Essie Chinchilly

4.6

134 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/25/2013 1:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

very pretty color, but not the best formula. two coats still look patchy and needed the third. doesn't make my hands look dead. worth the effort. Essie got the shade just right

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/8/2013 4:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this color! It is such a muted purple/grey and looks very nice with fair skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/8/2013 4:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this polish! It is the perfect soft dove-like gray for my cool-toned and very pale skin. I'd call this an edgy neutral given that it doesn't go unnoticed, but is still fairly conservative. I've found this polish also looks great with either SH Glass Slipper or OPI Pirouette My Whistle layered over it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2013 4:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this last year and it sat in my untrieds in favor of brighter vivid colors like lime greens, neon pinks, and bright blues. Finally I dug this taupe colored polish out and thought I'd give it a try for fall. This is a pretty taupe-grey leaning shade and reminds me of a pair of khaki slacks. The formula is really thin and this goes on sheer and streaky. It did even out though with a second coat but it took 3 coats to get full opacity and cover any sheer or balded patches. Essie's brush is just a standard thin brush and it is easy to work with and it works especially great for small nail beds like I have. Those big pro brushes are too big and this one is sized just right! The Goldilocks of polish brushes. I love this color now that I have it on. I have been hesitant to wear it since I expected a boring mani and mannequin hands. This is like wearing a pair of khakis though, it just seems to fit and looks good and feels comfortable. I never would have expected I would like taupe polish but I am loving how pretty this creme looks on me. This is very classy and looks elegant and refined. Great for the office and being taupe instead of beige it is far from boring and even a little edgy. I can't believe I let this beauty sit for so long without showing it off. This is perfect for fall so I painted all ten digits!


on 8/16/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been avoiding this color. I weakened and went griege. omg, it looks wonderful with my jewelry, silver/gold. It does seem to change color slightly with differnt lighting I get the usually 3 days before chipping. the same with all my essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2013 3:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have a friend who only wears pinks & reds but the moment she saw my nails she grabbed my hand & would not stop talking about this color! Its the perfect sublte neutral gray! It lasted about 4 days with a few chips that were easily fixable! With a good top coat it shines like glass!


on 7/12/2013 12:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This polish was such a disappointment. It is very streaky, even after 3 coats.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Nice neutral color, good for work. Smooth, professional, understated. If you're into brights or colors that pop and catch attention, this isn't for you. I'd get it again, though.


on 7/1/2013 12:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't usually paint my fingernails because they always chip the next day. After reading recommendations for Essie, I decided to try again. It reallyis the best polish I've ever used! No chips at all after 5 whole days of heavy activity. Every other polish I've ever tried had at least one chip the first day. On day 4, I could see that the tips were a little bit worn, but evenly worn and definitely not chipped, I have short nails that get a lot of wear and tear from work and chores and am very impressed with this product. I wouldn't think I would've liked this shade, CHINCHILLY, but I read a lot of good reviews about it so I took a chance on it, and I like it so much more than I thought I would. Its a pretty grayish neutral that goes with just everything! I will definitely be getting more colors in the future!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2013 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great colour, looks beautiful on and it hasn't chipped in four days after lots of washing up without gloves! The brush is a dream to use making it easy to apply. It's my new favourite nail polish make, beats O.P.I hands down!


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Geranium

32 reviews
image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Nice is Nice

35 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
Back to Top