Revlon 705 Gray Suede

4.3

81 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/16/2013 5:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I've given up on finding a nude shade more perfect than this for my hands. If I don't use it for a while, I forget that it *is* a nude, because it looks gray-mauve in the bottle in many lights. On my nails, though, the very faint lavender cast makes it a better match for my cool, pale skin. There is some extremely subtle shimmer that just serves to make the color creamier, if that makes sense, and less flat -- doesn't read as shimmery. Wears fine, applies well, opaque in two coats. Goes with everything. Understated, but really pretty.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 11/29/2013 12:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've purchase this polish 3 times already and will most likely continue purchasing it. It's a great shade and suits my medium skin tone. It's hard to find a nude shade that goes well with my skin color, this seems to be a perfect color. I assume it will go well with any skin tone. Recommend this nail polish if you are looking for a nude color at a very reasonable price.


on 9/19/2013 10:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I just picked up this nail polish on sale and it was the last one of the "Gray Suede" colour. I can already tell that this will be an HG product for me. It's the prettiest nude I have ever used on my nails. It's a lovely taupe-y beige with maybe a slight hint of a dusty pink. The formula is so smooth and almost completely opaque after only one coat and I love the subtle hint of shimmer. I will repurchase when I can... but, apparently this little number is quite popular since there was only one left in the store I was at!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2013 5:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have found my HG of nude polishes!!! I cannot express how much I love this shade! I've been looking for a long time for the perfect "nude" polish that doesn't wash out my skin tone (medium with yellow undertones), but was having such a hard time. So, when I saw the Revlon polish section marked at only $3.67 (approx), I decided to take a look. Gray Suede caught my eye, so on a whim, I picked it up...and I'm so glad I did!

The colour pairs with my skin tone perfectly, and makes my fingers look long and slender. It's the perfect Spring/Summer shade, but I'm sure I'll wear it all year long! The formula does go one a bit thin, but 3 coats gives it the perfect look. I can't stop admiring my nails :)

If you're looking for a good nude shade, try this one out. It goes with several different skin tones and is good for a classy, simple yet elegant manicure!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2013 10:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was very pleasantly surprised by this.

I've never had a light pink/tan color cover so nicely in two coats.

Very, very neutral soft dusty pink/tan shade with a very subtle shimmer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2013 9:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I rarely wear dark nail polish because of the maintenance involved to keep them nice looking so I favour neutral and natural shades. I picked up this bottle on sale and I was on the hunt for a taupe like shade and this fit the bill.

The application is a bit streaky (the esthetician who did my nails made this comment and I agree) but after 2-3 coats, it's a nice finish.

Revlon nail polishes tend to last about a week on my fingernails before they start chipping.
At least with a neutral shade, the chipping isn't obvious.
I don't like spending a lot of money on polishes and Revlon's quality can't be beat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2013 9:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a gorgeous color - really lovely slightly blushed nude on me - and if it weren't for the formula I might swear it as holy grail. The formula was thick and hard to work with - such a shame because on pale skin it's fabulous and elegant looking.


on 1/30/2013 12:30:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm crazy for nude polish. Imo nudes go with everything. They can be worn year round, the right shade visually elongates fingers and nails and chips don't show. For low maintenance manicures, nudes are the way to go. Finding the right shade for my NC40 skin tone has been somewhat of an adventure.

First, I don't enjoy paying more than a few dollars a bottle, $5.00 being my max. Nail polish is paint. Pretty paint, with cute and fancy names in many cases but still paint. Paint that gets applied 1-2 times a week and then gets removed with paint remover. (np remover) ....aaand repeat.

Second, I learned of this shade in December's InStyle Magazine. In Style is a hit or miss with recs, but I figured i'd take a look at the shade IRL. It looked really pretty and close to what the pic in the magazine looked like, so I paid the $5.00. Revlon Grey Suede is the dupe for Chanel's Frenzy, btw, which is great. Too bad the formula is streaky.

I was so sad I reached out to the NB and was advised (correctly) to use a top coat between the color coats, which helped a great deal, however, I don't want to have to do this. I want to lay down a base coat, 2-3 shades of color, a super fast drying top coat and get on with something else.

I don't know if it is the brush, the formula or something else that is causing the streaks. I read someplace that it was reformulated at some point, but I would not know the difference. I do know that it's a very soft, light taupe shot through with very fine gold shimmer which is what makes it special. It's just perfect. Now if only it didn't streak. I'm going to research a few dupes and hope that I can own this shade - this exact shade - in a formula that does not streak. Removed 1 point for this reason.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2013 1:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

A beautiful pinky-nude colour with a hint of taupe on my NC10-15 pale Asian colouring.

This nail varnish would have been a STAPLE in my nail varnish collection if not for the formula. The colour gave this product two stars.

It bubbled up no matter how I tried to work with it. Despite good coverage in two coats and fast drying time, bubbling was the last straw for me.

SGD$11.90 for a nail varnish which looked pretty but incompatible formula.

Will not repurchase again. Doubt I'll try other Revlon polishes too.

I advise you to save some pennies and invest in other better polishes like O.P.I. or China Glaze instead. I much prefer Revlon's lip products to their nail varnishes.


on 12/7/2012 12:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I think that this is a great nude color. On my skin tone (medium dark), it is a nude color with a pinkish undertone.

I am puzzled about the name of the color, there is no gray in this polish at all!

Overall, I like this color on my complexion, and I love that it is super affordable.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Back to Top