Cover Girl • Clean Oil Control Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.7(98 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 confessionsonadancefloor on 9/25/2013 10:46:00 PM more reviews by confessionsonadancefloor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've never been a fan of Covergirl products, but a friend raved so profusely about this product (and it was a steal a $2.79) that I decided to try it. I'm quite glad I did. When it comes to the dark circles under my eyes, this product alone does a good job concealing them - it may not make them disappear, but it lessens the severity. I also find that whatever makeup I'm using (eyeshadow, concealer, blush etc.,) I can always count on this powder to play nicely with other products.

I feel a smaller pad or even a brush might make for better application, and I also find the product dusty when I only apply it to a small area (like the corners of my eyes,) but all in all it's great value for the price.

PROS:
I can use it with any makeup
Could be used as a stand alone product for concealing
Super inexpensive

CONS:
Dusty/flaky when used in small portions
Pad is too big for ideal application

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Natalieeekbye on 9/21/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Natalieeekbye

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Update! Made me break out :( 3 lippys instead of 5

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wonderlandecho on 8/25/2013 5:25:00 PM more reviews by wonderlandecho

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

LOVE! This is AMAZING for oil control. Keeps me grease free for 6 hours! No touch ups! The packaging a a little flimsy but doesn't bother me. It's great for travel. I've dropped this many times and it hasn't broken. My skins been really oily atm so this isn't working as well as it did before but even of you don't have oily skin I think this would be great

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liltartmuffin on 8/15/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by liltartmuffin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not cakey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Caitlinnn344 on 8/10/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by Caitlinnn344

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this powder off of a recommendation from a friend of mine and I love it! It controls my oil, isn't cakey or powdery on the skin and has my shade ( I'm very pale) only downsides are it can catch on dry flakes of skin ( so not good if you have dry skin) and the packaging breaks. Now the breaking may not be CG fault, I keep it in my backpack and it may break just bc it's constantly being thrown on the floor. The powder itself has never broken tho ( surprisingly ) the clasp always breaks and then eventually the lid breaks so not a big deal. Overall great powder would definetly reccomend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 WynterOlly on 7/20/2013 2:32:00 AM more reviews by WynterOlly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This powder is aweful! Cakey and definitely not light in the skin. Disappointed:/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xxch3yxx on 7/11/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by xxch3yxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This powder (so far) is my favorite! My face tends to get very oily and shiny throughout the day causing my face to look almost water wet! GROSS! This powder is the best iv used so far. You must understand that the consistency of this powder is very dusty and dry and that is because it is made to dry up that pesky oily shine your face produces over the day. I would only recommend this powder to those who suffer from oily skin! No powder can control face oil throughout an entire day BUT this powder lasts much longer than most powder on the market, which makes it great for oil control compared to other products.

The only reason why I did not give a full rating is because the packaging is very... weak. The mirror detaches from the powder plate extremely easy due to the poor plastic build. Though, the packaging has a cool look to it. Other than that, I am quite impressed with this pressed powder and would recommend it to anyone who suffers from an oily face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 6/8/2013 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

First the good: I liked the texture and finish of this powder. And the color was good. When first applied I really like it as a setting powder for liquid foundation.
The bad: The packaging is a little delicate-I've only had it in my bathroom and the hinge feels loose and I really don't think it would survive my purse. The bigger problem is that it lasts about an hour before I look oily. Considering this is an oil controlling product, I figured I should grade it pretty harshly for not doing that. If you have normal skin I think this may work, but for combo or oily skin skip it. It will not do the job sufficiently for you. So I'm still on the hunt for a good oil controlling pressed powder. I went back to my HG so far, ELF HD powder-I just hate loose powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XFilesLover on 6/2/2013 5:40:00 PM more reviews by XFilesLover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product, I have been using it for years and it always impresses me. It was very inexpensive (8.00$ Canadian) and it works really well.

I have combination skin, I have a very oily t-zone but the rest of my face is normal. It's really hard to find a pressed powder that actually stays, and does the job, this one does it for me. When I put it on in the morning it lasts the whole day. I am very pale so my colour is the lightest, "105 Ivory". My friend who is much darker then me uses this colour as "transparent" as she think's it works great! (Seeing as it doesn't come in a transparent shade"). It does not make your makeup look caked on, it sit's lightly on top of the skin.

The pressed powder is not expensive, it's high quality and worth every penny. It comes in a variety of colours and is very light on the skin.I have been re-purchasing this product for years and I will continue to buy it.
(**The cover girl pressed powders also come in "normal" and "sensitive skin"**)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 5/6/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have been searching for a good pressed powder for awhile now. I was not really happy with the pressed powder I had been using. But I tried something new and it made me itch. So when I saw an online ad for this product, I decided to give it a try. I have extremely sensitive skin, so the fact that this powder is made especially for people with sensitive skin really appealed to me. But I decided to purchase this one instead because of the oil control. I get really oily on my cheeks, nose, and forehead. I have never really used a powder that lasted all day.

As a point of reference, I purchased this in shade 525 Buff Beige. It is a perfect match for skin. After I apply it, you can't even tell it is on my face. I apply it over my foundation and it gives me a smooth, flawless finish. This powder did not make me itch at all. It does not look cakey or unnatural on your face. If you get the right shade, you barely even notice you're wearing powder. There are a wide variety of shades available.

For me, this powder controls the oil and shine all day. I apply it once in the morning and don't have to reapply. I purchased this powder for under $6 at Walmart. This is now my go-to powder. I will repurchase again and again. I highly recommend this powder, especially to gals with very sensitive skin.

EDIT: 6/13/13
I have repurchased this powder a couple of times. But the longer I use it, the less I like it. I do not like the texture of this powder much at all. It has a odd texture. When you have it on, you can definitely tell. The color is spot on, it is the powder itself I do not like. I will not purchase again and will go back to my Rimmel Stay Matte powder which has a much lighter texture and looks much more natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Pressed Powders products