Essie Neo-Whimsical

3.2

24 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/26/2012 8:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the first very pale pink/lilac that I really like. Excellent coverage with two coats and I didn't have any problems with streaking. It is a creme finish and I'm very pleased with it. Much easier to apply than something like Mod Pink for me. Highly recommended.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 12/17/2011 2:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Usually I don't go for Essie polishes because they tend to be streaky and watery, they usually take a lot of work to get them looking nice.

I have been admiring Neo-Whimsical since it was released but New Zealand never got the collection in. It was only when I saw it in person I saw how pretty it was. A light lilac creme.

I put it on for the first time last night. 3 coats and it could have used a fourth because it still had bald patches and minor streaks. Sometimes just applying top coat can get rid of those, and it did but only a little bit.

I am determined to get this polish to work better. I suggest layering it over ridgefiller or you could apply one coat of a sheer polish first. This would help to build the colour up quicker and hopefully give it something more to 'grab' on to and not give you bald patches.

I absolutely adore the colour. Other lilacs I have tried tended to be too blue or too yellow, Neo-Whimsical is just right and what I have been looking for all these years.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2011 9:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shade. It's a pastel pinky lilac and is so pretty. It's one of my fav shades to wear. I haven't seen many photo's online of it that capture how pretty it is, def give it a try. I chose it over Lilacism since the pink tone looked more appealing to me and I'm very happy I got it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

If a nail polish manages to survive more than 3 days on my short nails with some flakes near the new growth,it's a wonderful polish which is worth re-buying. This one is definitely not.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2011 11:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Are all Essie polishes thin, runny, and sheer? I have Neo-Whimsical and Really Red by Essie and they're both the same consistency requiring a minimum of three coats to achieve any opaqueness and uniformity! :( I think I will give another of Essie's colors a shot, but I definitely will not be repurchasing this. I absolutely love the milky, violet pink color this polish is in the bottle, but the formula is a nightmare to work with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2011 9:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

A little chalky, a little streaky and IMO, not bottle worthy.
Even having a pro apply it it only looked "ok". Very hard to apply this cool-toned purpley-pinkish whitish color.


Not a fave. Not a HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2011 2:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this color a lot but it's just SO streaky and the formula is so.. watery. It gets everywhere if you have just a bit too much on the brush, but then if you don't have enough the streakiness is out of control. Kind of a miss but I make it work. Also, don't buy Essie anywhere but from a cheap Amazon shop; $8 is overpriced for such an overrated brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2010 12:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The perfect color!

Not too pink with just a hint of lilac.

Gorgeous for anyone with cool-toned skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2010 9:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Love this baby pink matte color. But I agree, it streaks and stool 3coats before it dried at the salon.


on 6/19/2010 1:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The formula on this is not user friendly at all. Very thick yet it is also very streaky. It took 2 thick coats for it to be decent and opaque but I can still see streaks. Color looks pretty though. Unfortunately, this is going back to the store.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Watermelon

55 reviews
Back to Top