Homemade Sugar Wax

3.9

27 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

one fourth cup water, one fourth cup lemon juice ,1-2 cups sugar


on 7/1/2012 4:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've used sugar waxing on my arms and bikini area. It is incredibly time consuming (loses a lippie for that) but may take less time with more practice. It is incredibly effective, very simple, and yields results time and again.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I started sugaring my face a few months ago. I have very fine peach fuzz on my cheeks, and it is sort of bothersome but not the end of the world. I sugar my face once a month; it doesn't take all the hair off, but I think that being totally hairless looks sort of strange, so it's ok. I just want the long unruly blond hairs to be gone; that's good enough for me. Anyway, I cut up an old pair of jeans and I use the denim to pull the wax off my face. I made a batch of sugar about 2 months ago, and I'm not even halfway through it. I keep it in a small plastic tupperware container and I heat it up for 20 seconds in the microwave when I want to use it. I apply it using a frosting knife (flat rounded pastry knife) and it works great. I apply it in long strokes to my cheeks and pull it off sideways. I don't wan to pull my face skin up or down, as I think it's probably not good for it. I also hold the skin taught when I do this. My face is red for a few hours, but I don't get ingrown hairs or a lot of irritation from sugaring, as I did from waxing and using hair removal creams in the past (I have very sensitive skin). I also think that this stimulates collagen production on my face. The sugaring pulls out a lot of hair; I hold the denim up to the light and it appears that there are MILLIONS of fine blond hairs stuck to the sugar. It's working, but it doesn't get ALL the hairs. Around my lips, I usually do it twice, and remove the denim strip in the opposite direction of the hair growth. This helps get more hair, but it also causes more irritation, so I don't do this with the rest of my face.
This is a great, cheap, chemical free way of dealing with unruly peach fuzz. I have tried it on my underarms, and it also worked well.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2012 10:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I feel like I've been missing out for the past 10 years. I JUST heard about sugar waxing, and didn't think it would work. Cheap, DIY and amazing results? Too good to be true right? Well, a little. It takes some work to get the consistency right. I overcooked my first batch and tried to wax my leg, but ended up burning myself. Tried it again and it came out perfect. It was runny enough to wax with a cloth strip, and when it started to get tacky, I could just use the popsicle stick and use the wax to wax (if that makes sense). This is so cheap, natural and has great results. I am a hair-remover fiend! I have tried everything too. GiGi's wax, Nair, Veet, shaving, threading, tweezing, EVERYTHING but as far as price and results go, sugar wax is the winner.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2012 10:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG it made my skin sooo smooth! i wanted to try it on my underarms yesterday and it was fine.. until i ripped a little lower than the hair >.


on 12/24/2011 2:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

How many years of anxiety and how many $ would I have saved if I'd found this earlier? Brilliant! Much kinder to my skin and my pocket! I use this in all areas and am a convert!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Given that I am prone to terrible razor burn no matter the shave products I used, my search for a hair removal product that works well and isn't too tedious to use has taken months. Until I started exploring waxing at home, I'd been using Veet with great success though I really didn't care for the smell or the briefness of the results.


I first tried Gigi's Dark Honee wax as my hair can be rather coarse. It left me bruised and sore for a week despite my following the directions. I figured since I had invested in a warmer, I'd try more waxes. I tried the original Honee, a wax with argan oil, a cream wax and even a hard wax you're supposed to peel off. I mastered the technique rather well, but the stickiness and mess (not to mention impossible clean-up requiring tons of baby oil) was just as irritating as the other methods I'd tried.


After trying and loving an inexpensive sugar waxing kit from Nair with wonderful results, I started researching how to make my own sugaring wax. There were a few recipes I'd discovered, but this one--credit to Vanita on Squidoo--was amazing.


Not only did it turn out perfect on my first attempt, which almost never happens when I'm learning a new candy or confectionary recipe, but after it cooled enough for me to try, it worked just as well as the Nair for much less money, and was so much easier than the resin waxes I'd tried. Here's how you do it...


