Stila • one step makeup [DISCONTINUED] • Foundations

rated 3.6(74 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 im2gd24gt on 4/21/2011 1:16:00 PM more reviews by im2gd24gt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this foundation. I bought this in Fair when I had a 20% coupon for Ulta. I'm not sure I would repurchase at full price. It's crazy expensive. I like how it feels going on, and drys down to a powder finish. It really brightens my face, and at my age, I need a little bright in my life! I like that you really only need a small amount. I use a damp sponge and the finish is perfect for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pseudokool on 4/17/2011 12:29:00 AM more reviews by pseudokool

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have the OneStep in Tone and in Medium. I use Tone for Winter and Medium for Summer. I really like this foundation. The color match for me is spot on. Tone is like a fair to light olive, and Medium is a light to medium color. The consistency is liquid-cream, and it blends in nicely. Its probably due to all the silicones in it. I haven't had any issues with breakouts, and it wears off nicely. I love the airless pump, it keeps it sanitary. I wish they hadn't halted production of these, but I hope it comes back soon. Its a definite staple for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 calamityjane85 on 4/9/2011 8:09:00 AM more reviews by calamityjane85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think I have found my HG foundation. After searching through several different products Loreal Revlon Lancome .... this is the one i will stick with.
I love the pump no more putting on too much or going back for more. The dispenser pumps just the right amount. The foundation itself has yellow undertones which I haven't found in my other ones, and matches my skin perfectly! It is super creamy and almost airy and fluffy, not liquidy at all. And the best part is at the end of the day when I take my makeup off with a mu wipe I still have foundation on!! whoo hoo! No primer needed. All the other foundations I have tried die out and vanish by afternoon. Stila is a winner, it has not broken me out at all. And when I add Rock and Republic's powder to finish it off my skin looks flawless. I love it and will buy again...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Baby1black on 3/19/2011 1:56:00 AM more reviews by Baby1black

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wear this foundation in warm. I am an nc43-45 in mac however warm works fine only in summer, in winter it becomes too dark. I like the effect this foundation gives . It is like an airbrushed look. But u have to moisturize ur face heavily before applying it . I think I might try tan ,cause dark which supposedly the shade before warm seems so light on my skin tone.overall it's a nice foundation if u find the right matching shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gbstang11 on 2/21/2011 10:02:00 PM more reviews by gbstang11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation! I had bought a Stila Makeup Set at Costco just for the brush because the whole set cost less than the brush would had I bought it at a department store. It came with a small sample of the One Step. I never planned on using it until one day I ran out of my previous foundation. I ended up loving it and buying the full size! I only need to use one pump and it's enough for my whole face. I apply it with my fingers and rub it in. It's fast and easy to use which is perfect because I don't like spending a whole lot of time putting on makeup. I like that I don't need any tools to apply it. I love how well it blends with my skin. It looks natural and doesn't look cakey. I wish it were cheaper but it's worth every penny! Will definitely keep repurchasing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jarleo on 2/21/2011 7:36:00 PM more reviews by jarleo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation! When I turned 30 I started noticing that the liquid foundation I was using was settling into the lines on my face. I tried BE mineral foundation and loved it. On a whim I would try a liquid foundation out from time to time and after wearing mineral for so long they always felt like I had a mask on and most of them were settling in my lines. So I always went back to mineral foundation. This is the only liquid foundation that has satisfied me to where I don't feel the need to go back to mineral foundation for the natural look that I want. It blends like a dream, does not settle in the lines of my face, minimizes my pores, saves me time in the morning. I am not getting dry patches with it or oily t-zone either. I can't feel it on my face. People with dark circles will most likely need to use a separate concealer. Mine aren't that bad so I haven't been using anything separate. I do use (as recommended) a moisturizer before I apply and I use my fingers. It provides what I would call on the light side of medium coverage that is very natural looking. The price is the only downside to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PhoenixxRising on 2/17/2011 6:29:00 AM more reviews by PhoenixxRising

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been on a foundation quest for years. Every brand Ive tried always fell short of meeting my requirements... Until now. I Love Stilas One step Makeup.
Im a pale redhead with freckles, my skin can get all red and splotchy looking and most foundations look crazy phony on me, regardless of the shade I pick. It was always too much coverage or not enough...
I picked up Stila One step in Light and Fair, Ive been using the Fair shade for a couple weeks now and Its perfect. I tried out the light one day and I was happy with that shade also but I cant say yet if its a hit or miss.
Bottom line, great coverage without being phony looking, lasts and lasts beautiful finish, dewy and natural looking.
Its a pump bottle and the product comes out kinda fluffy, easy to blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ashley123 on 12/30/2010 1:36:00 AM more reviews by Ashley123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation!!!! This is my everyday foundation. It is best when you use it with your fingers to spread it on your face, which if you read the label it says to use your fingers. This is very build-able and very smooth. It does not crease on me. I have to go out and purchase another bottle. My bottle never got stuck it comes out easily and i only need one spout for my whole face. This foundation does not stay the whole day, although if you take the time to set it, it does. But most mornings i end up running out the house so i don't have time to set my makeup. I have oily skin and this helps i am not as oily in the middle of the day. I love this foundation I think if you take the time to apply it to your face it would look awesome . I am NC43-NC45 and I use warm !!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spackle_n_smear on 12/21/2010 7:01:00 PM more reviews by spackle_n_smear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I admit this was a compulsive buy after watching a demo on HSN and hearing the MA's amazement that this foundation didn't budge in 90 degree heat in New York. That's really saying something! I wasn't crazy, however, to buy this at the full $44 pricetag and snagged a bottle on "CheapBay" for $14.99.

That was before consulting MUA on everybody's take on the product. I got nervous after seeing a lot of the comments were mediocre or negative. But how can this be after seeing good results on HSN??

I got my full 1oz. bottle in Dark (although I think they're phasing it out now and now calling it Deep) in the mail and ran into the house to give it a try.

One pump the size of a bean in a longbean seemed right to me and proceeded to dot my face. The look and texture of the product made me nervous--it reminded me of Revlon Infallible foundation (blech!)--it seemed thick but it actually spread well. For me, it gave good coverage without being thick.

I don't think a lot of people stopped to wait before the product set on their face before reviewing on MUA, because the result was an HD airbrushed look that was matte and polished, but still looked like skin, and not at all greasy or cakey! The color match was perfect too. I'm very oily, but it holds to my skin well with a bit of transfer if I blot with a tissue. I knew well that I couldn't throw away my powder just yet, and Laura Mercier's Smooth Focus powder is the best at mattifying using very little powder and lasting results.

Bottom line, I really love this product. HG?? Time will tell. It has now replaced my Smashbox Healthy FX foundation which was at one point the the best I tried for HD foundations.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 viryi on 12/20/2010 4:13:00 PM more reviews by viryi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

As a new mom looking for quick, easy makeup staples, I really wished this product did everything it claimed and I could look perfectly made up in one easy step. Unfortunately, while the product was not awful, it does not give me anywhere near the results I can get when I take the time to properly use separate moisturizer, primer, foundation, concealer and powder.

I bought this from Sephora because the ingredients seemed more natural than other foundations out there, and the hygienic pump packaging and one-step claim appealed to me. The product itself is a light, mousse texture out of the pump, which is nice, but I found it did not spread very smoothly over the skin. Whether applied with my fingers, a brush or sponge, I felt like the product ended up looking "makeup-y," instead of natural, and I could definitely feel it on my face throughout the day. The coverage is medium-full, probably because it's intended to perform as a concealer as well as a foundation. I did not feel like my skin could breathe with this on. Too bad, because this one definitely seemed promising!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Foundations products