Hard Candy • Sheer Envy Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.7(366 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 egghead424 on 6/12/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by egghead424

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

For the price, this primer does a good job, especially in comparison to other cheap, drugstore brands. I tested it by applying eye shadow to both eyes - one with primer and one without. The primer made it last much longer, and not smudge as my eye shadow normally does. Aside from some slight creasing, the shadow looked very similar to what it did when it was first applied.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CosmeticIntuition on 4/27/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by CosmeticIntuition

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This primer is greasy. The first time I tried this, I didn't like it. It didn't appear to do anything for my pores, and it felt disgusting on my face. I washed it off immediately.
After 2 weeks or so, I went back to try the product again, thinking that maybe I had applied it wrong or I didn't wait enough time for it to set.
But I got the exact same results. The product felt gross and slippery even after 20 minutes of letting it set. I washed it off and threw it out. Don't buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smnthalbrt on 3/7/2014 3:37:00 PM more reviews by smnthalbrt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm on my second bottle of this stuff. I guess the first time I bought it was a bad batch because it was insanely watery. This time around it's more fluffy, actually like a whipped consistency I guess?
It definitely diminishes the look of my pores, I don't pay attention to it increasing lasting power of my foundation though because usually it does a good enough job of that on its own.
The only downside is this product does separate, so I give it a good shake before opening it and that typically solves that problem.
I tend not to use it unless I'm going out because I feel like it would break me out if given the chance, if that makes any sense.
Overall it's a decent primer for the price and amount, it does enough for me to repurchase it, especially over the other drugstore primers I've tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Emibumblebee on 3/1/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Emibumblebee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I desperately wanted to like this primer. I TRIED, I really did. Every once in a while I would pick it up again, thinking "Maybe it'll work this time," only to be crushed with disappointment again.

To start with the packaging, it's pretty, but inconvenient; it's not solidly built so leakage is a possibility. I also found that the primer itself clogged the opening to the tube pretty easily.

But the product itself is where it loses points for me. It separates easily, it feels greasy going on, it takes forever to dry and it just doesn't do anything for me or my foundation. I totally think it could work for someone with strictly oily skin, but as someone with combination skin, I just couldn't make it work for me. I deal with flakiness on a constant basis, and I found that, upon applying foundation, the primer actually EMPHASIZED that flakiness (it definitely was the primer - the foundations I use look fine when I don't use this). Even on the oilier areas of my face, Sheer Envy primer made my foundation look patchy and weird. On top of all that it didn't even help the longevity of my foundation.

To give it its due, though, it does fill pores and it does mattify (once it finally dries) - and in my need to not waste any products of mine, I've found that if I want to wear light makeup, I can wear this primer under pressed powder and be set for a day of classes or whatever. I just wish it worked under actual foundation for me. I'm disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CorynAudreyxo on 2/7/2014 11:40:00 PM more reviews by CorynAudreyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I liked it at first, but quickly grew out of it. And I mean QUICKLY. It leaves my skin feeling oily and gross. I feel like my foundation and setting powders can't evenly spread across my face because this primer doesn't sit right... As for the packaging, I prefer a pump rather than a squeeze tube. Won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 michele71976 on 1/31/2014 8:59:00 AM more reviews by michele71976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I didn't see any difference with this product. my pores were still very visible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 zackaryxo on 1/31/2014 8:35:00 AM more reviews by zackaryxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely hated this product. When I opened it all this clear like liquid went everywhere. I've never had a primer be this greasy before.. I used my finger tips to apply it to my skin the texture felt so weird going on. It took forever to dry, too. I used it a few times just to give it a chance. I was so disappointed in this but only because I usually love EVERYTHING from the Hard Candy line. I won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MrsLuckett on 1/21/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by MrsLuckett

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was pleasantly surprised by this bargain primer. I have very oily skin with large pores, and I was looking for something to help with the hot mess that is my skin! I happened by this and decided to give it a try. It definitely helps my foundation stay on longer, and it helps with the oily skin, but there is no fix it all product! I still have to blot after about 6 hours but compared to 3 that ain't bad. Worth a try if you are testing out some cheap primers!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachladner on 1/16/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by rachladner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a great primer for girls like me who just want, you know, a decent primer. I have sensitive skin and it doesn't break me out, which is good.

Fair warning: if you haven't used primer, this stuff feels oh-so greasy. But it dries, and then it's alright. So, I use it and I have oily skin, and it doesn't give me any shine problems.

PROS:
- makes make-up look flawless and smooth, great primer
- great price
Basically it's a great primer for a great price and it won't break you out. That's why I will probably keep buying.

CONS:
- The tube keeps spilling product into the cap, but I just scoop that product out with a brush and swipe it across my face. Problem solved.
- It tends to be kind of leaky... packaging is not so good...

Buy it or no? Buy it. It's a good primer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abatnamedtwitch on 12/20/2013 5:36:00 PM more reviews by abatnamedtwitch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use this primer every day. It works really well in conjunction with my KvD lock it foundation. I works to fill in my large pores and to help blend my foundation better. It is nowhere near my favorite primer (clarins smooth perfecting touch) but I would much rather spend $8 than $35 on something I dont even see when its in use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Primer/ Corrector products