__________

Ingredients:
4 cups of sugar
cup of Lemon juice
cup of water

Preparation:

1. Mix the sugar, water and lemon juice in a skillet or a sauce pan (From my experience it is always good to mix the ingredients before keeping it on flame)
2. Keep the container on a low flame after mixing.
3. Keep stirring the mixture until the sugar solution melts and you have a thick brown liquid. Normally it takes 10 to 15 minutes on low flame.
4. If you have a candy thermometer, The temperature we need to stop cooking the sugar solution is 235-245* F, They call this Soft ball consistency. If you drop a small amount of syrup into chilled water, It forms a soft, flexible ball, but flattens like a pancake after a few moments in your hand.
5. Let it cool . Hot sugar wax can burn your skin so don't rush to use it after it is prepared and it is still hot.



When the temp reached 240, I took it off the heat and stirred it for a bit more before pouring it into a microwave-safe resealable plastic container designed for hot foods/liquids that can go in the dish washer, freezer or fridge with no problems. Here, they're made by a company called Glad and go under the name Gladware. I nested one inside another due to the heat of the wax, then left it to cool.

The wax took a long while to cool, but when I checked it with a stick later, the texture appeared to be just right. I wasn't planning on using the wax that particular day, so waited until it was thoroughly cooled and tried it the next day.


________
To use:

All you need to do is warm the wax in short bursts in the microwave, stirring between each. It melts smoothly and evenly, but you don't want to overheat it. I set out my disposable cloth wax strips, a large bowl and flannel with hot soapy water (I use a couple pumps of L'Occitane Almond soap since it makes skin so soft), a towel, trash and a couple more sticks just in case. I get comfy on a towel I've spread out, maybe start up an audio book or music to help pass the time and get to work.


When spreading the wax, apply in a thin layer following the direction of hair growth with the stick applicator. Then, apply the linen strip downward in the same direction over the wax, smoothing it with your palm a couple times, then anchor the skin with your free hand and pull the strip off quickly against the hair growth. The pain is practically not there since the sugaring wax just sticks to the hair, cleanup is easy with a damp soapy cloth if you get wax anywhere you don't want it and the process gets to be very easy and effective with a little practice.

__________

Things to know: This method doesn't always get every hair on the first pass and sometimes you have to go back over an area or use tweezers. I've gone over areas a couple times with no pain or bruising. It also works on underarms, though mine are very sensitive so there was a little more pain involved. I haven't tried this as a bikini wax, but it does have a very high sugar content so I'd be careful when working in that area. As for storage, I don't know if it can be left at room temp so I keep it in the fridge.


Overall, I really love this method of hair removal. It washes out of clothing very easily, cleans up off everything else like a dream, might be a bit sticky when first getting the hang of it but no more so than commercial resin waxes I've tried though sugar wax is so much easier to remove. And the cost is unbeatable, too.


And as I mentioned above, it usually takes me a couple attempts for any recipe involving a candy thermometer, but this was perfect on the first try. The description and directions were easy and accurate and best of all, I discovered a natural home-made beauty product that did what it's supposed to do. I love the results (at least two weeks of hair-free skin), love the ease of use and clean up, love that I know exactly what's in it and that my first attempts with sugaring worked so well despite the daunting nature of wax preparation.


Best of luck and I hope you love this new method of hair removal as much as I do! :)

