Revlon • PhotoReady Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.4(1996 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 aimeeestfancy on 2/8/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by aimeeestfancy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful foundation. Works great with my combo skin, would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jgal280194 on 2/3/2014 5:52:00 AM more reviews by Jgal280194

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

OMG!!!!!! This foundation is amazing. Well, Im lucky that I inherited beautiful skin and hardly ever have any blemishes that I need to cover up but this foundation just highlights my skin even more and makes me look airbrushed without looking fake. It's smooth and glides on evenly so you don't need to use much. I have had my current bottle for over a year and it looks like I haven't used any of it. It lasts soooooooo long. My sister has oily skin but this works wonders for her too. So this foundation really works on any skin tone. Definitely worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksabha01 on 1/29/2014 1:18:00 AM more reviews by ksabha01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim and almost returned it but lost my receipt and I'm SO glad I did. This foundation is great! I find it keeps my shiny skin at bay, while giving me a nice, luminous complexion that isn't so dewy that it looks like I dipped my face in oil. It covers really well and layers well too if you have an area that needs special attention. The shade I bought matches my skin perfectly, and I don't find the colour oxidizes on me. I'm really happy with how my skin looks all day long, so I don't mind the price (around $20 at Shoppers) because if you went to Sephora, I think many comparable foundations would be at a much higher price point. Give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thcprincess on 1/29/2014 1:04:00 AM more reviews by thcprincess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

worst foundation I've tried. this broke m out SO badly. I even tried it with primer, primer spray, and without. No difference. At first it would look ok and then at least 2 hours later my acne was standing out and I was so embarrassed. My skin looks better without any makeup then this that highlighted my acne. Colorstay is better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mellkay on 1/28/2014 3:39:00 AM more reviews by Mellkay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I tried this prouduct after wearing Mac studio fix and maybelline fit me for the past year. I found I was getting annoyed with fit me as it was oxidizing and making my skin look foul after having it on for 5-6 hours even though I was in my air con office. I was looking into trying L'oreal infallible but changed my mind as I heard the photoready primer was great do I figured if try the foundation. And I am SO glad I did!! This is my go to for daily makeup. It looks and feels like a lite second layer of perfect skin! For reference I have normal skin with a bit of in even tone and the occasional hormonal blemish. The first time I applied this I had extremely sunburnt skin and it was very dry. The application went on easy without a primer but it did cling to the dry patches therefor I wouldn't recommend it for people with dry skin or dry patches. Anyway since then my skin is back to normal and I use a primer underneath then apply with a brush and it goes on beautifully. I do a light coat and a light second coat in the areas needed to even out my skin tone. I use a light powder to set it. It lasts a good 10-12 hours without oxidizing on me and I am always getting complimented at how great my "skin" looks :p I didn't notice any sparkles like other reviewers but my skin does have a lovely glow which I wanted :) highly recommend for the price and pump bottle!! And to anyone that has oily or normal / combination wanting to achieve a glowy look without being oily. People with dry patches or dry skin please avoid!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MacMegan33 on 1/26/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by MacMegan33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Disappointed, cakey mess. Looks awful on my skin. Tried it with different brushes techinques, but I don't like it. Drying, wish it worked on my skin it looks pretty with micro shimmer but yeah. Ugh, what a waste! Worst around my nose and mouth. Seems like a good foundation if it matches your skin type, not mine, Worth the try to see if it does the simmer is so pretty seen it on others- who had more oily, darker skin. They had the most beautiful, shiny, and vivid complexion. But not me. Nice pump bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gigglesfordays on 1/25/2014 12:12:00 AM more reviews by Gigglesfordays

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I love this foundation!

I tried it at a friend's house and immediately went out to purchase it myself because I loved the finish so much. This is one of my favorite foundations and I find myself reaching for it even over my high end foundations. The finish it definitely satin, and the product does have very tiny sparkles in it that make your face look me it's naturally glowing in pictures. I wore this on a week long trip to Disneyland, and all my friends were jealous of how well my skin was photographing.

The product is more liquidy than many, but it blends well and it very easy to use with the pump that comes in the bottle. I love this product, and I will totally be buying it again when I run out,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lola4610 on 1/23/2014 7:45:00 PM more reviews by lola4610

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

After using brands such as Avon, NYX, BYS and L'Oreal since the age of 17-20. I decided to Venture out and try a higher end product such as Napoleon (Australian Brand). As a student, it was very hard keeping up expensive make up purchases and so I finally caved in to purchase the most raved about drug store brand, Revlon. I actually sat down with the MUA and somehow, from initially requesting Colourstay, I was convinced to purchase the PhotoReady. This was the worst mistake, and what's even worse, I paid full price ($36.95). It came with a bonus makeup bag with primer, mascara and an eye shadow quad.
These were even worse. The eye shadows are one of the LEAST pigmented, poor quality, that they made spending the $50 on a naked palette justifiable, and I use that on a daily basis! Here is my review of the foundation:

