The Body Shop • Tea Tree Skin Clearing Toner • Toners

rated 3.5(83 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ichigocutie on 10/7/2013 10:36:00 AM more reviews by ichigocutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried the old and the new version of this toner. I really like the old version and finished 1 big bottle and 2 travel size bottles and of course they reformulated the ingredients, they add super fine baking soda in to the mix. you have to shake the bottle before you put it on the cotton pad,the SA told me that it'll help control oil. so I gave it a shot and honestly it didn't make any difference on how long my face stays oil free during the day. I was using this toner day & night and then out of randomness I started to think that because I have very large pores and clogged prone if I use this at night the powder that's in the mix will sit on my skin and blocked my pores. I like using baking soda as scrubs but I know that I washed it away but with this toner I let it sit on my skin. At the end I was forcing myself to finish it by not shaking the bottle and only pour out the green liquid. From all the tea tree line of products this is the one I will not repurchase. why do they have to mess with the formulation?? smh

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RenattaK on 10/2/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by RenattaK

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

bought almost the entire tea tree line, the oil, the body wash, the face scrub, the toner, the night lotion and the day lotion. I heard great reviews on the line and gave it a shot because I had tiny bumps along my cheeks and the occasional blemish here and there. Looking back now, I was trying to fix a problem that was very small... And in doing so I made it worse tenfold. I began breaking out when I fist started to use the line, but I assumed it was "purging" my skin of all of the impurities so I continued use. After 2 1/2 weeks, I had multiple cystic pimples (three on my left cheek, three on my forehead, six (yes six!) on my right cheek) but I still assumed it was purging. After a month of continual use my face was destroyed. I have never had acne like this. After a month of stopping the tea tree line the pimples will not go away, and there are even some new ones, along with new acne scars. I honestly don't know what happened... I used everything accordingly and never skipped a day. This line changed my skin for the worse. I am now seeing a dermatologist to attempt to fix what the $60+ tea tree line caused. I urge anyone with sensitive skin to stay far away from this product and I recommend to everyone to get a sample and patch test before buying. In conclusion, i wish I had never bought the tea tree line as it has caused permanent damage to my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pay17 on 8/18/2013 1:54:00 AM more reviews by Pay17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Love it. It stings at first in a good way and I see a difference immediately after I use it. It feels like it removes all the dirt and sweat from the day and leaves you feeling sooo fresh

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shorty87 on 7/14/2013 2:01:00 PM more reviews by shorty87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a decent toner. I've been using it about a month now. I got it 50% off during one of The Body Shop's thankfully frequent sale days :) It has a medicinal tea tree oil scent which doesn't linger once it dries on the skin. The smell doesn't offend me but I can see how it might offend others. It is good at removing any residue makeup your cleaner did not get. As it dries, it creates a warming sensation on my skin (not burning, just warming). I can see how this would inflame those with sensitive skin so I don't recommend people with very dry and sensitive skin to use this. I do not see a particular noticeable difference in my acne however so I'm not sure how well this works for cleaning the skin. I will probably try other toners to see how it compares to this one so I'm not in a big rush to run out and repurchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 martini8787 on 7/9/2013 4:35:00 PM more reviews by martini8787

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This works well and I love the beliefs of The Body Shop but I can't say this is any better or worse than other toners I've used. However I use most the of the tea tree line and I am very happy with what I have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Liaxox on 7/8/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by Liaxox

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Good product,but it dried my face a little. It burns when you apply it,but the reason it's a good product is that it did help with the redness of my face and my acne when i used it once or twice a week. Not a daily product for sure

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherryblosom on 7/2/2013 8:45:00 AM more reviews by cherryblosom

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great organic toner for acne-prone skin.Also very cheap and affordable .It obviously does not clear your acne just like that because it's only one of the step that we need to clear our acne so it alone cannot do all the work.I have used so many toners from high end to drug store brand this by far has been my favourite and this is my 3rd purchase .After using this toner my skin has been clearing .It has a strong tea tree smell but you get used to it soon .How ever I only use this at night time( pairing it with tea tree clearing lotion) as it does not create suitable base for my make up for daytime.If I do want to use this at day time I pair it with moisturising oil free moisturiser which wont clog my pores like Simple Spotless Skin Anti-Blemish Moisturiser .I would recommend it 100%% Specally if your a teen with acne prone skin.Additional detail my friend has also been using this brand lately and I have seen improvement in her skin.
pros- organic ,cheap ,fair trade,actually works!!,clears acne ,reduces inflamination
cons- drys out skin,strong tea tree smell

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 holaitsstephxo on 6/27/2013 9:18:00 AM more reviews by holaitsstephxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I've just re-bought this product as I stopped using this product for 2 days and I started getting breakouts!! So, I bought it again and I no longer have that breakout and my skin has cleared up in that area which is great! This toner doesn't get rid of my blemishes though, and it doesn't get rid of all my spots but it does prevent breakouts as you guys read above. It cleans my skin well too and makes my skin feel smoother after using!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 micoH on 6/24/2013 2:26:00 PM more reviews by micoH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I specifically made an account just to write an interview on this product.

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT (or the entire line of tea tree, in fact).

I'm certainly not a random hater hating on this product, but this product has surely done some very permanent damage to my skin.

I have very oily skin and am acne prone, I used this product for around 1 year, using it religiously day and night, as it did somewhat clear my skin, stripping all the oils, in fact i used the entire line of the tea tree products for a whole year. The result? I started having REALLY big pores, I somehow had extremely clogged pores, at that time i did not really know why my face was having little bumps and itches, kinda like follicles were falling (ew) especially in the winter, and creating my big pores. The second ingredient on this product is alcohol, it also has witch hazel extract (contains ethanol, great! more alcohol!). Youre pretty much rubbing alcohol on your skin!

my pores are so disgustingly huge right now, though its been a year since i stopped, through a few laser treatments they are still huge, you could see my pores standing 10 feet away from me, literally orange textured skin ):

sadly, having some acne is alright, they can be cured in the long term and what not, but pores...they are pretty permanent, you could only "minimize their appearance", even through lasers results only go so far.

I was very naive back then, not knowing much about skin, not knowing of Paula's reviews, nor this website, but to look at The Body Shop's official site for a review (tons of fake reviews). Please, everyone, look at many reviews before you buy a product! (im sure many of you know that already)

Their other products are alright though, oh there is a small exception to the tea tree line. The tea tree oil does work with pimples (for spot treatment), but according to Paula, its actually a high dose of alcohol again...

Anyway hope this review helped, I hope i saved a few people out there ):


7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chelzeh on 6/16/2013 10:19:00 AM more reviews by chelzeh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Cleared up my redness it literally 3 days! I was so amazed. The size is handy for on the go too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Toners products