Revlon • Gray Suede #705 • Polishes

rated 4.3(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 1/31/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a gorgeous color - really lovely slightly blushed nude on me - and if it weren't for the formula I might swear it as holy grail. The formula was thick and hard to work with - such a shame because on pale skin it's fabulous and elegant looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 1/30/2013 12:30:00 AM more reviews by Quilley

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm crazy for nude polish. Imo nudes go with everything. They can be worn year round, the right shade visually elongates fingers and nails and chips don't show. For low maintenance manicures, nudes are the way to go. Finding the right shade for my NC40 skin tone has been somewhat of an adventure.

First, I don't enjoy paying more than a few dollars a bottle, $5.00 being my max. Nail polish is paint. Pretty paint, with cute and fancy names in many cases but still paint. Paint that gets applied 1-2 times a week and then gets removed with paint remover. (np remover) ....aaand repeat.

Second, I learned of this shade in December's InStyle Magazine. In Style is a hit or miss with recs, but I figured i'd take a look at the shade IRL. It looked really pretty and close to what the pic in the magazine looked like, so I paid the $5.00. Revlon Grey Suede is the dupe for Chanel's Frenzy, btw, which is great. Too bad the formula is streaky.

I was so sad I reached out to the NB and was advised (correctly) to use a top coat between the color coats, which helped a great deal, however, I don't want to have to do this. I want to lay down a base coat, 2-3 shades of color, a super fast drying top coat and get on with something else.

I don't know if it is the brush, the formula or something else that is causing the streaks. I read someplace that it was reformulated at some point, but I would not know the difference. I do know that it's a very soft, light taupe shot through with very fine gold shimmer which is what makes it special. It's just perfect. Now if only it didn't streak. I'm going to research a few dupes and hope that I can own this shade - this exact shade - in a formula that does not streak. Removed 1 point for this reason.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 papierflora on 1/1/2013 1:41:00 AM more reviews by papierflora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

A beautiful pinky-nude colour with a hint of taupe on my NC10-15 pale Asian colouring.

This nail varnish would have been a STAPLE in my nail varnish collection if not for the formula. The colour gave this product two stars.

It bubbled up no matter how I tried to work with it. Despite good coverage in two coats and fast drying time, bubbling was the last straw for me.

SGD$11.90 for a nail varnish which looked pretty but incompatible formula.

Will not repurchase again. Doubt I'll try other Revlon polishes too.

I advise you to save some pennies and invest in other better polishes like O.P.I. or China Glaze instead. I much prefer Revlon's lip products to their nail varnishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 greenelady on 12/7/2012 12:20:00 AM more reviews by greenelady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I think that this is a great nude color. On my skin tone (medium dark), it is a nude color with a pinkish undertone.

I am puzzled about the name of the color, there is no gray in this polish at all!

Overall, I like this color on my complexion, and I love that it is super affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BomGirl21 on 9/22/2012 10:42:00 AM more reviews by BomGirl21

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The colour is more like a grayish beige on and it is a quick way to look elegant on my NC30/35 skin . This will probably look better on longer nails than short ones .
One coat is probably not enough because Revlon nail polishes do not level them as nicely as OPI polishes . And also you need two coats to make it more opaque . This does not shine well but it is not matte so you will need a shine top coat if you like shiny nails .
The one thing i dont like about this is that it actually oxidizes to a deeper colour with a tiny hint of purple in about 3 days so if you're cool with the oxidized colour , it's fine but if you dont like it you'll have to remove and reapply .
Overall this is a nice colour for a drugstore polish and it definitely does not look cheap .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lavenderwig on 9/16/2012 3:50:00 PM more reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Really humble shade. First coat goes on almost completely opaque. I prefer one coat of this to two coats because your nails come through, blending to make a very beautiful subtle mauve shade. It especially shows in the dark, like right now my pc moniter is the only light and the nails with two coats are definitely more opaque. In natural light nobody would notice the difference. Dried so fast. When I think about it, a lot of polishes I love are from them. Especially the scented ones, these pastel colors lavender is gum drop, pink is bubblegum? and blue is blueberry. Love you Revlon. :>

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gemini12 on 8/25/2012 1:10:00 PM more reviews by gemini12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I realized I didn't have a nude polish in my collection and was going to purchase Sally Hansen's "Cafe Au Lait" based on reviews and swatches I had seen. But when I got to the store, Revlon's polishes were on sale and I realized that "Gray Suede" was a decent dupe of "Cafe Au Lait", so I purchased it instead. I didn't realize how fabulous a nude color would look on my nails, but it does and I'm in love. It went on opaque and smooth in two coats. Do not let the name of this color fool you--it's neither gray nor suede-y. Instead, it's a beautiful, wearable nude with a slight taupe undertone. In the bottle, there appears to be a slight shimmer to it, but it's not noticeable on the nail--if anything, it gives it a slightly shinier appearance and keeps it from becoming a chalky or flat. I'd definitely recommend this if you're looking for a basic wearable nude color.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elfodimontagna on 6/27/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by elfodimontagna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

a great nouance but it dried a bit too fast in the bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 drdoodles on 6/7/2012 2:17:00 PM more reviews by drdoodles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was initially looking for a nude type nail polish and wanted something that be a neutral shade that was good enough to wear to work. I was attracted to Dior Safari beige, but I just couldn't live myself for spending over $20 for a nude nail polish. If I am going to spend that much, it better have flecks of gold or be some other color that is visible from across the room. Lol. More importantly I didn't have time to waste wondering if it would actually work with my skin color. A beauty blogger mentioned that Gray Suede looks great on NC40 skin tones, and I have to agree, it gives that mannequin hand look that I was wanting. With all the drugstore discounts and coupons, this item was basically free for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ltiwdt on 4/8/2012 8:17:00 PM more reviews by ltiwdt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Such a great color! It's neither grey nor suede: It's kind of a cement-y, taupe-y nude with nude shimmer. It's perfect for when you want a neutral color that's a little...not edgier, but not blah, either.
I love Revlon nail colors in general, and this one lasts forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Polishes products