Living Proof • Full Thickening Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.3(100 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/28/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like using this before blow drying my hair. Helps to prevent from split end breakage. Glosses and makes hair shiny! Smells yummy too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 violetpython4 on 5/14/2013 7:13:00 PM more reviews by violetpython4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So I love that the whole full line is like skincare for your hair. I've used up the whole bottle now and my hair is much thicker than when I started . At first I felt like it would dry my hair out if I blew dry after but after cocktailing it with a shine treatment I fell in love . Most fullness hairstyling products contain chemicals and plastics that coat the hair shaft to make it appear thicker . No good! Living proofs full line does not!! That alone makes it a product I will be repurchasing !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetgardenangel on 3/19/2013 10:44:00 PM more reviews by sweetgardenangel

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm thrilled with the entire line of Living Proof, including this product.

It builds volume into my fine hair, which is styled into a bob, chin length. It makes it "swing" and looks fab.

Definite keeper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lagomorph on 3/17/2013 5:23:00 PM more reviews by lagomorph

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have full, thick, frizz prone hair that I often straighten when I haven't kept up with my Brazilian keratin treatments. After a day or so the top/crown area tens to flatten out and doesn't have that just washed bouncy volume that I like. What I love about this stuff is that it adds great volume without any residue/stickiness. I do find it builds up on my hair after a few days but a vinegar rinse takes it out. Works for me on wet hair, just a tiny dab. Expensive but I use so little it lasts forever. Only thing I dislike is that it's very very hard to get the right amount out of the bottle. Bought on ebay for less that retail.
:( They say they don't test on animals but the answers are vaguely worded on their blog and I think they might have third party testing. They simply state they don't test but they won't elaborate when asked about third party testing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marley100 on 1/6/2013 7:10:00 AM more reviews by marley100

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like many reviewers, I have mixed feelings about this thickening cream. First, I can't stand the smell. I'm sensitive to smells, and this is a heavy men's cologne smell. That said, if you apply it before going to work etc., it dissipates and doesn't make your pillow smell too awful. But why they can't make an unscented version....


I bought the stuff this fall, and when I first used it I was disappointed. It gave me great body--for about 10 minutes, and then collapsed. I have fine, straight hair, but a lot of it and wear it in a bob. People think I have thick hair until they feel it, and then they're disappointed :(. For some reason the stuff makes my hair full of static; maybe it's exacerbated by the dry winter weather. So I added my hair gel to it (Kiss My Face Upper Management, which, by the way, has a terrific but faint grapefruit smell). I use a pea-sized amount of the thickening cream, followed by my hair gel and then blow dry. With that combo, I have great results--and it stays looking great and volumized for hours.


However, if I use the thickening cream every day--I usually wash my hair every day--it drys out my hair and makes it full of knots--and I've NEVER had knots before. However, my hair is color-treated and highlighted, so it's a little dry to begin with.


Thickening cream shouldn't be a problem if you have oily hair or normal hair. But if you have dry, watch out. For me, the only way around the dryness and knots is to increase my conditioner, but that leaves my hair flat, which just compounds the problem that I want to solve.

So now I just use the thickening cream when I really have to have my hair look fabulous, and that works really well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wtfiholly on 11/7/2012 11:44:00 PM more reviews by wtfiholly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have to say yes or no when asked if I would buy this again. I want them to add MAYBE. I noticed that my thinning bum length hair was just that, thinning. I have a lot of hair and it is down to my bum and I wanted to have some body, so I was told to try this out. I bought the little bottle for $15 and I've used it 4 different times and every time I've used it I've had to use more than a dollop, please that's like non-exsistant for me with my hair, they say use a small amount, LMAO! really!?
I used a larger amount, however I did not use it on the scalp area since I knew I would be brushing this through my hair, not smart. I did not smash my hands together and rub, I patted them and stroked my hair from the top of my neck to the ends, then I brushed it through. I did have a little more shine, I did have a little more softness, I did have a little more volume. I was and am happy with that since I have so much hair. I was told to use the foam, but I think not since I am not a fan of too much product in my hair. I don't like foams.
It did not make it harder to brush it did help make it softer. It was a nice addition. I have to use an oil to make it shiny and that's a bit strange at times, LOL. If I want shine I braid the hair and add the oil, if I want the body I leave the hair down and add this cream. I wonder if I use the shampoo and conditioner if I will get a better result. I don't want the body to pouf from my scalp, I want it to pouf from my lower hair, the hair from my neck down. Maybe it's my age, maybe it's my menopause, whatever it is I want it dealt with. I should try using some Biotin shampoo and conditioner with this cream, that might help my hair look amazing. We'll see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peepeepod on 6/24/2012 7:22:00 AM more reviews by peepeepod

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

HG of volumizing products! My hair was going through a weird limp stage (dieting hormones stress), I did some research on haircare products and this got rave reviews on the Sephora site, I had to give it a try. BTW, Im a huge fan of the shampoo and conditioner...I think the line performs best when you use it in tandem with their other products. I swear I do not work for living proof!! This stuff just works for me. It gives realistic volume, doesnt make my hair feel sticky or coated..the only drawback is it does seem greasy if you use too much, as it's also very conditioning. When used correctly (a dime size does it for me and I have long fine hair)..it WILL provide outstanding volume and texture. I'm not a fan of heat styling but the instructions say to blow dry hair once you've combed the product in....I just put my dryer on a very low heat setting, turn my hair upside down and voila! I'd like to experiment with this without having to blow dry...but lately my hair has been regaining volume so I'll just keep it for the winter drabs...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 roniroo on 5/30/2012 4:45:00 PM more reviews by roniroo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually liked the product, I felt it helped some with the volume of my fine hair and I liked the smell. What I don't like after using it for about 2 months was the way it made my hair color fade and change drastically. I get my hair colored every other time I get a cut, so about every 10-12 weeks. But this time after using this product I had to get it colored all over again after 6 weeks because it changed my hair color so much. Using this product was the only thing I did differently. It says it's safe for colored hair, but I think not :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* caramelkiss19 on 5/28/2012 10:32:00 AM more reviews by caramelkiss19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product but I won't buy again. It doesn't do for me what I see it doing on the tv presentations (qvc). It does give a little extra volume, but I'm sure there's better out there. I also don't like that my hair still gets frizzy when I use this. I want a creme in my hair to volumize and smooth all in one product. I have noticed on a few occasions that if I get this on my scalp it gets sore and irritated so I might be allergic/sensitive to some of the ingredients. Will use until bottle is empty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jstehr on 4/20/2012 12:18:00 PM more reviews by jstehr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I've always had fine hair, and have tried numerous products over the years in attempts to give my hair volume and "oomph". I received a small sample of this product at Sephora, and was so delighted at the results that I went back at bought the full sized bottle. I love this product!
-you don't need much of it to get results, I find if you use too much you will feel it in your hair
-it doesn't leave you hair feeling like it has product in it
-it actually works and gives my hair tons of volume, even the next day
The only thing I wasn't a huge fan of is the price, it's quite expensive for a relatively small bottle - that's why I gave it 4 out of 5. Despite the price, I would definitely buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products