Essie • Mint Candy Apple • Polishes

rated 4.2(232 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tash5678dance on 6/7/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by tash5678dance

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As an avid collector of Essie nail polishes I think 'mint candy apple' is one of the most stunning and funny colours in the range. As an tanned girl the colour really stood out on my nails and gave them a healthy pop of colour. I couldn't find fault I'm the colour at all.

As a teenager who is very involved the color didn't chip in my nails for days ( however I also had a top and base coat). Personally, I applied two coats of the polish for a bit more colour but it's not particularly nescacarry.

I have, and will continue to, recommend it to friends and family members and I strongly recommend it to you guys xx Tash 🎀👌

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Toyamvs on 5/14/2014 2:28:00 AM more reviews by Toyamvs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I wore this polish I immediately fell in love with it. It has become one of my top 5 favorites. It looks so pretty against my skin tone. I loved it so much that I bought a second bottle. Which is kind of extreme for nail polish but I am polish addict. My only complaint is that the formula is on the thick side which I don't like, but I've noticed that's the usual with these chalky pastel colors. Kinda like OPI Mod About You. But I love pastel nail colors. I would recommend trying this and you most likely won't be disappointed. I can't wait to wear it on my toes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Victoria44 on 4/21/2014 5:27:00 AM more reviews by Victoria44

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When first applying the polish I noticed the brush was very small and after the first coat was very streaky on my nails. However, once a second coat and top coat is applied the polish evened out. On the shelf the colour looks much more mint then when I painted it on my nails but nonetheless a beautiful colour. When applied with a good base and top coat (I used Barry M) the nail polish remained chip free for 5-6 days.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 misshamilton on 4/21/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by misshamilton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Maybe its just not great on my skin tone, but I have to say I was really excited to buy Mint Candy Apple and I was a bit disappointed. Its really more blue than anything, and I was hoping for more of a mint. Its even close to Ferris Wheel by Ciate which is a lovely sky blue, only it's brighter has more of a pop. Id say the formula for this polish is better than most of Essie's other colors and it seems to dry faster for whatever reason. My final verdict is that although its nice to have in my collection, it's not my favourite.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 4/15/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous color but it's not mint lol. It's a Robin's egg blue color. I heard it was through Youtube and went to look at it in person. It's not anywhere near green. It's a very pretty spring/summer color and makes my hands look more tan. I am NW20 and they look great with the color.

Fully opaque in 2 coats and no streaks. Typical Essie polish and dries fast. It isn't chalky like some pastels can be.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kaelie on 2/19/2014 1:57:00 AM more reviews by Kaelie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

$8.49 USD. I have several ongoing obsessions, and one of them is finding perfect minty green polish. I got this based on the reviews, but this looks like a lovely, pale blue to me, and definitely NOT pale mint green. I love this color - it's very opaque and covers the nail well in one coat and lasts forever with a clear coat. But, I was looking for "green," like the minty color found in Jcrew catalog, if you know what I mean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 claire16x on 2/17/2014 1:47:00 AM more reviews by claire16x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I heard so many great things about this product - that it was the perfect mint colour, so when I saw it I had to grab it. I love how opaque it is, this really surprised me (this was the first essie nail polish I bought) as previous nail polishes I've tried have always been quite sheer, streaky and needed alot of coats. So I love it for that reason -you can't see your nail underneath which I like. However I feel like the colour is more of a light pearly blue, rather than mint. This is kind of dissapointing but don't get me wrong, it is still a beautiful colour and to some it may be seen as a LIGHT mint colour. It usually lasts around 4 days with no chips without any top coat which is pretty good.
I'm very pleased with this purchase, just wish the colour was more minty-green. But this has defintely made me an Essie fan, so would definitely recommend this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emxs on 2/11/2014 1:10:00 AM more reviews by emxs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really can't say enough good things about this polish. I initially grabbed it as an impulse buy because I thought it resembled the type of light blue I'd been looking for. At first, I was surprised and kind of disappointed when I took a closer look at the bottle at home and saw that it was more of a dull looking pastel green color. My opinion changed immediately the first time I wore it. There is really something about the way this color "pops" that is hard to describe unless you see it in person. I have very pale skin (NW15), and normally colors as light as this one appear very washed out against my skin, but not this one. I actually think the word "mint" is kind of misleading, because the color seems more like a very light turquoise to me. Calling it mint isn't very far off, but I think there's a definite hint of blue in there.

The formula is as good as the color. It isn't runny, isn't too thick, and goes on *nearly* opaque in one coat (although two is much better, and it's easy to do since it dries so quickly). All in all, this is probably the most pleasantly surprised I've been with any polish, and I'm really glad I bought it on an impulse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 12/28/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I always wanted this color but everytime I went to Walgreens, CVS, Target or Ulta they were sold out so I finally broke down & ordered it from Amazon. After all that time waiting & searching finally ended that day it ended up on my front door! I have to say I was kindof dissapointed because it looks blue not green. I had Sally Hansen Mint Sorbet but I have really bad experiances with Sally Hansen & I love Essie polishes so thats why I went with Mint Candy Apple, but it looks like Tiffany Blue or Robin's Egg Blue. Not that I hate the color the name & Essie description was misleading. I see some mint green undertones but everyone complaints me on the pretty "blue" pastel color! It went on smooth & opaque in 2 coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxo331 on 10/28/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by xoxo331

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This an absolute must have if you love pastel mint colors. It's opaque in two coats and stays put for a week without chipping with a top coat. I personally love essie's thinner brushes. I gives me much more control. Love it and I will definitely repurchase!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products