Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(131 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 JhaynDoh on 8/16/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by JhaynDoh

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been avoiding this color. I weakened and went griege. omg, it looks wonderful with my jewelry, silver/gold. It does seem to change color slightly with differnt lighting I get the usually 3 days before chipping. the same with all my essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 8/12/2013 3:45:00 AM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a friend who only wears pinks & reds but the moment she saw my nails she grabbed my hand & would not stop talking about this color! Its the perfect sublte neutral gray! It lasted about 4 days with a few chips that were easily fixable! With a good top coat it shines like glass!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ninnu on 7/12/2013 12:27:00 PM more reviews by ninnu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This polish was such a disappointment. It is very streaky, even after 3 coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 7/1/2013 5:08:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Nice neutral color, good for work. Smooth, professional, understated. If you're into brights or colors that pop and catch attention, this isn't for you. I'd get it again, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bkdean on 7/1/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by bkdean

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I don't usually paint my fingernails because they always chip the next day. After reading recommendations for Essie, I decided to try again. It reallyis the best polish I've ever used! No chips at all after 5 whole days of heavy activity. Every other polish I've ever tried had at least one chip the first day. On day 4, I could see that the tips were a little bit worn, but evenly worn and definitely not chipped, I have short nails that get a lot of wear and tear from work and chores and am very impressed with this product. I wouldn't think I would've liked this shade, CHINCHILLY, but I read a lot of good reviews about it so I took a chance on it, and I like it so much more than I thought I would. Its a pretty grayish neutral that goes with just everything! I will definitely be getting more colors in the future!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rjinlondon on 4/25/2013 11:45:00 AM more reviews by rjinlondon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Great colour, looks beautiful on and it hasn't chipped in four days after lots of washing up without gloves! The brush is a dream to use making it easy to apply. It's my new favourite nail polish make, beats O.P.I hands down!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlondeInDelhi on 4/12/2013 11:43:00 AM more reviews by BlondeInDelhi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely colour, good and even application, and a nice brush, which makes application easy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 2/2/2013 9:17:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A friend gave me this because she was trying to break me out of my light pink/nude shades only rut. Although I am quite pale, this is a pretty, pale shade of grey that looks flattering against my skin. I topped it with a silvery glittery she gave me for sort of a disco ball look and it really looks nice. Essie polishes always have a good formula in my experience - smooth, no bubbles, dries fairly quickly and two or three coats (depending on your desired level of opaqueness) works great. Chinchilly is a great shade for those who love grays or don't know that they do yet!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Char1008 on 1/30/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Char1008

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

After testing nearly every neutral shade on the Essie stand in Boots I eventually went for Chinchilly and am very happy with the decision. Outside of the fluorescent lighting in the store the colour was much greyer than I originally thought. Natural lighting brings out a slight lavender undertone which adds another element to the shade whist still remaining unobtrusive enough to suit any occasion. The polish includes the usual extra wide brush which I love but others can find more difficult to use especially on narrower nails. I found that 2 - 3 coats were needed for a real opaque coverage and with base and top coats the polish lasted for a good 4 days with minimal tip wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 swatters on 1/23/2013 12:21:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a jelly-creme polish that dries to a gray with a touch of lavender. I feel like the sheerness of the polish really adds a feminine touch to a color that would otherwise be very industrial. I love that you can wear this color from fall through spring, since there is a little touch of purple in there.

Formula is thin and translucent, I used 3 thin coats plus a top coat for extra shine. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products