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2011 9:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For years I used waxes to remove my facial hair (which is on the longer side of fuzz) and almost every time I would RIP OFF a layer of my super-sensitive skin! I'm talking about a first degree burn. And yet every time, once it was long healed, I got the notion to try it again. "Well, maybe if I don't press it on hard it won't.... Maybe if I use powder beforehand it won't remove my skin." Well needless to say these thoughts were brought to nothing. I tried threading, and even shaving, and nothing gave me the results I wanted. Then, I found a recipe for sugaring online. It claimed that the sugar will only adhere to dead tissue, not living. So I gave it a try. Like many people, I cooked it for too long the first time, and tried another batch. The second time worked. I did 7 areas, six of which went fine but the last ripped off some skin (this was because I let the mixture harden too much, which is easily fixable). The longer hairs were removed (which is really all that's necessary). Overall, I will definitely try this again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2011 2:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been making this stuff off and on for a few years and love it! I use it on my legs and sometimes bikini line come summertime and it leaves my skin nice and smooth, and gets most of the hair... oh, and it's cheap to make! Never had it harm my skin either but if you know how to wax, it's pretty easy to avoid. Doesn't do much for course stubble though so gotta let that grow out a little more. You can also use white vinegar instead if you don't feel like going down to the store to buy lemons and you get a more gummy, less sticky consistency that still yanks out the hairs. Both work well I think! A plus is you can just stick it in a plastic container and put it in the fridge. I personally use an old empty gigi wax can so when I need it, it fits right into a wax warmer. So in short, unless/until I come into some money and get laser or electrolysis everywhere I want it, I will be making this stuff for years to come!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2011 5:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Ugh...I tried so hard to do this right. My first batch was undercooked, so I made a second one that was the perfect consistency...and it just wasn't worth it in the end. It's messy, sticky, and doesn't even remove all the hair! It removes some hairs, but I ended up having to go over the patch again with more wax, and even THAT didn't pick everything up, so I had to take out my tweezers and get rid of the excess hairs that way! And I prepped my skin fine, I put baby powder over the area as to absorb the excess oils, I spread the wax on with and against the grain, and nothing worked! If I'm doing something wrong please let me know, but right now It's just not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2011 6:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

When I first read the reviews of sugaring, I was very excited to try it, since it was cheap to make, you can use it at home, and you don't need cloth strips to pull the hair off!! It seemed too good to be true! I stumbled on my first obstacle trying to figure out how to make this seemingly easy recipe. It literally took me 5 tries to get it right, and I used a whole 2kg bag of sugar, eeek. HOWEVER, once I got it, it will be really easy to reproduce the results again and again. I found that most of the recipes didn't give information on how long you need to cook the mixture for, and that's why I kept making my product too hard. Here is the following recipe I used:

2 cups sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup water

Boil on medium-high heat for APPROXIMATELY 10 minutes. If the mixture turns amber, you have gone way too far. It will be a VERY faint golden colour. As you cook the mixture, take a little spoonful of the stuff and put in on a white plate, to see what colour it is. As soon as it's a little bit yellow/golden, STOP! Take the mixture away from the heat and take a little spoonful over to the sink. Then, gently run some cool water over the mixture to cool it off so you can safely touch it. Then, play with the cooled gel, and see if it is malleable in your fingers, but make sure it isn't so sticky that you can't control it. It should kind of feel like that blue sticky/thumb tack stuff. After you get the right consistency, pour it into a container. What I did was I poured it into a glass jar, and then placed the jar in some cool water to help cool off the product faster so that I could use it sooner! When you pull off a chunk, mush it around in your hands a bit to warm it up and make it spread better. As you use it, the light golden colour will change to a light grey-ish colour. Once it starts getting so sticky that it wont stay in a ball anymore, discard that and get a new piece. Also, it would be VERY useful to wear gloves when doing this, as it seems to stick to fingernails like crazy. Also, if you don't use gloves, take off all your jewelry, or it will get SUPER messy.

Okay! So when I actually started to use it, this is what I learned: it works best on very dry skin, and it works best on longer hair. I waxed my arm hairs first since they are long-ish, about 1/2 inch. It removed almost all the hairs, and left my skin smooth and glowing, and surprisingly hairless. Today, I waxed my legs and the hair I was waxing was MUCH shorter. It was only a few millimeters long and much thicker so it was harder to remove all the hair in one rip. It removed a lot of my leg hair, but not all of it. I am excited to see when it grows back if it's thinner and easier to wax next time.

To use: smooth against hair growth two or 3 times, hold skin taut, and rip (with the hair grain NOT against) as parallel to your skin as possible, do not pull upwards, as this can cause lovely bruises. Then, roll into a ball again and repeat!

PROS:
cheap
can make at home
organic and natural
extremely effective!

CONS:
tough to make correctly, wastes a lot of sugar in the process :)
works best on longer hairs
takes a long time to master the technique, could end up with some bruising.

Overall, I really enjoyed my experience and I am excited to have found a cheap and effective way to eliminate hair for 4 - 6 weeks. Friends and family are already asking me to make them wax because of my results. On shorter hair you may have to go over the same area around 3 times, and the wax never pulls at the skin, it only attaches to the hair. Hope this helps, try it!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

116 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

51 reviews
Back to Top