L'Oreal • Studio Secrets Anti-Redness Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 2.8(101 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 LoveMakeup4Ever on 4/24/2013 1:26:00 AM more reviews by LoveMakeup4Ever

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have a lot of redness on my cheeks. This didn't do much for it. Mine as well use foundation and concealer by itself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xannieee on 3/2/2013 10:01:00 PM more reviews by xannieee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I put it on some red blemishes and red scarring and stuff and it hides it a lot when I apply my foundation. It's a great color corrector (=

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andersonk1987 on 3/2/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by andersonk1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use it on my cheeks. It does cover redness quite well, and I was surprised and happy when I noticed it made pores less visible also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 2/9/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I read the reviews before purchasing this, and I bought it anyway. I'm glad I did. This works better than the Stila correcting primer, Smashbox Adjust, and the correcting primer by Almay. I think people who don't like this are using it incorrectly. I apply this in a very thin layer to my t-zone, cheeks and chin. Then I apply a second very thin layer to each area. I give it a few seconds to blend in and dry, and then I apply my foundation. The result is my foundation applies perfectly and my skin looks even and smooth. This is not meant to be applied in a thick layer, nor should it be used all over the face. Applied judiciously and carefully, putting just a tiny dot on the finger and blending in lightly, it works as promised. The pump is messy, so expect to clean it out from time to time with a Q-tip. This is a great value compared to other similar products, and it works better than anything else I've tried. Also, it's worth nothing that this will not make your foundation apply more smoothly, it does not conceal pores, and it does not extend the wear of makeup. However, it covers redness, and it does it very well.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amyohmegee on 1/8/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by amyohmegee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

General opinion: Pump can be adjusted to give you the right amount if you have self-control but the glitter is a turn off.
Pro:
- It is widely available at most drug-stores
- L'Oreal gives you a lot of product. I don't think I'll be finishing this any time soon.
- You use it BEFORE your foundation, and I've had no problems with it not staying on or making me oilier.
Con:
- Expensive for a drug store brand! Can be bought between $10-15, although it is cheaper than Smashbox!
- Why do you have glitter? It doesn't make sense.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 niccigilland on 12/16/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by niccigilland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I dislike everything about this product. The pump puts out about three times as much product as I need. It also did nothing to correct my redness, and made my skin look very greasy. I tested it with a few different foundations (Revlon ColorStay, MUFE HD and Too Faced Amazing Face), and they all slid around or melted off during the day, and these are foundations that I never have problems with. I bought this without reading reviews (unusual for me), and I regret it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maplebunny18 on 12/15/2012 10:06:00 AM more reviews by maplebunny18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have broken capillaries at the bottom of my cheeks and this did not hide them whatsoever. Also, when applying to my face it either made my face look greenish or really pale. As a primer I don't think it really did much to keep my translucent powder lasting longer. Overall, it did nothing for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 youngpunkk on 11/18/2012 6:30:00 PM more reviews by youngpunkk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I just bought this the other day while at Target because no other brand had a green concealer that I could find, and I'm almost out of the one I've been using (NYC stick, if you're curious). This is super runny, which surprised me, and therefore a lot of it comes out in one pump, which seems wasteful since I don't want a lot of primer on my face. It feels kind of greasy once it's on the face, which I'm not a huge fan of. Primers are supposed to absorb and diminish oil, not feel like they're made of oil.

It blends into the skin nicely, and doesn't leave a green cast. However, it has glitter in it! WHY DOES IT HAVE GLITTER IN IT?! I don't want glitter in my foundation and concealer, so why would I want it in my primer? Total turn off. And, honestly, the glitter is the reason why I won't be repurchasing this when it's gone. Bummer.

I feel like it primed my skin well, though, and I didn't experience any break through grease or shine throughout the day. I powdered my nose and chin area (my oiliest spots) maybe once all day, and they weren't even that shiny.

I'm not sure that it canceled out my redness as well as the NYC concealer I'd been using, due maybe to how thin this product is. But it did work well on my cheeks, where I have a bit of redness, but not as much redness as my chin and nose areas do.

This is also a fairly pricey product for something drugstore. Compared to the NYC green concealer I love, which I paid a dollar for, this was about $13. If it worked well, I'd be okay with the price. But for such a small tube and a product that doesn't entirely live up to hopes and expectations, it's too expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MakeupMonsterxoxo on 11/15/2012 2:25:00 AM more reviews by MakeupMonsterxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Packaging: A tiny tube with a pump. I find it easy to use and the pump allows you to control the amount of product that it dispenses with ease.

Smell: No smell from what I can tell.

Consistency: Very runny.

Coverage: Provides little coverage. You have to layer this product to notice a change in redness.

Color: It's obviously green. Haha. Which is used to cancel out any redness in your skin. I didn't notice any green on my skin when I applied this product, so I didn't have to use concealer to cover up the product's color.

Finish: Matte, however it contains shimmers which I can notice on my face.

Price: $12.49 at Walgreens so it's not the cheapest drugstore product out there.

Final thoughts: I don't think it's worth the money. I have redness around my nose and for some odd reason, my cheeks are always flushed so I thought, "Aha! This would be a perfect product to cancel out that redness," however it doesn't conceal much and you need to layer it on to notice any changes in your skin tone. It's also quite pricey for such a tiny amount of product. I'd rather just use normal concealer to cover up any redness. Also, it contains noticeable sparkles. I want my skin to look flawless, not like Edward Cullen. Lol.

Yay/nay?: Nay :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 caileydawn on 11/10/2012 4:31:00 AM more reviews by caileydawn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I HATE this primer.. it's super runny, and if you have dry, flakey skin, run from this product. The green is overwhelming, and even if you just target a certain area of redness, it ends up looking like a patch of discolored skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Primer/ Corrector products