*cakey
*shimmery?!!?
*flashback overload
*overpriced
*unblendable
*extremely drying
*unsuitable

This is an honest review, based on experience. I tried this foundation on plenty of occasions and with different blushes, concealers, powders until I eventually gave up. This isn't to deter others from purchasing, but please, make sure the MUA listens to you and provides genuine feedback. Their experience as a professional almost always reflects on your experience with the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 1/23/2014 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have been using Lancome Teint Miracle for the past couple of months. I found to be an average foundation. It's not awful, but it's not amazing either. I didn't like that it turned into a greasy mess on my nose, and the staying power wasn't the greatest either, even with primer. I bought Skin Balancing foundation from the Body Shop (it was on sale for $5 and is usually $22) and also got a sample of Laura Mercier Oil Free Supreme Makeup. Neither one really worked for me. One foundation that I wanted to try was Makeup Forever HD Invisible Cover Foundation. I stumbled across a blog online that said Revlon Photoready Liquid Makeup is a dupe for MUFE HD Invisible Cover.

There is a grocery store about 2 blocks from my house that has a small cosmetics section. They carry Revlon and Cover Girl cosmetics. I know a lot of people on this site really like Revlon Colorstay. They have a formula for oily skin. It took me a while to decide between that foundation and the Photo Ready Liquid Foundation. In the end, I decided to try the Photoready foundation.

I have to be honest, I'm generally not a big fan of drugstore foundations. Either I'm allergic to something in it, it looks great at first and fades away to nothing after about 3-4 hours, or looks cakey, heavy, and thick. I've tried a couple of drugstore foundations that never even made it out of the house they looked so awful. (L'oreal Infallable, the Body Shop foundation I mentioned earlier, and Maybelline Fit Me all fit into this catagory) Also, finding the right shade in drugstore foundations always challenging and frustrating because there are no testers. The store lights make it hard to choose the correct shade. It can look one way in the bottle and totally different when you apply it. I've noticed that drugstore foundations also have a tendancy to oxidize more than high end foundations.

I intially purchased the Photoready in shade 06 Medium Beige. It looked like a perfect match when I first applied it, but it did oxidize a little. I didn't look like an oompa loompa or anything, but it was definitely a little too orange. It wasn't enough to be embarassing, but it was noticeable. So I went back to the store and did an even exchange for the next shade down, which is 05 Natural Beige. This seems to be a much better match for my skin tone. I could probably get away with going down another shade to 04 Nude because of the slight oxidation. But I'll have to see when the time comes.

Here is how I apply it: First, I apply a tiny amount of my Aveeno Baby Daily Moisturizing Lotion and rub it in completely. Then I apply the foundation, and finish it off with a light dusting of loose powder.

This stuff is amazing! It doesn't transfer, it looks natural, and the staying power is great. I've had it on almost 9 hours and it still looks great. It has only worn off the tiniest bit on my nose. The coverage is amazing too. It does a good job of covering up the redness and smoothing out the tiny bumps on my face. It dries quickly, but not too quickly. It is easy to blend and is buidable. I usually apply two thin layers and it never looks cakey or heavy. I paid $14.99 for this foundation, but I found it at Target for $10.99 I absolutely love this foundation and hope that it is never discontinued. There are a lot of reviews out there that say this foundation doesn't work very well on oily skin. But it's worked great for me.

I should also state that I've never actually tried the MUFE HD Invisible Cover foundation. So I can't really say if it's similar to the Revlon Photoready or not. I don't mind paying $45 on foundation. But why splurge when there is a drugstore version that I love that costs about a 1/3 the price. It's really a no-brainer to me.

EDIT: But I have two major complaints about this foundation. First, the color selection is terrible. I've tried 3 different shades of this foundation and none of them have really worked for me. I started with 06 Medium Beige, which was WAY too dark. I next tried 05 Natural Beige, which was a little better, but still too dark. Lastly, I tried 04 Nude, which is too light. It also gets very greasy on my nose and rubs off super easy after a few hours. So I guess it's game over. I think I'm going to stick with high end foundations from now on. It's just too frustrating trying to work with drugstore foundations.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 emilyoconnor on 1/23/2014 8:52:00 AM more reviews by emilyoconnor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really didn't like this foundation. It looked cakey on me and made my skin appear very dry in some areas, yet oily in others. The colour I got was great, though (I can't remember what shade it was but it was one of the lighter tones) and it also gave pretty good coverage for dark circles and blemishes. It didn't compliment my skin at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products