MAC • Sheer Plum • Lipstick

rated 3.8(62 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 specialkalle on 10/27/2006 4:20:00 PM more reviews by specialkalle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I really love this color, which is not plum at all really. More like a red wine shade. I like to use balm first and then a coat of the lipstick but it wears away rather quickly. I like the sheer look. I was upset about the lasting power so i tried using lip liner underneath, the lipstick, blot- more lipstick, and the color was a lot darker of course and i didn't like that much. The only thing good about this lipstick is the color- otherwise, it doesn't stay on for more than a few minutes and is kind of worthless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 5/21/2006 2:59:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Mac SA suggested this to me after both Sophisto and Sundressing were too bright berry on my pigmented lips. For whatever reason, Sheer Plum showed up just as the two others had - too bright. I guess I'll just have to keep on looking!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fivezero on 4/25/2006 11:09:00 PM more reviews by fivezero

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Love, love, love this lipstick - it's a no-brainer and goes with practically everything. I'm NC30/35 and it's one of my HG lipsticks. I don't get why it's called plum, however, because it is a warm red to me. I'm running kind of low, though, and haven't tried the recently reformulated version of Sheer Plum. Hope it's just as good, or better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theminx on 12/31/2005 3:24:00 AM more reviews by theminx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Misleading name - this is neither sheer nor plum! Having said that, this colour sure is hard to describe. Most of the time on my DDD skintone it's a natural-looking warm pinky-brown, but under some lighting it's more a reddish brown. Not impressed by the lack of staying power though. If you like Polished Up, Desire and Spice It Up you might like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pc1546 on 1/6/2005 7:24:00 PM more reviews by pc1546

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brownish plum colour. And because the color is a deep tone, the coverage is not sheer as the name implies. I also like the moist texture and shine. The negatives are that the moisture and shine last about an hour (and that's without eating or drinking) and there is a slight vanilla scent that I don't care for. I would buy other colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dior_duchess on 12/27/2004 1:14:00 AM more reviews by dior_duchess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I will agree with the statement that the name is highly misleading-- I detect no purple tones in this lipstick. Lately I let my hair go back to its natural color (medium brown), so I decided to dig through my brown lipsticks in hopes of finding something more suitable for my new mature look. I found this. It's a medium brown with some berry undertones. It goes on a bit sheer, making it not as intense as I thought, so I like it. It's not an everyday color, per say, but it's a pretty color with good staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 12/12/2004 6:06:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The most gorgeous chocolate, rouge red berry shade of lipstick ever! It's sheer and it covers well at the same time. It's definitely one of my favorites.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 10/11/2004 4:48:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

this gives a very similar look to Cliniques Black Honey Almost l
Lipstick...but it lasts longer than Black Honey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jasmin3w4 on 7/31/2004 6:29:00 PM more reviews by jasmin3w4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really liked this color. It looks dark in the tube but goes on sheerer plum color that is not overpowering. Unfortunately, I left this in my car on a hot day and it melted. I have to use a lip brush to get the rest of it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Star5181 on 5/28/2004 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Star5181

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The name "Sheer Plum" is very misleading - I was hoping for a plum lipstick, but this was reddish-brown! Not at all what I was expecting, and it just doesn't work for my cool coloring. MCA does have great quality lipsticks but I wouldn't buy this one again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products