on 7/6/2010 1:13:00 PM more reviews by slimchicklovesMAC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this highlighter!!! Despite all the hype, it is a very nice, natural looking blush, if applied lightly for WOC. I was very surprised. Most blushes are too pink on my C7 skin, but this doesn't look blushy or clownish at all. It looks like the sun kissed my skin or like I have a healthy glow. It goes well with a variety of shadow and lip colors. I can see myself using this daily. I'm using sparingly b/c I don't know if they will repromote. But GGGs and DDDs if you can get your hands on this, don't pass it up. And don't let the gold overspray scare you. If applied correctly it looks really nice, but sadly it goes away with 5 or six applications. IMHO this is more of a blush than a highlighter. It is similar to MAC Notable blush, but more coral.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swight on 7/3/2010 7:23:00 PM more reviews by swight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I <3 marine life! First, I was attracted to this producted from, ofcourse the sea horse. But when i used it I found it was very pigmented! Which worked in favor for me ! I now use it as a blush and treasure it. If you can get your hands on it and need a nice pinky-peach blush, GET IT! ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Yushimi on 6/29/2010 8:14:00 PM more reviews by Yushimi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Beautiful peachy/pink sheen when applied.

I'm NC25 usually and NC30 in the summer.

Loving the packaging but the product itself is awesome too.

More pigmented than usual from the other products at MAC.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bea2ls82 on 6/28/2010 12:39:00 PM more reviews by bea2ls82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

even though i gave this a fairly high review, dare i say this is over rated? seriously, i love the coral part but i took the gold overspray off with one swipe of a stiff brush (only to find i really missed it when it was gone) and the pink barely shows up on me. i would prefer if the coral part was just released as a blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SierraD on 6/26/2010 11:49:00 PM more reviews by SierraD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful. Adds a nice pop of color. Like another reviewer said, I had to brush off the gold over-spray (too much sparkle). Would definitely purchase again at retail price. Not worth paying those crazy online prices.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products