MAC Sheer Plum

3.8

62 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/27/2006 4:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all, I really love this color, which is not plum at all really. More like a red wine shade. I like to use balm first and then a coat of the lipstick but it wears away rather quickly. I like the sheer look. I was upset about the lasting power so i tried using lip liner underneath, the lipstick, blot- more lipstick, and the color was a lot darker of course and i didn't like that much. The only thing good about this lipstick is the color- otherwise, it doesn't stay on for more than a few minutes and is kind of worthless.



on 5/21/2006 2:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The Mac SA suggested this to me after both Sophisto and Sundressing were too bright berry on my pigmented lips. For whatever reason, Sheer Plum showed up just as the two others had - too bright. I guess I'll just have to keep on looking!


on 4/25/2006 11:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Love, love, love this lipstick - it's a no-brainer and goes with practically everything. I'm NC30/35 and it's one of my HG lipsticks. I don't get why it's called plum, however, because it is a warm red to me. I'm running kind of low, though, and haven't tried the recently reformulated version of Sheer Plum. Hope it's just as good, or better!


on 12/31/2005 3:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Misleading name - this is neither sheer nor plum! Having said that, this colour sure is hard to describe. Most of the time on my DDD skintone it's a natural-looking warm pinky-brown, but under some lighting it's more a reddish brown. Not impressed by the lack of staying power though. If you like Polished Up, Desire and Spice It Up you might like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2005 7:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this brownish plum colour. And because the color is a deep tone, the coverage is not sheer as the name implies. I also like the moist texture and shine. The negatives are that the moisture and shine last about an hour (and that's without eating or drinking) and there is a slight vanilla scent that I don't care for. I would buy other colours.


on 12/27/2004 1:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I will agree with the statement that the name is highly misleading-- I detect no purple tones in this lipstick. Lately I let my hair go back to its natural color (medium brown), so I decided to dig through my brown lipsticks in hopes of finding something more suitable for my new mature look. I found this. It's a medium brown with some berry undertones. It goes on a bit sheer, making it not as intense as I thought, so I like it. It's not an everyday color, per say, but it's a pretty color with good staying power.


on 12/12/2004 6:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

The most gorgeous chocolate, rouge red berry shade of lipstick ever! It's sheer and it covers well at the same time. It's definitely one of my favorites.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2004 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

this gives a very similar look to Cliniques Black Honey Almost l
Lipstick...but it lasts longer than Black Honey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2004 6:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really liked this color. It looks dark in the tube but goes on sheerer plum color that is not overpowering. Unfortunately, I left this in my car on a hot day and it melted. I have to use a lip brush to get the rest of it out.


on 5/28/2004 1:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The name "Sheer Plum" is very misleading - I was hoping for a plum lipstick, but this was reddish-brown! Not at all what I was expecting, and it just doesn't work for my cool coloring. MCA does have great quality lipsticks but I wouldn't buy this one again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

40 reviews
Back to Top