Almay • Intense i-color w/ Light Interplay Technology • Mascara

rated 4.0(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 indigoxiphoid on 4/20/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by indigoxiphoid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My mother got this in a makeup set and gave it to me. I am pleasantly surprised by how good of a mascara this is.

I have fairly sensitive eyes and most mascara will start to irritate me after 3-4 hours but I can leave this on for 6-8 hours and be fine. It gives pretty significant volume and length and doesn't clump. I don't find it to have much glitter like many 'eye colour'-themed products do, which is perfect for me (I kind of despise glitter in makeup).

I can't speak to whether or not this makes my eye colour pop, because I have almost-gray eyes (so there isn't a colour to pick up), and because I tend to wear fairly heavy black makeup which tends to neutralize eye colours.

Overall, however, this is in my top three mascaras ever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LiddleP on 4/17/2012 6:26:00 AM more reviews by LiddleP

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the best mascara I've ever tried. I tend to go for Maybelline mascaras though I'm not sure why, they never seem to do the trick. I usually spend a long time on mascara but this one was great! It only took a few strokes for me to have the longest lashes I've ever had. They were thick, black and very long. I have naturally light brown, short lashes and this is the best result I've ever had with any mascara. It comes off pretty easily, I just use makeup wipes. It didn't flake and even with it being new the texture wasn't gloopy. Very happy with this product, this might be my go to mascara now. I would definitely recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gleekie on 4/4/2012 11:34:00 AM more reviews by gleekie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite mascaras to date!! And so affordable, I use the blackflash (brown eyes) one.

Background: medium-short, thickish lashes that point downish. The ones on my right eye are shorter than my left eye and more annoying

Pros: cruelty free, volumizes, lengthens, doesn't budge ALL day, cheap ($5-$7), wonderful thick brush. Deep black color, gives a separated, volymized lash look, looks like your lashes are just naturally dramatic and kickass

Cons: when it gets older it can flake

Wonderful mascara is all I can say, possibly my HG :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crees on 3/11/2012 3:41:00 PM more reviews by crees

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I normally have to use waterproof mascara, but this stays put as well as waterproof, without me having to add an extra makeup-removing step at night. I am so SO pleased, because the formula is fantastic--thickening, lengthening--and I don't even care if it's enhancing my hazel eyes or not. (Though I think it is.) It's just great mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emilyisagiant on 2/29/2012 1:26:00 PM more reviews by Emilyisagiant

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've tried about 6 or 7 mascaras and the only reason I found this was because it came free with my eyeliner and I had run out of my typical mascara. It does have a larger brush, but it makes eyelashes longer, fuller, and somewhat curls them. I'm very pleased with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 2/19/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this Almay Intense I-Color Mascara in Chocolate Quartz. The brush is very big (much bigger than other mascaras) but I didn't find it too difficult to use. (I did knock off one lippie for the size of the brush.) It separated the lashes very nicely and the mascara did not clump or streak. The formula is neither too thick or thin. I had no problems with flaking and it was very easy to remove.

For me, this mascara did exactly what I wanted it to do. It gave a natural look which just kind of made my eyes "pop". I'm not sure that this product would be good if you actually wanted to layer it on thick or have anything that looked like really thick lashes. I would definitely buy this again and would recommend it to those looking for "better that your normal" lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 princesskitty21 on 1/10/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by princesskitty21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have only tried the shade Black Flash, which is marketed for brown eyes. I don't know about making my eyes look brighter, but I like this mascara a lot because of the formula and brush. I've tried a lot of mascaras, ranging from drugstore to designer, and this is my 2nd favorite. However, my favorite is Armani Eyes to Kill, which is $30! So I think for a much cheaper drugstore product to come in second to it is really impressive. I also have sensitive skin and sensitive eyes, normally even Almay mascaras irritate my eyes, but this one gave me no reaction what so ever. It didn't start to flake over time or anything either. I just think it's a fantastic product for the price. Not only would I recommend it, but I've actually bought it for people before.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chloeemina on 12/25/2011 10:08:00 PM more reviews by chloeemina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara has a wet formula that thickens and lengthens your lashes and the wand is huge. I'm not a fan of the wet formula and the big wand combined - I have small eyes and the mascara tends to get all over my eyelids, so I usually put an index card behind my lashes when applying it to prevent that from happening. However it is easy to remove the mistakes since it's not waterproof. It's also very easy to take off at the end of the day with just water. After about a month or two of everyday use, the bristles of the wand got icky and lost it's shape so I tossed it both times I purchased it. I like what the mascara does for my lashes, it makes them so long that if I look upwards my lashes touch my eyebrows but it is a little clumpy. It's not something I would repurchase often, maybe once in a while. Both times, the mascara came with a free Almay eyeliner that I like, which is the only reason why I purchased it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GlowingCandlelight on 12/4/2011 11:45:00 PM more reviews by GlowingCandlelight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this mascara because at the store where I was it was only $2.99 (US) and came with 15 free eye makeup remover wipes. Also the packaging was just so nice and sleek. So I bought the only color available, which was Chocolate Quartz, which is for green eyes. This mascara said it uses "light interplay technology" and I assumed it was sparkles. The mascara does have sparkles, but they are very fine and can only be seen if looked at closely or if the light reflects off the sparkles at the right angle. They aren't distracting at all and even if you look closely you might not see them. I don't mind, since I'm not a big fan of sparkly mascaras anyway. I have dark medium length lashes, so this mascara looked black on me, fortunately. If you have light lashes, I will imagine it will look dark brown. The mascara brush is HUGE. Compared to Covergirl LashBlast, LashBlast is tiny. I almost laughed, because I thought Covergirl's brush was pretty huge. Nope.
After I got over the enormous size of the brush, I applied. I have a monolid, since I'm Asian, but the brush didn't bother me much. However, if you have small eyes, you might not like it, since it would be hard to apply the mascara with the size of the brush.
The mascara nicely lengthens lashes, adds a lot of volume and thickness, but still manages to look pretty and not spidery and clumpy. If you have any problems with clumps, you can easily slowly wiggle a spoolie up your lashes, and the clumps are gone. The mascara somewhat curls your lashes, too, if you go in an upward motion, pushing the lashes towards your eyelid.
I think it really brought out my eyes.
The only problem is that it slightly flakes, and I HATE flaking and smudging. I wore this to my ballet performances, and it flaked a tiny bit. However, even though I am a huge disliker of any sort of flaking or smudging, I didn't really mind it. If you don't put the mascara on your bottom lashes, I find the mascara barely flakes at all.
Yay! I will definitely buy this again. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilikeringpops on 11/28/2011 10:19:00 AM more reviews by ilikeringpops

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

First, can we all agree that "Light Interplay Technology" is hilarious?

I've had this mascara for a couple weeks and I can't decide if I love it or hate it. The brush is HUGE, which can be a little difficult to get used to, but it's easy to coat your eyelashes with just a swipe or two.

I have very long eyelashes, but they're a little thin, and very pale. I've found that this mascara doesn't lengthen my eyelashes (which for me is good--they don't need any help!) but it does a pretty good job of coloring and thickening them. I usually place the wand at the base of my lashes and wiggle it back and forth gently, without lifting to stretch the lashes. It gives my lashes a nice dark, fluffy look without giving the impression that I'm wearing super-long false lashes.

Overall, I like it. It is very difficult to remove, though. I bought the non-waterproof kind, but rubbing with soap and my normal eye makeup remover doesn't remove it completely. After a few nights of rubbing my eye area until it was sore, I started using some baby oil to finish removing the mascara. Annoyingly, while it's difficult to actually get off, it WILL run when it gets wet.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products