TheBalm • Mary-Lou Manizer • Highlighters

rated 4.6(331 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Issewhitelaw on 11/17/2014 7:06:00 PM more reviews by Issewhitelaw

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is okay.. I honestly do like this highlighter but it can make you look oily depending on how much you put on, I love putting it on my cheekbones and cuspids bow, but when I apply it to the bridge of my nose it tends to make my face look oily, but overall I like this highlighter, i just wouldn't purchase again, I'd lean more towards the becca opal highlighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 11/6/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

About me: NC15, dry skin oh and I love over the top glittery highlighters!

Pros
-a little goes a long way. I have had mine for 6+ months and I still haven't hit pan. I wear it 4x/week
-lasts all day
-is glittery and over the top for daytime even though I wear it to work lol
-very soft and buttery
-can get it at a discounted price on hautelook usually
-great for fair skin
-champagne color great for warm undertones

Cons
-breaks very easily! I dropped it once and the pan is no longer glued to the compact and part of it broke off! I would not feel comfortable traveling with this.
-cheesy packaging
-not for you if you like subtle non glittery highlighters or are pink undertoned
-not for dark complexions might be too light for you.

So this is great if you are fair, like glittery highlighters, don't mind cheesy packaging and don't plan on traveling a ton with it! This is my HG highlighter

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scm240 on 10/31/2014 11:40:00 AM more reviews by scm240

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am not one to own multiple highlighters. Is it shiny? Is it soft and buttery and doesn't look like glitter flecks on my face? Good. That pretty much describes my standard for a highlighter.

It's vibrant and it works really well on my fair skin tone. I'd love to see a picture of someone going through the product because it contains .30 oz. which is HUGE. It also has a good-sized mirror. I am all about the dewy skin and have even worn this to work; if it was too intense or not work appropriate, no one told me about it, so I like it for that reason, too.

They might not be dupe products, but compare the per unit price ($80) to Becca's Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed ($135) and I like the purchase even more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TammyLynn86 on 10/31/2014 7:21:00 AM more reviews by TammyLynn86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is hand down my favorite highlighter, it will forever be in my makeup bag! A little goes a long way with this it is highlighter, I get a lot of use out if so its worth every penny. It looks great on brow bones, inner eye, and cupids bow as well as highlighting other parts of my face. It gives my skin a gorgeous healthy glow. I love the Balm products they are all really good quality. The packaging and names are so fun and cute.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tessipie on 10/12/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by tessipie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Adore this product, most beautiful powder highlighter I've come across so far. Packaging is blah.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 9/30/2014 1:46:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

When I first got this I wasn't that impressed for some reason so I shoved it in my makeup drawer and didn't use it for months and months. I just rediscovered it and I love it! Funny how that works. I've been brushing it lightly over my brow bone, the inner corner of my eye, down my nose, and on my cheekbones. It looks amazing! Very glowy but not in a way that's too in your face like some kind of shimmer bomb. I much prefer this to other more expensive highlighters (Ahem, Becca Pressed Shimmering Skin Perfector in Opal).
One weird thing is that when I got it there was an area that was super soft like there was a pocket of air trapped in the product. It eventually started breaking up in that area but now I feel that in another area of the product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acatcalledbellatrix on 9/29/2014 7:18:00 AM more reviews by acatcalledbellatrix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this highlighter. It's not too shimmery (provided you use a light hand) and leaves a pretty sheen on the skin. It's a gorgeous champagne colour and the product itself is so smooth. You also get a huge amount of product for the price too (I think I paid AUD$31.95 at David Jones). It also has suoer cute packaging which is a plus!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Arinabee on 9/18/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by Arinabee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

The most beautiful highlighter! Every time i shop for a new highlighter for a change I always end up not getting it because it doesn't live up to mary-lou. Its a nice champagney shade and it it SUPER pigmented. I also love using it as a eyeshadow so its very versatile.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SoonMi on 9/9/2014 6:27:00 PM more reviews by SoonMi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I first heard about this product through Michelle Phan's "How to Look Like Miranda Kerr". She used it as a face highlight as well as an inner-corner highlight. I'd been searching for a highlight that was not pink-based for quite sometime. I think that they must've reformulated this luminizer because I found it on Amazon for $13! So cheap! It will last me a long time. If I find another yellow-based highlighter better than this one than I won't repurchase, so far this is the best one I've tried yet!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suzaroos on 9/6/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by Suzaroos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Words don't even begin to describe how much I LOVE this stuff!!! It is the perfect highlighter. I get compliments all the time when I wear this. It is on the pricey side but it's SO pigmented that you just have to lightly tap your brush into it, so you'll have it for ages before it runs out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Highlighters products